DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant Response filed 06 June 2023 for application 18/330,253 filed 06 June 2023.
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12, 19, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “unique” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Correction or clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as each ANN model has a graph embedding and no two graph embeddings for each different ANN model.
Claim 12 recites the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “unique” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Correction or clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as each ANN model has a graph embedding and no two graph embeddings for each different ANN model.
Claim 19 recites the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “unique” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Correction or clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as each ANN model has a graph embedding and no two graph embeddings for each different ANN model.
Claim 26 recites the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “unique” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Correction or clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as each ANN model has a graph embedding and no two graph embeddings for each different ANN model.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13, 19 of co-pending Application No. 18/500,014 in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0176840 A1 – Learned Graph Optimizations for Compilers, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”) and/or Yu et al. (Auto Graph Encoder-Decoder for Neural Network Pruning, hereinafter referred to as “Yu”) and/or Tu et al. (AutoNE: Hyperparameter Optimization for Massive Network Embedding, hereinafter referred to as “Tu”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as noted in the table below, claims 1-28 of the instant application have similar limitations as recited in co-pending Application No. 18/500,014 (claims 1, 7, 13, 19) except for additional limitations included in co-pending Application No. 18/500,014.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application No. 18/330,253
Co-pending Appl. No. 18/500,014
Claim 1
Claim 7
A processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation, comprising:
A processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation performed by at least one processor, the processor-implemented method comprising:
receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model;
receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, the ANN including multiple nodes coupled by edges;
generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space;
generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space based on the position information for each node;
processing, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric; and
processing, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric and based on the position information; and
determining, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
determining, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
Claim 2
in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Claim 3
in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Claim 4
in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Claim 5
in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Claim 6
compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters.
Claim 7
determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Claim 8
Claim 1
An apparatus, comprising:
An apparatus of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation, comprising:
a memory; and
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured:
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:
to receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model;
receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, the ANN including multiple nodes coupled by edges;
to generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space;
generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space based on the position information for each node;
to process, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric; and
process, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric and based on the position information; and
to determine, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
determine, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
Claim 9
in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Claim 10
in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Claim 11
in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Claim 12
in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Claim 13
in which the at least one processor is further configured to compile the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters.
Claim 14
in which the at least one processor is further configured to determine, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Claim 15
Claim 13
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by a processor and comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by a processor and comprising:
program code to receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model;
program code to receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, the ANN including multiple nodes coupled by edges;
program code to generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space;
program code to generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space based on the position information for each node;
program code to process, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric; and
program code to process, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric and based on the position information; and
program code to determine, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
program code to determine, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
Claim 16
in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Claim 17
in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Claim 18
in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Claim 19
in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Claim 20
in which the program code comprises program code to compile the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters.
Claim 21
in which the program code comprises program code to determine, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Claim 22
Claim 19
An apparatus, comprising:
An apparatus of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation, comprising:
means for receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model;
means for receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, the ANN including multiple nodes coupled by edges;
means for generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space;
means for generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space based on the position information for each node;
means for processing, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric; and
means for processing, by a graph neural network (GNN), the operator embedding to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric and based on the position information; and
means for determining, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
means for determining, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding.
Claim 23
in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Claim 24
in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Claim 25
in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Claim 26
in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Claim 27
means for compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters.
Claim 28
means for determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Regarding claim 2 (similarly 9, 16, 23), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Zhou teaches in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective (Zhou, [0053]-[0054] – teaches generating graph embeddings based on neighbor nodes; see also, Zhou, [0051] – proximal policy optimization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Zhou in order to learn better and more sophisticated models in less time in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Zhou, [0025] – “Particular embodiments of the subject matter described in this specification can be implemented so as to realize one or more of the following advantages. The techniques described in this specification enable the creation of a compiler optimization network that outperforms state-of-the-art methods in terms of the resulting runtime of the input programs. In particular, the techniques described below outperform a network having only a graph embedding network in placement performance. In addition, the techniques described below are faster than processing large sequence lengths compared to networks having LSTM policy networks instead of attention layers. Lastly, the techniques described below handle large graphs much better than graph attention networks.”).
