DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed 12/01/2025 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 12/01/2025, have been fully considered and entered into record.
Regarding the outstanding double patenting rejection, which has been updated according to the newly amended claims and is maintained below, Applicant’s response in requesting the rejection be held in abeyance is improper, non-responsive, and non-compliant with the MPEP. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. MPEP 804
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 12/01/2025, regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of copending Application No. 18,333,476 (reference application), as further detailed in the table provided below:
Instant Application 18,330,338
Copending Application 18,333,476
Claim 1: A target wireless device comprising: wireless circuitry comprising one or more antennas; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the wireless circuitry and to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the target wireless device to: broadcast a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer cellular wireless service to the target wireless device; receive, from a source wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device; establish the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device via an authentication procedure; send, to the source wireless device, a plan transfer request to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM of the source wireless devices selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans received from the source wireless device; receive, from the source wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan; send, to a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a cellular service transfer request including the transfer token for authentication; receive, from the MNO entitlement server, a cellular service transfer response that indicates approval to obtain the new eSIM; and download, from an MNO provisioning server, the new eSIM.
Claim 1. A source wireless device comprising: wireless circuitry comprising one or more antennas; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the wireless circuitry and to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the source wireless device to: receive, from a target wireless device, a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer a cellular wireless service plan to the target wireless device; send, to the target wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device; establish the secure Bluetooth connection with the target wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device to the target wireless device via an authentication procedure; receive, from the target wireless device, a plan transfer request to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM (eSIM) of the source wireless device selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans provided to the target wireless device by the source wireless device; obtain, from a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan; and send, to the target wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes the transfer token.
Claim 11. A method for cellular wireless service transfer from a source wireless device to a target wireless device, the method comprising: by the target wireless device: broadcasting a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer cellular wireless service to the target wireless device; receiving, from the source wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device; establishing the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device via an authentication procedure; sending, to the source wireless device, a plan transfer request to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM (eSIM) of the source wireless device selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans received from the source wireless device; receiving, from the source wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan; sending, to a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a cellular service transfer request including the transfer token for authentication; receiving, from the MNO entitlement server, a cellular service transfer response that indicates approval to obtain the new eSIM; and downloading, from an MNO provisioning server, the new eSIM.
Claim 13. A method for cellular wireless service transfer from a source wireless device to a target wireless device, the method comprising: by the source wireless device: receiving, from the target wireless device, a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer a cellular wireless service plan to the target wireless device; sending, to the target wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device; establishing the secure Bluetooth connection with the target wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device to the target wireless device via an authentication procedure; receiving, from the target wireless device, a plan transfer request to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM (eSIM) of the source wireless device selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans provided to the target wireless device by the source wireless device; obtaining, from a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan; and sending, to the target wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes the transfer token.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The copending claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective copending claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the copending claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2016/0164883), in view of Kang et al (US 2020/0404501).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a target wireless device comprising: wireless circuitry comprising one or more antennas; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the wireless circuitry and to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ([0009], Fig. 5 showing inactive device), configure the target wireless device to:
receive, from a source wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device ([0027], Fig. 2, Beginning in step S210, the active device 15 starts provisioning of the inactive device 20. Provisioning may occur using a short range wireless or wired connection, such as Bluetooth);
establish the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device via an authentication procedure ([0029], Fig. 2, Continuing now to steps S220 and S225, active device 10 authenticates and pairs with inactive device 20. The authentication in step S220 of the provisioning transaction process can take place using a secure method on the active device 15 to ensure that access by inactive device 20 is authorized, and may involve entry by one or more of a password, biometric data, etc. More specifically, examples of authentication factors can include: fingerprint (determined by sensor on the device), facial recognition (facial image extracted from still or video images taken by the device); passcode (PIN or password entered by touch or speech on the device); speech recognition (voice print entered by speaking to device); gesture (entered by touch on the device or by moving the device). The same authentication factors may be employed during the subscriber confirmation step that takes place on inactive device 20, as discussed earlier.);
send, to the source wireless device, a plan transfer request ([0028], Fig. 2, Moving now to step S215, the inactive device 20 confirms whether the subscriber intends to activate inactive device 20 on a carrier network 10 in response to the initiation of the provisioning process by active device 15. The subscriber's intent can be confirmed by displaying a prompt and receiving user input indicating acceptance. The confirmation step may further include receiving a password or biometric input from the subscriber to accept the transfer or sharing of credentials with inactive device 20) to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM (eSIM) selected from a list of cellular wireless service plans received from the source wireless device ([0032-0035], Fig. 2, In step S230, the active device 15 requests temporary identification credentials (“tempID”) from the carrier ID server 28. The tempID can be a temporary international mobile subscriber identity (“TIMSI”) or temporary IMEI number. In response to receiving the temp ID request, in step S235 the carrier ID server 28 generates a tempID. A temporary IMEI or a set of temporary IMEIs of the inactive device 20 can be generated and allocated in the same manner as the TIMSI. When this occurs, the temporary IMEI bears a relationship to the IMEI of the subscriber that is similar to the link shared between the TIMSI of the inactive device 20 and the IMSI of the active device 15. Accordingly, a temporary IMEI or TIMSI of the inactive device 20 can both be linked to the respective IMEI or IMSI of the active device 15, while also allowing separate detachment of the inactive device 20 from the network 10 for security in the event of a network attack. A subscriber can also change/switch/adapt a device profile of an inactive device 20 by activating the inactive device 20 with a different type of IMEI);
receive, from the source wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan ([0036], Fig. 2, Moving now to step S240, after receiving the tempID from the carrier ID server 28, active device 15 transmits the tempID to inactive device 20);
send, to a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a cellular service transfer request including the transfer token for authentication ([0036], Fig. 2, In step S245, inactive device 20 forwards the received tempID to the carrier ID server 28 and requests a connection to the carrier network. 10. In response to receiving the tempID, the carrier ID server 28 authenticates the inactive device 20 and user/subscriber during step S250.);
receive, from the MNO entitlement server, a cellular service transfer response that indicates approval to obtain the new eSIM ([0036-0037], Upon finding a match, the carrier ID server 28 checks the upper three octets of the TIMSI against the IMSI of the active device 15 to ensure a link exists between the active device 15 of the subscriber and the inactive device 20. Based on the established link, the carrier ID server 28 allows the subscriber to activate the inactive device 20. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the check against the subscriber identity database, the carrier ID server 28 may issue a network challenge to the inactive device 20 in order to validate the inactive device 20 for network operations before allowing the inactive device 20 to launch a user-desired communication through the network 10. Such a network challenge may be used to support authentication based on a password, such as the tempID, of the subscriber of the active device 15. Instead of transmitting the tempID itself, a hash algorithm, for example, may be used to represent a hash result of the tempID); and
download, from an MNO provisioning server ([0023-0024]), the new eSIM ([0038], Upon completion of the negotiations, in step S265, SIM credentials are sent to the inactive device 20 by carrier ID server 28, thereby completing activation of the device 20 in step S270.).
