DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/14/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(a) and 112(b) with respect to claim 14 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
This Office Action contains a New Grounds of Rejection. Since this new grounds of rejection did not result from an amendment to the claims, this Office Action is being made non-final to afford the applicant the opportunity to respond to the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 and 10, the claim recites first "a refrigerant and a coolant circulating in a coolant system" and then "the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser" which renders the two recitations of "the refrigerant" indefinite.
Please amend claim 1 to recite -- a refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and a refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser -- for clarity.
Claims 2-9 and 11-15 are rejected to because of dependency from a rejected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12365221. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because “a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor” appears to mean the same thing as a refrigerant heat exchanger, see U.S. Patent No. 12365221 fig. 1 and specification col. 6 lines 47-50 where the placement of refrigerant heat exchanger is taught. It would be have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a refrigerant heat exchanger recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12365221 to include disposed on an upstream side of the compressor, in order to provide an orientation to the refrigerant heat exchanger.
Instant application no. 18329808
U.S. Patent No. 12365221
1. A heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system for a vehicle, the system comprising:a compressor;an interior condenser disposed on a downstream side of the compressor;a water-cooled heat exchanger disposed on a downstream side of the interior condenser and configured to transfer heat between a refrigerant and a coolant circulating in a coolant system;a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser; anda first control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger.
1. A vehicle heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a compressor; an interior condenser positioned on a downstream side of the compressor; a water-cooled heat exchanger positioned on a downstream side of the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger being
configured to transfer heat between a refrigerant and a coolant circulating in a coolant system; an exterior heat exchanger positioned on a downstream side of the water-cooled heat exchanger, the exterior heat exchanger being configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant and ambient air; a refrigerant heat exchanger
configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser; and a first control valve located between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser, the first control valve being configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser to be directed to at least one of the water-cooled heat exchanger, the refrigerant heat exchanger, and the exterior heat exchanger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2020/0180391A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system for a vehicle [0017] and Kim teaches the system comprising:
a compressor [59];
an interior condenser [52a] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [fig. 4; 0198-0199];
a water-cooled heat exchanger [54; 0106] disposed on a downstream side of the interior condenser [52a] and configured to transfer heat between a refrigerant [0016 “a refrigerant”] and a coolant [0106-110 “coolant supplied”] circulating in a coolant system [0106-110 “condense or evaporate the refrigerant through heat exchange with the coolant supplied through the first and second coolant lines”].
Kim does not explicitly teach a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser; and a first control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger.
However, Park teaches a refrigerant heat exchanger [180] disposed on an upstream side of the compressor [fig. 3; 110 corresponding to 59 of Kim] and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger [161 corresponding to 54 of Kim] and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser [fig. 3; 140 corresponding to 52a of Kim]; and
a first control valve [120] disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger [161] and the interior condenser [fig. 3; 140] and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser [140], the water-cooled heat exchanger [161], and the refrigerant heat exchanger [fig. 3; see also 0050-55 “guides the flow of the refrigerant in the specific direction includes a first port 121, a second port 122, a third port 123, and a fourth port 124”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to have a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser; and a first control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger in view of the teachings of … where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system with a refrigerant heat exchanger upstream the compressor which transfers heat between refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser the system also includes a first control valve which controls flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger with this configuration the number of parts are reduced which will bring down the cost of production [Park; 0028].
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 1 and Park teaches wherein the refrigerant heat exchanger comprises [180]:
a first passage [fig. 3 the passage connected from the exit of 161 to inlet of 180] through which the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger [161] passes [fig. 3]; and
a second passage [fig. 3 the passage right below the first passage] through which the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser passes [fig. 3].
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 2 and Park teaches wherein the first control valve [120] comprises:
an inlet port [121] in communication with the interior condenser [fig. 3];
a first outlet port [123] in communication with the water-cooled heat exchanger [fig. 3]; and
a second outlet port [122] in communication with the second passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger [Fig. 3].
Claim(s) 4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2020/0180391A1) and Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Champagne (US4881718A).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 3 and Park teaches the first outlet port [123] is configured and a suction pressure of the compressor [fig. 3 where there are pressure sensors on the suction side of the compressor which would determine a suction pressure of the compressor].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach an opening degree of the first outlet port is configured to be adjusted based on a suction pressure of the compressor.