Regarding claim 3 (similarly 10, 17, 24), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Tu teaches in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model (Tu, sections 3.3-3.4 – teaches similarity between two networks is based ratio of network sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Tu in order to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Tu, Abstract – “Network embedding (NE) aims to embed the nodes of a network into a vector space, and serves as the bridge between machine learning and network data. Despite their widespread success, NE algorithms typically contain a large number of hyperparameters for preserving the various network properties, which must be carefully tuned in order to achieve satisfactory performance. Though automated machine learning (AutoML) has achieved promising results when applied to many types of data such as images and texts, network data poses great challenges to AutoML and remains largely ignored by the literature of AutoML. The biggest obstacle is the massive scale of real-world networks, along with the coupled node relationships that make any straightforward sampling strategy problematic. In this paper, we propose a novel framework, named AutoNE, to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks. In detail, we employ a multi-start random walk strategy to sample several small sub-networks, perform each trial of configuration selection on the sampled sub-network, and design a meta-leaner to transfer the knowledge about optimal hyperparameters from the sub-networks to the original massive network. The transferred meta-knowledge greatly reduces the number of trials required when predicting the optimal hyperparameters for the original network. Extensive experiments demonstrate that our framework can significantly outperform the existing methods, in that it needs less time and fewer trials to find the optimal hyperparameters.”).
Regarding claim 4 (similarly 11, 18, 25), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Yu teaches in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss (Yu, section 3.3 – teaches training based on reward function defined as reconstruction loss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Yu in order to improve performance an compression ratio with fewer search steps in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Yu, Abstract – “Model compression aims to deploy deep neural networks (DNN) on mobile devices with limited computing and storage resources. However, most of the existing model compression methods rely on manually defined rules, which require domain expertise. DNNs are essentially computational graphs, which contain rich structural information. In this paper, we aim to find a suitable compression policy from DNNs’ structural information. We propose an automatic graph encoder-decoder model compression (AGMC) method combined with graph neural networks (GNN) and reinforcement learning (RL). We model the target DNN as a graph and use GNN to learn the DNN’s embeddings automatically. We compared our method with rule-based DNN embedding model compression methods to show the effectiveness of our method. Results show that our learning-based DNN embedding achieves better performance and a higher compression ratio with fewer search steps. We evaluated our method on over-parameterized and mobile-friendly DNNs and compared our method with handcrafted and learning-based model compression approaches. On over parameterized DNNs, such as ResNet-56, our method outperformed handcrafted and learning-based methods with 4.36% and 2.56% higher accuracy, respectively. Furthermore, on MobileNet-v2, we achieved a higher compression ratio than state-of-the-art methods with just 0.93% accuracy loss.”).
Regarding claim 5 (similarly 12, 19, 26), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Zhou teaches in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique (Zhou, [0061] – teaches unique model structure with unique graph embeddings; see also Zhou, [0013]-[0024] – demonstrating various examples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Zhou in order to learn better and more sophisticated models in less time in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Zhou, [0025] – “Particular embodiments of the subject matter described in this specification can be implemented so as to realize one or more of the following advantages. The techniques described in this specification enable the creation of a compiler optimization network that outperforms state-of-the-art methods in terms of the resulting runtime of the input programs. In particular, the techniques described below outperform a network having only a graph embedding network in placement performance. In addition, the techniques described below are faster than processing large sequence lengths compared to networks having LSTM policy networks instead of attention layers. Lastly, the techniques described below handle large graphs much better than graph attention networks.”).
Regarding claim 6 (similarly 13, 20, 27), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters.
Zhou teaches compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters (Zhou, [0071] [0073] – teaches compiling the network according to the optimization plan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Zhou in order to learn better and more sophisticated models in less time in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Zhou, [0025] – “Particular embodiments of the subject matter described in this specification can be implemented so as to realize one or more of the following advantages. The techniques described in this specification enable the creation of a compiler optimization network that outperforms state-of-the-art methods in terms of the resulting runtime of the input programs. In particular, the techniques described below outperform a network having only a graph embedding network in placement performance. In addition, the techniques described below are faster than processing large sequence lengths compared to networks having LSTM policy networks instead of attention layers. Lastly, the techniques described below handle large graphs much better than graph attention networks.”).