Li fails to teach the following, which in analogous art, Kang teaches receive, from a target wireless device, a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer a cellular wireless service plan to the target wireless device ([0099], When the End User 200 unboxes and turns on power of the eSIM IoT terminal 203, the eSIM IoT terminal 203 may create SoftAP and may transmit a signal (operation 215). Also, the eSIM IoT terminal 203 may generate a beacon by using the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) or Bluetooth (BT) technology and may transmit the beacon. The End User 200 may execute the OCF App 211 for managing an IoT terminal in the primary terminal 209 (e.g., a smartphone), and the primary terminal 209 may collect AP information by scanning surroundings, may detect that the IoT terminal supports the OCF standard, based on terminal identification information (e.g., a service set identifier (SSID) and a terminal name) being collected and displayed on the primary terminal 209 and information transmitted via the beacon, and may detect that the IoT terminal is an unboxed terminal for which an Easysetup procedure is required (operation 217). Identifier information identifying Easysetup from among Easysetups may be added to the information transmitted via the beacon. When the primary terminal 209 detects the IoT terminal, the primary terminal 209 may attempt to access a corresponding OCF terminal, in response to selection by the End User 200 or setting of the primary terminal 209 (operation 219);
where the wireless service plan is selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans provided to the target wireless device by the source wireless device ([0098], In an operation, performed by a terminal, of selecting a plan and directly providing a communication opening service, the primary terminal 209 may transfer AP information of the primary terminal 209 to the Enrollee 203 and may simultaneously provide a communication network to the Enrollee 203 and thus may operate as an Enroller. In the disclosure, in a case where a primary terminal is described as an Enroller, the primary terminal may operate not only as the Enroller but may also operate as a Mediator. A Service Provider Server 213 collectively refers to a server of a service provider providing a communication service opening service, the server processing subscription, authentication, and payment related to a communication service, and issuing an activation code. The server may be configured of one server or a bundle of different servers, [0100], When the primary terminal 209 joins an AP of the IoT terminal 203 (operation 219), the primary terminal 209 may collect a list of resources provided by the IoT terminal 203 (operation 221). The primary terminal 209 may detect, from the list, whether (Wi-Fi) Easysetup and eSIM Easysetup are supported. Also, the primary terminal 209 may check whether the IoT terminal 203 is an eSIM terminal by identifying a device type of the OCF terminal. In a case where the primary terminal 209 determines that the eSIM Easysetup is supported, based on the list of resources of the IoT terminal 203, and detects that the IoT terminal 203 requires an initial setup, based on particular identification information (e.g., an Easysetup identifier included in the beacon) obtained from the IoT terminal 203, the primary terminal 209 may additionally configure a button of “communication service plan purchase” and display the button on a UI of a screen (operation 227)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the advertisement beacon of Kang in the system of Li in order to more efficiently request and receive responses for subscription and provisioning assistance.
Regarding Claim 2, Li, as modified by Kang, teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 1 above, where Li further teaches wherein the authentication procedure comprises the target wireless device further configured to: generate a random personal identification number (PIN) code; send, to the source wireless device, an authentication request; receive, from the source wireless device, an authentication response that includes a PIN code value; and validate the PIN code value matches the generated random PIN code ([0029], Continuing now to steps S220 and S225, active device 10 authenticates and pairs with inactive device 20. The authentication in step S220 of the provisioning transaction process can take place using a secure method on the active device 15 to ensure that access by inactive device 20 is authorized, and may involve entry by one or more of a password, biometric data, etc. More specifically, examples of authentication factors can include: fingerprint (determined by sensor on the device), facial recognition (facial image extracted from still or video images taken by the device); passcode (PIN or password entered by touch or speech on the device); speech recognition (voice print entered by speaking to device); gesture (entered by touch on the device or by moving the device). The same authentication factors may be employed during the subscriber confirmation step that takes place on inactive device 20, as discussed earlier.).
Regarding Claim 4, Li, as modified by Kang, teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 1 above, where Li further teaches wherein the target wireless device is further configured to: install and activate the new eSIM on an embedded integrated circuit card (eUICC) of the target wireless device; send, to the source wireless device, an indication that transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan is complete; and close the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device ([0071] In the illustrated example, the active device 15 includes a secure component 400. The secure component 400 (e.g. a secure element or “SE”) may be provisioned as a section within the memory 404 or may take the form of a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) located within the active device 15. A common example of a UICC implementation of the SE 400 is a subscriber identity module (“SIM”). As discussed above, the SE provides secure storage for various identifiers associated with the active device 15. The SE typically has a unique identifier and is provisioned for operation of the active device 15 in the network 10 by storage of a MDN and/or MIN assigned to the active device 15 by the carrier network operator, [0038], in step S265, SIM credentials are sent to the inactive device 20 by carrier ID server 28, thereby completing activation of the device 20 in step S270, [0039], the same wired, proximity, and physical actions discussed in step S210 can be used to terminate the activation of the (originally inactive) device 20).
