DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 02/02/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 6-8, 12-14 and 16-26 are pending
Claims 1 and 16-17 are amended
Claims 2-5, 9-11 and 15 are canceled
Claims 21-26 are new
Claims 1, 6-8, 12-14 and 16-26 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites the limitation, “…transmit to ato the user equipment an indication of a channel assignment” (in Line [7]). However, the phrase, “to ato user equipment” appears to be a mistake and/or a typo; appropriate correction is required;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation, “…the message comprises: … a predetermined time period after which the network may assume that the user equipment is no longer suffering from the capability restriction”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Dependent claims not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claim due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 6-8, 12-14 and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. (US 20120213095 A1), hereinafter referenced as Krishnamurthy, in view of Agashe et al. (US 20030223388 A1), hereinafter referenced as Agashe, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20130163529 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chen, and further in view of Hung-Ming Chen (US 20100297976 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hung-Ming.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Krishnamurthy teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE generally comprises a controller coupled to a wireless transceiver wherein the controller is configured to cause the UE to perform the various functions described herein including receiving the aggregated carrier, measuring leakage of the reference signal, determining signal characteristics on the component carriers, determining the level of interference, and providing signal interference information to the base station among the other functionality described herein. The methods and functions may be performed by a digital processor executing software of firmware residing in a memory device), cause the apparatus at least to:
provide to a network an indication of capabilities of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc);
receive from the network an indication of a channel assignment (Fig. 4, Para. [0023]-Krishnamurthy discloses a wireless communication terminal receives an aggregated carrier including a first component carrier and a second component carrier, as indicated at 410, from one or more base stations in the wireless communication system. The first component carrier generally comprises a reference signal (RS) ... the reference signal is embodied as a ..., Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS). Para. [0020]-Krishnamurthy discloses the downlink and uplink bandwidth are subdivided into resource blocks ... resource block (RB) is typical unit in which the resource allocations are assigned for the uplink and downlink communications. (See also Para. [0022]));
determine adjacent channel interference within a reception bandwidth when applying a first receiver configuration for reception on the channel assignment (Para. [0025]-Krishnamurthy discloses variables that parameterize the receiver non-linearity (in this case, IQ gain and phase imbalance which is also known as the quadrature non-linearity) … to estimate the variables that parameterize the receiver non-linearity ... under "Training Period" and "Parameter Estimation" below ... the parameters associated with the receiver non-linearity are determined. Para. [0002]-Krishnamurthy discloses an IQ gain imbalance of 1.1 (approximately 26 dB adjacent channel interference rejection ratio). Para. [0058-0059]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE also determines a level of interference that the sequence of information symbols is subject to from the first component carrier ... the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB);
determine whether the adjacent channel interference meets a predetermined criterion with respect to a predetermined threshold (Para. [0054-0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the level of interference may be determined by comparison of a difference of a logarithm of the RSRP of the first and second carrier components and comparison of the difference to a threshold ... Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold. Para. [0058-0059]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE also determines a level of interference that the sequence of information symbols is subject to from the first component carrier ... the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB);
based on determining that the adjacent channel interference meets the predetermined criterion, switch from applying the first receiver configuration to applying a second receiver configuration for reception on the channel assignment (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell),
transmit to the network a message indicating a capability update of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc),
the capability update indicates reduced capability of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2)); or
based on determining that the adjacent channel interference does not meet the predetermined criterion, continue to apply the first receiver configuration for reception on the channel assignment (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell),
the channel assignment comprises a configuration of a non-continuous intra-band carrier aggregation, or an irregular bandwidth allocation (Para. [0029]-Krishnamurthy discloses the carrier separation for intra-band CA is multiple of 300 kHz (i.e., the least common multiple of raster spacing 100 kHz and subcarrier spacing 15 kHz)).
Krishnamurthy fails to teach the first receiver configuration comprises applying one receiver chain for the reception on the channel assignment, and wherein the second receiver configuration comprises applying at least two receiver chains for the reception on the channel assignment.
