DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “a battery module disposed close to the heating module” is recited in Line 4, The term “close” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the examiner will interpret close under broadest reasonable interpretation to be any position within the battery system, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Claims 2-10 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0311064 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of March 26th, 2021), hereinafter Hwang, in view of Winger et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0152938 A1), hereinafter Winger.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising: a heating module (i.e., at least heating element, etc., as shown in Annotated Fig. 1, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0036], [0048]-[0049], [0059]-[0063], [0067], [0072], [0074], [0083]-[0084], [0091], [0121], [0128], [0134]-[0135], etc.);
a switching module having a first terminal connected to the heating module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0004], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0044]-[0047], [0050]-[0053], [0062], [0070]-[0074], [0076], [0082]-[0084], etc.);
a battery module disposed close to the heating module (i.e., at least battery module(s) refs. 130, 150, etc., as disclosed in [0034] and shown in at least Fig. 1, and having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the switching module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0032], [0035], [0037], [0040]-[0041], [0043], [0048], [0067], [0080]-[0081], Fig. 2, [0087], [0112]);
a power generation module having a first terminal connected to the second terminal of the switching module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 and disclosed in [0044], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the charger is at least a power generation module lacking any further distinction thereof as to said power generation module, also see [0032], [0042], [0054]-[0055], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0076], [0078], [0082]-[0085], [0120], [0122], [0128], [0131], [0134]);
a temperature sensor configured to acquire a temperature of the battery module (i.e., at least heater sensing data refs. 143 and 163 necessitates temperature sensor(s) so that first and second cell temperature value(s) of battery cell(s) are acquired as disclosed in [0064]-[0066], also see [0068]-[0069], [0116], [0121], Figs. 1-2);
a current sensor having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the power generation module, and a second terminal connected to a second terminal of the battery module, the current sensor being configured to detect current supplied from the power generation module to the battery module (i.e., at least first switch circuit ref. 113 may include a current sensor, and the current sensor may detect the charging and discharging currents input and output to/from the external terminals ref. 101a and 101b, etc., and the first switch circuit ref. 113 may be arranged between the external terminal ref. 101b and the battery terminal ref. 111b, etc., as disclosed in at least [0046]-[0047], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides a current sensor having a first terminal connected to a terminal of the power generation module (i.e., at least ref. 10) as shown in Annotated Fig. 1, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0067], Fig. 2).
Furthermore, since Hwang discloses in [046]-[0047] a first switch circuit ref. 113 may include a current sensor, and the current sensor may detect the charging and discharging currents input and output to/from the external terminals ref. 101a and 101b, etc., and the first switch circuit ref. 113 may be arranged between the external terminal ref. 101b and the battery terminal ref. 111b, etc., and Hwang further discloses in [0033] the battery management module ref. 110 may include external terminals refs. 101a and 101b, battery terminals refs. 111a and 111b, heating terminals refs. 112a and 112b, etc., this at least provides a battery management system having a first/second/third/fourth/fifth/sixth, etc., terminals.
Furthermore, Hwang discloses a battery management system having a first terminal connected to a third terminal of the power generation module (e.g., ref. 101b of battery management system as shown in Fig. 1 connected to ref. 11b of charge ref. 10 as shown in Fig. 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof),
a second terminal connected to a third terminal of the current sensor (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1), a third terminal connected to the temperature sensor (e.g., ref. 112(b) as shown in Fig. 1), and a fourth terminal connected to a third terminal of the switching module (i.e., at least ref. 112(a) as shown in Fig. 1).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Hwang discloses the heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, power module, which are identical product(s)/features as that claimed, and further discloses terminals (e.g., electrical connection(s)) connecting various components as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, and further discloses in [0141] the connecting lines, or connectors shown in the various figures presented are intended to represent functional relationships and/or physical or logical couplings between the various elements, and it should be noted that many alternative or additional functional relationships, physical connections or logical connections may be present in a practical device, etc., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to duplicate said terminal(s) and/or electrical connection(s) for said heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, etc., so as to that after a cell temperature is increased by using power supplied from a charger, a battery may be charged so that a battery system capable of fast charging even in a low temperature environment can be provided as disclosed in [0140], etc., (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
However, Hwang is silent as to the power generation module has a fourth terminal configured to connect a power module.