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches a method for cellular wireless service transfer from a source wireless device to a target wireless device (Fig. 2), the method comprising: by the target wireless device ([0009], Fig. 5 showing inactive device):
receiving, from the source wireless device, a request to initiate a secure Bluetooth connection between the source wireless device and the target wireless device ([0027], Fig. 2, Beginning in step S210, the active device 15 starts provisioning of the inactive device 20. Provisioning may occur using a short range wireless or wired connection, such as Bluetooth);
establishing the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device after successful verification of the source wireless device via an authentication procedure ([0029], Fig. 2, Continuing now to steps S220 and S225, active device 10 authenticates and pairs with inactive device 20. The authentication in step S220 of the provisioning transaction process can take place using a secure method on the active device 15 to ensure that access by inactive device 20 is authorized, and may involve entry by one or more of a password, biometric data, etc. More specifically, examples of authentication factors can include: fingerprint (determined by sensor on the device), facial recognition (facial image extracted from still or video images taken by the device); passcode (PIN or password entered by touch or speech on the device); speech recognition (voice print entered by speaking to device); gesture (entered by touch on the device or by moving the device). The same authentication factors may be employed during the subscriber confirmation step that takes place on inactive device 20, as discussed earlier.);
sending, to the source wireless device, a plan transfer request ([0028], Fig. 2, Moving now to step S215, the inactive device 20 confirms whether the subscriber intends to activate inactive device 20 on a carrier network 10 in response to the initiation of the provisioning process by active device 15. The subscriber's intent can be confirmed by displaying a prompt and receiving user input indicating acceptance. The confirmation step may further include receiving a password or biometric input from the subscriber to accept the transfer or sharing of credentials with inactive device 20) to transfer a particular cellular wireless service plan associated with a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an electronic SIM (eSIM) selected from a list of cellular wireless service plans received from the source wireless device ([0032-0035], Fig. 2, In step S230, the active device 15 requests temporary identification credentials (“tempID”) from the carrier ID server 28. The tempID can be a temporary international mobile subscriber identity (“TIMSI”) or temporary IMEI number. In response to receiving the temp ID request, in step S235 the carrier ID server 28 generates a tempID. A temporary IMEI or a set of temporary IMEIs of the inactive device 20 can be generated and allocated in the same manner as the TIMSI. When this occurs, the temporary IMEI bears a relationship to the IMEI of the subscriber that is similar to the link shared between the TIMSI of the inactive device 20 and the IMSI of the active device 15. Accordingly, a temporary IMEI or TIMSI of the inactive device 20 can both be linked to the respective IMEI or IMSI of the active device 15, while also allowing separate detachment of the inactive device 20 from the network 10 for security in the event of a network attack. A subscriber can also change/switch/adapt a device profile of an inactive device 20 by activating the inactive device 20 with a different type of IMEI);
receiving, from the source wireless device, a plan transfer response that includes a transfer token associated with a new eSIM reserved for transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan ([0036], Fig. 2, Moving now to step S240, after receiving the tempID from the carrier ID server 28, active device 15 transmits the tempID to inactive device 20);
sending, to a mobile network operator (MNO) entitlement server, a cellular service transfer request including the transfer token for authentication ([0036], Fig. 2, In step S245, inactive device 20 forwards the received tempID to the carrier ID server 28 and requests a connection to the carrier network. 10. In response to receiving the tempID, the carrier ID server 28 authenticates the inactive device 20 and user/subscriber during step S250.);
receiving, from the MNO entitlement server, a cellular service transfer response that indicates approval to obtain the new eSIM ([0036-0037], Upon finding a match, the carrier ID server 28 checks the upper three octets of the TIMSI against the IMSI of the active device 15 to ensure a link exists between the active device 15 of the subscriber and the inactive device 20. Based on the established link, the carrier ID server 28 allows the subscriber to activate the inactive device 20. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the check against the subscriber identity database, the carrier ID server 28 may issue a network challenge to the inactive device 20 in order to validate the inactive device 20 for network operations before allowing the inactive device 20 to launch a user-desired communication through the network 10. Such a network challenge may be used to support authentication based on a password, such as the tempID, of the subscriber of the active device 15. Instead of transmitting the tempID itself, a hash algorithm, for example, may be used to represent a hash result of the tempID); and
downloading, from an MNO provisioning server ([0023-0024]), the new eSIM ([0038], Upon completion of the negotiations, in step S265, SIM credentials are sent to the inactive device 20 by carrier ID server 28, thereby completing activation of the device 20 in step S270.).