However, Agashe teaches the first receiver configuration comprises applying one receiver chain for the reception on the channel assignment (Para. [0022]-Agashe discloses when no receive diversity is used, only one receiver chain may be used to process the received channels. The receiver 200 may be incorporated in a mobile station and configured for use in the communication system 100. Fig. 5, Para. [0033]-Agashe discloses the base station transmits a channel assignment message to the mobile station on the paging channel. The channel assignment message contains information about establishing the traffic channel communication link between the base station and the mobile station), and
the second receiver configuration comprises applying at least two receiver chains for the reception on the channel assignment (Para. [0022]-Agashe discloses receive diversity is controlled by the control system 210 selecting the number of receiver chains used in the RF/IF system 290 for decoding the received channel. The scale of the receive diversity may be related to the number of selected receiver chains. Large scale receive diversity may refer to using a large number of receiver chains. For example, when four receiver chains are available, the receive diversity scale may range from using one to four receiver chains. Para. [0002]-Agashe discloses communication channel between a transmitter and a receiver is susceptible to noise, interference, and multipath. Multiple antennas may be used at the receiving destination to enhance the received signal. A receiver chain for signals received at each antenna may be necessary. Therefore, multiple receiver chains may be necessary to exploit the signals received at multiple receive antennas. Fig. 5, Para. [0033]-Agashe discloses the base station transmits a channel assignment message to the mobile station on the paging channel. The channel assignment message contains information about establishing the traffic channel communication link between the base station and the mobile station).
Krishnamurthy and Agashe are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with receive diversity technique.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Krishnamurthy to incorporate the teachings of Agashe on channel assignment, with a motivation for one and multiple receiver chain channel configuration, and guarantee improved receiver architecture, (Krishnamurthy, Para. [0006]).
Krishnamurthy fails to teach an irregular bandwidth is a bandwidth having a different width than any of a predetermined set of bandwidths supported by the apparatus.
However, Chen teaches an irregular bandwidth is a bandwidth having a different width than any of a predetermined set of bandwidths supported by the apparatus (Fig. 9A-9B, Para. [0070-0071]-Chen discloses the different portions of the resources may reside in different portions of bandwidth ("bandwidth portions") on a single carrier or on plurality of carriers that may be subject to different levels and/or types of interference ... subframes in assigned downlink channels of two neighboring cells with different bandwidths ... cell 1 (serving cell) 910 may have a larger bandwidth than cell 2 (interfering cell) 920. As a results, a first portion of the bandwidth (e.g., portion 912) may not be subject to CRS interference while another portion (e.g., portion 914) of the bandwidth is subject to CRS interference from the interfering cell. Therefore, the resources in an assigned downlink channel that fall within the second portion 914 of the bandwidth may be subject to the CRS interference from the interfering cell (e.g., cell 2). Fig. 9B, Para. [0022]-Chen discloses subframes in assigned downlink channels of two neighboring cells with different bandwidths).
Chen is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with methods and apparatus for handling, within resources of an assigned channel, different availability of interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe to incorporate the teachings of Chen on channel assignment, with a motivation for irregular channel allocation, and guarantee improved receiver architecture, (Krishnamurthy, Para. [0006]).
Krishnamurthy fails to teach the apparatus … further comprises a display.
However, Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus is a user terminal and further comprises a display (Para. [0014]-Hung-Ming discloses communication device that utilizes an intermediate frequency (IF) channel select filter with an integrated AACI {adjacent channel interference} filter in a radio frequency (RF) receiver, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The communication device 180 may comprise an antenna 182, a radio frequency (RF) transmitter and/or receiver (Tx/Rx) 184, a processor 188, a memory 190, a DSP 192, a display 183).
Hung-Ming is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with method and system for an intermediate frequency (IF) channel select filter with an integrated alternate adjacent channel interference (AACI) filter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hung-Ming on UE, with a motivation for UE with display, and guarantee improved receiver architecture, (Krishnamurthy, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 17 respectively,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the message comprises an indication of the cause of transmitting the capability update (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses wireless communication terminal receives a request from a serving base station for wireless communication terminal capability information. In response, the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB)).
