DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,453 B2, (hereinafter US 11,708,453).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 11,708,453 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-15, US 11,708,453 teaches introducing reacting CHDM, EG1 and a diacid in a first reaction zone (Z1), to form a first esterification product, passing the first esterification product to a second reaction zone (Z2), introducing fresh EG2 into the Z2 and esterifying to form a second esterification product, passing the second esterification product to a third reaction zone (Z3), introducing fresh EG3 into Z3, and undergoes polycondensation with a polycondensation catalyst to form a prepolymerization product, passing the a prepolymerization product in the presence of the polycondensation catalyst to one or more reaction zones (ZF), and polycondensing the prepolymerization product to form a copolyester containing 1.0 wt% or less of DEG, wherein the overall molar ratio of EG:TPA is 2.3:1 to 2.7:1 (claims 1-5), wherein the Z1 is carried at a melt temp of 250-270 deg C and a pressure of 25-40 psi and a reaction or 257-265 deg C and 30-40 psi, (claim 6), wherein Z2 is carried out at 257-265 deg C and 8-20 psi (claim 7), wherein the diacid component is 90-100 mol% of terephthalic acid, and diol component is 50-90 mol% of ethylene glycol and 10-50 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol (claim 8), the copolyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.6-0.9 dL/g (claim 9), and 0.9 wt% or less of DEG (claim 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 14 and 15, recites the term “DEG.” However, DEG is not defined.
Claims 6 and 9, recites the term “TPA.” However, the term “TPA” in the claim does not appear to be defined. It appears that TPA is meant to indicate the terephthalic acid in step (g).
Claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10-13, are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,681,918 A to Adams et al. (hereinafter Adams) and in further view of US 2002/0137877 A1 to Debruin (hereinafter Debruin).
Regarding claims 1-5, Adams teaches a three step process of forming a copolyester by reacting terephthalic acid (TPA), ethylene glycol (EG), and 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol (CHDM), wherein a feed ratio of total glycols to dicarboxylic acid is 1.7:1 to 6.0:1 (See abstract). Adams teaches that the esterification reaction is carried out in two continuous reactors (R1 and R2), a third reaction is used as a flash tank to collected to the esterification product, and then the esterification product is collected in batch reactors and mixed with a catalyst and undergoes a polycondensation reaction to form the copolyester. (See Example 2). Adams teaches the first esterification R1 reactor is at a temp of 245-260 deg Cat a pressure of 37 psig, the second esterification R2 reactor is at a temp of 2450-267 dg C and a pressure of 10-27 psig. (See example 2). The above meets the Z1, Z2, Z3, and ZF zones, catalyst and polycondensation step of claim 1. Adams further teaches in Example 6 that the dicarboxylic component is only terephthalic acid, and the diol component contains 69 mole% of EG and 31 mole% of CHDM (See Example 6, col 9, ln 54-58), which meets the diol amount cited in claim 3. Adams also teaches the diols (69 mol% EG and 31 mol% CHDM) are fed into the R1 and R2 reactors at feed mole ratio of glycols to terephthalic acid of 3.5:1 with excess ethylene glycol, (col 9, ln 60-62), which correlates to an EG/TPA mole ratio of 2.415:1, which meets the claimed molar ratio. Adams further teaches the copolyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.7-0.8 dL/g (col 4, ln 34-37), which meets the claim 4.
Adams is silent regarding the amount of DEG in the copolyester.
However, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the copolyester of Adams to have the claimed DEG wt% range properties because Adams teaches a substantially identical copolyester of TPA/EG/CHDM obtained by substantially identical method of the claimed invention such as the Z1, Z2, Z3 and ZF zones at the temperature ranges and pressures, with the EG/TPA molar ratio and Applicant further teaches in their the specification that a low DEG product is achieved by the Z1, Z2, Z3 and ZF zones at the temperature ranges and pressures, with the EG/TPA molar ratio (See specification), and this is further evident by the copolyester of Adams having the same inherent viscosity properties and Adams teaching the resultant copolyester has significantly reduced yellow color formation (col 9, ln 15-35 and col 10, ln 54-68), and the copolyester with improved color is known in the art as an indication of a more pure product with lower DEG. (See Debruin, “higher purity product (e.g., lower DEG impurity) or improved color,” para 274 and “lowered DEG and less coloration,” 489). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Furthermore, Debruin teaches that one skilled in the art can determine the reaction parameters and conditions such as temperature, pressure and mole ratios, to produce a higher purity product that is lower in DEG impurity with improved color. (para 274-275). This teaching demonstrates that one skilled in the art would know to adjust the reaction parameters and conditions of Adams to produce a higher purity product to have less DEG and improved color. Thus, it has also been found the DEG content is obvious to one ordinarily skilled in art by the optimization of ranges through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Thus, the claimed DEG wt% would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention by the optimization of ranges through routine experimentation because Adams teaches a substantially identical copolyester of TPA/EG/CHDM obtained by substantially identical method of the claimed invention such as the Z1, Z2, Z3 and ZF zones at the temperature ranges and pressures, with the EG/TPA molar ratio, and Debruin further teaches that one skilled in the art can determine the reaction parameters and conditions such as temperature, pressure and mole ratios, to produce a higher purity product that is lower in DEG impurity with improved color (para 274-275), which demonstrates that one skilled in the art would know to adjust the reaction parameters and conditions of Adams to produce a higher purity product to have less DEG and improved color. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766