DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Park, Jiao, or Shiraishi does not wherein the battery manager operates under “a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode” of amended claim 1 and 12.
Applicant specifically argues that Shiraishi teaches away from Applicant’s currently claimed invention because the claimed invention requires the battery monitoring to occur within “a single, uninterrupted ‘deep-sleep mode’” while Shiraishi teaches wherein the monitor 30 detects or monitors the state of the battery only in the monitoring state. Although the monitor of Shiraishi switches from the sleep state to the monitoring state to perform the monitoring of the battery, Shiraishi explicitly states that the alternating of the states occurs while the monitor is in the sleep mode (at least as in paragraph 0021, “The monitor 30 has two modes including a measurement mode and a sleep mode that is a low power consumption mode”; at least as in paragraph 0022, “In the sleep mode, the monitor 30 is set to alternately in the monitoring state and the sleep state”; at least as in paragraph 0026, “the monitor 30 remains in the sleep mode and monitors the battery repeatedly with the certain period”). Shiraishi further explains that the signals used to switch between the modes is different from the signals used to switch between the states (at least as in paragraph 0024, “The monitor 30 is switched between the measurement mode and the sleep mode according to two control signals including the sleep signal Sa and the external actuation signal Sb output from a control system of the load side”; at least as in paragraph 0022, “In the sleep mode, the power supply switch portion 51 temporally switches the power supply state of the monitor 30 from the sleep state to the monitoring state every actuation period T the power supply switch portion 51 receives the internal actuation signal S1 from the wakeup timer 35”). Additionally, Fig. 3, 4, and 6 explicitly show that only the state of the monitor switches during the sleep mode in accordance to the receipt of the internal actuation signal S1 (at least as in paragraph 0037, 0038, 0040, and 0046). For the above reasons, Shiraishi teaches “a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode” of amended claims 1 and 12.
Therefore, Jiao in view of Park and Shiraishi teaches the robot system as recited in amended claims 1 and 12 of the instant application. Claims 1-15 remain rejected under 35 USC 103. The rejection has been clarified below to reflect the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (US 20200287397 A1, hereinafter Jiao) in view of Park (US 20200052346 A1), and further in view of Shiraishi (US 20130067256 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiao discloses:
A robot system (self-moving device 1), comprising:
an autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot containing: (at least as in paragraph 0117, “the self-moving device may be alternatively an indoor self-moving device such as a robot cleaner”; see also [0150], [0165], [0173], [0183], [0190], etc.)
a communication unit having a controller (at least as in paragraph 0182, “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module”);
a battery module (at least as in paragraph 0117, wherein self-moving device 1 is powered by energy module 2; at least as in paragraph 0165, wherein “The intelligent management platform 510 may be disposed in… energy module 2 in the automatic working system 500 and… is configured to manage a status of the energy module 2”);
an electrical interface configured to receive energy from an external source (at least as in paragraph 0120, wherein “A plug and a receptacle that match each other may be disposed on the self-moving device 1 or the charging station”); and
However, Jiao does not explicitly teach “having a battery and a battery manager managing said battery and connected to said communication unit, wherein said battery manager is configured to set said battery module into a deep sleep mode upon receiving a sleep signal and to terminate the deep sleep mode upon receiving a wake-up signal…
said battery manager is deep sleep capable and terminates the deep-sleep mode upon detection of the wake-up signal generated from the energy supplied through said electrical interface, such that the wake-up signal is generated without consuming energy from said battery, wherein, in the deep-sleep mode, said battery manager operates under a first stage of protection where said communication unit is deactivated and a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode.”