Regarding claim 7, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 6,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the cause indicates at least one of irregular bandwidth or non-continuous intra-band carrier aggregation (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses wireless communication terminal receives a request from a serving base station for wireless communication terminal capability information. In response, the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0029]-Krishnamurthy discloses the carrier separation for intra-band CA is multiple of 300 kHz (i.e., the least common multiple of raster spacing 100 kHz and subcarrier spacing 15 kHz)).
Regarding claim 8, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 6,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the cause indicates that the adjacent channel interference meets the predetermined criterion if using the first receive configuration for the reception on the channel assignment (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses wireless communication terminal receives a request from a serving base station for wireless communication terminal capability information. In response, the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) {for indicating whether/not the threshold is met} for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB)).
Regarding claim 12, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the apparatus is further caused to: determine that the adjacent channel interference does not anymore meet the predetermined criterion (Para. [0054-0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the level of interference may be determined by comparison of a difference of a logarithm of the RSRP of the first and second carrier components and comparison of the difference to a threshold ... Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold. Para. [0058-0059]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE also determines a level of interference that the sequence of information symbols is subject to from the first component carrier ... the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB);
based on the determination, switch back to applying the first receiver configuration (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell); and
transmit to the network a second message indicating a capability update of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the apparatus is further caused to: receive from the network, after sending the message, a request to switch back to applying the first receiver configuration (Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station); and
switch back to applying the first receiver configuration (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell).
Regarding claim 14, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the apparatus is further caused to: receive from the network a second channel assignment (Fig. 4, Para. [0023]-Krishnamurthy discloses a wireless communication terminal receives an aggregated carrier including a first component carrier and a second component carrier, as indicated at 410, from one or more base stations in the wireless communication system. The first component carrier generally comprises a reference signal (RS) ... the reference signal is embodied as a ..., Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS). Para. [0020]-Krishnamurthy discloses the downlink and uplink bandwidth are subdivided into resource blocks ... resource block (RB) is typical unit in which the resource allocations are assigned for the uplink and downlink communications. (See also Para. [0022])); and
switch back to applying the first receiver configuration for reception on the second channel assignment (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell).
Regarding claim 18, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 17,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the capability update indicates reduced capability of the user equipment with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc).
Regarding claim 20, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 17,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the first receiver configuration comprises applying one receiver chain for the reception on the channel assignment (Fig. 2, Para. [0009]-Krishnamurthy discloses receiver architecture having a single FFT. Para. [0003-0005]-Krishnamurthy discloses the amount of leakage of one CC into another depends on [0004] (i) whether or not the receiver uses a single Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) or multiple FFTs, and [0005] (ii) whether or not there are filters that follow the ADC to separate out the individual CCs in the multiple FFT case. For the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). A single FFT architecture is shown in FIG. 2. Fig. 6, Para. [0028]-Krishnamurthy discloses CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain), and
the second receiver configuration comprises applying at least two receiver chains for the reception on the channel assignment (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Krishnamurthy discloses receiver architecture having multiple Fast Fourier Transforms (FFTs). Para. [0003-0005]-Krishnamurthy discloses the amount of leakage of one CC into another depends on [0004] (i) whether or not the receiver uses a single Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) or multiple FFTs, and [0005] (ii) whether or not there are filters that follow the ADC to separate out the individual CCs in the multiple FFT case. For the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). A single FFT architecture is shown in FIG. 2. Fig. 6, Para. [0028]-Krishnamurthy discloses CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain).
Regarding claim 21, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 17,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the message indicates that a component carrier on an identified frequency band is no longer receivable due to a receiver chain already being used in the second receiver configuration, thereby causing the network to refrain from allocating carrier aggregation combinations including that band (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain), and
the capability update is sent in a radio resource control reconfiguration complete message and includes a cause indicating adjacent channel interference and details of limitations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange).
Regarding claim 22, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 21,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the message identifies a component carrier or a channel on the identified frequency band that is no longer receivable (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain).
