Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 09/16/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no search burden between the groups. This is not found persuasive because the additional groups each contain elements that require search that the elected group does not require a search of, therefore the restriction is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17-21, 23, 46-48 and 50 are pending. Claims 19-20, 46-48 and 50 are withdrawn by the Examiner as being drawn to nonelected subject matter.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 17-18, 21 and 23 are examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 13, 18, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fillatti et al (US Patent 8609934).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The claims are drawn to a method of providing a sequence of interest to the genome of a plant cell comprising contacting the cell with a Rhizobiales cell (which includes Agrobacterium) capable of transforming the plant cell wherein the cell comprises at least one vector capable of forming two T-strands that are essentially complementary wherein the vector comprises a number of interchangeable options including a first right border sequence a second right border sequence, a sequence of interest wherein the first T-strand is initiated and synthesized in the sense orientation form 5’ to 3’ and the second T-strand is synthesized in the anti-sense orientation and the two strands are essentially complementary wherein the RB1 and RB2 comprise an Agrobacterium Ti Plasmid right border sequence and LB1 and LB2 comprise an Agrobacterium Ti plasmid left border sequence, wherein the sequence of interest could be any sequence at all given the list of options, but including a gene or target sequence for down regulation, wherein the sequence of interest comprises a homology arm wherein it comprises a left and right homology arm sequence (Wherein it is understood that sequences are complementary to one another) and wherein the homology arm sequence is at least 80% identical to a target gene, wherein the modification is achieved through homologous recombination (see 10th paragraph under background of invention) wherein the Rhizobiales cell is selected from a list including Agrobacterium and the plant cell is selected from a corn cell, soybean cell, canola cell, cotton cell, wheat cell or sugarcane cell.
Fillati et al teach methods of assembling transcription units for gene suppression comprising introducing into a cell a plasmid vector for Agrobacterium-mediated, tandem co-integration of two DNAs into the genome wherein the plasmid comprises a first T-DNA between right and left borders, a second T-DNA between right and left borders wherein the two produced strands form a double stranded RNA which inherently means they are complementary and wherein one strand is identical to the targeted gene for suppression (see claims 1, 7-8, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 as well as 10th paragraph under summary of Invention), wherein the right border is an Agrobacterium Ti plasmid right border and the left border is an Agrobacterium Ti plasmid left border (see Example 1) and wherein the sequence of interest is a gene wherein the Rhizobiales cell is Agrobacterium (see claims) and wherein the plant cell is corn, soybean or sugarcane (see 6th paragraph under Detailed Description of Invention). It is noted that the two strands that upon transcription form the double stranded RNA are considered homology arms both right and left.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillatti et al (US Patent 8609934) in view of Rommens et al (USPGPUB20060070137).
The claims are drawn to the above wherein additionally a site-specific enzyme including endonuclease, recombinase and transposase are the sequence of interest, wherein the sequence of interest is a vir gene from the Ti plasmid, , wherein the construct comprises a spacer and two segments.
Fillati et al teach methods of assembling transcription units for gene suppression comprising introducing into a cell a plasmid vector for Agrobacterium-mediated, tandem co-integration of two DNAs into the genome wherein the plasmid comprises a first T-DNA between right and left borders, a second T-DNA between right and left borders wherein the two produced strands form a double stranded RNA which inherently means they are complementary and wherein one strand is identical to the targeted gene for suppression (see claims 1, 7-8, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 as well as 10th paragraph under summary of Invention), wherein the right border is an Agrobacterium Ti plasmid right border and the left border is an Agrobacterium Ti plasmid left border (see Example 1) and wherein the sequence of interest is a gene wherein the Rhizobiales cell is Agrobacterium (see claims) and wherein the plant cell is corn, soybean or sugarcane (see 6th paragraph under Detailed Description of Invention). It is noted that the two strands that upon transcription form the double stranded RNA are considered homology arms both right and left.
Fillati et al based on the figures could be asserted to teach spacer sequences but does not explicitly name them as such and do not teach wherein the sequence of interest is a endonuclease, recombinase or transposase, or wherein it is a vir gene.
Rommens et al teach transfer cassettes for transforming plant cells that comprise many of the features of the instant invention, including SEQ ID NOs 21, 22 and 23, the vir gene as a sequence of interest (see claims 3, 26 and 27) a transposase as a sequence of interest (see claim 18) as well as the use of spacer sequences (see Figure 2).
Given the state of the art wherein each claimed vector element is known in the prior art, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the vector features taught by Rommens et al to the invention taught by Fillati et al, and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that these elements have all been successfully used in plant transformation by numerous research groups, represented herein by Fillati et al and Rommens et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 17-18, 21 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11732268. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim very similar vector constructs with most if not all of the same components for right border sequences in particular as well as the homology arms, vir gene and SEQ ID NOS.
No claims are allowed.
/BRENT T PAGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663