DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 13, 16, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 1, “an” should be --the--.
Claim 13, line 1, “a further software program” should be --the software--.
Claim 18 is substantially duplicate of claim 1. See lines 3-5 of claim 1.
Claim 16 and 17 depend on the objected claim and inherit the same issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0034197 A1) in view of Takahashi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0301822 A1).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches Electronic circuit for a vehicle (see Fig.1A,123 and associated text) comprising:
- a network interface for connecting the electronic circuit to a communication network (see Fig. 1A, 145A and associated text, e.g. [0078]- The communication unit 145A transmits and receives data to and from a network 105 or to another communication channel),
-a hardware component to receive at least one data packet representing a software program from the communication network via the network interface according to a predefined communication protocol (see Fig.1, 184 and associated text, e.g. [0016]- The embodiments described herein may use wirelessly transmit digital data to the vehicle which includes the update system via a wireless message such as a DSRC message or a Basic Safety Message (“BSM message”). These wireless messages include BSM data such as depicted in FIGS. 4A and 4B, or some other digital data that describes information similar to the information described by the BSM data. The update system described herein uses this BSM data (or some other similar data transmitted via DSRC) to determine whether to implement the function update via software of FPGA and [0088] the FPGA 184 is a hardware FPGA which is configured to provide the functionality of the ADAS system 180. For example, the FPGA 184 is operable so that execution of the FPGA 184 provides some or all of the functionality of the ADAS system 180 (herein “ADAS functionality”). In some embodiments, modifying the configuration of the FPGA 184 modifies the ADAS functionality provided by the FPGA 184. For example, in some embodiments the FPGA 184 is operable so that reconfiguring the FPGA 184 based on the update data 191 causes the FPGA 184 to provide modified ADAS functionality which is consistent with the function update described by the update data 191. [0058] using various communication protocols).
- a processing unit configured to read the non-volatile memory and to execute the software program (see e.g. [0064] The onboard vehicle computer system may be operable to access and execute the data stored on the memory 127A to provide the functionality described herein for the update system 199 or its elements and [0069] The memory 127A stores instructions or data that may be executed by the processor 125A. The instructions or data may include code for performing the techniques described herein).
Lin does not specifically teach the hardware component including a hardwired logic to receive the software program according to a predefined communication protocol, a memory interface connected to or comprised by the hardware component, wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to a non-volatile memory via the memory interface, wherein the hardware component is not part of the processing unit, wherein the processing unit is not part of the hardware component, wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to the non-volatile memory separate from the processing unit; and wherein the processing unit is configured to read the non-volatile memory and to execute the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component and not stored on the non-volatile memory by the processing unit.
In an analogous art of updating software, however, Takahashi teaches a hardware component (see e.g. Fig.1, 22 and associated text) including a hardwired logic to receive at least one data packet representing a software program (see Fig.2 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The communication controller 22 controls the communication via the communication bus 5 based on a specified protocol and [0043]- The MCU 25 receives an update file via the communication controller 22), a memory interface connected to or comprised by the hardware component (e.g. the portion of the communication controller that facilitates the transmitting), wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to a non-volatile memory via the memory interface (See e.g. [0039]- The ECU program signifies at least one of several program parts and data parts included in a program needed for a process each of the ECUs 30 through 44 performs to control control-target instruments (including other ECUs) assigned to the ECU), [0042]- The flash memory 26 stores various ECU programs to control a control-target instrument assigned to the ECU), and [0092]- the MCU 25 allows the communication controller 22 to transmit the update file to the target ECU, allows the target ECU to update the target program using the update file, and returns to S110; there must be a memory interface present in order for the communication controller to transmit the update file to the ECU and for the program to be updated), wherein the hardware component is not part of the processing unit, (See Fig.2:22, 23 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The microcomputer 23 controls the communication controller 22 to communicate with the other ECUs and performs various processes in cooperation with the other ECUs to implement various functions assigned to the ECU), wherein the processing unit is not part of the hardware component, (See Fig.2:22, 23 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The microcomputer 23 controls the communication controller 22 to communicate with the other ECUs and performs various processes in cooperation with the other ECUs to implement various functions assigned to the ECU) wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to the non-volatile memory separate from the processing unit (see e.g. [0092]- the MCU 25 allows the communication controller 22 to transmit the update file to the target ECU, allows the target ECU to update the target program using the update file, and returns to S110; there must be a memory interface present in order for the communication controller to transmit the update file to the ECU and for the program to be updated), and wherein the processing unit is configured to read the non-volatile memory and to execute the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component and not stored on the non-volatile memory by the processing unit (See e.g. [0043]- The MCU 25 receives an update file via the communication controller 22. Based on the updated file, the MCU 25 uses the boot loader stored in the ROM 27 to update the corresponding ECU program in the flash memory 26 to the new content).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 2, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is implemented as a central processing unit (CPU) (See e.g. [0068]- The processor 125A includes an arithmetic logic unit, a microprocessor, a general-purpose controller, or some other processor array to perform computations and provide electronic display signals to a display device).
