DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected in the Instant Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As per claim 15, the language is drawn to a computer program which is neither executed by a computer, nor stored on a physical structure.
Claims not specifically mentioned are rejected by virtue of dependency and because they do not obviate the above-recited deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsofi et al. (US20160267125A1) hereinafter Tsofi in view of Masrani et al. (US20150180907A1) hereinafter Masrani.
Regarding Claims 1, 11, 15. Tsofi teaches a method of managing conflicts between a first inventory of a first manager and a second inventory of a second manager (¶0006 see given a set of conflict resolution rules, a conflict resolution policy can be implemented. An algorithm is generated from the rules by decomposing each rule into three items. First, the rule is optionally decomposed into at least one pre-action that is to be performed on data in identified fields conflicting data objects), the first manager and the second manager managing entities in a computing system (Fig 3 elements 12/14 [both are in the same communication network computing system]), the method comprising:
receiving, at the first manager from the second manager, an update to be applied to the first inventory, the update comprising a first object, disposed in the second inventory, which applies a first policy to an entity in the computing system (¶0017 see a sharing or synchronization relationship may exist between two or more endpoints.. When at least some kinds of changes are made to a data object, the changed information associated with the data object is synchronized to the other endpoint (or endpoints) in the synchronization relationship ¶0027 see the user desires to synchronize data stores 20 and 32 and data stores 22 and 34. Thus, there are two instances of each data item associated with the pair of data stores 20 and 32 (one instance in object store 20 and one instance in object store 32) and two instances of each data item associated with the pair of object stores 22 and 34 (one instance in object store 22 and one instance in object store 34). When a user changes one instance of an object in a data item stored in either object store 22 or 34, the second instance of that object in the other of stores 22 and 34 is out of sync and is desirably updated the next time mobile device 12 has two-way communication with computing device 14, so that both instances of the same object contain synchronized data [here the first endpoint receives data object from the second endpoint]);
Tsofi teaches a conflict with a second object disposed in the first inventory, the second object applying a second policy to the entity that conflicts with the first policy applied by the first object and a resolution of the conflict in the first inventory caused by the second object (¶0006 see Conflicts may arise when a synchronization engine attempts to synchronize data objects between two or more devices. In an illustrative example, given a set of conflict resolution rules, a conflict resolution policy can be implemented. An algorithm is generated from the rules by decomposing each rule into three items. First, the rule is optionally decomposed into at least one pre-action that is to be performed on data in identified fields conflicting data objects)
Tsofi does not explicitly teach detecting, by the first manager and adding, in response to the conflict, the update to a buffer of the first manager; applying, by the first manager in response to the resolution, the update from the buffer to the first inventory to represent, in the first inventory, that the first policy is applied to the entity.
Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches detecting, by the first manager and adding, in response to the conflict, the update to a buffer of the first manager (Fig 5 element 530 [policies table is interpreted as buffer] and ¶0055 see then policy module 160, by that point, has failed to locate a policy that conflicts with the policy to be added. Hence, method 160 then proceeds to step 530, where policy module 160 stores the policy received at step 505 in policies table 305. After step 530, method 500 terminates); applying, by the first manager in response to the resolution, the update from the buffer to the first inventory to represent, in the first inventory, that the first policy is applied to the entity
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for providing a manager on a device and a buffer to manage updates to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the managers and buffer of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow each server to manage updates associated with it.
Further regarding claim 11: Tsofi further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction to be executed in a computing device to cause the computing device to carry out a method (¶0023 see memory configured to store a plurality of individual data items)
Further regarding claim 15: Tsofi further teaches teaches a computing system, comprising: a first manager and a second manager executing, the first and second managers managing entities in the system (Fig 2); a first inventory of the first manager; and a second inventory of the second manager (Fig 2 elements 23 and 22 see object data stores)
Tsofi does not explicitly teach on virtualized infrastructure (VI)
Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches on virtualized infrastructure (VI) (¶0012 see VM folder 110 contains one or more virtual machines (VMs) 111. Further, VM folder 110 may also contain or more virtual applications (or “vApps”) 112. In embodiments, each of the VMs 111 or vApps 112 executes on a virtualized host computer under the control of a hypervisor)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for providing virtual machines to manage updates to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the virtual machines of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow each server to manage updates associated with it.
Regarding Claims 2, 16. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, wherein the resolution of the conflict in the first inventory comprises removal of the second object from an object hierarchy of the first inventory (Tsofi ¶0006 see the rule is decomposed into at least one action that is to be performed on the identified fields in the conflicting data objects if the condition(s) is satisfied. The algorithm may be stored in an executable file for execution during the synchronization engine's runtime. ¶0032 see actions (e.g., add, delete, modify . . . ) need to be taken to resolve the conflict on a synchronization components 24 and 36 ¶0017 see particular sharing relationship may generally relate to a set of data comprising one or more data objects. When at least some kinds of changes are made to a data object, the changed information associated with the data object is synchronized to the other endpoint (or endpoints) in the synchronization relationship. Endpoint A 110 and endpoint C 130 are shown in the system [hierarchy is interpreted as association between data objects]).
Regarding Claims 3, 17. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Tsofi does not explicitly teach removing, by the first manager in response to the resolution, the update from the buffer
Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches removing, by the first manager in response to the resolution, the update from the buffer (Masrani ¶0026 see Policy module 160 is configured to create, update, and delete policies stored in policies table 305 and Policy module 160 also determines whether a given condition is true with respect to a managed object, and, upon so determining, performs an associated action on, or with respect to, the managed object).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for managing a buffer with updates to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the buffer of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow each server to manage updates associated with it.