Winger teaches a module vehicle battery (Title). Winger further teaches power generation module has a terminal configured to connect a power module (i.e., at least generator ref. 206 converts mechanical energy of the engine ref. 102 into alternating current (AC) power, for example, the generator ref. 206 may be coupled to the crankshaft (e.g., via gears or belt) and convert mechanical energy of the engine ref. 102 into AC power by applying a load to the crankshaft, and the generator ref. 206 rectifies the AC power into DC power and stores the DC power in the battery ref. 208, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to power module, also see [0004], [0066], [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hwang with the teachings of Winger, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, etc., as disclosed by Hwang further includes that the power generation module has a terminal configured to connect a power module as taught by Winger so as to convert mechanical energy of the engine into AC power by applying a load to the crankshaft, whereby the generator rectifies the AC power into DC power and stores the DC power in the battery so that this allows the electric motor to assume some of the power responsibilities of the engine, which may permit the use of a smaller and possibly more efficient engine as taught in [0004].
Annotated Figure 1 (Hwang)
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Hwang further discloses a film heater/element ref. 132, 152, Fig. 1, etc., and further discloses Fig. 3 [0087] a thermal plate ref. 240, a film heat ref. 250, etc., also see [0035], [0036], [0048]-[0049], [0059]-[0063], [0067], [0072], [0074], [0083]-[0084], [0091], [0121], [0128], [0134]-[0135], etc.), which at least provides the heating module completely covers at least one end face of the battery module (e.g., ref. 240/250 at least covers a top side of the battery module ref. 200 as shown in Fig. 3, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said heating module and/or battery module).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hwang is silent as to the current sensor includes a shunt.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Winger further teaches in [0087] current may be measured using a current sensor, for example, at the shunts ref. 712, etc., which at least provides the current sensor includes a shunt.
Winger further teaches in [0092] current may be measured within the battery ref. 208, etc., and this may enable the battery management module ref. 280 to rationalize the current measurements, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hwang with the teachings of Winger, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, current sensor(s), etc., as disclosed by Hwang further includes current sensor includes a shunt as taught by Winger so that current may be measured using a current sensor, for example, at the shunts so that this may enable the battery management module to rationalize the current measurements, etc.
Regarding claim 7, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Hwang further discloses in [0056] first and second battery cells refs. 131 and 151 may be lithium-ion batteries, etc., which at least provides the battery module includes a lithium battery.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hwang is silent as to a vehicle, the vehicle comprising: a vehicle body equipped with a power module; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system according to claim 1, mounted on the vehicle body.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Winger further teaches power generation module has a terminal configured to connect a power module (i.e., at least generator ref. 206 converts mechanical energy of the engine ref. 102 into alternating current (AC) power, for example, the generator ref. 206 may be coupled to the crankshaft (e.g., via gears or belt) and convert mechanical energy of the engine ref. 102 into AC power by applying a load to the crankshaft, and the generator ref. 206 rectifies the AC power into DC power and stores the DC power in the battery ref. 208, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to power module, also see [0004], [0066], [0076]).
Winger further teaches in [0005] a battery of a vehicle includes: a housing including: a lower portion that includes a plurality of separators extending vertically upward from a floor of the lower portion; and an upper portion that covers an opening of the lower portion and that is removable from the lower portion; first and second terminals on the housing; third and fourth terminals on the housing; a plurality of individually housed batteries separated by the plurality of separators; a plurality of switches configured to selectively connect ones of the plurality of batteries to ones of the first, second, third, and fourth terminals; and a battery management module configured to control the plurality of switches a vehicle, etc., which at least provides the vehicle comprising: a vehicle body equipped with a power module; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, mounted on the vehicle body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hwang with the teachings of Winger, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, etc., as disclosed by Hwang further includes vehicle comprising: a vehicle body equipped with a power module; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, mounted on the vehicle body as taught by Winger so as to convert mechanical energy of the engine into AC power by applying a load to the crankshaft, whereby the generator rectifies the AC power into DC power and stores the DC power in the battery so that this allows the electric motor to assume some of the power responsibilities of the engine, which may permit the use of a smaller and possibly more efficient engine as taught in [0004].
