DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 27 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nasu et al. (US 2022/0140141 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nasu discloses a lateral oriented Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor (MOS) device (Fig 6) comprising a semiconductor body (20) having a first surface, the semiconductor body comprising: a first region (51) having a first conductivity type; a trench (53) extending from the first surface into the first region, the trench comprising an insulating element (69) and a conductive element (63), wherein the insulating element is arranged in between the conductive element and the first region, and wherein the insulating element has a substantially uniform width; second and third regions (85) having a second conductivity type, the second conductivity being different from the first conductivity type, wherein the second and third regions extend from the first surface into the first region to a shallower depth than the trench so that the second and third regions are located on either side of the trench and adjacent to the trench, and are not in contact with one another; and a further insulating region (100) on the first surface comprising openings to provide electrical contact (144) to the second and third regions.
Regarding claim 2, Nasu discloses that the first region is a moderately doped substrate (low concentration can also be understood as moderately doped given that both terms are relative and are interpreted broadly).
Regarding claim 3, Nasu discloses that the first region is an EPI layer arranged over a substrate (¶83).
Regarding claim 4, Nasu discloses a further electrical contact (69) arranged to provide electrical contact to the conductive element in the trench, wherein the further electrical contact is located on a plane perpendicular to the first surface.
Regarding claim 5, Nasu discloses a lightly doped implanted channel of the first conductivity type (97) located in the first region, wherein the implanted channel connects the second and third regions respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Nasu discloses that the second and third regions are heavily doped (85, n being heavily doped compared to p-).
Regarding claim 7, Nasu discloses that the further insulating region is arranged to insulate the conductive element along the first surface.
Regarding claim 8, Nasu discloses that the second and third regions form the source and drain terminals of a MOS Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET) device, and wherein the conductive element forms the gate terminal of the MOSFET device (while integrated into further components, per Fig 1, the cited portions form a MOSFET).
Regarding claim 9, Nasu discloses that the conductive element is of metal or of poly-silicon (¶101).
Regarding claim 11, Nasu discloses a further electrical contact (69) arranged to provide electrical contact to the conductive element in the trench, wherein the further electrical contact is located on a plane perpendicular to the first surface.
Regarding claim 12, Nasu discloses a lightly doped implanted channel (97) of the first conductivity type located in the first region, wherein the implanted channel connects the second and third regions respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Nasu discloses that the second and third regions are heavily doped (n being heavily doped relative to p-).
Regarding claim 14, Nasu discloses that the further insulating region is arranged to insulate the conductive element along the first surface.
Regarding claim 15, Nasu discloses that the second and third regions form the source and drain terminals of a MOS Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET) device, and wherein the conductive element forms the gate terminal of the MOSFET device (while integrated into further components, per Fig 1, the cited portions form a MOSFET).
Regarding claim 16, Nasu discloses that the conductive element is of metal or of poly-silicon (¶101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nasu.
Regarding claim 10, Nasu discloses that the insulating element (¶280, the insulating element is formed by oxidation) is of silicon dioxide, Nasu does not specify that the further insulating regions are of silicon dioxide, however, in the semiconductor arts it is understood that when the material of an insulator is not specified then that insulator is silicon dioxide by default.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select silicon dioxide as the material for the further insulating regions as silicon dioxide is a common and well-understood insulating material in the art which is typically used for such purposes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, filed 06 April 2026, with respect to the 112 rejection of claim 2, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 2 under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 in view of the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P SHOOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896