DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9-11, 15, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736).
Re claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9-11, 15, and 17, Shimamura et al. discloses a utility vehicle (shown in figure 1) comprising a rollover protective structure (ROPS) (30, figure 2) that defines a riding space; a cargo bed (40, figure 2) that is located rearward of the ROPS; a chassis that supports the cargo bed; and a dumper that tilts the cargo bed relative to the chassis.
Shimamura et al. does not disclose a support frame to support a cargo bed cover that covers the cargo bed wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from the ROPS, the support frame includes a cover support cargo bed cover, the cover support being vertically displaceable, the support frame being removably supported, the support from being provided to the cargo bed, the support frame including a front support column extending vertically, the cargo bed cover including a front cover portion that is located forward of the front support column and partitions the space between the cargo bed cover and the ROPS, the cargo bed cover including a flap cover that is flappably supported by the support frame, the flap cover including a side flap cover that is rotatable around an axis along a front rear direction, the bed over including a side flap cover that is rotatable around an axis along a front-rear direction, the cargo bed cover including a vertical cover that covers a side or a rear of the cargo bed, and the vertical cover includes a window, the cargo bed cover being changeable between a cover state and a top opening state while being attached to the support frame, the cover state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a top of the cargo bed, the top opening state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a smaller range of the top of the cargo bed than in the cover state.
Nodier teaches a support frame (200, figure 2) to support a cargo bed cover (102, figure 1) that covers a cargo bed (101) wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from a ROPS (there is no suggestion or teaching in the references that the support frame requires additional support from a ROPS) , the support frame includes a cover support (206), a cargo bed cover (102, figure 1), the cover support being vertically displaceable (206 in figure 9 is shown as being vertically displaced when collapsed), the support frame being removably supported (see column 1, lines 44-53), the support frame being provided to the cargo bed (101), the support frame including a front support column extending vertically (202, figure 2), the cargo bed cover including a front cover portion (see the annotated figure below) that is located forward of the front support column and partitions the space between the cargo bed cover and vehicle cab, the cargo bed cover including a flap cover that is flappably supported by the support frame, the flap cover including a side flap cover (see the annotated figure below) that is rotatable around an axis along a front rear direction (the bottom of the side flap cover is not secured and thus capable of rotating along the axis at least a small amount), the cargo bed cover including a vertical cover (see the annotated figure below) that covers a side or a rear of the cargo bed, and the vertical cover includes a window (115, figure 1), the cargo bed cover being changeable between a cover state and a top opening state while being attached to the support frame (the device can be folded with the cover attached, see column 4, lines 37-47), the cover state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a top of the cargo bed (shown in figure 1), the top opening state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a smaller range of the top of the cargo bed than in the cover state (in the case, the cover can be completely removed and cover none of the cargo
bed which is a smaller range than in the cover state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by Shimamura et al., to have a support frame to support a cargo bed cover that covers the cargo bed wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from the ROPS, the support frame including a cover support cargo bed cover, the cover support being vertically displaceable, the support frame being removably supported, the support from being provided to the cargo bed, the support frame including a front support column extending vertically, the cargo bed cover including a front cover portion that is located forward of the front support column and partitions the space between the cargo bed cover and the ROPS, the cargo bed cover including a flap cover that is flappably supported by the support frame, the flap cover including a side flap cover that is rotatable around an axis along a front rear direction, the cargo bed cover including a vertical cover that covers a side or a rear of the cargo bed, the vertical cover including a window, the cargo bed cover being changeable between a cover state and a top opening state while being attached to the support frame, the cover state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a top of the cargo bed, the top opening state being a state in which the cargo bed cover covers a smaller range of the top of the cargo bed than in the cover state, as taught by Nodier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect the contents of the bed from inclement weather (see Nodier, column 1, lines 10-17).
Re claims 20-22, Shimamura et al. discloses cargo bed cover structure for a utility vehicle including a rollover protective structure (ROPS) (30, figure 2) that defines a riding space and a cargo bed (40, figure 2) that is located rearward of the ROPS.
Shimamura et al. does not disclose a cargo bed cover structure comprising a support frame that is attachable to the utility vehicle; and a cargo bed cover that is supported by the support frame and covers the cargo bed, wherein the support frame includes a front support column and a rear support column, and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column are connected to the cargo bed, the ROPS is not located on a rotational trajectory of the support frame and the cargo bed cover in advance, the support frame including a front support column and a rear support column, and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column being connected to the cargo bed.
Nodier teaches a cargo bed cover structure comprising a support frame (200, figure 2) that is attachable to a vehicle; and a cargo bed cover (102, figure 1) that is supported by the support frame and covers the cargo bed, wherein the support frame includes a front support column and a rear support column (see the annotated figure below), and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column are connected to the cargo bed (by 205, figure 2), the support frame including a front support column and a rear support column (see the annotated figure below), and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column being connected to the cargo bed (by 205, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a cargo bed cover structure, such as that disclosed by Shimamura et al., to have a support frame that is attachable to the utility vehicle, and a cargo bed cover that is supported by the support frame and covers the cargo bed, wherein the support frame includes a front support column and a rear support column, and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column are connected to the cargo bed, the ROPS is not located on a rotational trajectory of the support frame and the cargo bed cover in advance (this is inherent to the combination), the support frame including a front support column and a rear support column, and the bottom of the front support column and the bottom of the rear support column being connected to the cargo bed, as taught by Nodier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect the contents of the bed from inclement weather (see Nodier, column 1, lines 10-17).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Woodard et al (US Patent 10,145,140).
Shimamura in view of Nodier discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for a lock that locks the support frame to the ROPS, the lock locking the support frame to a rear portion of the ROPS.
