DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 04/27/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/29/2026. Claims 1, 3, 15 and 20 have been amended. Claims 6 and 9 has been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2023/0388875), Gao hereinafter, and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0366976), Manolakos hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Gao teaches a method, comprising: (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0078 - a method 400 implemented between a UE 402 and a network node 404 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 406);
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), cell information of cells that are each associated with a cell identifier and formed by a beam transmitted from a respective satellite; (¶0078 - UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. …SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: …(ii) beam information (e.g. number of beams for each satellite, boresight and/or 3 dB bandwidth of each beam) can also be broadcast to UE 402; and/or (iii) cell information associated with each satellite or beam can also be broadcast to UE 402 to derive the coverage of a cell and the location of the cell center. Please also see ¶0049/¶0052);
and performing, by the UE, cell selection or reselection based on the cell information and cell-selection related information, (¶0079 - After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406);
wherein a subset of the cells are deprioritized or excluded for the cell selection or reselection (¶0056 - In some embodiments, configuration information can include a range to best cell for NTN (e.g., rangeToBestCellNTN), which can be used by a UE to identify candidate cells as possible reselection targets… ¶0075 - Based on the ranking, candidate cells can be determined. For example, if the rank of a best cell is 10 and the RangeToBestCellNTN value received by the UE 202 is 2, the UE will select all neighbor cells with a ranking of 8 or higher as candidate cells for possible reselection);
Yet, Gao does not explicitly teach tuning, by the UE, a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); determining, by the UE, an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE;
However, in the analogous art, Manolakos explicitly teaches tuning, by the UE, a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); (Fig. 4 & ¶0042 - For example, the receiver can increase the gain setting and/or adjust the phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify (e.g., to increase the gain level of) the RF signals received from that direction. Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction);
determining, by the UE, an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE; (¶0006 - a method of wireless communication positioning by a user equipment (UE) includes determining one or more angle-based measurements of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE … ¶0105 - As such, the UE 404 identifies the receive beam 404a-404d that results in the highest received signal strength and the strongest channel impulse response, and estimates the angle from itself to the base station 402 as the DL-AoA of that receive beam 404a-404d. ¶0169 - Clause 17. The method of clause 16, wherein the DL-AoA measurement comprises: … an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more PRS resources are received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Manolakos to the teaching of Gao. The motivation would be because the invention discloses various techniques for wireless positioning (Abstract, Manolakos).
Re. Claims 2 and 16, Gao and Manolakos teach Claims 1 and 15.
Gao further teaches the cell information is received from one of: a system information of serving cell, information stored in the UE/apparatus, system information of a neighboring cell, and a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0052 - The cell information associated with each satellite ID can be provided via system information or dedicated RRC signaling).
Re. Claims 3 and 17, Gao and Manolakos teach Claims 1 and 15.
Gao further teaches the cell information includes one of: a reference location of one of the cells, an ephemeris of the one of the respective satellites, one or more measurement quantities, a threshold of a distance between a location of the UE and a reference location of one of the cells, and a threshold of the elevation angle of the one of the respective satellites with respect to the UE/the cell information includes one of: a reference location of one of the cells, an ephemeris of one of the respective satellites, one or more measurement quantities, a threshold of a distance between a location of the apparatus and a reference location of one of the cells, and a threshold of the elevation angle of one of the respective satellites with respect to the apparatus (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0073 - In some embodiments, the orbital baseline parameters can contain one or more of the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e. ¶0074 - Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE to derive the real-time location of a satellite. The cell information associated with each satellite can also be provided. ¶0076 - based on an association between satellite (e.g., ephemeris information) and the cell information… the UE 202 can identify the satellite covering each candidate cell and the location of these satellites, i.e., the location of satellite 106 and satellite 110 of FIG. 1. The UE 202 can then estimate the distance between itself and the satellite 106 and satellite 110 covering each candidate cell... Please also see ¶0050. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of”).
Re. Claims 4 and 18, Gao and Manolakos teach Claims 3 and 17.
