DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 06/29/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-104261 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"control device" ("circuitry" on page 2 of the present specification) which is coupled with "configured to manage a state of the one or more cells for each of the multiple sections" in claims 1-8, and
“flow regulating mechanism” (“flow regulating valve” on page 9) which is coupled with “configured to regulate a flow rate of a fluid circulating through each of the multiple sections” in claims 1-8.
Claim Objections
Claim 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5-8 recite “upon regulating a flow rate of a fluid” in the 3rd line of the claims, which should be amended to read “upon regulating [[a]] the flow rate of [[a]] the fluid” in order to improve claim limitation consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foreign Publication JP2015176737A (used attached machine translation), hereafter Kawai.
Regarding claim 1, Kawai discloses a fuel cell system ([0018] power generation unit U1) comprising:
a fuel cell stack (CS) divided into multiple sections, each of the multiple sections being constituted by one or more cells ([0024] cell stack CS has multiple cell blocks CB, each composed of multiple cells);
a control device (36) configured to manage a state of the one or more cells for each of the multiple sections ([0034] operation control means 36); and
a flow regulating mechanism ([0025] group of flow controllers 38 and 39) configured to regulate a flow rate of a fluid circulating through each of the multiple sections, based on the state managed by the control device ([0032] number of cell blocks operating changing will change amount of fuel gas and oxidizer gas required to change, so flow rate controller groups 38, 39 are controlled by the operation control means 36),
wherein the control device (36) is configured to divide the fuel cell stack (CS) such that a number of cells in a first section of the multiple sections and a number of cells in a second section of the multiple sections other than the first section differ from each other ([0034] operation control means 36 includes operation number determination unit 36a that determines the number of cell blocks CB to be operated for power generation according to the magnitude of the load power).
Regarding claim 4, Kawai discloses a measurement sensor (29) configured to make a measurement of one or both of a surrounding environment of the fuel cell stack and an internal state of the fuel cell stack ([0032] voltmeter 29 to measure cell block voltage), wherein the control device is configured to, based on a result of the measurement made by the measurement sensor, regroup the multiple sections such that the number of cells in the first section and the number of cells in the second section differ from each other ([0050] operating cell block determination unit 36b determines operating priority level based on detection result of the voltage detection means 29A).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Kawai discloses wherein the flow regulating mechanism (38, 39) is configured to, upon regulating a flow rate of a fluid in the first section, regulate a flow rate in the second section in accordance with the flow regulation in the first section ([0033] cell stack CS is configured to be able to supply and stop fuel and oxidizer gases for each of the multiple cell blocks CB).
Regarding claim 9, Kawai discloses a fuel cell system ([0018] power generation unit U1) comprising:
a fuel cell stack (CS) divided into multiple sections, each of the multiple sections being constituted by one or more cells ([0024] cell stack CS has multiple cell blocks CB, each composed of multiple cells);
circuitry (36) configured to manage a state of the one or more cells for each of the multiple sections ([0034] operation control means 36); and
a flow regulating mechanism ([0025] group of flow controllers 38 and 39) including a flow regulating valve ([0025] flow control units 38a and devices 39a) and configured to regulate a flow rate of a fluid circulating through each of the multiple sections, based on the state managed by the control device ([0032] number of cell blocks operating changing will change amount of fuel gas and oxidizer gas required to change, so flow rate controller groups 38, 39 are controlled by the operation control means 36),
wherein the circuitry (36) is configured to divide the fuel cell stack (CS) such that a number of cells in a first section of the multiple sections and a number of cells in a second section of the multiple sections other than the first section differ from each other ([0034] operation control means 36 includes operation number determination unit 36a that determines the number of cell blocks CB to be operated for power generation according to the magnitude of the load power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication JP2015176737A (used attached machine translation), hereafter Kawai, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Published Application US20050287406A1, hereafter Takahashi.
Regarding claim 2, Kawai is silent on wherein the control device is configured to divide the fuel cell stack such that a number of cells constituting a middle section of the fuel cell stack and the number of cells constituting an end section of the fuel cell stack differ from each other, the middle section being located in a middle of the fuel cell stack, the end section being located closer to an end of the fuel cell stack than the middle section is.
In the analogous art of fuel cell stack management, Takahashi that water produced when electricity is generated at the end of the fuel cell stack has been known to condense or freeze inside the stack, hindering the continued generation of electricity from fuel cells adjacent the end of the stack ([0007]). Takahashi further discloses sub-stacks at the end of the fuel cell stack, where the water produced is more likely to condense or freeze, can be controlled so that sub-stacks at the end of the stack do not generate electricity at low ambient temperatures, such as 0°C or lower ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Kawai to also take into account the ends of the stacks and their vulnerabilities to lower temperatures, as disclosed by Takahashi, and configure the control device to group the ends of the stack in a separate smaller cell block from the middle section, in order to effectively control their use during freezing temperatures, as suggested by Takahashi.
Regarding claim 3, Kawai is silent on wherein the fuel cell stack is divided such that a number of cells constituting an end section of the fuel cell stack is smaller than a number of cells constituting a middle section of the fuel cell stack, the middle section being located in a middle of the fuel cell stack, the end section being located closer to an end of the fuel cell stack than the middle section is.
In the analogous art of fuel cell stack management, Takahashi that water produced when electricity is generated at the end of the fuel cell stack has been known to condense or freeze inside the stack, hindering the continued generation of electricity from fuel cells adjacent the end of the stack ([0007]). Takahashi further discloses sub-stacks at the end of the fuel cell stack, where the water produced is more likely to condense or freeze, can be controlled so that sub-stacks at the end of the stack do not generate electricity at low ambient temperatures, such as 0°C or lower ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Kawai to also take into account the ends of the stacks and their vulnerabilities to lower temperatures, as disclosed by Takahashi, and configure the control device to group the ends of the stack in a separate smaller cell block from the middle section, in order to effectively control their use during freezing temperatures, as suggested by Takahashi.
Regarding claims 6-7, Kawai further discloses wherein the flow regulating mechanism (38, 39) is configured to, upon regulating a flow rate of a fluid in the first section, regulate a flow rate in the second section in accordance with the flow regulation in the first section ([0033] cell stack CS is configured to be able to supply and stop fuel and oxidizer gases for each of the multiple cell blocks CB).
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754