Regarding claim 23, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 22,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the message comprises: an indication that adjacent channel interference is a cause of the capability update (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain);
an indication of at least one frequency band that is affected by the updated capabilities (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain);
an indication that the updated capabilities indicate reduced capability with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain); and
a predetermined time period after which the network may assume that the user equipment is no longer suffering from the capability restriction (Fig. 4, Para. [0024]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE measures leakage of the reference signal from the first component carrier onto the second component carrier. In one implementation, the reference signal is transmitted on a particular time slot, for example on the first component carrier in the example described above. According to this example, the reference signal leakage from the first component carrier is measured on a corresponding time slot on the second component carrier. Generally the time slots on the first and second component carriers are coincident in the time domain, although in some circumstances they may be only partially aligned or overlapping in the time domain. Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2). Para. [0049]-Krishnamurthy discloses parameters associated with the image of CC1 are estimated (post-FFT and based on signal template of pilot transmission in CC1) and are used for compensating for the CC1's image in time-domain (prior to FFT) in CC2's receive chain. (See also Paras. [0026 and 0067])).
Regarding claim 24, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 23,
Krishnamurthy further teaches determining the adjacent channel interference comprises measuring on subcarriers corresponding to an adjacent channel using a wider channel bandwidth that allows adjacent channel energy to pass through a fast Fourier transform block (Fig. 4, Para. [0024]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE measures leakage of the reference signal from the first component carrier onto the second component carrier. In one implementation, the reference signal is transmitted on a particular time slot, for example on the first component carrier in the example described above. According to this example, the reference signal leakage from the first component carrier is measured on a corresponding time slot on the second component carrier. Generally the time slots on the first and second component carriers are coincident in the time domain, although in some circumstances they may be only partially aligned or overlapping in the time domain. Fig. 7, Para. [0029]-Krishnamurthy discloses the carrier separation for intra-band CA is multiple of 300 kHz (i.e., the least common multiple of raster spacing 100 kHz and subcarrier spacing 15 kHz). This allows the use of a single FFT receiver for demodulating multiple aggregated CCs within the same band. The simplest case of 10 MHz+10 MHz intra-band contiguous CA is shown in FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 25, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 24,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the wider channel bandwidth is a regular bandwidth wider than an irregular bandwidth of the channel assignment (Fig. 7, Para. [0029]-Krishnamurthy discloses the carrier separation for intra-band CA is multiple of 300 kHz (i.e., the least common multiple of raster spacing 100 kHz and subcarrier spacing 15 kHz). This allows the use of a single FFT receiver for demodulating multiple aggregated CCs within the same band. The simplest case of 10 MHz+10 MHz intra-band contiguous CA is shown in FIG. 7), and
the measuring is performed while applying the first receiver configuration and comprises comparing a measured interference level to a predetermined threshold (Para. [0054-0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the level of interference may be determined by comparison of a difference of a logarithm of the RSRP of the first and second carrier components and comparison of the difference to a threshold ... Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold. Para. [0058-0059]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE also determines a level of interference that the sequence of information symbols is subject to from the first component carrier ... the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB. Fig. 4, Para. [0024]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE measures leakage of the reference signal from the first component carrier onto the second component carrier. In one implementation, the reference signal is transmitted on a particular time slot, for example on the first component carrier in the example described above. According to this example, the reference signal leakage from the first component carrier is measured on a corresponding time slot on the second component carrier. Generally the time slots on the first and second component carriers are coincident in the time domain, although in some circumstances they may be only partially aligned or overlapping in the time domain).
Regarding claim 26, Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe, Chen and Hung-Ming teaches the method of claim 25,
Krishnamurthy further teaches the wider channel bandwidth is a 10 MHz regular bandwidth (Fig. 7, Para. [0029]-Krishnamurthy discloses the carrier separation for intra-band CA is multiple of 300 kHz (i.e., the least common multiple of raster spacing 100 kHz and subcarrier spacing 15 kHz). This allows the use of a single FFT receiver for demodulating multiple aggregated CCs within the same band. The simplest case of 10 MHz+10 MHz intra-band contiguous CA is shown in FIG. 7).
Krishnamurthy fails to teach the irregular bandwidth of the channel assignment is 7 MHz, wherein using a 10 MHz channel filter for the 7 MHz channel bandwidth exposes approximately 3 MHz of unfiltered adjacent channel interference at an analog-to-digital converter input.