Park discloses a device for waking up a battery management in response to an external power signal without consuming energy from the internal battery module. Park specifically teaches:
“having a battery and a battery manager managing said battery and connected to said communication unit, wherein said battery manager is configured to set said battery module into a deep sleep mode upon receiving a sleep signal and to terminate the deep sleep mode upon receiving a wake-up signal… (at least as in paragraph 0089, “when the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure is equipped in an automobile battery pack, the system control module 300 may communicate with the ECU of the vehicle… when the system control module 300 connected in communication with the ECU receives an operation signal from the ECU, the system control module 300 may operate”; at least as in paragraph 0047-0048, wherein battery pack P includes a BMS wake-up device B and battery module 10; at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “The BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may wake up a Battery Management System (BMS). That is, when the BMS is in a sleep mode (the BMS is not operated in the sleep mode and does not consume electrical energy), the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may shift the BMS from the sleep mode to a normal mode (the BMS is operated in the normal mode)”)”
“said battery manager is deep sleep capable and terminates the deep-sleep mode upon detection of the wake-up signal generated from the energy supplied through said electrical interface, such that the wake-up signal is generated without consuming energy from said battery, wherein, in the deep-sleep mode, said battery manager operates under a first stage of protection where said communication unit is deactivated…” (at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may receive an external power signal from an external power module (external power unit or external power system) 40 to wake up the BMS”; at least as in paragraph 0056, wherein “To receive the external power signal from the external power module 40, the BMS wake-up device B may be connected to the positive current path and the negative current path on the large current path L1”; at least as in paragraph 0090, “the sleep mode may be defined as a mode in which the system control module 300 does not operate, and the normal mode may be defined as a mode in which the system control module 300 operates. In other words, in the sleep mode, the system control module 300 may not operate due to disconnected communication (i.e., not being connected) with the ECU, and in the normal mode, the system control module 300 is connected in communication with the ECU and may operate”).
Shiraishi discloses battery monitoring device configured to periodically monitor the state of the battery. Shiraishi specifically teaches “a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode” (at least as in paragraph 0021, “The monitor 30 has two modes including a measurement mode and a sleep mode that is a low power consumption mode”; at least as in paragraph 0022, “In the sleep mode, the monitor 30 is set to alternately in the monitoring state and the sleep state”; at least as in paragraph 0026, “the monitor 30 remains in the sleep mode and monitors the battery repeatedly with the certain period”; at least as in paragraph 0024, “The monitor 30 is switched between the measurement mode and the sleep mode according to two control signals including the sleep signal Sa and the external actuation signal Sb output from a control system of the load side”; at least as in paragraph 0022, “In the sleep mode, the power supply switch portion 51 temporally switches the power supply state of the monitor 30 from the sleep state to the monitoring state every actuation period T the power supply switch portion 51 receives the internal actuation signal S1 from the wakeup timer 35”; see also Fig. 3, 4, and 6 and paragraphs 0037, 0038, 0040, and 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Park's teaching of a BMS wake-up device and Shiraishi's teaching of periodically monitoring the battery’s state while in the sleep mode, since Park teaches wherein the wake-up device prevents over or full discharge of a battery, simplifies the circuitry required, and maintains the charge of a high performance battery with a battery management system and Shiraishi teaches wherein the monitoring system decreases the battery’s likelihood of being in an abnormal state thus increasing a battery’s lifespan.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 1, further comprising an input module being controlled by a user (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the intelligent management platform 510 further includes a human-computer interaction module 517… configured to transfer information between the energy module 2 and a user or between the self-moving device 1 and a user”), wherein said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot is configured to generate the sleep signal when a sleep input which can be executed by the user is made on said input module (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 3, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 2, wherein said input module contains at least one control element which can be actuated by the user, wherein an actuation of said at least one control element is at least one component of the sleep input (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a user setting interface. The user may directly use the interface to set that the energy module 2 executes different states in different periods of time or in different environments. In another embodiment, the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module. The user may communicate with the human-computer interaction module such as a mobile APP or Bluetooth by using a mobile apparatus. The user gives an instruction on the mobile apparatus and transfers the instruction to the human-computer interaction module 517 by using the wireless communication module… the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 3, wherein said at least one control element is one of at least two control elements of said input module, said at least two control elements which can be actuated by the user and an actuation of a plurality of said control elements according to a specific control pattern is at least one component of the sleep input (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”; at least as in paragraph 0188, wherein “The user setting interface includes buttons on the self-moving device 1, a mobile APP that can perform wireless communication with the self-moving device or the like… some programs corresponding to the buttons or instructions on the mobile APP may be preset by using the self-moving device 1”).