DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the remarks filed on 10/10/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiedenbauer US 2019/0229613.
Regarding Claim 1, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a circuit (Fig. 1), comprising a first power supply (Vin), a resonant switched capacitor converter (Q1-Q4, L1-L2, c1-c2, cfl, cout and 140, herein rscc), and a control circuit (150-170), wherein the RSCC comprises a switch unit (Q1-Q4 and 140), an output filter unit (Cout), a first input end S1 (110), a second input end S2 (gnd), and an output end S3 (120), the switch unit is connected between the first input end (110) and the second input end (gnd), and the output filter unit (cout) is connected between the second input end (gnd) and the output end (120); one electrode of the first power supply (vin) is connected to the first input end (110), the other electrode of the first power supply is connected to the second input end (gnd), and the first power supply is configured to supply an input voltage (Vin) to the RSCC; and the control circuit is connected to the switch unit (Q1-Q4 and 140) and is configured to: before (before steady state, step 980) a voltage of the output filter unit (Vout) exceeds a preset threshold (Vout-thresh, step 960), control the switch unit in the RSCC to transmit, to the output filter unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply (during startup mode fig. 9, steps 930-950). (For Example: Par. 29, 31-43 and 61)
Regarding Claim 15, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) A conversion circuit precharge control method (fig. 9), applied to a conversion circuit (at fig. 1), wherein the conversion circuit comprises a first power supply (Vin) and a resonant switched capacitor converter (RSCC), the RSCC comprises a switch unit (Q1-Q4 and 140) and an output filter unit (Cout), and the method comprises: controlling the switch unit to transmit, to the output filter unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply (steps 940-930); and controlling the RSCC to operate (steps 980, operated in steady state) in response to the output filter unit voltage exceeding a preset threshold (step 980) . (For Example: Par. 29, 31-43 and 61)
Regarding Claim 16, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9)wherein the RSCC (rscc) further comprises a resonant unit (L and C), and controlling the switch unit (Q1-Q4) to transmit, to the output filter unit (Cout), the electric energy supplied by the first power supply further comprises: controlling the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply (Fig. 2); and controlling the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit (controlling Q1 with 170). (For Example: Par. 29, 31-43 and 61)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiedenbauer in view of He US 2014/0111016.
Regarding Claim 2, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a resonant unit (L and C) when controlling the switch unit (Q1-Q4 and 140) in the RSCC to transmit, to the output filter unit (Cout), the electric energy supplied by the first power supply (Vin), the control circuit is further configured to: control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit (L and C), the electric energy supplied by the first power supply; and control the switch unit (with the control of Q1 with 170) to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit (Cout). (For Example: Par. 29, 31-43 and 61)
Wiedenbauer does not teach a clamping unit, the clamping unit and the output filter unit are connected in parallel, the switch unit is connected to an end of the resonant unit, and another end of the resonant unit is connected to the clamping unit.
He teaches (Figures 1-5) a clamping unit (D13-D14), the clamping unit and the output filter unit (C15) are connected in parallel, the switch unit (S1-S4) is connected to an end of the resonant unit (L1 and c9), and another end of the resonant unit is connected to the clamping unit (between D13 and d14). (For Example: Par. 43-54)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include a clamping unit, the clamping unit and the output filter unit are connected in parallel, the switch unit is connected to an end of the resonant unit, and another end of the resonant unit is connected to the clamping unit, as taught by He to improve the soft switching scheme.
Regarding Claim 3, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a circuit.
Wiedenbauer does no teach wherein, when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the first power supply, the switch unit, the resonant unit, and the clamping unit form a first path, an open circuit occurs between the switch unit and the second input end S2, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the output end S3; and when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit, the switch unit, the resonant unit, the clamping unit, and the output filter unit form a second path, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the second input end S2.
He teaches (Figures 1-5) when the control circuit (controlling the switches) controls the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit (L and C), the electric energy supplied by the first power supply (Vin), the first power supply, the switch unit, the resonant unit, and the clamping unit (D13 and D14) form a first path, an open circuit occurs (Fig. 5e or 5a) between the switch unit (S1-S4) and the second input end (bottom node of Vin), and an open circuit occurs (Fig. 5e or 5a) between the clamping unit (D13-14) and the output end (at r20); and when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit, the switch unit, the resonant unit, the clamping unit, and the output filter unit form a second path, and an open circuit occurs (Fig. 5c) between the clamping unit and the second input end (d13-14 and bottom node of Vin). (For Example: Par. 55-62)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the first power supply, the switch unit, the resonant unit, and the clamping unit form a first path, an open circuit occurs between the switch unit and the second input end S2, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the output end S3; and when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit, the switch unit, the resonant unit, the clamping unit, and the output filter unit form a second path, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the second input end S2, as taught by He to improve the soft switching scheme.