Li fails to teach the following, which in analogous art, Kang teaches receive, from a target wireless device, a Bluetooth advertisement beacon including an action type indicating a request to transfer a cellular wireless service plan to the target wireless device ([0099], When the End User 200 unboxes and turns on power of the eSIM IoT terminal 203, the eSIM IoT terminal 203 may create SoftAP and may transmit a signal (operation 215). Also, the eSIM IoT terminal 203 may generate a beacon by using the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) or Bluetooth (BT) technology and may transmit the beacon. The End User 200 may execute the OCF App 211 for managing an IoT terminal in the primary terminal 209 (e.g., a smartphone), and the primary terminal 209 may collect AP information by scanning surroundings, may detect that the IoT terminal supports the OCF standard, based on terminal identification information (e.g., a service set identifier (SSID) and a terminal name) being collected and displayed on the primary terminal 209 and information transmitted via the beacon, and may detect that the IoT terminal is an unboxed terminal for which an Easysetup procedure is required (operation 217). Identifier information identifying Easysetup from among Easysetups may be added to the information transmitted via the beacon. When the primary terminal 209 detects the IoT terminal, the primary terminal 209 may attempt to access a corresponding OCF terminal, in response to selection by the End User 200 or setting of the primary terminal 209 (operation 219);
where the wireless service plan is selected by the target wireless device from a list of cellular wireless service plans provided to the target wireless device by the source wireless device ([0098], In an operation, performed by a terminal, of selecting a plan and directly providing a communication opening service, the primary terminal 209 may transfer AP information of the primary terminal 209 to the Enrollee 203 and may simultaneously provide a communication network to the Enrollee 203 and thus may operate as an Enroller. In the disclosure, in a case where a primary terminal is described as an Enroller, the primary terminal may operate not only as the Enroller but may also operate as a Mediator. A Service Provider Server 213 collectively refers to a server of a service provider providing a communication service opening service, the server processing subscription, authentication, and payment related to a communication service, and issuing an activation code. The server may be configured of one server or a bundle of different servers, [0100], When the primary terminal 209 joins an AP of the IoT terminal 203 (operation 219), the primary terminal 209 may collect a list of resources provided by the IoT terminal 203 (operation 221). The primary terminal 209 may detect, from the list, whether (Wi-Fi) Easysetup and eSIM Easysetup are supported. Also, the primary terminal 209 may check whether the IoT terminal 203 is an eSIM terminal by identifying a device type of the OCF terminal. In a case where the primary terminal 209 determines that the eSIM Easysetup is supported, based on the list of resources of the IoT terminal 203, and detects that the IoT terminal 203 requires an initial setup, based on particular identification information (e.g., an Easysetup identifier included in the beacon) obtained from the IoT terminal 203, the primary terminal 209 may additionally configure a button of “communication service plan purchase” and display the button on a UI of a screen (operation 227)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the advertisement beacon of Kang in the system of Li in order to more efficiently request and receive responses for subscription and provisioning assistance.
Regarding Claim 12, Li, as modified by Kang, teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 11 above, where Li further teaches wherein the authentication procedure comprises: by the target wireless device: generating a random personal identification number (PIN) code; sending, to the source wireless device, an authentication request; receiving, from the source wireless device, an authentication response that includes a PIN code value; and validating the PIN code value matches the generated random PIN code ([0029], Continuing now to steps S220 and S225, active device 10 authenticates and pairs with inactive device 20. The authentication in step S220 of the provisioning transaction process can take place using a secure method on the active device 15 to ensure that access by inactive device 20 is authorized, and may involve entry by one or more of a password, biometric data, etc. More specifically, examples of authentication factors can include: fingerprint (determined by sensor on the device), facial recognition (facial image extracted from still or video images taken by the device); passcode (PIN or password entered by touch or speech on the device); speech recognition (voice print entered by speaking to device); gesture (entered by touch on the device or by moving the device). The same authentication factors may be employed during the subscriber confirmation step that takes place on inactive device 20, as discussed earlier.).