Regarding claim 7 (similarly 14, 21, 28), Application No. 18/500,014 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (7, 15, 22, respectively), as stated in the chart. However, Application No. 18/500,014 does not explicitly teach determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Tu teaches determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models (Tu, section 3.2 – teaches sampling representative sub-networks sharing similar properties).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 18/500,014 with the teachings of Tu in order to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Tu, Abstract – “Network embedding (NE) aims to embed the nodes of a network into a vector space, and serves as the bridge between machine learning and network data. Despite their widespread success, NE algorithms typically contain a large number of hyperparameters for preserving the various network properties, which must be carefully tuned in order to achieve satisfactory performance. Though automated machine learning (AutoML) has achieved promising results when applied to many types of data such as images and texts, network data poses great challenges to AutoML and remains largely ignored by the literature of AutoML. The biggest obstacle is the massive scale of real-world networks, along with the coupled node relationships that make any straightforward sampling strategy problematic. In this paper, we propose a novel framework, named AutoNE, to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks. In detail, we employ a multi-start random walk strategy to sample several small sub-networks, perform each trial of configuration selection on the sampled sub-network, and design a meta-leaner to transfer the knowledge about optimal hyperparameters from the sub-networks to the original massive network. The transferred meta-knowledge greatly reduces the number of trials required when predicting the optimal hyperparameters for the original network. Extensive experiments demonstrate that our framework can significantly outperform the existing methods, in that it needs less time and fewer trials to find the optimal hyperparameters.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea, and because the claim elements, whether considered individually or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, see Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank International et al., 573 US 208 (2014).
Regarding claim 1, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation.
The limitation of generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of processing ... the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of determining ... a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – processor-implemented. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN). The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
processor-implemented amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN) amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 2 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 1 is applicable here since claim 2 carries out the method of claim 1 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 3 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 1 is applicable here since claim 3 carries out the method of claim 1 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the models and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the model do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 4 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 1 is applicable here since claim 4 carries out the method of claim 1 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 5 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 1 is applicable here since claim 5 carries out the method of claim 1 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the graph embeddings and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the graph embeddings do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 6 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation.
The limitation of compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 7 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) processor-implemented method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation.
The limitation of determining ... the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of process ... the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of determine ... a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – apparatus, memory, at least one processor. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN). The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
apparatus, memory, at least one processor amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN) amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 9 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 8 is applicable here since claim 9 carries out the apparatus of claim 8 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 10 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 8 is applicable here since claim 10 carries out the apparatus of claim 8 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the models and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the model do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 11 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 8 is applicable here since claim 11 carries out the apparatus of claim 8 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 12 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 8 is applicable here since claim 12 carries out the apparatus of claim 8 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the graph embeddings and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the graph embeddings do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 13 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of compile the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 14 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of determine ... the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 15 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium.
The limitation of generate an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of process ... the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of determine ... a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – computer-readable medium, program code, processor. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN). The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites receive a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
computer-readable medium, program code, processor amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN) amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 16 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 15 is applicable here since claim 16 carries out the computer-readable medium of claim 15 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 17 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 15 is applicable here since claim 17 carries out the computer-readable medium of claim 15 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the models and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the model do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 18 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 15 is applicable here since claim 18 carries out the computer-readable medium of claim 15 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 19 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 15 is applicable here since claim 19 carries out the computer-readable medium of claim 15 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the graph embeddings and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the graph embeddings do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 20 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium.
The limitation of compile the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 21 is directed to a computer-readable medium, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) computer-readable medium.