However, Chen teaches the irregular bandwidth of the channel assignment is 7 MHz, wherein using a 10 MHz channel filter for the 7 MHz channel bandwidth exposes approximately 3 MHz of unfiltered adjacent channel interference at an analog-to-digital converter input (Fig. 9A-9B, Para. [0070-0071]-Chen discloses the different portions of the resources may reside in different portions of bandwidth ("bandwidth portions") on a single carrier or on plurality of carriers that may be subject to different levels and/or types of interference ... subframes in assigned downlink channels of two neighboring cells with different bandwidths ... cell 1 (serving cell) 910 may have a larger bandwidth than cell 2 (interfering cell) 920. As a results, a first portion of the bandwidth (e.g., portion 912) may not be subject to CRS interference while another portion (e.g., portion 914) of the bandwidth is subject to CRS interference from the interfering cell. Therefore, the resources in an assigned downlink channel that fall within the second portion 914 of the bandwidth may be subject to the CRS interference from the interfering cell (e.g., cell 2). Fig. 9B, Para. [0022]-Chen discloses subframes in assigned downlink channels of two neighboring cells with different bandwidths. Para. [0030]-Chen discloses examples of processors include microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors (DSPs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), programmable logic devices (PLDs), state machines, gated logic, discrete hardware circuits, and other suitable hardware configured to perform the various functionality. Para. [0050]-Chen discloses the RX processor 656 then converts the OFDM symbol stream from the time-domain to the frequency domain using a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT)).
Chen is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with methods and apparatus for handling, within resources of an assigned channel, different availability of interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Krishnamurthy in view of Agashe to incorporate the teachings of Chen on channel assignment, with a motivation for irregular bandwidth, and guarantee improved receiver architecture, (Krishnamurthy, Para. [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krishnamurthy et al. (US 20120213095 A1), hereinafter referenced as Krishnamurthy.
Regarding claim 16, Krishnamurthy teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE generally comprises a controller coupled to a wireless transceiver wherein the controller is configured to cause the UE to perform the various functions described herein including receiving the aggregated carrier, measuring leakage of the reference signal, determining signal characteristics on the component carriers, determining the level of interference, and providing signal interference information to the base station among the other functionality described herein. The methods and functions may be performed by a digital processor executing software of firmware residing in a memory device), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive from a user equipment an indication of capabilities of the user equipment with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc)
transmit to ato the user equipment an indication of a channel assignment (Fig. 4, Para. [0023]-Krishnamurthy discloses a wireless communication terminal receives an aggregated carrier including a first component carrier and a second component carrier, as indicated at 410, from one or more base stations in the wireless communication system. The first component carrier generally comprises a reference signal (RS) ... the reference signal is embodied as a ..., Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS). Para. [0020]-Krishnamurthy discloses the downlink and uplink bandwidth are subdivided into resource blocks ... resource block (RB) is typical unit in which the resource allocations are assigned for the uplink and downlink communications. (See also Para. [0022]));
receive from the user equipment a message indicating a capability update of the user equipment with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc),
the capability update indicates reduced capability of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2));
update a database based on the message, the database indicating which channel assignments cause a capability update at the user equipment (Para. [0040-0041]-Krishnamurthy discloses when there is no CRS collision (either due to the selection of suitable PCID pairs for the two CCs or due to transmit/blank coordination of FIG. 3), the received signal can be divided into four groups of subcarriers over which CRS is received: … where S.sub.i,j is the set of subcarriers over which CRS transmission on CC#j is received on CC#i, and s.sub.j(k) is the CRS sequence for CC#j in frequency domain. The index l belongs to the range l=0, 1, . . . , L-1, where L=100 for the 10 MHz case. The index l maps to index k in set S.sub.Z in a one-to-one fashion. Para. [0022]-Krishnamurthy discloses in aggregated carrier systems, a User Equipment (UE) can receive and transmit control and data signaling on multiple component carriers (CCs). Initially, the UE may communicate with the network by receiving only a single CC (Primary or Anchor CC). In some implementations, the network sends a configuration message (SI configuration message) to the UE on the primary CC with system information (SI) corresponding to other CCs on which the network may schedule the UE. (See also Para.[0020 and 0023])); and
