DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on June 6, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on May 6, 2023 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites that “LA can be selected from LAi-m-W” and then proceeds to define i, m and W. However, because the language of the claim is that the ligand can be selected from, it does not appear that it is required to be selected from the defined group and that the scope of the claim includes ligands outside of those specifically described and defined, including ligands outside the scope of claim 12, upon which claim 13 is dependent. Therefore, claim 13 appears to fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 13 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (EP3909964A2).
As per claims 1 – 4 and 7 – 13, Choi teaches:
A compound Ir(LA)2(LC) having a structure of Formula 1
(Choi teaches compounds of Formula 1
(0006]), wherein CY1 may be selected from compounds of
([0007]). A specific compound taught by Choi is compound 9
([0084]). While compound 9 contains a sulfur atom in the claimed Y position, Choi teaches that the atoms in X17 of formula 1 may include C(R18)(R19) or Si(R18)(R19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the sulfur atom of compound 9 with a carbon or silicon atom and arrive at the claimed compound. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 – X4 are C; moiety B is a fused ring system comprising two rings wherein each ring is a 6-membered carbocyclic ring, namely a naphthalene group as required by claim 4; Z is carbon; RA represented di-substitution of Formula II wherein Y is selected from CRR’ or SiRR’, R and R’ are methyl groups; R* is hydrogen; RC is an aryl group; RB represents one alkyl substitution; R1 and R3 are alkyl and R2 is hydrogen. The ligand is selected from
in claim 10 and
in claim 11. The ligand is LAi-1-W in claim 12 wherein i is 580, and W is 1 or 3 and LC is selected from LCj-I in claim 13 wherein j is 50.
Choi includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Choi being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicity stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of compounds emitting light relatively small FWHM and high luminescence efficiency ([0085]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 5 and 6, Choi teaches that the ring system represented by CY1 may contain structural isomers such as CY1-6
and CY1-8
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shift the bonding carbons of the pyridine ring to the group of Formula II to the carbon atoms claimed.
Choi includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Choi being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicity stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of compounds emitting light relatively small FWHM and high luminescence efficiency ([0085]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 15, Choi teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound ([0008]: “According to another aspect, provided is an organic light-emitting device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer including an emission layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer includes at least one organometallic compound represented by Formula 1.”)
As per claims 16 and 17, Choi teaches:
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from….. ([0134 – 0135]: “The emission layer may include a host and a dopant, and the dopant may include the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1. The host material may include…
.” CBP contains the carbazole group as required by claim 16 and ADN is a compound represented by
in claim 17.)
As per claims 18 and 19, Choi teaches:
A consumer product comprising the light emitting device, wherein the consumer product is one of a flat panel display… ([0156]: “According to another aspect, the organic light-emitting device may be included in an electronic apparatus. Thus, an electronic apparatus including the organic light-emitting device is provided. The electronic apparatus may include, for example, a display, an illumination, a sensor, and the like.”)
As per claim 20, Choi teaches:
A formulation comprising the compound (The combination of the compound and the host material is interpreted as the claimed formulation.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Choi (EP3909964A2), cited above, is considered relevant to the claimed invention. While Choi teaches compounds that read on the general formula of claim 1, Choi does not teach, suggest or motivate a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compounds of Choi and arrive at any of the specifically claimed compounds.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789