DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/15/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 11/17/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 line 16-17 and line 19-20 recites “the other distributed deep learning job.” There is a lack of proper antecedent basis for this limitation as “a other” or “an other” has not been recited prior to this. There is an “another” but this is different. If attempting to refer to the another, then the claim should recite “the another distributed learning job” or the like. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “NVML API” in line 3. This acronym is not defined in the claim and therefore the scope of the claim is unascertainable. This renders the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to abstract idea.
Step 1 – Claims 1-10 are process claims. Step 1 is satisfied.
Step 2A, Prong 1 – Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract idea concepts:
A distributed deep learning job ordering method, the method comprising: profiling each of a plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see e.g. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and (I)); and selecting distributed deep learning jobs to concurrently run based on profiling results (see e.g. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and (I). See also Recentive v. Fox, App. No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. 04/18/2025).
When viewed alone and in ordered combination, these abstract idea concepts are found to recite abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2 – Exemplary claim 1 is not found to integrate the abstract idea with practical application. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
Where the abstract idea is performed by a computing device comprising at least a processor. The examiner refers to MPEP 2106.05(f) mere instructions to apply an exception on a computer has not been found to meaningfully limit the claim. The computer is used as a tool in a generic sense to implement the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 1 is found to be directed to abstract idea.
Step 2B – Exemplary claim 1 is not found to recite significantly more. The additional element analysis of Step 2A, Prong 2 is equally applied to Step 2B. Another consideration when determining whether a claim recites significantly more than a judicial exception is whether the additional element(s) are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. This consideration is only evaluated in Step 2B of the eligibility analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For the profiling limitation1, the examiner refers to e.g. iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; v. Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); where the Federal Circuit found similar limitations to be WURC.
Accordingly, the examiner finds exemplary claim 1 to be directed to abstract idea.
Dependent claims – For claim 2, the examiner refers to abstract idea concepts of MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), and further MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), where extracting data from document is found to be WURC. For claim 3-4, the examiner refers to the analysis from claim 1. For claim 5, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(C) Other examples of managing personal behavior recited in a claim include: i. filtering content, BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility, LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1345-46, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1239 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (finding that filtering content was an abstract idea under step 2A, but reversing an invalidity judgment of ineligibility due to an inadequate step 2B analysis). For claim 6, the selecting of a job is abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(a)(2)(II). For claim 7, this is a definition and defines a mathematical concept. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). Claim 8 is addressed above in regards to an aggregation of the independent and dependent claims. Claim 9 recites the abstract idea of recording data in a library, determining data, and determining more data. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Claim 10 recites more abstract idea and WURC of profiling, measuring data a predetermined intervals is MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gandiva: Introspective Cluster Scheduling for Deep Learning. Wencong Xiao, et al. https://www.usenix.org/conference/osdi18/presentation/xiao. This paper is included in the Proceedings of the 13th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI ’18). (October 8–10, 2018) Carlsbad, CA, USA ISBN 978-1-939133-08-3 (hereinafter referred to as “Gandiva” (pdf attached)).
With regard to claim 1, Gandiva discloses the claimed distributed deep learning job ordering method performed by a computing device comprising at least a processor, the method comprising:
profiling each of a plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see Gandiva e.g. pg 600, “Profiling” and This is achieved through a continuous optimization process that uses profiling and a greedy heuristic that takes advantage of mechanisms such as packing, migration, and grow-shrink; pg 601 When jobs arrive, we always run them in exclusive mode using suspend-resume and collect profiling information (GPU utilization, memory and job progress rate).; pg 604 Instead, Gandiva adopts a profiling-based approach to packing; pg 596 Gandiva also uses the predictability to perform profile driven introspection. It uses the mini-batch progress rate to introspect its decisions continuously to improve cluster efficiency (Section 4); pg 596 the Gandiva framework provides the following APIs that any DLT scheduling policy can leverage: … (c) fine-grained profiling,); and
selecting distributed deep learning jobs from the plurality of distributed learning jobs to concurrently run based on profiling results (see Gandiva, pg 596 For example, it packs multiple jobs on the same GPU only when they have low memory and GPU utilization; it dynamically migrates a communication intensive job to more affinitized GPUs; it also opportunistically “grows” the degree of parallelism of a job to make use of spare resources, and shrinks the job when the spare resources go away.; see pg 603-604, Packing; pg 600 This is achieved through a continuous optimization process that uses profiling and a greedy heuristic that takes advantage of mechanisms such as packing; for concurrently, see page 599 An alternative to suspend-resume for time-slicing is to run multiple DLT jobs on a GPU simultaneously and let the GPU time-share the jobs. We call this packing. Packing in GPU is efficient only when the packed jobs do not exceed the GPU resources (cores, memory) and do not adversely impact each other (emphasis added)).
With regard to claim 2, Gandiva further discloses where the profiling comprises extracting an active duration, an idle duration, and a graphics processing unit (GPU) memory utilization of each of the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see e.g. pg 596, 599, 601, 602 where Gandiva continuously monitors GPU utilization and memory usage of each job to guide scheduling decisions; active duration is when GPU utilization is high; idle duration is when GPU usage is low; memory usage is memory utilization; see page 596, where Gandiva uses the mini-batch progress rate to introspect job behavior, where mini batch process rate is a direct measure of active computation against waiting/stall time, which functionally corresponds to active and idle periods).