Claims 2-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Winger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2014/0139176 A1), hereinafter Ji.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Hwang further discloses a first comparison module having a first terminal connected to the third terminal of the current sensor (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Hwang further discloses a second comparison module having a first terminal connected to the temperature sensor (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Furthermore, since Hwang further discloses in [0065] the battery sensing data ref. 142 and 162 may include first and second cell voltage values of the first and second battery cells refs. 131 and 151, first and second cell temperature values of the first and second battery cells refs. 131 and 151, and cell current values of the first and second battery cells ref. 131 and 151, etc., and further discloses in [0073] for example, when the first cell temperature is higher than the second cell temperature, the microcontroller ref. 120 may determine the duty ratio of the first control signal ref. 141 to be lower than the duty ratio of the second control signal ref. 161, whereby for example, when the first cell temperature reaches a second reference value in a state in which the second cell temperature does not reach the second reference value. the microcontroller ref. 120 may transmit a control instruction for reducing the duty ratio of the first control signal ref. 141 to the first analog front end ref. 140, such that the duty ratio of the first control signal ref. 141 may be lower than the duty ratio of the second control signal ref. 161, etc. this at least provides a first/second comparison module(s), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hwang further discloses a control module having a first terminal connected to a third terminal of the first comparison module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Hwang further discloses a second terminal connected to a third terminal of the second comparison module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Hwang further discloses a second terminal connected to a third terminal of the second comparison module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Hwang further discloses a fourth terminal connected to a third terminal of the switching module (i.e., at least ref. 112(a) as shown in Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Furthermore, Hwang discloses a battery management system having a first terminal connected to a third terminal of the power generation module (e.g., ref. 101b of battery management system as shown in Fig. 1 connected to ref. 11b of charge ref. 10 as shown in Fig. 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof)
Hwang further discloses a third terminal connected to the temperature sensor (e.g., ref. 112(b) as shown in Fig. 1).
Hwang further discloses in [0070] the microcontroller ref. 120 may turn off the main
switch ref. 114 and turn on the heating switch ref. 117 when the first and second cell temperatures are lower than a first reference value, etc., which at least provides a second terminal configured to receive a second reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a first threshold temperature or a second threshold temperature, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said terminal(s) are provided so as to send/receive signals to turn on/off the main switch, etc.
However, Hwang is silent as to the battery management system comprises: a first comparison module having a first terminal connected to the third terminal of the current sensor, and a second terminal configured to receive a first reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a threshold current; a second comparison module having a first terminal connected to the temperature sensor, and a second terminal configured to receive a second reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a first threshold temperature or a second threshold temperature; and a control module having a first terminal connected to a third terminal of the first comparison module, a second terminal connected to a third terminal of the second comparison module, a third terminal connected to the third terminal of the power generation module, and a fourth terminal connected to the third terminal of the switching module.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Ji teaches a battery management system and method of driving the same (Title). Ji further teaches in [0035] as shown in Fig. 1, the BMS ref. 300 includes a first comparator ref. CPI, a second comparator ref. CP2, etc., which at least provides a battery management system comprises: a first comparison module, a second comparison module, etc. Ji further teaches in [0038] when the measured charge current ref. Ic is higher than a predetermined value, the first charge circuit ref. 320 turns off the first charge switch ref. SWc to protect the battery cell ref. 200 from being overcharged, etc., which at least provides a battery management system comprises: a second terminal configured to receive a first reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a threshold current, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Ji further teaches in [0068] by way of summation and review, embodiments provide a battery management system and a method of driving the same that readily allow an express charge to be realized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger with the teachings of Ji, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, first comparison module current sensor, a second comparison module, temperature sensor, a control module, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger further includes a battery management system comprises: a first comparison module, a second comparison module, and a battery management system comprises: a second terminal configured to receive a first reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a threshold current, etc., as taught by Ji so as to provide a battery management system and a method of driving the same that readily allow an express charge to be realized.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji discloses the heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, power module, first/second comparison module(s), etc., which are identical product(s)/features as that claimed, and Hwang further discloses terminals (e.g., electrical connection(s)) connecting various components as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, and Hwang further discloses in [0141] the connecting lines, or connectors shown in the various figures presented are intended to represent functional relationships and/or physical or logical couplings between the various elements, and it should be noted that many alternative or additional functional relationships, physical connections or logical connections may be present in a practical device, etc., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to duplicate said terminal(s) and/or electrical connection(s) for said heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, etc., so as to that after a cell temperature is increased by using power supplied from a charger, a battery may be charged so that a battery system capable of fast charging even in a low temperature environment can be provided as disclosed in [0140], etc., (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 2.