As to claim 3, Takahashi further teaches Electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the hardware component comprises [- a graphics processing unit, GPU;] or - a co-processor [or - a field-programmable gate array, FPGA)] see e.g. [0041]- The microcomputer 23 controls the communication controller 22 to communicate with the other ECUs and performs various processes in cooperation with the other ECUs to implement various functions assigned to the ECU).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 4, Takahashi further teaches Electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to the non-volatile memory via the memory interface by means of the hardwired logic (See e.g. [0092]- the MCU 25 allows the communication controller 22 to transmit the update file to the target ECU, allows the target ECU to update the target program using the update file, and returns to S110; there must be a memory interface present in order for the communication controller to transmit the update file to the ECU and for the program to be updated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 5, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit wherein a hardware configuration implements one or more services according to the communication protocol (see e.g. [0088] the FPGA 184 is a hardware FPGA which is configured to provide the functionality of the ADAS system 180. For example, the FPGA 184 is operable so that execution of the FPGA 184 provides some or all of the functionality of the ADAS system 180 (herein “ADAS functionality”). In some embodiments, modifying the configuration of the FPGA 184 modifies the ADAS functionality provided by the FPGA 184. For example, in some embodiments the FPGA 184 is operable so that reconfiguring the FPGA 184 based on the update data 191 causes the FPGA 184 to provide modified ADAS functionality which is consistent with the function update described by the update data 191 and [0100]- The update system 199 of the server 103 makes the implementation decision based at least in part on the system data 190, generates the update data 191 based on the implementation decision, and causes the communication unit 145B of the server 103 to provide the update data 191 to the vehicle 123 via the network 105).
As to claim 7, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit wherein the network interface is designed as a network interface for wireless data communication (see e.g. [0058]- The network 105 may be a conventional type, wired or wireless, and may have numerous different configurations including a star configuration, token ring configuration, or other configurations and [0059]- The communication channel may include DSRC, full-duplex wireless communication or any other wireless communication protocol).
As to claim 8, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit wherein the network interface is designed as a bus interface for a communication bus of the vehicle (see e.g. [0152]- The communication unit 145 is communicatively coupled to the bus 220 via a signal line 246).
As to claim 9, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit wherein the electronic circuit is implemented as a microcontroller and/or as a system-on-a-chip, SoC (see e.g. [0062]- These elements of the vehicle 123 may be communicatively coupled to one another via a bus 120A and [0068]- The processor 125A includes an arithmetic logic unit, a microprocessor, a general-purpose controller, or some other processor array to perform computations and provide electronic display signals to a display device).
As to claim 10, Lin also teaches Electronic circuit wherein the electronic circuit comprises the non-volatile memory (see e.g. [0069]- the memory 127A also includes a non-volatile memory or similar permanent storage device and media including a hard disk drive, a floppy disk drive, a CD-ROM device, a DVD-ROM device, a DVD-RAM device, a DVD-RW device, a flash memory device, or some other mass storage device for storing information on a more permanent basis).
As to claim 11, Lin also teaches Electronic control unit (ECU) for a vehicle, the ECU comprising an electronic circuit according to claim 1 (see e.g. [0064]- the processor 125A and the memory 127A are elements of the ECU 183 and [0089] In some embodiments, the FPGA 184 is an element of the ECU 183).
