DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 15 and 16 contains species which are not limited to Ar1 as Formulas II-V as required by independent claim 1. As such there is no apparent antecedent basis for such materials of broader scope than Ar1 of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UM (US 2021/0399559 A1).
Regarding Claim 1-5, 7, 10, UM teaches Compound 3 (page 13):
Compound 3 reads on applicants’ Formula 1 wherein Ar1 = Formula II wherein A = phenyl; L1 = single bond; X32-X36 = C; RA, RB, RC, Re = H; RD = carbazole (per claims 1-5, 7, 10).
Regarding Claim 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, UM teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 wherein. The limitations of the above dependent claims are viewed as a recitation of the partial limitations of independent claim 1; however, the missing limitations are nonetheless applicable. Therefore, as the basis for the above dependent claims 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 are encompassed in rejected independent claim 1, the limitations of the above dependent claims 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 are thus meet by the treatment of independent claim 1 (per claims 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13).
Regarding Claims 14 and 17, UM teaches Compound 3 which encompasses
wherein all X(s) = H; all R(s) = H (no substitution) (per claim 14).
UM teaches Compound 3 which is identical to:
(per claim 17).
Regarding Claim 19, UM teaches an OLED containing organic layers between an anode and a cathode. The emission layer contains Compound 3; the organic layer may further include a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode (paragraphs 136-148) (per claim 18).
The dopant can be represented by PD9 (page 59):
which includes
(per claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20, UM teaches the OLED can be used in electronic apparatus which may further include a thin-film transistor (paragraphs 157-159) (per claim 20).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786