Regarding Claim 4, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) wherein the switch unit (Q1-Q4 and 140) further comprises: a first switch and a second switch (S1-S2) that are connected in series, an end of the first switch is connected to the first input end (110), another end of the first switch is connected to an end of the second switch (S2), and another end of the second switch is connected to the second input end (gnd); when the control circuit (150-170) controls the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the control circuit is further configured to: control the first switch to be switched on (Q1 switched on with signal from 170) and the second switch to be switched off (Q2 is off); when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the resonant unit to the output filter unit(Fig. 1 and 2). (For Example: Par. 29, 31-43 and 61)
Wiedenbauer does not teach the control circuit is configured to: control the first switch to be switched off and the second switch to be switched on.
He teaches (Figures 1-5) the control circuit (controlling switches) is configured to: control the first switch (s1) to be switched off and the second switch (s2) to be switched on (Fig. 5e). (For Example: Par. 55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include a clamping unit, the clamping unit and the output filter unit are connected in parallel, the switch unit is connected to an end of the resonant unit, and another end of the resonant unit is connected to the clamping unit, as taught by He to improve the soft switching scheme.
Regarding Claims 5 and 17-18, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a circuit.
He does not teach an input filter unit, the input filter unit and the switch unit are connected in parallel, and the input filter unit is configured to store the electric energy supplied by the first power supply; the input filter unit comprises a first input filter subunit and a second input filter subunit, the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected in series, and an end at which the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected is connected to the switch unit; and when controlling the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the control circuit is further configured to: control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit; or control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit and electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the second input filter subunit.
He teaches (Figures 1-4) an input filter unit (c11-C12), the input filter unit and the switch unit (S1-S4) are connected in parallel, and the input filter unit is configured to store the electric energy supplied by the first power supply (Vin); the input filter unit comprises a first input filter subunit (C11) and a second input filter subunit (C12), the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected in series (Fig. 3) , and an end at which the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected is connected to the switch unit (through d13 or d14); and when controlling the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the control circuit is further configured to (Fig. 5a): control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit (LC), electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit (from Vin to C11); or control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit and electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the second input filter subunit. (For Example: Par. 43-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include an input filter unit, the input filter unit and the switch unit are connected in parallel, and the input filter unit is configured to store the electric energy supplied by the first power supply; the input filter unit comprises a first input filter subunit and a second input filter subunit, the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected in series, and an end at which the first input filter subunit and the second input filter subunit are connected is connected to the switch unit; and when controlling the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply, the control circuit is further configured to: control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit; or control the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit and electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the second input filter subunit, as taught by He to improve the soft switching scheme.
Regarding Claim 7, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a circuit.
He does not teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the first input filter subunit to the output filter unit.
He teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the control circuit (controller for the switches) is further configured to control the switch unit (S1-S4) to transmit the electric energy in the first input filter subunit (C11) to the output filter unit (c15). (For Example: Par. 43-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the switch unit to transmit the electric energy in the first input filter subunit to the output filter unit, as taught by He to improve the soft switching scheme.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiedenbauer in view of He US 2014/0111016 and further in view of .
Regarding Claim 14, Wiedenbauer teaches (Figures 1-4 and 9) a circuit.
Wiedenbauer does not teach wherein the first power supply further comprises: a first direct current-direct current boost circuit; a positive electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string is connected to a positive input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit, and a negative electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string is connected to a negative input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit; a positive output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the first input end S1, and a negative output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the second input end S2; and the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is configured to convert a voltage supplied by the at least one photovoltaic string into the input voltage.