As to claim 12, Lin teaches Method for operating an electronic circuit of a vehicle (see Fig.1A,123 and associated text), the method comprising:
-receiving at least one data packet representing a software program from a communication network (see Fig.1A, 105 and associated text) by a hardware component of the electronic circuit (see Fig.1A, 184 and associated text, see e.g. [0016]- The embodiments described herein may use wirelessly transmit digital data to the vehicle which includes the update system via a wireless message such as a DSRC message or a Basic Safety Message (“BSM message”). These wireless messages include BSM data such as depicted in FIGS. 4A and 4B, or some other digital data that describes information similar to the information described by the BSM data. The update system described herein uses this BSM data (or some other similar data transmitted via DSRC) to determine whether to implement the function update via software of FPGA and [0088] the FPGA 184 is a hardware FPGA which is configured to provide the functionality of the ADAS system 180. For example, the FPGA 184 is operable so that execution of the FPGA 184 provides some or all of the functionality of the ADAS system 180 (herein “ADAS functionality”). In some embodiments, modifying the configuration of the FPGA 184 modifies the ADAS functionality provided by the FPGA 184. For example, in some embodiments the FPGA 184 is operable so that reconfiguring the FPGA 184 based on the update data 191 causes the FPGA 184 to provide modified ADAS functionality which is consistent with the function update described by the update data 191.
- reading the non-volatile memory and executing by a processing unit of the electronic circuit the software program stored on the non-volatile memory (see e.g. [0064] The onboard vehicle computer system may be operable to access and execute the data stored on the memory 127A to provide the functionality described herein for the update system 199 or its elements and [0069] The memory 127A stores instructions or data that may be executed by the processor 125A. The instructions or data may include code for performing the techniques described herein).
Lin does not specifically teach the hardware component including a hardwired logic which encodes a predefined communication protocol for receiving the at least one data packet, storing the software program to a non-volatile memory by the hardware component, the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component, wherein the hardware component is not part of the processing unit and wherein the processing unit is not part of the hardware component; wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to the non-volatile memory separate from the processing unit and wherein the processing unit is configured to read the non-volatile memory and to execute the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component and not stored on the non-volatile memory by the processing unit.
In an analogous art of updating software, however, Takahashi teaches a hardware component (see e.g. Fig.1, 22 and associated text) component including a hardwired logic which encodes a predefined communication protocol for receiving the at least one data packet (see Fig.2 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The communication controller 22 controls the communication via the communication bus 5 based on a specified protocol and [0043]- The MCU 25 receives an update file via the communication controller 22), storing the software program to a non-volatile memory by the hardware component, the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component (See e.g. [0039]- The ECU program signifies at least one of several program parts and data parts included in a program needed for a process each of the ECUs 30 through 44 performs to control control-target instruments (including other ECUs) assigned to the ECU), [0042]- The flash memory 26 stores various ECU programs to control a control-target instrument assigned to the ECU), and [0092]- the MCU 25 allows the communication controller 22 to transmit the update file to the target ECU, allows the target ECU to update the target program using the update file, and returns to S110; there must be a memory interface present in order for the communication controller to transmit the update file to the ECU and for the program to be updated), wherein the hardware component is not part of the processing unit, (See Fig.2:22, 23 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The microcomputer 23 controls the communication controller 22 to communicate with the other ECUs and performs various processes in cooperation with the other ECUs to implement various functions assigned to the ECU), wherein the processing unit is not part of the hardware component, (See Fig.2:22, 23 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The microcomputer 23 controls the communication controller 22 to communicate with the other ECUs and performs various processes in cooperation with the other ECUs to implement various functions assigned to the ECU) wherein the hardware component is adapted to store the software program to the non-volatile memory separate from the processing unit (see e.g. [0092]- the MCU 25 allows the communication controller 22 to transmit the update file to the target ECU, allows the target ECU to update the target program using the update file, and returns to S110; there must be a memory interface present in order for the communication controller to transmit the update file to the ECU and for the program to be updated), and wherein the processing unit is configured to read the non-volatile memory and to execute the software program stored on the non-volatile memory by the hardware component and not stored on the non-volatile memory by the processing unit (See e.g. [0043]- The MCU 25 receives an update file via the communication controller 22. Based on the updated file, the MCU 25 uses the boot loader stored in the ROM 27 to update the corresponding ECU program in the flash memory 26 to the new content).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 13, Lin also teaches Method according to claim 12, wherein a further software program is executed by the processing unit while the at least one data packet is received by the hardware component (See e.g. [0038]- a DSRC-equipped vehicle may include any hardware or software necessary to receive a DSRC message, retrieve data included in the DSRC message and read the data included in the DSRC message).
As to claim 14, Lin also teaches Method according to claim 12, wherein the at least one data packet is received from a server computer via the communication network in a wireless manner (see e.g. [0059]- The network 105 may include one or more communication channels shared among the vehicle 123 and one or more other wireless communication devices (e.g., one or more remote vehicles 124, RSUs 104, servers 103, etc.). The communication channel may include DSRC, full-duplex wireless communication or any other wireless communication protocol).