Gao further teaches the determining cell-selection information includes:/the circuitry is further configured to: determining/determine a distance between the UE/apparatus and the reference location of one of the cells (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0076 - The UE 202 can then estimate the distance between itself and the satellite 106 and satellite 110 covering each candidate cell (i.e., cell #2 108 and cell #3 112). Finally, the UE 202 performs cell reselection to another cell (i.e., cell #2 108) with the shortest distance between the UE and the satellite).
Re. Claim 10, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Gao further teaches the performing includes: performing the cell selection or reselection based on priorities associated with ones of the cells that are each associated with the cell identifier and formed by the beam transmitted from the respective satellite (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0040 - Cell reselection to a higher priority RAT/frequency can take precedence over a lower priority RAT/frequency if multiple cells of different priorities fulfil the cell reselection criteria. Please also see ¶0061).
Re. Claim 11, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Gao further teaches the performing includes: in response to one of the cells providing a service or a slice the UE prefers, prioritizing the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0059 - In some embodiments, upon receiving a range to best cell for NTN (RangeToBestCellNTN) value, a UE can rank the neighbor cells based on the R-criterion, while the cells whose R value is within range to best cell in NTN of the R value of the highest ranked cell can be considered as candidate cells. The UE can then perform cell reselection to one or more criteria including: (i) a cell with shortest distance between the cell center and the UE; (ii) a cell with the shortest distance between the satellite and the UE; and/or (iii) a cell with longest valid/serving time or remaining valid/serving time. Please also see ¶0060-¶0061).
Re. Claim 12, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Gao further teaches the performing includes: in response to detecting an available time of one of the cells being enough for the UE to complete a transmission, prioritizing the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0058 - In some embodiments, a threshold of the serving time of a cell (e.g., Thresh.sub.ST), with or without a specific offset for a cell with valid time larger or smaller than the threshold can be deployed. As used herein, serving time of a cell refers to an amount of time a cell can provide service to the UE. ¶0059 - The UE can then perform cell reselection to one or more criteria including: (iii) a cell with longest valid/serving time or remaining valid/serving time. Please also see ¶0063-¶0064).
Re. Claim 13, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Gao further teaches the performing includes: performing the cell selection or reselection based on a list of visited cells each associated with visited-cell information that includes one of:
available time indicating when the respective cell is available, (Fig. 2-4 &¶0064 - the UE can perform ranking of all cells that fulfil a predetermined cell selection criterion S and the time criterion T. In some embodiments, upon receiving a threshold of the serving time Thresh.sub.ServingT of a cell, a UE can evaluate whether the serving time of the serving cell or a certain neighbor cell is longer than the Thresh.sub.ServingT or not to decide whether to adjust the ranking or priority levels of cells in accordance with various embodiments. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of”);
a reference point of the respective cell,
and a size of the respective cell.
Re. Claim 15, Gao teaches an apparatus comprising circuitry configured to: (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0026 - “wireless communication device” can include… a mobile terminal, a mobile station, a work station and a user equipment device (UE)… Please also see ¶0103);
receive cell information of cells that are each associated with a cell identifier and formed by a beam transmitted from a respective satellite; (¶0078 - UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. …SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: …(ii) beam information (e.g. number of beams for each satellite, boresight and/or 3 dB bandwidth of each beam) can also be broadcast to UE 402; and/or (iii) cell information associated with each satellite or beam can also be broadcast to UE 402 to derive the coverage of a cell and the location of the cell center. Please also see ¶0049/¶0052);
and perform cell selection or reselection based on the cell information and the cell- selection related information, (¶0079 - After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406);
wherein a subset of the cells are deprioritized or excluded for the cell selection or reselection (¶0056 - In some embodiments, configuration information can include a range to best cell for NTN (e.g., rangeToBestCellNTN), which can be used by a UE to identify candidate cells as possible reselection targets… ¶0075 - Based on the ranking, candidate cells can be determined. For example, if the rank of a best cell is 10 and the RangeToBestCellNTN value received by the UE 202 is 2, the UE will select all neighbor cells with a ranking of 8 or higher as candidate cells for possible reselection);
Yet, Gao does not explicitly teach tuning a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); determining an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE;
However, in the analogous art, Manolakos explicitly teaches tuning a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); (Fig. 4 & ¶0042 - For example, the receiver can increase the gain setting and/or adjust the phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify (e.g., to increase the gain level of) the RF signals received from that direction. Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction);
determining an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE; (¶0006 - a method of wireless communication positioning by a user equipment (UE) includes determining one or more angle-based measurements of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE … ¶0105 - As such, the UE 404 identifies the receive beam 404a-404d that results in the highest received signal strength and the strongest channel impulse response, and estimates the angle from itself to the base station 402 as the DL-AoA of that receive beam 404a-404d. ¶0169 - Clause 17. The method of clause 16, wherein the DL-AoA measurement comprises: … an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more PRS resources are received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Manolakos to the teaching of Gao. The motivation would be because the invention discloses various techniques for wireless positioning (Abstract, Manolakos).