The limitation of determine ... the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 22 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of processing ... the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model according to a learned distance metric, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
The limitation of determining ... a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element(s) – apparatus. The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of executing instructions on the computers) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The claim recites additional element(s) – artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN). The additional element(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claim recites receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model, which is simply acquiring data recited at a high level of generality. This is nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of:
apparatus amount(s) to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(b))
acquiring data amount(s) to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity is the well-understood routine and conventional activit(y/ies) of receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2016.05(d))
artificial neural network (ANN) model, graph neural network (GNN) amount(s) to no more than indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional element(s) do(es) not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 23 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 22 is applicable here since claim 23 carries out the apparatus of claim 22 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 24 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 22 is applicable here since claim 24 carries out the apparatus of claim 22 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the models and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the model do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 25 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 22 is applicable here since claim 25 carries out the apparatus of claim 22 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the GNN and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the GNN do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 26 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus. The Step 2A Prong One Analysis for claim 22 is applicable here since claim 26 carries out the apparatus of claim 22 but for the recitation of additional element(s) of in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional information regarding the graph embeddings and the element(s) do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element(s) do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and, therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of additional information regarding the graph embeddings do(es) not apply the exception in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Not applying the exception in a meaningful way does not provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 27 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 28 is directed to an apparatus, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim recites a(n) apparatus.
The limitation of determining ... the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. The limitation is directed to observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion and is a process capable of being performed by a human mentally or using pen and paper.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: With respect to the abstract idea, the judicial exception is not integrated
into a practical application. The claim does not recite any additional elements which integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application and, therefore, does not impose any meaningful limits on
practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the claim does not recite any additional elements which
provide an inventive concept, and, therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16, 19-20, 22-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0176840 A1 – Learned Graph Optimizations for Compilers, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a processor-implemented (Zhou, [0067] – teaches using multiple computers) method of pre-processing for deep neural network compilation (Zhou, [0067] – teaches compiler optimization network to generate an optimization plan for an input program), comprising:
receiving a representation of an artificial neural network (ANN) model (Zhou, [0068] – teaches receiving an operational graph; see also Zhou, [0007] – teaches that machine learning algorithms are represented by computational graphs);
generating an operator embedding to represent operators of the ANN model in an embedding space (Zhou, [0053] – teaches representing the computational graph [ML algorithm] as an encoding of meta features for nodes an edges, including operation type);
processing, by a graph neural network (GNN) (Zhou, [0052] – teaches the graph embedding network is a graph neural network), the operator embedding, to generate a graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model (Zhou, [0070] – teaches generating a graph embedding using a graph embedding network for the input program [ML algorithm]) according to a learned distance metric (Zhou, [0053]-[0054] – teaches generating graph embeddings based on neighbor nodes; see also, Zhou, [0051] – proximal policy optimization); and
determining, by the GNN, a set of hyperparameters for the ANN model based on the graph embedding (Zhou, [0071]-[0072] – teaches using the graph embedding to output an optimization plan for the input program).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. Zhou further teaches in which the GNN determines the graph embedding based on a metric learning objective (Zhou, [0053]-[0054] – teaches generating graph embeddings based on neighbor nodes; see also, Zhou, [0051] – proximal policy optimization).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. Zhou further teaches in which the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model is unique (Zhou, [0061] – teaches unique model structure with unique graph embeddings; see also Zhou, [0013]-[0024] – demonstrating various examples).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. Zhou further teaches compiling the ANN model using the set of hyperparameters (Zhou, [0071]-[0073] – teaches compiling the network according to the optimization plan).
Regarding claim 8, it is the apparatus embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Zhou further teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory (Zhou, [0079] – teaches executing instructions stored in memory on a processor); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured (Zhou, [0079] – teaches executing instructions stored in memory on a processor) …
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, it is the computer-readable medium embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Zhou further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code executed by a processor and comprising (Zhou, [0079] – teaches executing instructions stored in memory on a processor) …
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, it is the apparatus embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 26, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 27, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10, 14, 17, 21, 24, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Tu et al. (AutoNE: Hyperparameter Optimization for Massive Network Embedding, hereinafter referred to as “Tu”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. However, Zhou does not explicitly teach in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model.
