CTNF 18/330,015 CTNF 83747 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by QUEK et al. (US 2021/0083500 A1, hereinafter QUEK) . PNG media_image1.png 470 646 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1, QUEK discloses a power supply system, comprising: a distribution box, comprising: a power delivery charging apparatus (See Fig.1B, Items#136+113+114, disclose a power delivery charging apparatus components comprising PD control, a first power converter and a second power converter respectively), a plurality of charging sockets, electrically connected to the power delivery charging apparatus (See Fig.1B, Items#115a+123 and 115b+127, disclose a first socket comprising a first switch and a second socket comprising a second switch), wherein the charging socket is configured to transmit a load power information to the power delivery charging apparatus (See Fig.1B, discloses CC1 and CC2 lines between each of the sockets 115a, 115b and the PD controller 116. Par.39 discloses that the PD control unit negotiates with the electronic devices 108 and 110 through the sockets to determine the output that is provided to each socket), and the power delivery charging apparatus is configured to provide a DC power to the charging socket according to the load power information (See Par.39 and Fig.1B and Par.40, disclose the PD controller 116 communicates with the first converter 113 and the second converter 114 to adjust their regulation). Regarding claim 2, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the power delivery charging apparatus comprises, an AC/DC module, configured to receive an AC mains, convert the AC mains into the DC power, and provide the DC power to the charging socket (See Fig.1B, Items#113 and 114 and Fig.2A, Item#239 and Par.47, disclose a AC/DC rectification connected to AC mains 102, the DC output is provided to each of the sockets 115a and 115b), a communication module, configured to receive the load power information, and transmit the load power information to a controller (See Fig.1B, Item#116, discloses a PD controller which receives data from sockets [CC1+CC2], it is inherent that the PD controller has a communication interface to receive the data from the sockets), and the controller, configured to receive the load power information (See Fig.1B, discloses PD controller 116 comprising an inherent communication interface to receive signals CC1 and CC2 from the sockets 115a and 115b), and convert the load power information into corresponding control signals to the communication module (See Fig.1B, discloses the PD controller 116 communicates control signals SDA, SCL to the first converter 113 and second converter 114 via inherent communication interface), and the communication module configured to transmit the control signals to the corresponding charging sockets (See Par.40 discloses the PD controller 116 may communicate to the first power converter controller to enable or disable pass transistor Q1 123 and communicate to the second power controller to enable or disable pass transistor Q2 127 in one embodiment. The control signal to Q1 and Q2 are interpreted as the control signals to the charging sockets). Regarding claim 3, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above, wherein the AC/DC module is configured to convert the AC mains into a control power to provide the power required by the controller (See Par.26 and 39, disclose the PD controller regulating the output of converters 113 and 114). Regarding claim 5, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the communication module transmits the control signals to the corresponding charging sockets by means of wired communication or wireless communication (See Par.40 discloses the PD controller 116 may communicate to the first power converter controller to enable or disable pass transistor Q1 123 and communicate to the second power controller to enable or disable pass transistor Q2 127 in one embodiment. The control signal to Q1 and Q2 are interpreted as the control signals to the charging sockets. This is done via wired communication between the PD controller, the first and second converters 113,114 and the switches Q1 and Q2 of the first socket 115a and the second socket 115b). Regarding claim 6, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein each charging socket supports the power transmission function (See Fig.1B, Items#115a and 115b, disclose sockets supporting power transmission function to powered devices 108 and 112) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUEK in view of KADAM et al. (US 11,586,271, hereinafter KADAM) . Regarding claim 4, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above, However, QUEK does not disclose wherein the AC/DC module is configured to convert the AC mains into a first communication power to provide the power required by the communication module. KADAM discloses a dynamic power sharing dual port receptacle comprising an AC/DC module, wherein the AC/DC module is configured to convert the AC mains into a first communication power to provide the power required a communication module (See Fig.4, discloses the PD controller 50 receiving power at VCC via linear regulator 60. The linear regulator is power by the AC/DC converter 30 via DC/DC converter 40). QUEK and KADAM are analogous art since they both deal with dynamic power supplies for charging electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by QUEK with the teachings of KADAM by adding a regulator to provide to provide the power required a communication module for the benefit of ensuring continued operation of the communication module (The PD controller as applied to claim 2 includes a communication interface). Regarding claim 11, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, QUEK does not disclose wherein the distribution box is installed in a building, and the charging sockets are respectively installed in different spaces in the building, wherein the distribution box is connected to the charging sockets through wire arrangement. KADAM discloses a dynamic power sharing dual port receptacle installed somewhere in the building and the charger comprising AC/DC converter connected to the receptacle via wires (See Fig.4, Item#30 and 22+24). QUEK and KADAM are analogous art since they both deal with dynamic power supplies for charging electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by QUEK with the teachings of KADAM by installing the power distribution box in a building and the charging sockets in a different space in the building connected via wires for the benefit of using a single distribution box/charger to feed a plurality of charging sockets in different locations . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUEK in view of RICHARDS et al. (US 2021/0351716 A1, hereinafter RICHARDS) . Regarding claim 7, QUEK discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein each charging socket comprises: a USB socket, configured to connect to a load, and receive a load power corresponding to the load power information provided by the load (See Figs.1B-1C and Par.44, disclose USB-C type socket), each socket is configured to receive the load power, and transmit the load power information corresponding to the load power to the power delivery charging apparatus (See Fig.1b, discloses PD controller receive signals CC1 and CC2 from each socket). However, QUEK does not disclose each socket comprises a DC/DC module. RICHARDS discloses a power supply system comprising a plurality of sockets (See Fig.1, Items#, each socket comprises a DC/DC module 102+118 [first socket] and 104+120 [second socket]). QUEK and RICHARDS are analogous art since they both deal with dynamic power sources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by QUEK with the teachings of RICAHRDS by replacing the single stage converter disclosed by QUEK with AC/DC converters and DC/DC converters (The DC/DC converters placed in the socket) for the benefit of providing better isolation between stages, easier troubleshooting and maintenance and more efficient in providing multiple voltages. Regarding claim 8, QUEK and RICHARDS discloses the power supply system as claimed in claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the DC/DC module comprises: a detection circuit, configured to receive the load power, and convert the load power into the load power information (See QUEK, Fig.1b, discloses a PD controller 116 which receives the data detected by the sockets 115a and 115b), a communication circuit, configured to receive the load power information and a control signal transmitted by the power delivery charging apparatus, and transmit the load power information to the power delivery charging apparatus (See QUEK, Fig.1b, discloses the PD controller communicates the power data to the first converter and second converter and control their regulation accordingly. The presence of a communication interface in the PD controller to communicate with the first and second converters is inherent), and a DC/DC conversion circuit, configured to receive the DC power and to be supplied power, and convert the DC power into an output power according to the control signal to provide the power required by the load (See RICHARDS, Fig.1, a plurality of DC/DC conversion circuit 118 and 120 that receive voltage control information and control the output of the DC/DC converters). Regarding claim 9, QUEK and RICHARDS disclose the power supply system as claimed in claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the load power is a voltage, a current, or a power (See QUEK, Pars.26 and 39-40, discloses controlling the single stage converter to change the voltage or both voltage and current). Regarding claim 10, QUEK and RCHARDS disclose the power supply system as claimed in claim 8 as discussed above, wherein the output power is a DC voltage, and the DC voltage is 5 volts, 9 volts, 15 volts, 20 volts, 28 volts, 36 volts, or 48 volts (See RICHARDS, Fig.1, discloses the output of DC/DC converters each providing an output voltage of 5V, 9V, 15V or 20V. The limitation is recited using “or” therefore meeting one of the voltages satisfies the claim limitations). References considered but nor relied upon: Perry et al. (US 2020/0303939 A1): A multi-port charging system includes a controller having a power input terminal coupled to a DC power output of a converter, multiple power output terminals coupled to the power input terminal, and a communications input terminal. The controller is configured to control the state of the control output terminal to set a voltage of the DC power output according to a selected highest common compatible voltage of one or more sink devices. SANGHVI et al. (US 2021/0167623 A1): A plurality of charging ports electrically connected with a plurality of power supply outputs, respectively. Each of the plurality of charging ports provides an output voltage selected from the plurality of output voltages to an electronic device. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED H OMAR whose telephone number is (571)270-7165. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 am -7:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/330,015 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859