Re. Claim 20, Gao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method, the method comprising: (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0105-¶0106);
receiving at a user equipment (UE) cell information of cells that are each associated with a cell identifier and formed by a beam transmitted from a respective satellite; (¶0078 - UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. …SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: …(ii) beam information (e.g. number of beams for each satellite, boresight and/or 3 dB bandwidth of each beam) can also be broadcast to UE 402; and/or (iii) cell information associated with each satellite or beam can also be broadcast to UE 402 to derive the coverage of a cell and the location of the cell center. Please also see ¶0049/¶0052);
and performing cell selection or reselection based on the cell information and cell-selection related information, (¶0079 - After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406);
wherein a subset of the cells are deprioritized or excluded for the cell selection or reselection (¶0056 - In some embodiments, configuration information can include a range to best cell for NTN (e.g., rangeToBestCellNTN), which can be used by a UE to identify candidate cells as possible reselection targets… ¶0075 - Based on the ranking, candidate cells can be determined. For example, if the rank of a best cell is 10 and the RangeToBestCellNTN value received by the UE 202 is 2, the UE will select all neighbor cells with a ranking of 8 or higher as candidate cells for possible reselection);
Yet, Gao does not explicitly teach tuning a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); determining an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE;
However, in the analogous art, Manolakos explicitly teaches tuning a phase of each antenna element of an antenna array to obtain a largest reference signal received power (RSRP); (Fig. 4 & ¶0042 - For example, the receiver can increase the gain setting and/or adjust the phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify (e.g., to increase the gain level of) the RF signals received from that direction. Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction);
determining an elevation angle of one of the respective satellites based on the phase of each antenna element of the antenna array that corresponds to the largest RSRP obtained by tuning the phase and measured at the UE; (¶0006 - a method of wireless communication positioning by a user equipment (UE) includes determining one or more angle-based measurements of one or more reference signal resources transmitted by or received at the UE on one or more antennas of the UE … ¶0105 - As such, the UE 404 identifies the receive beam 404a-404d that results in the highest received signal strength and the strongest channel impulse response, and estimates the angle from itself to the base station 402 as the DL-AoA of that receive beam 404a-404d. ¶0169 - Clause 17. The method of clause 16, wherein the DL-AoA measurement comprises: … an elevation angle of the boresight direction in which the one or more PRS resources are received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Manolakos to the teaching of Gao. The motivation would be because the invention discloses various techniques for wireless positioning (Abstract, Manolakos).
Claims 5, 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Manolakos, and further in view of Leng et al. (US 2023/0354138), Leng hereinafter.
Re. Claims 5 and 19, Gao and Manolakos teach Claims 3 and 17.
Yet, Gao and Manolakos do not explicitly teach the determining cell-selection information includes:/the apparatus is further configured to: determining/determine the elevation angle of the one of the respective satellites with respect to the UE based on a UE location and the ephemeris of the one of the respective satellites.
However, in the analogous art, Leng explicitly teaches the determining cell-selection information includes:/the apparatus is further configured to: determining/determine the elevation angle of the one of the respective satellites with respect to the UE/apparatus based on a UE/apparatus location and the ephemeris of the one of the respective satellites (Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - UE reads the serving and/or neighbor cell(s) system information for satellite ephemeris and/or cell moving information and/or configuration parameters of the serving cell and/or neighbor cells for cell reselection … where the cell moving information can include reference location coordinates, … and/or elevation angle parameters… ¶0097 - the UE… estimates the trajectory of any moving cell, and/or calculate the distance(s) to the reference location(s), and/or calculate the elevation angle(s) to the satellite(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Leng to the teachings of Gao and Manolakos. The motivation would be because the invention relates to mobility in non-terrestrial networks (NTN) with earth moving cells in a wireless communication system (¶0006, Leng).