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 2, wherein said input module contains a signal receiver which is configured to receive an input signal which can be generated by the user, and said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot is configured to generate the sleep signal when the input signal is received (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a user setting interface. The user may directly use the interface to set that the energy module 2 executes different states in different periods of time or in different environments. In another embodiment, the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module. The user may communicate with the human-computer interaction module such as a mobile APP or Bluetooth by using a mobile apparatus. The user gives an instruction on the mobile apparatus and transfers the instruction to the human-computer interaction module 517 by using the wireless communication module… the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 5, wherein said signal receiver is a wireless receiver and the input signal is a wireless signal (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a user setting interface. The user may directly use the interface to set that the energy module 2 executes different states in different periods of time or in different environments. In another embodiment, the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module. The user may communicate with the human-computer interaction module such as a mobile APP or Bluetooth by using a mobile apparatus. The user gives an instruction on the mobile apparatus and transfers the instruction to the human-computer interaction module 517 by using the wireless communication module… the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 5, wherein said signal receiver is configured to receive the input signal from a control device which is different from said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot and which can be controlled by the user by means of the sleep input (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a user setting interface. The user may directly use the interface to set that the energy module 2 executes different states in different periods of time or in different environments. In another embodiment, the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module. The user may communicate with the human-computer interaction module such as a mobile APP or Bluetooth by using a mobile apparatus. The user gives an instruction on the mobile apparatus and transfers the instruction to the human-computer interaction module 517 by using the wireless communication module… the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 7, wherein said control device is a hand-held control device (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a user setting interface. The user may directly use the interface to set that the energy module 2 executes different states in different periods of time or in different environments. In another embodiment, the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module. The user may communicate with the human-computer interaction module such as a mobile APP or Bluetooth by using a mobile apparatus. The user gives an instruction on the mobile apparatus and transfers the instruction to the human-computer interaction module 517 by using the wireless communication module… the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
Regarding claim 12, Jiao discloses:
A robot configuration (Fig. 1, automatic working system), comprising:
an autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot containing an electrical interface, a communication unit having a controller, and a battery module (at least as in paragraph 0117, “the self-moving device may be alternatively an indoor self-moving device such as a robot cleaner”; see also [0150], [0165], [0173], [0183], [0190], etc.; at least as in paragraph 0182, “the human-computer interaction module 517 includes a wireless communication module”; at least as in paragraph 0117, wherein self-moving device 1 is powered by energy module 2; at least as in paragraph 0165, wherein “The intelligent management platform 510 may be disposed in… energy module 2 in the automatic working system 500 and… is configured to manage a status of the energy module 2”; at least as in paragraph 0120, wherein “A plug and a receptacle that match each other may be disposed on the self-moving device 1 or the charging station”); and
a charging station for said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot and having a counter-interface for providing electrical energy, wherein said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot can be coupled to said charging station such that said electrical interface can be supplied with the electrical energy from said counter-interface (at least as in paragraph 0120, wherein “A plug and a receptacle that match each other may be disposed on the self-moving device 1 or the charging station. The plug and the receptacle match each other to enable the charging station to charge the self-moving device 1 or the like”).
However, Jiao does not explicitly teach wherein “having a battery and a battery manager managing said battery, wherein said battery manager is configured to set said battery module into a deep sleep mode upon receiving a sleep signal and to terminate the deep sleep mode upon receiving a wake-up signal, wherein said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot is configured to generate the wake-up signal without a use of energy from said battery such that the wake-up signal is generated without consuming energy from said battery, wherein, in the deep-sleep mode, said battery manager operates under a first stage of protection where said communication unit is deactivated and a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode.”