However, Champagne teaches an opening degree [col. 4; lines 9-14 “open position”] of the first outlet port [fig. 2; 16 corresponding to 123 of Park] is configured to be adjusted [col. 2; lines 21-37 “grooves have a certain area for fluid flow”] based on a pressure [col. 2 line 56-col.3 line 30].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Kim teaching with Champagne by combining an opening degree of the first outlet port is configured to be adjusted based on a pressure where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system with a valve which controls an opening degree based on a pressure need which offers more precise control of flow over a broad range of flows and at high pressure drops [Champagne; col. 1; lines 6-10].
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 3 and Park teaches wherein the first control valve [120] comprises:
a valve body [fig. 3 where (120) has a valve body] comprising the inlet port [121], the first outlet port [123], and the second outlet port [122].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach a ball component rotatably received in the valve body.
However, Champagne teaches a ball [26] component rotatably received in the valve body [fig. 2; 10 corresponding to a valve body of Park].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Kim teaching with Champagne by combining a ball component rotatably received in the valve body where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system with a ball component rotatably received in the valve body which offers more precise control of flow over a broad range of flows and at high pressure drops [Champagne; col. 1; lines 6-10].
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 7 and Park teaches wherein the ball component [Champagne; 26] comprises:
an inlet passage [fig. 3; where 121 would clearly have an inlet passage] in communication with the inlet port [121 fig. 3];
a first outlet passage [fig. 3; where 123 would clearly have an outlet passage] and a second outlet passage [fig. 3; where 122 would clearly have an outlet passage] branching off from the inlet passage [fig. 3 clearly showing outlet passages branching of from the inlet passage]; and
a groove extending [34; abstract] from the first outlet passage [fig. 2], wherein a cross-sectional area of the groove [34] is less than a cross-sectional area of the first outlet passage [fig. 2; col. 2; lines 38-54 where in Fig. 2 the cross-sectional area being less than that of the first outlet passage is clear].
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 8 and Champagne teaches wherein the ball component [26] is configured to rotate around a rotation axis [28], and the rotation axis [28] of the ball component is aligned with a central axis of the inlet port [fig. 1 where the rotation axis of the ball is perpendicular to the inlet aligning 32 with a central axis of the inlet port].
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2020/0180391A1) and Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Werlen et al. (US2020/0041070A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 3 and Park teaches wherein an opening degree [0053 “selectively in communication with”] of the second outlet [122] port is configured to be adjusted [0053 where selectively means an opening degree is adjusted].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach an opening degree of the second outlet port is configured to be adjusted based on a degree of superheat of the refrigerant.
However, Werlen teaches an opening degree [0136 “opened”] of the second outlet port [15 corresponding to 122 of Park] is configured to be adjusted [0136 “opened”] based on a degree of superheat of the refrigerant [0133-0138 “the superheat temperature at the inlet of the compressor is too low”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Kim teaching with Werlen by combining an opening degree of the second outlet port is configured to be adjusted based on a degree of superheat of the refrigerant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system where an opening degree of the second outlet port is configured to be adjusted based on a degree of superheat of the refrigerant where the HVAC system will respond quicker [Werlen; 0138].
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2020/0180391A1), Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1) and further in view of Hall et al. (US2022/0234420A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system for a vehicle [0017] and Kim teaches the system comprising:
a compressor [59];
an interior condenser [52a] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [fig. 4; 0198-0199];
a water-cooled heat exchanger [54; 0106] disposed on a downstream side of the interior condenser [52a] and configured to transfer heat between a refrigerant [0016 “a refrigerant”] and a coolant [0106-110 “coolant supplied”] circulating in a coolant system [0106-110 “condense or evaporate the refrigerant through heat exchange with the coolant supplied through the first and second coolant lines”];
an exterior heat exchanger [56] disposed on a downstream side of the water-cooled heat exchanger [at least fig. 3].
Kim does not explicitly teach a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser, the refrigerant heat exchanger comprising: a first passage through which the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger passes; and
a second passage through which the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser passes; and
a first control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger; and
a second control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the exterior heat exchanger, wherein the second control valve is configured to control the flow of the refrigerant between the water-cooled heat exchanger, the exterior heat exchanger, and the first passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger.
