DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 1 , 2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002 / 012 5241) in view of Wiggins (US 2009/0234513) and Kahn (US 2005/0247113). With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Scott teache s a heating system (title, abstract, water heater 10, 0024) , comprising: heaters (Figs 1-6, heating elements 26, 0025) configured to heat a liquid contained in a tank (tan k 16, 0024), each of the heaters comprises a heating element (resistance heater 29, 0026), a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 44, 0026, e ach heating element 26 in the present embodiment includes a base 27, a resistance heater 29, a temperature sensor 44 ) coupled to the heating element, a control unit (electronic controller 28, 0027) in communication with the heating element and the temperature sensor (0027, the electronic controller 28 can be in wireless communication with elements 26, such as by RF, infrared or other suitable medium ), the control unit is configured to control the heating element and the temperature sensor (0029, 0030) ; and a display (Fig 3, visual display 59, 0043, 0044) and an indicator (reset user interface 31, water temperature adjustment dial 42, 0028, 0047) coupled to the control unit. Wiggins discloses the claimed invention except for a smart probe in communication with the control unit of one of the heaters and configured to monitor operation conditions of the heating system; the heaters are integrated in a mesh network operatable under Internet-of-Things (IoT) connectivity. However, Wiggins discloses a smart probe (Fig 1, level sensor 34, 0110) in communication with the control unit (controller 22, 0109) of one of the heaters (heating element 18, 0073) and configured to monitor operation conditions of the heating system (0099, 0113, 0114, arrangement allows the controller to detect a fault or invalid data from the level sensor ; 0116, 0133) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating system of Scott having a control unit in communication with heating elements and temperature sensors silent to a smart probe with the smart probe in communication with the control unit of one of the heaters and configured to monitor operation conditions of the heating system of Wiggins for the purpose of providing a known probe configuration that monitors a water level in the tank to determine and warn a user if a low water condition is detected. Additionally, the heaters are integrated in a mesh network operatable under Internet-of-Things (IoT) connectivity is known in the art. Kahn, for example, discloses temperature sensors (Figs 1A, 1D, temperature sensing elements, 0037, sensors 111A-C, 0042-0046) in connection with heaters (heating element 121, 0084) that are integrated in a mesh network operatable under Internet-of-Things (IoT) connectivity (Fig 1A, 0063, sensor unit 110 includes processing and communication units 112A and 112B … short-range wireless devices include communication devices utilizing unregulated spectrums using existing protocols such as Bluetooth. Alternatively, wireless LAN protocols such as dictated by IEEE Standard 802.11(b) or 802.11(g) could be used ). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating system of Scott in view of Wiggins have a controller in wireless communication with the heaters silent to the Internet-of-Things (IoT) connectivity with the heaters are integrated in a mesh network operatable under Internet-of-Things (IoT) connectivity of Kahn for the purpose of using a known communication configuration that allows for wireless communication between the heater / sensor and controller (0063, 0064). With respect to the limitations of claim 2 , Scott teaches the control units are configured to shut down one or more heaters if any shutdown protocols are triggered (0041, 0042) . With respect to the limitations of claim s 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8, Scott in view of Wiggins discloses the shutdown protocols (Scott, 0041, 0042) comprise that the control unit receives a communication from the smart probe indicating an operation condition outside a pre-determined range (Wiggins, 0099, 0113, 0114, arrangement allows the controller to detect a fault or invalid data from the level sensor ; 0116, 0133) ; the smart probe (Wiggins, level sensor 34) comprises one or more sensors configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising a temperature (temperature sensor 32, 0110) of the liquid. the smart probe comprises one or more sensors configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising a liquid level (Wiggins, level sensor 34) of the liquid; the smart probe comprises one or more sensors configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising presences and/or concentrations of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), a pH level of the liquid, and/or chemical composition and/or concentration of the liquid (Wiggins, 0014, pH sensor, dissolved oxygen sensor); the heaters and the smart probe are configured such that the smart probe can be coupled to any of the heaters (Wiggins, level sensor 34 coupled to heating element 18 through electronic controller 22) . Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002/0125241) in view of Wiggins (US 2009/0234513) and Kahn (US 2005/0247113) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Zhumei (CN103574912). An English machine translation of Zhumei (CN103574912) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892). With respect to the limitations of claim 3 , Scott teaches the shutdown protocol (0041, 0042) comprises that the control unit comprises a system-on-chip (SOC) configured to read the temperature sensor (0030, control board 47 preferably incorporates electronic control circuitry for controlling operation of the water heate r…programmable logic chips). Scott in view of Kahn discloses claimed invention except for the control unit is configured to shut down the heater when the sensor detects a temperature above a pre-determined temperature. However, Zhumei discloses the control unit is configured to shut down the heater when the sensor detects a temperature above a pre-determined temperature (0028, Pg 23, when the set temperature is reached, the primary heating mode controller also commands to stop heating and enter the heat preservation state) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating system of Scott in view of Wiggins and Kahn having a shutdown protocol silent to the recited temperature shut down with the control unit is configured to shut down the heater when the sensor detects a temperature above a pre-determined temperature of Zhumei for the purpose of forming a known heater shut down configuration that maintains the liquid storage tank at a desired temperature . Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002/0125241) in view of Wiggins (US 2009/0234513) and Kahn (US 2005/0247113) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Blaine ( ES2900654). An English machine translation of Blaine (ES2900654) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892). With respect to the limitations of claims 9 and 10, Scott in view of Wiggins and Kahn disclose the claimed invention except for the heating system is configured to send a process data log to a user via email ; configured to send operation information to a user, wherein the operation information comprises safety alerts, notifications and/or reset instructions, the operation conditions monitored by the smart probe, heater failure, heater overtemperature, and/or heater maintenance schedule. However, Blaine discloses the heating system is configured to send a process data log to a user via email; configured to send operation information to a user, wherein the operation information comprises safety alerts, notifications and/or reset instructions, the operation conditions monitored by the smart probe, heater failure, heater overtemperature, and/or heater maintenance schedule ( 0257, a user can customize the alarm notification system so that the control system, when connected to the internet, sends the alarm notification via email or posts it to a social media account) is known in the art. Claim s 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002/0125241) in view of F i ma (US 2006/0272704) . With respect to the limitations of claim 17, Scott teaches an immersion heater comprising: a heating element (Figs 1-6, top heating element 26, 0025) configured to heat a liquid; a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 44, 0026, e ach heating element 26 in the present embodiment includes a base 27, a resistance heater 29, a temperature sensor 44 ) coupled to the heating element; a control unit (electronic controller 28, 0027) in communication with the heating element (top heating element 26) and the temperature sensor (44) , the control unit (28) configured to control the heating element and the temperature sensor, the control unit in communicat ion with a secondary immersion heater (bottom heating element 26). Scott discloses the claimed invention except for the control unit configured to communicate with, and control, at least one secondary control unit of a secondary immersion heater. However, the control unit configured to communicate with, and control, at least one secondary control unit of a secondary immersion heater is known in the art. Fuma , for example, discloses a device for monitoring and controlling fluid-based systems (0010, water heaters) where the motherboard and interface modules (Figs 1, 11, 0110) has a master controller (master motherboard, 0112) in communication with slave controllers (slave motherboards, 0113), where the master controller controls the slave controllers connected to slave devices that controls shutoff valves when a problem condition is detected by sensors (0112). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the immersion heater of Scott having a controller in communication with the heaters and temperature sensors silent to multiple controllers with the control unit configured to communicate with, and control, at least one secondary control unit of a secondary immersion heater of Fuma for the purpose of forming a known master / slave controller configuration that provides for a virtually unlimited system expansion of the number of protected slave-controlled devices . With respect to the limitations of claim 19, Scott teaches the control unit is configured to shut down the heating element and/or the secondary immersion heater if any shutdown protocols are triggered ( 0037, the controller 28 can be programmed to shut down the system and/or send an error indication at any desired temperature difference between the upper and lower sensors 44 and after any desired amount of repeatability ). Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002/0125241) in view of Fima (US 2006/0272704) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Wiggins (US 2009/0234513). With respect to the limitations of claim 18, Scott in view of Fima discloses the claimed invention except for the control unit is configured to communicate with, and monitor, a smart probe, the smart probe configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising a temperature of the liquid. However, Wiggins discloses the control unit (Fig 1, controller 22, 0109) is configured to communicate with, and monitor, a smart probe (temperature sensor 32, level sensor 34, 0110) , the smart probe configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising a temperature of the liquid (0111) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the immersion heater of Scott having a control unit in communication with temperature sensors silent to a smart probe with the control unit is configured to communicate with, and monitor, a smart probe, the smart probe configured to monitor the operation conditions comprising a temperature of the liquid of Wiggins for the purpose of providing a known probe configuration that monitors a water temperature level in a tank to determine and warn a user if a low water or overheating condition is detected. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scott (US 2002/0125241) in view of Fima (US 2006/0272704) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Blaine (ES2900654). Claim 20 is similarly rejected as set forth it the rejection of claim s 9 and 10 above. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 11-16 allowed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THIEN S TRAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7745 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday [8:00-4:00] . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Steven Crabb can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5095 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THIEN S TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/13/2026