Hwang further discloses in [0008] the controller may be configured to request the charger (i.e., at least power generation module) to supply a heating voltage when one of a first cell temperature of the at least one first battery cell and a second cell temperature of the at least one second battery cell is lower than the first reference value, etc., which at least provides the control module comprises: a voltage adjustment module having a first terminal connected to the third terminal of the power generation module; a third terminal connected to a second terminal of the voltage adjustment module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1).
Hwang further discloses a heating control module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof) having a first terminal connected to the third terminal of the first comparison module (i.e., at least at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1),
a second terminal connected to the third terminal of the second comparison module (i.e., at least at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), and
and a fourth terminal connected to a third terminal of the switching module (i.e., at least ref. 112(a) as shown in Fig. 1 and said terminal(s) connected to the ref. MCU, etc.).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate before the effective filing date that since the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji discloses the heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, power module, first/second comparison module(s), voltage adjustment module(s), etc., which are identical product(s)/features as that claimed, and Hwang further discloses terminals (e.g., electrical connection(s)) connecting various components as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, and Hwang further discloses in [0141] the connecting lines, or connectors shown in the various figures presented are intended to represent functional relationships and/or physical or logical couplings between the various elements, and it should be noted that many alternative or additional functional relationships, physical connections or logical connections may be present in a practical device, etc., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to duplicate said terminal(s) and/or electrical connection(s) for said heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, etc., so as to that after a cell temperature is increased by using power supplied from a charger, a battery may be charged so that a battery system capable of fast charging even in a low temperature environment can be provided as disclosed in [0140], etc., (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 2. Hwang further discloses in [0046] the first switch circuit ref. 113 may include a voltage sensor that detects a voltage between the external terminals refs. 101a and 101b and the voltage sensor may be provide sensing data ref. 113, etc., which at least provides a voltage sensor having a first terminal connected to the fourth terminal of the power generation module, etc.
Hwang further discloses a second terminal connected to a fifth terminal of the control module (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1).
Hwang further discloses in [0008] the controller may be configured to request the charger (i.e., at least power generation module) to supply a heating voltage when one of a first cell temperature of the at least one first battery cell and a second cell temperature of the at least one second battery cell is lower than the first reference value, etc., which at least provides a third terminal configured to receive a third reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a threshold voltage, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji are silent as to the battery management system further comprises a third comparison module having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the voltage sensor.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1 including the battery management system comprising a first/second, etc. comparison module(s), voltage sensor, control module, threshold voltage, etc.
Ji further teaches in [0035] as shown in Fig. 1, the BMS ref. 300 includes a first comparator ref. CPI, a second comparator ref. CP2, etc., which at least provides a battery management system comprises: a first comparison module, a second comparison module, etc. Ji further teaches in [0038] when the measured charge current ref. Ic is higher than a predetermined value, the first charge circuit ref. 320 turns off the first charge switch ref. SWc to protect the battery cell ref. 200 from being overcharged, etc., which at least provides a battery management system comprises: a second terminal configured to receive a first reference electrical signal used as an electrical signal representing a threshold current, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Ji further teaches in [0068] by way of summation and review, embodiments provide a battery management system and a method of driving the same that readily allow an express charge to be realized.