Re. Claim 7, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Yet, Gao and Manolakos do not explicitly teach in response to a distance between a location of the UE and a reference point of one of the cells being greater than a threshold, determining to exclude or deprioritize the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection.
However, in the analogous art, Leng explicitly teaches in response to a distance between a location of the UE and a reference point of one of the cells being greater than a threshold, determining to exclude or deprioritize the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection (Fig. 7 & ¶0117 - For another example, if the distance between the UE location and a neighbor cell reference location is larger than a threshold, the UE may not perform measurement to the cell or may not select the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Leng to the teachings of Gao and Manolakos. The motivation would be because the invention relates to mobility in non-terrestrial networks (NTN) with earth moving cells in a wireless communication system (¶0006, Leng).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Manolakos, and further in view of Henttonen et al. (WO 2014/024123 A1), Henttonen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Yet, Gao and Manolakos do not explicitly teach the performing includes: in response to a variation of signal strength of one of the cells being above a threshold, determining to exclude or deprioritize the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection.
However, in the analogous art, Henttonen explicitly teaches the performing includes: in response to a variation of signal strength of one of the cells being above a threshold, determining to exclude or deprioritize the one of the cells for the cell selection or reselection (Page 6, Line 15 - The cell selection enables the UE 20 to immediately measure and rank the available frequencies, excluding the frequency/frequencies and/or RAT which was deprioritised. Page 7, Line 3 - The UE 20 can then coarsely rank the cells by measuring received signal strength of the PSS or of the SSS, or the UE 20 can more comprehensively measure the cell for ranking by measuring the reference signals which each cell transmits (for example, by measuring reference signal received power RSRP and/or reference signal received quality RSRQ of the common reference signals CRSs). Please also see Claim 6 - setting a value of a threshold parameter to exceed received signal power measured from a serving frequency layer of the serving cell, where the serving frequency layer is the de-prioritized layer or one of the de-prioritized layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Henttonen to the teachings of Gao and Manolakos. The motivation would be because congestion in cellular radio networks is a continuing concern as both the number of users and especially the volume of data being handled continues to increase (Page 1, Line 15, Henttonen).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Manolakos, and further in view of Liberg et al. (US 2022/0110035), Liberg hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Gao and Manolakos teach Claim 1.
Gao further teaches the performing includes: performing the cell selection or reselection based on a ranking of the cells, (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0041 - Cell reselection to a cell on an equal priority NR frequency can be based on ranking for intra-frequency cell reselection and R-criterion parameters);
Yet, Gao and Manolakos do not explicitly teach wherein the cells are ranked based on reference points of the cells, satellite elevation angles of the cells, and detectable beams of the cells.
However, in the analogous art, Liberg explicitly teaches wherein the cells are ranked based on reference points of the cells (¶0037 - the wireless device may use to determine a cell reselection ranking for a plurality of cells. The geographic location information comprises any one or more of the following: a distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with a cell of the plurality of neighbor cells…), satellite elevation angles of the cells (¶0037 - …and an angle of elevation between the wireless device and a satellite serving a cell of the plurality of cells), and detectable beams of the cells (¶0037 - a distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with a synchronization signal beam (SSB) of a cell of the plurality of cells. ¶0021 - the UE performs cell reselection to the cell that has the highest number of beams above the threshold absThreshSS-Blocks Consolidation. If multiple cells tie, the UE performs cell reselection to the highest ranked cell among the multiple cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liberg to the teachings of Gao and Manolakos. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more specifically to enhanced cell ranking based on a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning information (¶0001, Liberg).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Svendsen et al. (US 2023/0268966) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-7.
You et al. (US 2022/0386202) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-9.
Shrestha et al. (US 2022/0085874) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-7.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465