As to claim 15, Lin also teaches Method according to claim 12,wherein the at least one data packet is received from a computing device external to the vehicle via a communication bus of the vehicle (see e.g. [0058]- The network 105 may be a conventional type, wired or wireless, and may have numerous different configurations including a star configuration, token ring configuration, or other configurations. Furthermore, the network 105 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN) (e.g., the Internet), or other interconnected data paths across which multiple devices and/or entities may communicate. In some embodiments, the network 105 may include a peer-to-peer network).
As to claim 16, Lin also teaches Method according to claim 13, wherein the at least one data packet is received from a server computer via the communication network in a wireless manner (see e.g. [0059]- The network 105 may include one or more communication channels shared among the vehicle 123 and one or more other wireless communication devices (e.g., one or more remote vehicles 124, RSUs 104, servers 103, etc.). The communication channel may include DSRC, full-duplex wireless communication or any other wireless communication protocol).
As to claim 17, Lin also teaches Method according to claim 13, wherein the at least one data packet is received from a computing device external to the vehicle via a communication bus of the vehicle (see e.g. [0058]- The network 105 may be a conventional type, wired or wireless, and may have numerous different configurations including a star configuration, token ring configuration, or other configurations. Furthermore, the network 105 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN) (e.g., the Internet), or other interconnected data paths across which multiple devices and/or entities may communicate. In some embodiments, the network 105 may include a peer-to-peer network).
As to claim 18, Takahashi further teaches wherein the hardwired logic of the hardware component is adapted to receive the at least one data packet representing the software program from the communication network via the network interface according to the predefined communication protocol (See e.g. Fig.2 and associated text, e.g. [0041]- The communication controller 22 controls the communication via the communication bus 5 based on a specified protocol and [0043]- The MCU 25 receives an update file via the communication controller 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 19, Takahashi further teaches electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit further comprises a second memory and wherein the processing unit is adapted to load the software program from the non-volatile memory to the second memory device to execute the software program (see e.g. [0042]- The microcomputer 23 includes a microcontroller unit (hereinafter referred to as “MCU”) 25, flash memory 26, ROM 27, and RAM 28. The MCU 25 performs various processes based on an ECU program. The flash memory 26 stores various ECU programs to control a control-target instrument assigned to the ECU. The ROM 27 stores a boot loader that provides a function to rewrite the ECU programs stored in the flash memory 26. The RAM 28 is used as work memory when the MCU 25 performs various processes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating a vehicle program safely and more efficiently at lower costs.
As to claim 20, Lin also teaches wherein the hardware component is adapted to be configurable with one or more tunable parameters stored in one or more configuration registers (See e.g. [0075]- implement a function update described by the update data 191 using either a software update for the ADAS data 194 or a reconfiguration of the FPGA 184. In some embodiments, the update system 199 outputs a set of binary variables responsive to analyzing the system data 190 using the decision data 192. The set of binary variables are then inputted in a data structure described by the analysis data 193 as a sub-step of the update system 199 making the implementation decision and [0088]- the FPGA 184 is operable so that reconfiguring the FPGA 184 based on the update data 191 causes the FPGA 184 to provide modified ADAS functionality which is consistent with the function update described by the update data 191).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0034197 A1) in view of Takahashi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0301822 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawabata et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0183605 A1).
As to claim 6, Lin in view of Takahashi teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the electronic circuit comprises a hardware security module, HSM, and the hardware component comprises an HSM-interface connected to the HSM , wherein the HSM is configured to verify the at least one data packet.
In analogous art of executing software on a vehicle, however, Kawabata teaches wherein an electronic circuit comprises a hardware security module, HSM (See Fig.1:30, 60 and associated text, e.g. [0028]- The ECU 30 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 50, storage media 52, and an HSM (Hardware Security Module) 60, and a hardware component (e.g. CPU), comprises an HSM-interface connected to the HSM, wherein the HSM is configured to verify at least one data packet (See e.g. [0045]- The HSM_60 of the ECU 30 verifies the electronic signature attached to the re-signed updating firmware by use of the common key for each ECU 30. The HSM_60 holds the common key for each ECU 30 in advance. The HSM_60 sends a response to the CPU_50 with respect to the verification result of the electronic signature attached to the re-signed updating firmware).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Lin and Takahashi to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Kawabata in order to provide more reliable and cost-effective way of managing computer programs and data used for ECUs installed in vehicles.
Conclusion
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. SOUGH/SPE, AU 2192