Therefore, although the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji are silent as to the battery management system further comprises a third comparison module having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the voltage sensor, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji further with the teachings of Ji, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, first comparison module current sensor, a second comparison module, temperature sensor, a control module, voltage sensor, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji further includes the battery management system further comprises a third comparison module having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the voltage sensor., etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate simply duplicating the comparison modules would provide a battery management system and a method of driving the same that readily allow an express charge to be realized as taught by Ji (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate before the effective filing date that since the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger and Ji discloses the heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, power module, first/second comparison module(s), voltage sensor(s), etc., which are identical product(s)/features as that claimed, and Hwang further discloses terminals (e.g., electrical connection(s)) connecting various components as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, and Hwang further discloses in [0141] the connecting lines, or connectors shown in the various figures presented are intended to represent functional relationships and/or physical or logical couplings between the various elements, and it should be noted that many alternative or additional functional relationships, physical connections or logical connections may be present in a practical device, etc., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to duplicate said terminal(s) and/or electrical connection(s) for said heating module, switching module(s), battery module(s), power generation module, temperature sensor(s), current sensor(s), battery management system, etc., so as to that after a cell temperature is increased by using power supplied from a charger, a battery may be charged so that a battery system capable of fast charging even in a low temperature environment can be provided as disclosed in [0140], etc., (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Winger as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Grace et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0118011 A1), hereinafter Grace.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Hwang further discloses a film heater/element ref. 132, 152, Fig. 1, etc., and further discloses Fig. 3 [0087] a thermal plate ref. 240, a film heat ref. 250, etc., also see [0035], [0036], [0048]-[0049], [0059]-[0063], [0067], [0072], [0074], [0083]-[0084], [0091], [0121], [0128], [0134]-[0135], etc.), which at least provides the heating module includes a heating plate.
However, Hwang is silent as to the heating module includes a PTC heating plate.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Grace teaches a battery system of an electric vehicle (Title). Grace further teaches in [0031] module ref. 30 may also include one or more heaters ref. 70 positioned within the casing ref. 32 (or in close thermal contact with the casing ref. 32), and in general, any type of heating device (resistance heater, positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heater, etc.), etc., which at least provides the heating module includes a PTC heating plate as shown in at least Fig. 3 (also see [0032]-[0038]).
Grace further teaches in [0039] the implementation of a heater ref. 70 in every module 30 of the battery system ref. 14 (as opposed to providing a coolant heater external to the battery system 14) enables the battery cells ref. 50 of the battery system ref. 14 to be heated more quickly and efficiently, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger with the teachings of Grace, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger further includes the heating module includes a PTC heating plate as taught by Grace so as to enable the battery cells of the battery system to be heated more quickly and efficiently, etc.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Winger as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Itsuki et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2011/0206967 A1), hereinafter Itsuki.
Regarding claim 9, Hwang discloses the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hwang is silent as to a vehicle-mounted air conditioning system, the vehicle-mounted air conditioning system comprising: an air conditioner body mounted on a vehicle body; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system according to claim 1, mounted on the vehicle body, the battery module being connected to the air conditioner body.
The combined teachings of Hwang and Winger disclose the battery low-temperature heating and charging system as discussed above in claim 1. Itsuki teaches in [0040] a medium inlet pipe ref. 51 and a medium outlet pipe ref. 52 intercommunicate with the plate ref. 30, the medium inlet pipe ref. 51 and the medium outlet pipe ref. 52 intercommunicate with refrigerant pipes ref. 51a and ref. 52a, and the refrigerant pipes ref. 51a and ref. 52a are passed under floor in the vehicle interior ref. 102 so as to extend to an engine room ref. 103 provided at the front side of the vehicle ref. 100, and connected to a refrigeration cycle ref. 60 for in-vehicle air condition (car air conditioner) mounted in the engine room ref. 103 through pipes, thereby forming a cooling cycle ref. 80 of the battery module ref. 1, which at least provides a vehicle-mounted air conditioning system, the vehicle-mounted air conditioning system comprising: an air conditioner body mounted on a vehicle body; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, mounted on the vehicle body, the battery module being connected to the air conditioner body, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Itsuki further teaches [0011] and object is to provide a cooling/heating structure that can be miniaturized and cool/heat a battery efficiently, and a battery module having the cooling/heating structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger with the teachings of Itsuki, whereby the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, comprising the heating module, switching module, battery module, power generation module, battery management system, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hwang and Winger further includes a vehicle-mounted air conditioning system, the vehicle-mounted air conditioning system comprising: an air conditioner body mounted on a vehicle body; and the battery low-temperature heating and charging system, mounted on the vehicle body, the battery module being connected to the air conditioner body as taught by Grace so as to provide a cooling/heating structure that can be miniaturized and cool/heat a battery efficiently, and a battery module having the cooling/heating structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0363563 A1) discloses in [0043] the battery management module P1 may utilize a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus to transmit information to the master switch S0, etc.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727