Regarding Claims 4, 12, 18. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the first manager from the second manager, another update comprising a third object, disposed in the second inventory (Tsofi ¶0036 see receives an object to be resolved among each instance of a data item, depending on whether the synchronization component provides the conflict resolution component 60 with the data items or simply the conflicting objects within the data items);
determining, at the first manager, a relation between the third object and the first object (Tsofi ¶0017 see A particular sharing relationship may generally relate to a set of data comprising one or more data objects);
Tsofi does not explicitly teach adding, in response to the conflict and the relation, the other update to the buffer of the first manager; and applying, by the first manager in response to application of the update, the other update from the buffer to the first inventory
Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches adding, in response to the conflict and the relation, the other update to the buffer of the first manager (Fig 4 [see policy being adding to policy table]); and applying, by the first manager in response to application of the update, the other update from the buffer to the first inventory (Fig 5 ¶0054 see 550, policy module 160 determines that no conflict between the two policy conditions exist, method 500 returns to step 525 to determine whether a next policy is stored in policies table 305)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for managing a buffer with updates to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the buffer of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow each server to manage updates associated with it.
Regarding Claim 5. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, Tsofi does not explicitly teach wherein the first inventory includes a first object hierarchy, the second inventory includes a sub-tree representing the first object hierarchy, and a first path of the first object in the first object hierarchy matches a second path of the second object in the sub-tree Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the first inventory includes a first object hierarchy, the second inventory includes a sub-tree representing the first object hierarchy, and a first path of the first object in the first object hierarchy matches a second path of the second object in the sub-tree (Masrani Policies table 305 may be embodied in a relational database, a hierarchical database, in Extended Markup Language (XML) files, or in any other structure or structures capable of storing policies 300, conditions 310, and actions 301).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for hierarchical database to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the hierarchical database of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow each server to manage updates associated with it.
Regarding Claim 6. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Tsofi does not explicitly teach generating, by the first manager, an alarm in response to adding the update to the buffer
Masrani however in the same field of computer networking teaches generating, by the first manager, an alarm in response to adding the update to the buffer (Masrani ¶0053 see an error condition is communicated to a system administrator via a user interface, where the system administrator may take appropriate action. After step 555, method 500 terminates).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the conflicts of Tsofi and the teachings of Masrani for generating alerts to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the alert of Masrani. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow users to identify issues with updates.
Regarding Claim 7. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the first manager from the second manager, another update comprising the first object, the other update indicating deletion of the first object from the first inventory (¶0036 see receives an object to be resolved among each instance of a data item, depending on whether the synchronization component provides the conflict resolution component 60 with the data items or simply the conflicting objects within the data items [Tsofi receives multiple updates]); and determining, by the first manager, that the buffer stores the update having the first object and, in response to the other update, deleting the update from the buffer (Masrani Fig 5 – the loop shown from 525-555 manages the ‘buffer’ ie table and removes conflicts via resolution – thus in a situation where another update is received and applied it will remove the policy stored in the buffer) .
Regarding Claim 8. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the first manager from the second manager, another update comprising the first object, the other update indicating that the first object applies a third policy to the entity in the computing system (¶0036 see receives an object to be resolved among each instance of a data item, depending on whether the synchronization component provides the conflict resolution component 60 with the data items or simply the conflicting objects within the data items); and determining, by the first manager, that the buffer stores the update having the first object and, in response to the other update, updating the first object to apply the third policy (Masrani Fig 5 – the loop shown from 525-555 manages the ‘buffer’ ie table and removes conflicts via resolution – thus in a situation where another update is received and applied it will remove the policy stored in the buffer).
Claims 9-10, 13-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsofi-Masrani further in view of Huang et al. (US 20180115470 A1) hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claims 9, 13, 19. Tsofi-Masrani teaches the method of claim 1,
Tsofi does not explicitly teach wherein the first manager is a global network manager executing in a public cloud of the computing system, wherein the first manager is a local network manager executing in a software-defined data center (SDDC) of the computing system, and wherein a software-defined network (SDN) of the SDDC includes the entity
Huang however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the first manager is a global network manager executing in a public cloud of the computing system, wherein the first manager is a local network manager executing in a software-defined data center (SDDC) of the computing system, and wherein a software-defined network (SDN) of the SDDC includes the entity (¶0004 see decentralized SDN-based cloud environment with multiple controllers, the policy conflict issue is amplified since conflicts could arise due to different controllers not being in sync, and not having the same view of the environment further see Fig 1 element 100)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Huang for utilizing SDN to manage conflicts to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the SDN of Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow for centralized control of the network.
Regarding Claims 10, 14, 20. The already combined references teach the method of claim 1,
Tsofi does not explicitly teach wherein the first manager is a local network manager executing in a software-defined data center (SDDC) of the computing system, wherein a software-defined network (SDN) of the SDDC includes the entity, and wherein the first manager is a global network manager executing in a public cloud of the computing system
Dong however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the first manager is a local network manager executing in a software-defined data center (SDDC) of the computing system, wherein a software-defined network (SDN) of the SDDC includes the entity, and wherein the first manager is a global network manager executing in a public cloud of the computing system (¶0004 see decentralized SDN-based cloud environment with multiple controllers, the policy conflict issue is amplified since conflicts could arise due to different controllers not being in sync, and not having the same view of the environment further see Fig 1 element 100 also see controller as being the centralized global manager)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the updates of Tsofi and the teachings of Huang for utilizing SDN to manage conflicts to combine the teachings such that Tsofi utilizes the SDN of Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so will allow for centralized control of the network.
Conclusion
References are cited not only for their quoted language but for all that they teach.
/ATTA KHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449