Tu teaches in which a distance between the graph embedding corresponding to the ANN model and a second graph embedding corresponding to a second ANN model is proportional to a relative size of the ANN model and the second ANN model (Tu, sections 3.3-3.4 – teaches similarity between two networks is based ratio of network sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou with the teachings of Tu in order to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Tu, Abstract – “Network embedding (NE) aims to embed the nodes of a network into a vector space, and serves as the bridge between machine learning and network data. Despite their widespread success, NE algorithms typically contain a large number of hyperparameters for preserving the various network properties, which must be carefully tuned in order to achieve satisfactory performance. Though automated machine learning (AutoML) has achieved promising results when applied to many types of data such as images and texts, network data poses great challenges to AutoML and remains largely ignored by the literature of AutoML. The biggest obstacle is the massive scale of real-world networks, along with the coupled node relationships that make any straightforward sampling strategy problematic. In this paper, we propose a novel framework, named AutoNE, to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks. In detail, we employ a multi-start random walk strategy to sample several small sub-networks, perform each trial of configuration selection on the sampled sub-network, and design a meta-leaner to transfer the knowledge about optimal hyperparameters from the sub-networks to the original massive network. The transferred meta-knowledge greatly reduces the number of trials required when predicting the optimal hyperparameters for the original network. Extensive experiments demonstrate that our framework can significantly outperform the existing methods, in that it needs less time and fewer trials to find the optimal hyperparameters.”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. However, Zhou does not explicitly teach determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models.
Tu teaches determining, by the GNN, the set of hyperparameters for the ANN model using a similarity search over a set of graph embeddings corresponding to ANN models (Tu, section 3.2 – teaches sampling representative sub-networks sharing similar properties).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou with the teachings of Tu in order to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Tu, Abstract – “Network embedding (NE) aims to embed the nodes of a network into a vector space, and serves as the bridge between machine learning and network data. Despite their widespread success, NE algorithms typically contain a large number of hyperparameters for preserving the various network properties, which must be carefully tuned in order to achieve satisfactory performance. Though automated machine learning (AutoML) has achieved promising results when applied to many types of data such as images and texts, network data poses great challenges to AutoML and remains largely ignored by the literature of AutoML. The biggest obstacle is the massive scale of real-world networks, along with the coupled node relationships that make any straightforward sampling strategy problematic. In this paper, we propose a novel framework, named AutoNE, to automatically optimize the hyperparameters of a NE algorithm on massive networks. In detail, we employ a multi-start random walk strategy to sample several small sub-networks, perform each trial of configuration selection on the sampled sub-network, and design a meta-leaner to transfer the knowledge about optimal hyperparameters from the sub-networks to the original massive network. The transferred meta-knowledge greatly reduces the number of trials required when predicting the optimal hyperparameters for the original network. Extensive experiments demonstrate that our framework can significantly outperform the existing methods, in that it needs less time and fewer trials to find the optimal hyperparameters.”).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 24, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 28, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Tu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Yu et al. (Auto Graph Encoder-Decoder for Neural Network Pruning, hereinafter referred to as “Yu”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches all of the limitations of the method of claim 1 as noted above. However, Zhou does not explicitly teach in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss.
Yu teaches in which the GNN is trained based on a reconstruction loss (Yu, section 3.3 – teaches training based on reward function defined as reconstruction loss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou with the teachings of Yu in order to improve performance an compression ratio with fewer search steps in the field of neural network compilation using GNNs (Yu, Abstract – “Model compression aims to deploy deep neural networks (DNN) on mobile devices with limited computing and storage resources. However, most of the existing model compression methods rely on manually defined rules, which require domain expertise. DNNs are essentially computational graphs, which contain rich structural information. In this paper, we aim to find a suitable compression policy from DNNs’ structural information. We propose an automatic graph encoder-decoder model compression (AGMC) method combined with graph neural networks (GNN) and reinforcement learning (RL). We model the target DNN as a graph and use GNN to learn the DNN’s embeddings automatically. We compared our method with rule-based DNN embedding model compression methods to show the effectiveness of our method. Results show that our learning-based DNN embedding achieves better performance and a higher compression ratio with fewer search steps. We evaluated our method on over-parameterized and mobile-friendly DNNs and compared our method with handcrafted and learning-based model compression approaches. On over parameterized DNNs, such as ResNet-56, our method outperformed handcrafted and learning-based methods with 4.36% and 2.56% higher accuracy, respectively. Furthermore, on MobileNet-v2, we achieved a higher compression ratio than state-of-the-art methods with just 0.93% accuracy loss.”).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Yu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Yu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 25, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Further, the limitations in this claim are taught by Zhou in view of Yu for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
/MARSHALL L WERNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2125