With regard to claim 3, Gandiva further discloses where the selecting comprises: selecting one distributed deep learning job from among the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see e.g. 599 jobs to run simultaneously, packing on same GPU); and selecting another distributed deep learning job to concurrently run with the one distributed deep learning job from among the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs based on the active duration, the idle duration, and the GPU memory utilization (see e.g. 599 jobs to run simultaneously, packing on same GPU; see e.g. pg 596, 599, 601, 602 where Gandiva continuously monitors GPU utilization and memory usage of each job to guide scheduling decisions; active duration is when GPU utilization is high; idle duration is when GPU usage is low; memory usage is memory utilization; see page 596, where Gandiva uses the mini-batch progress rate to introspect job behavior, where mini batch process rate is a direct measure of active computation against waiting/stall time, which functionally corresponds to active and idle periods).
With regard to claim 4, Gandiva further discloses where the selecting of the one distributed deep learning job comprises selecting a first distributed deep learning job in a run queue as the one distributed deep learning job (see page 595-596, jobs waiting to run are maintained by the scheduler and are considered for execution or packing decisions, where the waiting jobs are in a run queue).
With regard to claim 5, Gandiva further discloses where the selecting of the other distributed deep learning job comprises filtering out distributed deep learning jobs that require a memory greater than a value acquired by subtracting a maximum GPU memory utilization of the one distributed deep learning job from GPU memory capacity, among the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see e.g. pg 601, Packing. Packing is considered only during overload. The basic idea behind packing is to run two or more jobs simultaneously on a GPU to increase efficiency. If the memory requirements of the packing jobs combined are higher than GPU memory, the overhead of “paging” from CPU memory is significantly high [16] that packing is not effective. When the memory requirements of two or more jobs are smaller than GPU memory, packing still may not be more efficient than suspend-resume as we show in Section 6.1. For example, for some DLT jobs, packing increases efficiency, while for others packing can be worse than suspend-resume.).
With regard to claim 9, Gandiva further discloses recording, by a deep learning library, an execution start time and an execution end time of each detailed operation executed on a graphics processing unit (GPU) for each of the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs (see Gandiva pages 603-608); determining, from the recorded execution start times and execution end times, an active duration as a duration from a start time of a first detailed operation to an end time of a last detailed operation among consecutively executed detailed operations (see e.g. Gandiva active/inactive in e.g. Fig. 10
); and determining, from the recorded execution start times and execution end times, an idle duration as a duration from the end time of the last detailed operation to a start time of a first detailed operation among subsequent consecutively executed detailed operations (see id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiva in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0317578 to Kansal et al. (“Kansal”).
With regard to claim 6-7, as shown above, Gandiva discloses identifying GPU-active and GPU-idle behavior of jobs, and selecting a second job to co-run with a first job based on complementary execution characteristics, among other things. However, Gandiva does not disclose computing a numeric “active-idle ratio” computing the inverse of such an active-idle ratio, and selecting a job whose active-idle ratio is closest to the inverse of the active-idle ratio of another job. Kansal teaches at e.g. [0004] [0007] [0028] [0037] [0006], [0029-34], [0049-50] that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the GPU-based jobs clusters art to include the ability to monitor and collect resource usage data, quantitative usage data (Kansal at [0028]), Kansal teaches identifying complementary jobs based on utilization ([0037] Two or more jobs are complementary when each job overloads different resources. Some of these jobs underutilize another resource. For example, the complementary jobs include one or more jobs that overload a particular resource of which one or more other jobs utilize a negligible amount.), Kansal teaches using resource usage for allocation proportionally (see e.g. [0006], [0029-33], [0049-50], with the active-idle ratio throughout at e.g. [0031] [0034]), and where the complementary matches are equal to the inverse relationship as claimed. For claim 7, Kansal teaches that the usage data can be expressed in ratio form (e.g. [0031, 34]), where a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a ratio is correlation of two numbers, as shown in Kansal, and as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the GPU-based job execution/scheduling art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gandiva’s profiling-based DL job selection with Kansal’s complementary resource usage teaching as one of the benefits is that this “increases resource allocation for a high priority job in order to improve a completion time. In yet another aspect, the assignment mechanism modifies a current resource allocation in response to an assignment of one or more new jobs. For example, the assignment mechanism decreases an amount of processor time that is allocated to the two or more complementary jobs if the one or more new jobs overload a processor.” Kansal [0007]. See improvements mentioned in Kansal at [0004] [0007] etc.
With regard to claim 8, above the examiner has shown all the limitations of claim 8 which is an aggregate of previously recited claims. See combination of Gandiva and Kansal, as shown above.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiva, Kansal, in view of Gao et al. (2020) Estimating GPU memory consumption of deep learning models. ESEC/FSE ’20, November 8–13, 2020, Virtual Event, USA (referred to as “Gao”).
With regard to claim 10, Gandiva further teaches the predetermined intervals aspects, as shown above. Gandiva and Kansal do not teach the use of NVML API part of the claim. See Gao, 4.5, “The profiling first obtains the total GPU memory consumption using NVML (NVIDIA Management Library) [32], then calculates the consumed memory by DL frame works from runtime logs, framework APIs, or CUDA hooks, and f inally computes the difference.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gandiva and Kansal, as combined above, to include such NVML aspects, as shown in Gao, so that the NVIDIA library can be used to monitor/measure consumption utilization aspects, as shown in Gao.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner has reviewed all of Applicant’s arguments. The examiner has addressed the amended language in the rejections above. Further, for claim 10, the examiner has brought in a new reference for this new claim. See also the 112 rejections based on the amendments and new claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and refers to the above rejections that address these arguments in particular.
Conclusion
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
1 See Applicant’s originally-filed Spec, Summary (no paragraphs) – “Also, the profiling may include extracting an active duration, an idle duration, and a GPU memory utilization of each of the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs.” And Detailed Description – “Through profiling, information on an active duration, an idle duration, and GPU memory utilization for each of the plurality of distributed deep learning jobs may be extracted.”