Park discloses a device for waking up a battery management in response to an external power signal without consuming energy from the internal battery module. Park specifically teaches “having a battery and a battery manager managing said battery, wherein said battery manager is configured to set said battery module into a deep sleep mode upon receiving a sleep signal and to terminate the deep sleep mode upon receiving a wake-up signal… (at least as in paragraph 0089, “when the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure is equipped in an automobile battery pack, the system control module 300 may communicate with the ECU of the vehicle… when the system control module 300 connected in communication with the ECU receives an operation signal from the ECU, the system control module 300 may operate”; at least as in paragraph 0047-0048, wherein battery pack P includes a BMS wake-up device B and battery module 10; at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “The BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may wake up a Battery Management System (BMS). That is, when the BMS is in a sleep mode (the BMS is not operated in the sleep mode and does not consume electrical energy), the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may shift the BMS from the sleep mode to a normal mode (the BMS is operated in the normal mode)”)”
wherein said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot is configured to generate the wake-up signal without a use of energy from said battery such that the wake-up signal is generated without consuming energy from said battery, wherein, in the deep-sleep mode, said battery manager operates under a first stage of protection where said communication unit is deactivated…” (at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may receive an external power signal from an external power module (external power unit or external power system) 40 to wake up the BMS”; at least as in paragraph 0056, wherein “To receive the external power signal from the external power module 40, the BMS wake-up device B may be connected to the positive current path and the negative current path on the large current path L1”; at least as in paragraph 0090, “the sleep mode may be defined as a mode in which the system control module 300 does not operate, and the normal mode may be defined as a mode in which the system control module 300 operates. In other words, in the sleep mode, the system control module 300 may not operate due to disconnected communication (i.e., not being connected) with the ECU, and in the normal mode, the system control module 300 is connected in communication with the ECU and may operate”).
Shiraishi discloses battery monitoring device configured to periodically monitor the state of the battery. Shiraishi specifically teaches “a second stage of protection where said battery manager monitors only a voltage and/or a temperature of said battery at time intervals while limiting output power of said battery module to a fraction of a rated power of said battery, the second stage of protection being performed without the battery manager exiting the deep-sleep mode” (at least as in paragraph 0022, wherein “In the sleep mode, the monitor 30 is set to alternately in the monitoring state and the sleep state. In the sleep mode, the power supply switch portion 51 temporally switches the power supply state of the monitor 30 from the sleep state to the monitoring state every actuation period T the power supply switch portion 51 receives the internal actuation signal S1 from the wakeup timer 35… In the monitoring state, the measurement unit 41 of the monitor 30 detects a voltage, a current, and a temperature of the secondary battery 10” therefore the switching between the sleep state and monitoring state occurs while in the sleep mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Park's teaching of a BMS wake-up device and Shiraishi's teaching of periodically monitoring the battery’s state while in the sleep mode, since Park teaches wherein the wake-up device prevents over or full discharge of a battery, simplifies the circuitry required, and maintains the charge of a high performance battery with a battery management system and Shiraishi teaches wherein the monitoring system decreases the battery’s likelihood of being in an abnormal state thus increasing a battery’s lifespan.
Regarding claim 13, Jiao further discloses:
A method for operating a robot configuration, the method comprises the steps of:
providing the robot configuration according to claim 12; and (at least as in paragraph 0117, “the self-moving device may be alternatively an indoor self-moving device such as a robot cleaner”; see also [0150], [0165], [0173], [0183], [0190], etc.; at least as in paragraph 0117, wherein self-moving device 1 is powered by an energy module 2; at least as in paragraph 0165, wherein “The intelligent management platform 510 may be disposed in… energy module 2 in the automatic working system 500 and… is configured to manage a status of the energy module 2”; at least as in paragraph 0120, wherein “A plug and a receptacle that match each other may be disposed on the self-moving device 1 or the charging station”; at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the intelligent management platform 510 further includes a human-computer interaction module 517… configured to transfer information between the energy module 2 and a user or between the self-moving device 1 and a user”; at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”; see claim 12 above)…
However, Jiao does not explicitly teach wherein “generating the wake-up signal without the use of energy from the battery.”
Park discloses a device for waking up a battery management in response to an external power signal without consuming energy from the internal battery module. Park specifically teaches “generating the wake-up signal without the use of energy from the battery” (at least as in paragraph 0047-0048, wherein battery pack P includes a BMS wake-up device B and battery module 10; at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “The BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may wake up a Battery Management System (BMS). That is, when the BMS is in a sleep mode (the BMS is not operated in the sleep mode and does not consume electrical energy), the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may shift the BMS from the sleep mode to a normal mode (the BMS is operated in the normal mode). In particular, the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may receive an external power signal from an external power module (external power unit or external power system) 40 to wake up the BMS”; at least as in paragraph 0056, wherein “To receive the external power signal from the external power module 40, the BMS wake-up device B may be connected to the positive current path and the negative current path on the large current path L1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Park's teaching of a BMS wake-up device, since Park teaches wherein the wake-up device prevents over or full discharge of a battery, simplifies the circuitry required, and maintains the charge of a high performance battery with a battery management system.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (US 20200287397 A1, hereinafter Jiao) in view of Park (US 20200052346 A1) and Shiraishi (US 20130067256 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20210039519 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 9, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The robot system according to claim 1,
said autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot has an auxiliary battery, different from said battery, (at least as in paragraph 0124, wherein each energy module 2 may have multiple battery packs 21).
