DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
However, in view of the prior art search, the restriction requirement is withdrawn. Claims 1-4 are under examination herein.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/JP2021/030430 (8/19/2021) which claims priority to JP2020-202843 (12/7/2020) as reflected in the filing receipt issued on 5/8/2024.
The certified copy of the foreign priority document is not in English. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 1/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leiderman et al., Arteriosclerosis, thrombosis, and vascular biology; 36(12):2334-45.
Regarding claim 1, Leiderman teaches activated blood coagulation factor XI (FXIa) and tissue factor (TF) added to plasma (Leiderman p. 2337 para. 2 and Fig. 2). This is considered to be a blood coagulation test reagent, as the FXIa and TF are added together to react with a plasma sample.
Regarding claim 2, Leiderman teaches that the reagent comprises 5.4 pM FXIa and 0.02 pM (or 20 fM) of TF (Leiderman Fig. 2C). This is a FXIa/TF ratio of 270.
Regarding claim 3, the “wherein” clause is directed to an intended use of the claimed reagent, for testing an indicator related to hemorrhagic diseases caused by a decrease in blood coagulant activity. It is considered that any composition according to claim 1, which comprises FXIa and TF, is capable of performing this intended use. Leiderman teaches such a composition. Further, Leiderman teaches that the reagent is used to measure thrombin generation, which is an indicator related to hemorrhagic diseases (Leiderman Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Leiderman teaches a method comprising measuring thrombin generated by reacting a biological sample, plasma, with a reagent comprising 5.4 pM FXIa and 0.02 pM (20 fM) TF (Leiderman Fig. 2C).
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653