Regarding Claim 14, Li, as modified by Kang, teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 11 above, where Li further teaches further comprising: by the target wireless device: installing and activating the new eSIM on an embedded integrated circuit card (eUICC) of the target wireless device; sending, to the source wireless device, an indication that transfer of the particular cellular wireless service plan is complete; and closing the secure Bluetooth connection with the source wireless device ([0071] In the illustrated example, the active device 15 includes a secure component 400. The secure component 400 (e.g. a secure element or “SE”) may be provisioned as a section within the memory 404 or may take the form of a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) located within the active device 15. A common example of a UICC implementation of the SE 400 is a subscriber identity module (“SIM”). As discussed above, the SE provides secure storage for various identifiers associated with the active device 15. The SE typically has a unique identifier and is provisioned for operation of the active device 15 in the network 10 by storage of a MDN and/or MIN assigned to the active device 15 by the carrier network operator, [0038], in step S265, SIM credentials are sent to the inactive device 20 by carrier ID server 28, thereby completing activation of the device 20 in step S270, [0039], the same wired, proximity, and physical actions discussed in step S210 can be used to terminate the activation of the (originally inactive) device 20).
Claims 3, 9, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2016/0164883), in view of Kang et al (US 2020/0404501), and further in view of Jung et al (US 2023/0030914).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Li as modified by Kang teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 11 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Jung teaches wherein the authentication procedure comprises the target wireless device further configured to: generate a quick response (QR) verification code; and present the QR verification code via a display of the target wireless device for scanning by the source wireless device ([0169], According to various embodiments, as the EAP-AKA authentication is normally complete as described above, the first electronic device 101a may display information for subscription transfer, including the obtained authentication information (e.g., authentication token), on the screen in operation 916. For example, as shown in FIG. 10C, the first electronic device 101a may generate a QR code 1031 based on the information for subscription transfer and the authentication information on the screen and display the generated QR code on the screen. According to various embodiments, the information for subscription transfer may include information regarding the first electronic device 101a. For example, the information regarding the first electronic device 101a may include at least one of the mobile country code (MCC) and mobile network code (MNC), international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), eUICC identity (EID), international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), integrated circuit card identity (ICCID), and product model name identified from the profile information stored in the eSIM 201).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate authentication and transfer by QR code, as taught in Jung, in the system of Li modified by Kang, in order to provide visual embedding of network subscription information and more efficiently transfer subscriptions through scanning.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Li as modified by Kang teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 11 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Jung teaches wherein the Bluetooth advertisement beacon includes an authentication type indicating a quick response (QR) code and/or a manual numeric or alphanumeric code is required for authentication ([0169], According to various embodiments, as the EAP-AKA authentication is normally complete as described above, the first electronic device 101a may display information for subscription transfer, including the obtained authentication information (e.g., authentication token), on the screen in operation 916. For example, as shown in FIG. 10C, the first electronic device 101a may generate a QR code 1031 based on the information for subscription transfer and the authentication information on the screen and display the generated QR code on the screen. According to various embodiments, the information for subscription transfer may include information regarding the first electronic device 101a. For example, the information regarding the first electronic device 101a may include at least one of the mobile country code (MCC) and mobile network code (MNC), international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), eUICC identity (EID), international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), integrated circuit card identity (ICCID), and product model name identified from the profile information stored in the eSIM 201).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate authentication and transfer by QR code, as taught in Jung, in the system of Lu modified by Kang, in order to provide visual embedding of network subscription information and more efficiently transfer subscriptions through scanning.