Faley teaches (Figures 3-4) wherein the first power supply further comprises: a first direct current-direct current boost circuit (52, is a BB converter capable of operating as a boost circuit); a positive electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string (38) is connected to a positive input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit (Fig. 4), and a negative electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string is connected to a negative input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit (Fig. 4); a positive output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the first input end (Fig. 4 next to 54) , and a negative output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the second input end (gnd); and the first direct current-direct current boost circuit (at 52) is configured to convert a voltage supplied by the at least one photovoltaic string (38) into the input voltage (input to 52). (For Example: Par. 32-38)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Wiedenbauer to include wherein the first power supply further comprises: a first direct current-direct current boost circuit; a positive electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string is connected to a positive input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit, and a negative electrode of the at least one photovoltaic string is connected to a negative input end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit; a positive output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the first input end S1, and a negative output end of the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is connected to the second input end S2; and the first direct current-direct current boost circuit is configured to convert a voltage supplied by the at least one photovoltaic string into the input voltage, as taught by Faley for a power control system capable of integrating one or more of renewable energy generation technologies, energy storage technologies, and/or the utility power grid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 6; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…a third path is formed by the first input filter subunit, the switch unit, the resonant unit, and the clamping unit, an open circuit occurs between the switch unit and the first input end Si, an open circuit occurs between the switch unit and the second input end S2, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the output filter unit; and when the control circuit controls the switch unit to transmit, to the resonant unit, the electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the first input filter subunit and the electric energy supplied by the first power supply to the second input filter subunit, a fourth path is formed by the first input filter subunit, the second input filter subunit, the switch unit, the resonant unit, and the clamping unit, an open circuit occurs between the switch unit and the second input end S2, and an open circuit occurs between the clamping unit and the output filter unit”.
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “In Wiedenbauer, once the controller is enabled, the SCC is already switching under PWM control, and the converter is in operation. Thus, Wiedenbauer describes a soft-start duty-cycle ramp that occurs while the converter is already operating under PWM control. Wiedenbauer does not teach or suggest a control step that is performed the output filter unit voltage exceeds a preset threshold, as expressly required by amended claim 1”. However, the examiner is entitled to the broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case, the claims recite control and PWM is a type of control therefore the claim limitations are met by the prior art.
Applicant argued that “Wiedenbauer does not disclose such direct transmission of energy from the power supply to the output filter unit in this precharge stage”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., direct transmission) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that “Accordingly, Wiedenbauer does not disclose, either explicitly or inherently, the subject matter recited in amended claim 1 requiring (i) a distinct stage before the output filter unit voltage exceeds a preset threshold, and (ii) transmission of energy from the first power supply to the output filter unit during that stage”. However, Wiedenbauer teaches (i) Figure 2 clearly shows two modes of operation startup and steady state and Figure 9 show the steps taken to move from one mode of operation to the other based on the Vout in step 960 and (ii) Figure 2 shows that during the startup time the Vout is rising this means that there is a supply of energy to the Cout capacitor.
Applicant argued that “In the claimed circuit, the comparator is not merely monitoring an already-operating converter; rather, the comparator defines the specific transition point at which the RSCC begins to operate following the precharge state”. However, Wiedenbauer’s comparator as mention in par. 61 teaches when the output voltage is sufficient so that the converter is able to maintain a steady state operation it is not only a used for feedback purposes.
Applicant argued that “Placing a clamp in parallel with the output filter unit changes the load-side boundary conditions and directly affects the precharge behavior of the output node; neither reference proposes such an arrangement”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Placing a clamp in parallel with the output filter unit changes the load-side boundary conditions and directly affects the precharge behavior of the output node,) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that “He similarly presents clamp/snubbers across switches or tank portions, not at the "other end" of the resonant unit with the topology that Claim 2 demands. Rearranging the clamp to the far end of the resonant unit-while simultaneously satisfying the "parallel with the output filter" requirement-would require significant reconfiguration beyond routine design choice of the cited circuits rather than routine substitution.” However, He teaches a connection between the clamp and the resonant unit and according to figures 5c and 5e there is a current flowing through the elements which makes a current loop between the elements making both ends connected to the resonant unit. The parallel connection with the output filter is shown by the connection the output capacitor C15 has with the transformer and said transformer with the clamp which includes diodes D13 and D14.
Applicant argued that “The outstanding Office Action does not provide a sufficient rationale why a skilled artisan would have modified Wiedenbauer's startup soft-start control with He's general teachings on resonant circuits and snubbers”. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Wiedenbauer teaches a switched capacitor resonant converter with inrush current limitations. He teaches another resonant converter operable in multiple phases. He teaches on par. 49 “The first diode D13 and the second diode D14 have the function of clamping a voltage, to ensure that voltage stress when the first power switch S1 and the fourth power switch S4 are turned off is a half of an input voltage, and the second power switch S2 and the third power switch S3 which are turned off later withstand the other half of the input voltage.” A person having ordinary skill in the art would use the clamp of He in Wiedenbauer to reduce switching losses of the switch circuit.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838