perform further channel assignment to the user equipment based on the database (Fig. 4, Para. [0023]-Krishnamurthy discloses a wireless communication terminal receives an aggregated carrier including a first component carrier and a second component carrier, as indicated at 410, from one or more base stations in the wireless communication system. The first component carrier generally comprises a reference signal (RS) ... the reference signal is embodied as a ..., Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS). Para. [0020]-Krishnamurthy discloses the downlink and uplink bandwidth are subdivided into resource blocks ... resource block (RB) is typical unit in which the resource allocations are assigned for the uplink and downlink communications. (See also Para. [0022])).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 02/02/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1, 6-8, 12-14 and 16-26 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 9 and 10, Lines [20-28 and 9-12 respectively], Applicant argues that, “Krishnamurthy describes sending static receiver performance information-such as adjacent-channel interference rejection values-as part of a capability information exchange. It does not describe a real-time "reduced capability" update that identifies which frequency band is affected after the device changes its receiver configuration in response to measured adjacent-channel interference on the assigned channel (Krishnamurthy [0067]). Krishnamurthy does not disclose the claimed switching that is triggered by adjacent channel interference and tied to a message that reduces capability in terms of frequency bands or frequency band combinations,” and “sending a "capability update" that expressly indicates a reduced capability with respect to frequency bands or frequency band combinations, together with an indication of at least one affected frequency band are not disclosed in Krishnamurthy ([0067]),” respectively.
However, Krishnamurthy teaches based on determining that the adjacent channel interference meets the predetermined criterion, switch from applying the first receiver configuration to applying a second receiver configuration for reception on the channel assignment (Fig. 8, Para. [0055]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE provides signal interference information to a serving base station if the determined interference level satisfies a condition. Satisfaction of the conditions may be determined by comparison of the ratio to a threshold ... the UE indicates the signal interference information to the base station only when both the determined interference level satisfies the condition and ... the UE receives a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station in response to sending the signal interference information to the serving base station. Para. [0057]-Krishnamurthy discloses in response to receiving a primary serving cell change command from the serving base station, the UE configures a third component carrier as a new primary serving cell), … wherein the capability update indicates reduced capability of the apparatus with respect to at least one of frequency bands or frequency band combinations (Para. [0067]-Krishnamurthy discloses the UE sends capability information to the serving base station, wherein the capability information includes an Adjacent Channel Interference Rejection Ratio (ACIRR) for at least one carrier frequency (e.g., EARFCN) pair as part of the RRC capability information exchange ... the UE sends ACIRR together with either a band combination or a carrier aggregation bandwidth class ... the UE sends separate ACIRR values for each band combination, each carrier aggregation bandwidth class, etc ... the UE can send the ACIRR values at different frequencies possibly in relation the different serving cell component carrier frequencies (e.g., If Pcell at carrier frequency F1, ACIRR corresponding to Scell #1 at carrier frequency F2, Scell #2 at carrier frequency F3, etc. are sent by the UE to the eNB). Para. [0059-0060]-Krishnamurthy discloses if the UE's Scell-to-Pcell adjacent channel interference rejection ratio (ACIRR) which is indicative of the receiver's adjacent channel suppression capability is 26 dB, the SINR on the Pcell is 15 dB ... the UE sends an indication to the eNB identifying that there is a problem only when the condition is met (i.e., when Scell RSRP minus Pcell RSRP>10 dB) ... In response to receiving such an indication fro the UE, the eNB can schedule a lower MCS or a transmission with lower rank if the effective throughput is increased by lowering the MCS or the transmission rank. Figs. 1-2 and 6, Para. [0003]-Krishnamurthy discloses for the simplest case of two CCs (i.e., a Pcell and one Scell), a multiple FFT receiver architecture is shown in FIG. 1 where Component Carrier #1 (CC1) is received on a lower carrier frequency relative to Component Carrier #2 (CC2)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472