Claims 5, 7, 10, 15, and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2016/0164883), in view of Kang et al (US 2020/0404501), and further in view of Pomp et al (DE 102019129631, citations to translation provided).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Li as modified by Kang teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 11 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Pomp teaches wherein the Bluetooth advertisement beacon includes a unique identifier for the source wireless device provided to the target wireless device via an out-of-band communication channel other than the source Bluetooth connection ([0034-0035], According to a further embodiment of the method according to the application, the advertising message (in particular a BLE advertising signal) can comprise at least one of the following advertising data:- at least one user ID,- at least one service provider identifier,- at least one timestamp,- at least one sequence number,- at least one historical date of the advertising signal,- at least one sensor flag, identifying at least one sensor element of the mobile device transmitting the advertising signal,- usage information verified by a backend system and/or an inspection device. In particular, a user ID can be (system-wide) uniquely assigned to a (registered) user of the service application of the mobile device (directly or indirectly). Examples of non-exhaustive user identifications are a (numeric or alphanumeric) user ID, user name, user contract number, identifier of the mobile device (e.g. B. IMEI), product number of the service application, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate various sequencing and identifier information in the advertising beacon for filtering and selective listening, as taught in Pomp, in the system of Li, modified by Kang, in order to conserve device resources and power by ignoring signals not required by the device.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Li as modified by Kang teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 11 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Pomp teaches wherein the Bluetooth advertisement beacon includes a sequence number that increments with each Bluetooth advertisement beacon that includes the action type indicating the request to transfer cellular wireless service to the target wireless device ([0034, 0038], According to a further embodiment of the method according to the application, the advertising message (in particular a BLE advertising signal) can comprise at least one of the following advertising data:- at least one user ID,- at least one service provider identifier,- at least one timestamp,- at least one sequence number,- at least one historical date of the advertising signal,- at least one sensor flag, identifying at least one sensor element of the mobile device transmitting the advertising signal,- usage information verified by a backend system and/or an inspection device. Furthermore, alternatively or preferably additionally, at least one sequence number may be included in the advertising message. A sequence number means in particular a number of the sending mobile device that is used in each communication between the service application and the backend system (e.g. B. in defined, regular time intervals). This can, for example, be evaluated by a service application that receives the advertising message.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate various sequencing and identifier information in the advertising beacon for filtering and selective listening, as taught in Pomp, in the system of Li, modified by Kang, in order to conserve device resources and power by ignoring signals not required by the device.
Regarding Claim 10, Li as modified by Kang teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 1 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Pomp teaches wherein: the Bluetooth advertisement beacon includes a device type value indicating a particular device type for the target wireless device; and the source wireless device ignores the Bluetooth advertisement beacon when the device type value for the target wireless device does not match a corresponding device type value for the source wireless device ([0034-0038], According to a further embodiment of the method according to the application, the advertising message (in particular a BLE advertising signal) can comprise at least one of the following advertising data:- at least one user ID,- at least one service provider identifier,- at least one timestamp,- at least one sequence number,- at least one historical date of ignorthe advertising signal,- at least one sensor flag, identifying at least one sensor element of the mobile device transmitting the advertising signal,- usage information verified by a backend system and/or an inspection device, sequence number means in particular a number of the sending mobile device that is used in each communication between the service application and the backend system (e.g. B. in defined, regular time intervals), sensor flag can in particular be information/indication that indicates for a sensor element whether a certain detected sensor data (a sensor value) is above an associated sensor limit value or not).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate various sequencing and identifier information in the advertising beacon for filtering and selective listening, as taught in Pomp, in the system of Li, modified by Kang, in order to conserve device resources and power by ignoring signals not required by the device.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2016/0164883), in view of Kang et al (US 2020/0404501), in view of Pomp et al (DE 102019129631, citations to translation provided), and further in view of Likar et al (US 2017/0078880).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Li as modified by Kang and Pomp teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 5 and 15 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Likar teaches wherein the target wireless device obtains the unique identifier for the source wireless device from a cloud network service associated with the source wireless device and the target wireless device ([0024], More generally, the networks of the WAN 102 and the enterprise network 101, couple the components of the system 100 in communication for data transfers in the form of frames. Some components are preferably wired to the networks (e.g., cloud-based Wi-Fi onboarding manager 110, and Wi-Fi router 120). The friend mobile station 140 is wireless connects to the Wi-Fi router 120 on a Wi-Fi portion of the system 100. The networks 101, 102 can be a LAN, WAN, the