Woodard et al. teaches a lock (mount 52, figure 1; not that applicant’s own “lock” can be a screw and thus the term “lock” has been interpreted broadly in light of applicant’s specification) that locks a support frame to a ROPS, the lock (mount 52, figure 1) locking the support frame to a rear portion of the ROPS (16a, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by the combination of Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier, to have a lock that locks a support frame to a ROPS, the lock locking the support frame to a rear portion of the ROPS, as taught by Woodard et al., in order to further support the support frame during travel to keep the frame from inadvertently being dislodged from the vehicle.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US Patent 6,824,192).
Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the cargo bed including upward opening holes, the support frame includes vertically extending support columns, and a lower end of each of the support columns being inserted into a corresponding one of the holes and supported, and the holes are in the left wall and the right wall.
Shimamura et al. additional teaches the cargo bed includes a mount, a left wall, a right wall, and a rear wall, the left wall, right wall, and the rear wall protruding upward from the mount, the rear wall being openable and closable around an axis along the left-right direction at the bottom of the rear wall.
Hoffman teaches the cargo bed including upward opening holes (35, figure 1), the support frame includes vertically extending support columns (18), and a lower end of each of the support columns being inserted into a corresponding one of the holes and supported (as shown in figure 1), and the holes are in a left wall and the right wall (as shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier above, to have the cargo bed including upward opening holes, the support frame includes vertically extending support columns, and a lower end of each of the support columns being inserted into a corresponding one of the holes and supported, and the holes are in a left wall and the right wall, as taught by Hoffman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to assist in positioning the support frame in a defined position on the cargo bed easily and repeatably.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view Bourcier (US Patent 5,454,076).
Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier disclose all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 11 above, except the support frame including a first support that supports the side flap cover in a first state in which a side of the cargo bed is open and a second support that supports the side flap cover in a second state in which the side of the cargo bed is covered, the first support supports the side flap cover in a state in which the side flap cover covers a top of the cargo bed.
Shimamura et al. further discloses the support frame include a first support (206 in figure 2 that is on the same side as 115 in figure 1) that supports the side flap cover.
Bourcier teaches a side flap cover (the rolled up flap in figure 7) in a first state in which a side of the cargo bed is open (the rolled up state in figure 7), the side flap cover in a second state in which the side of the cargo bed is covered (as in figure 2), and the side flap covering a top of the cargo bed (as can be seen in figures 2 and 7, the flap panel extends over a top of the cargo bed onto the roof of the cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility, such as that disclosed by the combination of Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier above, to have the support frame include a first support that supports the side flap cover in a first state in which a side of the cargo bed is open and a second support that supports the side flap cover in a second state in which the side of the cargo bed is covered, the first support supports the side flap cover in a state in which the side flap cover covers a top of the cargo bed, as taught by Bourcier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect items carried by the bed, but also to allow access to retrieve items from the bed without having to remove the entire cover.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736), as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Schwebach (US Patent 2013/0160522).
Re claim 14, Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the flap cover including a rear flap cover that covers a rear of the cargo bed and flaps around an axis along a vehicle width direction or a vertical direction.
Schwebach teaches the flap cover including a rear flap cover (20) that covers a rear of a cargo bed and flaps around an axis along a vehicle width direction or a vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier above, to have the flap cover include a rear flap cover that covers a rear of the cargo bed and flaps around an axis along a vehicle width direction or a vertical direction, as taught by Schwebach, in order to allow the bed to be loaded with the cover in place.
Re claim 18, Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the cargo bed cover including a cover main body that includes an opening and a door that blocks the opening of the cover main body so that the opening is openable and closable.
Schwebach teaches a cargo bed cover including a cover main body that includes an opening (the opening for the door 20) and a door (20) that blocks the opening of the cover main body so that the opening is openable and closable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by Shimamura et al. in view of Nodier above, to have the cargo bed cover include a cover main body that includes an opening and a door that blocks the opening of the cover main body so that the opening is openable and closable, as taught by Schwebach, in order to allow the bed to be loaded with the cover in place.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US Patent application Publication 2009/0195049) in view of Wernberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0306179) and Nodier (US Patent 5,752,736).
Shimamura et al. teaches a utility vehicle (1, figure 2) including a rollover protective structure (30, figure 2) (ROPS) that defines a riding space.
Shimamura et al. does not disclose a trailer towed by the utility vehicle the trailer comprising a cargo bed, a support frame to support a cargo bed cover that covers the cargo bed; and a towed part that is towed by the utility vehicle, a chassis that supports the cargo bed, and
a dumper that tilts the cargo bed relative to the chassis, wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from the ROPS.
Wernberg et al. teaches a trailer (100, figure 8) that can be towed by a utility vehicle, the trailer comprising a cargo bed (200, figure 8), and a towed part (430, figure 8 )that is towed by the utility vehicle, a chassis (300, figure 13) that supports the cargo bed, and a dumper (600, figure 13) that tilts the cargo bed relative to the chassis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a utility vehicle, such as that taught by Shimamura et al., with a trailer that can be towed by the utility vehicle, the trailer comprising a cargo bed, and a towed part that is towed by the utility vehicle, a chassis that supports the cargo bed, and a dumper that tilts the cargo bed relative to the chassis, as taught by Wernberg et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the utility vehicle to haul more cargo in a single trip compared to the utility vehicle without the trailer.
Nodier teaches a support frame (200, figure 2) to support a cargo bed cover (100, figure 1) that covers a cargo bed (101, figure 1), wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from a ROPS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a trailer towed by a utility vehicle, such as that disclosed by the combination of Shimamura et al. in view of Wernberg et al. above, to have a support frame to support a cargo bed cover that covers the cargo bed, wherein the support frame is supported by the cargo bed and independent from an ROPS, as taught by Nodier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect cargo carried by the trailer from precipitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 8, 2026