However, Jiao does not explicitly teach “configured for providing the electrical energy for generating the wake-up signal should no energy be supplied through the external source.”
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems, specifically teaches “configured for providing the electrical energy for generating the wake-up signal should no energy be supplied through the external source” (at least as in paragraph 0060, wherein “the application may transmit a request to generate a wake-up signal for operating the vehicle's battery management system BMS at the reserved time of the state test of the battery. In this case, a separate auxiliary battery may transmit a wake-up signal or provide power for the wake-up signal to the battery management system”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Lee’s teaching of using a separate auxiliary battery transmitting a wake-up signal, since Lee teaches wherein the separate battery transmitting the wake-up signal improves the battery management by preventing discharge of the primary battery for wake-up signal use.
Regarding claim 10, the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi discloses the robot system according to claim 9, however, Jiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical energy for generating the wake-up signal is provided from said electrical interface.
Park discloses a device for waking up a battery management in response to an external power signal without consuming energy from the internal battery module. Park specifically teaches “wherein the electrical energy for generating the wake-up signal is provided from said electrical interface” (at least as in paragraph 0056, wherein “when the external power module 40 is connected to the pack terminal Pack+, Pack− of the battery pack P, the external power signal may be provided from the external power module 40 to the BMS wake-up device B”; at least as in paragraph 0054, wherein “the BMS wake-up device B according to the present disclosure may receive an external power signal from an external power module (external power unit or external power system) 40 to wake up the BMS”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Park's teaching of a BMS wake-up device, since Park teaches wherein the wake-up device prevents over or full discharge of a battery, simplifies the circuitry required, and maintains the charge of a high performance battery with a battery management system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (US 20200287397 A1, hereinafter Jiao) in view of Park (US 20200052346 A1) and Shiraishi (US 20130067256 A1), and further in view of LEBREUX (US 20190319472 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi discloses the robot system according to claim 1, however, Jiao does not explicitly disclose wherein in the deep sleep mode said battery manager is configured to generate an error state requesting servicing on said battery module upon detection of an unacceptable current flow from said battery.
Lebreux, in the same field of endeavor of battery management for electric systems, specifically teaches “wherein in the deep sleep mode said battery manager is configured to generate an error state requesting servicing on said battery module upon detection of an unacceptable current flow from said battery” (at least as in paragraph 0106, wherein “Abnormal conditions may eventually be detected by various components of the electric system 200 or by the user while the BMS 210 is in any of the previously described states. An abnormal condition may be detected by the BMS 210 or by one of the other BMSs 212, 214 or 216. If the abnormal condition is detected by the BMS 210, the BMS 210 may inform the EVM 252 via the system bus 254. The abnormal condition may also be detected by the EVM 252, either directly or by action of the VIM 266, of the emergency stop switch 268 or of the hazard switch 270. The abnormal condition may further be detected by the MCM 128, which in turn provides information to the EVM 252 via the driving bus 260. The BMS 210 is informed of the abnormal condition detected by the EVM 252 or by the BMSs 212, 214 or 216 via the system bus 254. In an implementation, one or more of the BMSs 210, 212, 214, 216 may be configured to detect an abnormal voltage and/or a temperature of the respective battery module 202, 204, 206, 208, or an excessive current flowing therethrough”; at least as in paragraph 0107, “A state of the BMS 210 upon detection of an abnormal condition is illustrated as “Any” state 318 on FIG. 5. Some abnormal conditions are not severe and only need to be recorded in a log of the BMS 210 for troubleshooting at a later time. Possible examples of such abnormal conditions include, without limitation, a level of current flowing through the battery modules 202, 204, 206, 208 exceeding a first current threshold, or a temperature of the battery modules 202, 204, 206, 208 exceeding a first temperature threshold… If however a detected abnormal condition has a high severity, for example when the abnormal condition could lead to damage or to an unsafe operation of the electric system 200, the BMS 210 moves to an “Error” state 324. Possible examples of such error conditions include, without limitation, a level of current flowing through the battery modules 202, 204, 206, 208 exceeding a second current threshold greater than the first current threshold, or a temperature of the battery modules 202, 204, 206, 208 exceeding a second temperature threshold greater than the first temperature threshold. An error condition may also be related to an abnormally low temperature or voltage of the battery modules 202, 204, 206, 208. The log of the BMS 210 records information about the abnormal condition for troubleshooting purposes. In an implementation, the BMS 210 may send a signal via the system bus 254 to the EVM 252 so that the EVM 252 is informed of the abnormal condition. The BMS 210 then moves to the Shutdown state 314 followed by the Off state 302”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Lebreux’s teaching of a BMS moving to an error state after detecting an abnormal current flow, since Lebreux’s teaches wherein the monitoring system decreases the battery’s likelihood of being in an abnormal state thus increasing a battery’s lifespan.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (US 20200287397 A1, hereinafter Jiao) in view of Park (US 20200052346 A1) and Shiraishi (US 20130067256 A1), and further in view of Dinger (US 20180224924 A1).