However, Park teaches a refrigerant heat exchanger [180] disposed on an upstream side of the compressor [fig. 3; 110 corresponding to 59 of Kim] and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger [161 corresponding to 54 of Kim] and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser [fig. 3; 140 corresponding to 52a of Kim], the refrigerant heat exchanger [180] comprising:
a first passage [fig. 3 the passage connected from the exit of 161 to inlet of 180] through which the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger [161] passes [fig. 3]; and
a second passage [fig. 3 the passage right below the first passage] through which the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser passes [fig. 3]; and
a first control valve [120] disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger [161] and the interior condenser [fig. 3; 140] and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser [140], the water-cooled heat exchanger [161], and the refrigerant heat exchanger [fig. 3; see also 0050-55 “guides the flow of the refrigerant in the specific direction includes a first port 121, a second port 122, a third port 123, and a fourth port 124”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to have a refrigerant heat exchanger disposed on an upstream side of the compressor and configured to transfer heat between the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser, the refrigerant heat exchanger comprising: a first passage through which the refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger passes; and a second passage through which the refrigerant discharged from the interior condenser passes; and a first control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser and configured to control a flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, and the refrigerant heat exchanger in view of the teachings of … where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system with a refrigerant heat exchanger upstream the compressor which transfers heat between refrigerant discharged from the water-cooled heat exchanger and the interior condenser the system also includes a first control valve which controls flow of the refrigerant between the interior condenser, the water-cooled heat exchanger, with passages and the refrigerant heat exchanger with this configuration the number of parts are reduced which will bring down the cost of production [Park; 0028].
Further, Hall teaches a second control valve [47] disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger [21 corresponding to 54 of Kim] and the exterior heat exchanger [49 corresponding to 56 of Kim], wherein the second control valve [47] is configured to control the flow of the refrigerant between the water-cooled heat exchanger [0079 “he first radiator 49 to the first evaporator 21”], the exterior heat exchanger [0077 “bypass the first radiator”], and the first passage [fig. 3; 23 passage after 11’ corresponding to the first passage of Park] of the refrigerant heat exchanger [fig. 3; 47 through 14 to 25 to 23].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Kim teaching with Hall by combining a second control valve disposed between the water-cooled heat exchanger and the exterior heat exchanger, wherein the second control valve is configured to control the flow of the refrigerant between the water-cooled heat exchanger, the exterior heat exchanger, and the first passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an HVAC system with a second control valve that controls the flow of the refrigerant between the water-cooled heat exchanger, the exterior heat exchanger, and the first passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger which improves total energy efficiency [Hall; 0007].
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 10 and Hall teaches wherein the second control valve 47 comprises:
an inlet port [see Drawing I below ] in communication with the water-cooled heat exchanger [0079 “to the first evaporator 21”];
a first outlet port [see Drawing I below] in communication with the exterior heat exchanger [0077 “direct coolant to the first radiator”]; and
a second outlet port [see Drawing I below] in communication with the first passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger [see Drawing I below: 47 through 14 to 25 to 23].
(drawing I created form Hall fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Kim teaches the system according to claim 11 and Hall teaches wherein the second control valve [47] is configured to allow the second outlet port to selectively communicate with the inlet port [see Drawing I].
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches the system according to claim 10 and Kim teaches further comprising:
a cooling-side expansion valve [57] disposed on a downstream side of the exterior heat exchanger [at least fig. 3];
an evaporator [58] disposed on a downstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve [at least fig. 3];
a distribution line [72; fig. 3] extending from a point between an outlet of the exterior heat exchanger [56] and an inlet of the cooling-side expansion valve [57] to a point between an outlet of the evaporator [58] and an inlet of the compressor [593], and a battery chiller [70] fluidly connected to the distribution line [at least fig. 3].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 6, 13 and 15-20 is cited as containing allowable subject matter.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 6, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Kim (US202/00180391A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1).
a first bypass line extending from the second outlet port to a downstream side of the second passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger, wherein the first bypass line is directly connected to the second outlet port.
Regarding Claim 13, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Kim (US202/00180391A1), Park et al. (US2025/0033436A1) and further in view of Hall et al. (US2022/0234420A1).
further comprising a second bypass line extending from the second outlet port to an upstream side of the first passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger, wherein the second bypass line is directly connected to the second outlet port
As per independent Claim 15-20, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Kim (US2022/0001717A1) and Schoeneman et al. (US2021/0080027A1).
further comprising a third control valve disposed between the second passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger, the inlet of the cooling- side expansion valve, and the distribution line, wherein the third control valve is configured to control the flow of the refrigerant between the second passage of the refrigerant heat exchanger, the cooling-side expansion valve, and the battery chiller.
Response to Arguments
On page 8-10 of the remarks, Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763