Regarding claim 14, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, and Shiraishi, Jiao further discloses:
The method according to claim 13, wherein the battery module is set into the deep sleep mode (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
However, Jiao does not explicitly disclose “after or at an end of a production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot in a production facility and before a storage of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot in the production facility and/or before a dispatch of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot from the production facility.”
Dinger discloses a system and method for automatically activate or change functional states of a product or manufactured device under certain environmental conditions. Dinger specifically teaches “after or at an end of a production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot in a production facility and before a storage of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot in the production facility and/or before a dispatch of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot from the production facility” (at least as in paragraph 0084, wherein “the control system may be programmed to cause the device to default to sleep mode after the device is first activated after manufacture”; at least as in paragraph 0112, wherein “when the device is not in use, such as when it is in storage or is being transported to a new location, the device may be placed within an electrostatic discharge package… the device is enveloped and sealed within the package”; at least as in paragraph 0114, wherein “Where the device is configured to enter into sleep mode at or after a predetermined time period, the device may be placed within an electrostatic discharge package before or after it enters into sleep mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Dinger's teaching of a device control system entering sleep mode after manufacturing and before storage, since Dinger teaches wherein the control system extends the useful life of a battery powered device before the battery needs to be recharged or replaced and reduces the risk of a mechanical failure and cost of including a mechanical switch.
Regarding claim 15, in view of the above combination of Jiao, Park, Shiraishi, and Dinger, Jiao further discloses:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the battery module is set into the deep sleep mode (at least as in paragraph 0182, wherein “the user may use the mobile APP to set a specific period of time for the energy module 2 to stop working and enter a sleep state”).
However, Jiao does not explicitly disclose “within an end of line test of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot following the production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot or ending the production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot.”
Dinger discloses a system and method for automatically activate or change functional states of a product or manufactured device under certain environmental conditions. Dinger specifically teaches “within an end of line test of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot following the production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot or ending the production of the autonomous vacuuming and/or mopping robot” (at least as in paragraph 0087, wherein “The control system may be configured so that in the test mode, which occurs when the device is activated for the first time during manufacture, any lights provided on the device, such as LED's, may be caused to flash as a check to see that the lights are functional”; at least as in paragraph 0093, wherein “the control system may be programmed to cause the device to enter into a disabled mode after the device has been in an operating mode for a predetermined period of time, such as for 1,000 hours for example, and the device then senses that it is in a non-operating environment… the control system may cause the device to switch off, so as to draw no electric current, or the control system may cause the device to enter into sleep mode but the control system will not automatically convert the device to an operating mode even if an analysis of the measurement data indicates that the device is in an operating environment… This form of the invention may be particularly useful for a manufacturer who wants to ensure that any product sold under its brand is new and/or has at least undergone appropriate operational testing before being sold and used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Jiao, to include Dinger's teaching of a device control system entering sleep mode after manufacturing and before storage, since Dinger teaches wherein the control system extends the useful life of a battery powered device before the battery needs to be recharged or replaced and reduces the risk of a mechanical failure and cost of including a mechanical switch.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO I VISCARRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657