DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 and 15-19 remain pending in the application. Claim 14 was cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chi teaches a double-edged art knife, comprising:
a knife shell (10), provided with an accommodating cavity (11) and an opening (opening for 30, see Figure 2), wherein the opening is formed in a front end of the knife shell (see Figure 2); and
a knife holder (assembly of 20 and 21), separably mounted in the accommodating cavity of the knife shell, wherein the opening is divided by the knife holder into a first opening and a second opening (left and right 11 in Figure 3); the knife holder comprises a knife rest (201) and a pair of moving components (20); the moving components are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the knife rest (see Figures 2-3);
the moving components comprise a first moving component and the second moving component (left and right 20, see Figure 3); the first moving component bears a first blade and pushes the first blade along one side of the knife shell to extend out of the first opening or retract back to the accommodating cavity (see Figures 1-3); and the second moving component bears a second blade and pushes the second blade along the other side of the knife shell to extend out of the second opening or retract back to the accommodating cavity (see Figures 1-3),
wherein each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises an inner surface facing the knife rest (see Figures 1-3).
Chi Fails to teach wherein each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises a positioning portion comprising a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion, each of the first positioning portion and second positioning portion are protrudes from inner surface, each of the first blade and the second blade comprises a cutting edge at a front end thereof, with the cutting edge of the first blade different from the cutting edge of the second blade, each of first blade and second blade comprises a hole, the first positioning portion is clamped to the hole; the second positioning portion is provided with a first positioning bevel and a second positioning bevel, the first positioning bevel tilts backward to a left direction, the second positioning bevel tilts backward to a right direction, the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel intersect at an angle, and the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel are directly in contact with an inclined plane of a rear end of the first blade or the second blade.
Chung teaches a blade can be place in different positions with in the same holding area, with pin on the holder and holes on the blade (see Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to have blade holding arrangement to allow multiple positions (with changing the shape of the blade), as taught by Chung, in order better suit different cutting purposes (paragraph 0029 of Chung). The resulting device of modified Chi teaches wherein each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises a positioning portion comprising a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi), each of the first positioning portion and second positioning portion are protrudes from inner surface (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi), each of the first blade and the second blade comprises a cutting edge at a front end thereof, with the cutting edge of the first blade different from the cutting edge of the second blade, each of first blade and second blade comprises a hole (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi), the first positioning portion is clamped to the hole (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi); the second positioning portion is provided with a first positioning bevel and a second positioning bevel, the first positioning bevel tilts backward to a left direction (paragraph 0029 of Chung), the second positioning bevel tilts backward to a right direction, the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel intersect at an angle, and the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel are directly in contact with an inclined plane of a rear end of the first blade or the second blade (paragraph 0029 of Chung).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chi teaches the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel intersect at an angle to form an V shape at a front end of the second positioning portion (as modified by Chung, shape of 186, see Figure 8 of Chung).
Regarding claim 15, Chi teaches a double-edged art knife, comprising:
a knife rest (202);
a pair of moving components (20s, see Figure 2);
a first blade and a second blade (30s);
wherein the moving components are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the knife rest; the moving components comprise a first moving component and a second moving component (see Figure 2); the first moving component bears the first blade and moves together with the first blade along one side of the knife rest to extend out or retract back; and the second moving component bears the second blade and moves together with the second blade along the other side of the knife shell to extend out or retract back (see Figure 2);
wherein each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises an inner surface facing the knife rest (see Figure 2)
Chi fails to teach each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion, each of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion protrudes from the inner surface; the first blade comprises a first cutting edge at a front end thereof and a first inclined plane at a rear end thereof, the second blade comprises a second cutting edge at a front end there of and a second inclined plane at a rear end thereof; the first cutting edge is different from the second cutting edge; the first inclined plane and the second inclined plane are inclined to different directions; each of first blade and second blade comprises a hole, the first positioning portion is clamped to the hole; the second positioning portion is provided with a first positioning bevel and a second positioning bevel, the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the second positioning portion, with the first positioning bevel inclined rearwardly toward a left side, the second positioning bevel inclined rearwardly toward a right side, the first positioning bevel is directly in contact with the first inclined plane of the first blade, the second positioning bevel is directly in contact with the second inclined plane of the second blade.
Chung teaches a blade can be place in different positions with in the same holding area, with pin on the holder and holes on the blade (see Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to have blade holding arrangement to allow multiple positions (with changing the shape of the blade), as taught by Chung, in order better suit different cutting purposes (paragraph 0029 of Chung). The resulting device of modified Chi teaches each of the first moving component and the second moving component comprises a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion, each of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion protrudes from the inner surface (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi); the first blade comprises a first cutting edge at a front end thereof and a first inclined plane at a rear end (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi) thereof, the second blade comprises a second cutting edge at a front end there of and a second inclined plane at a rear end thereof; the first cutting edge is different from the second cutting edge (as modified by Chung, pin 194 of Chung on each of the holders of Chi, see Figure 8 of Chung and Figure 3 of Chi); the first inclined plane and the second inclined plane are inclined to different directions (as modified by Chung, via 186, see Figure 8 of Chung); each of first blade and second blade comprises a hole (as modified by Chung, see Figure 8 of Chung), the first positioning portion is clamped to the hole; the second positioning portion is provided with a first positioning bevel and a second positioning bevel, the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the second positioning portion (as modified by Chung, see Figure 8 of Chung), with the first positioning bevel inclined rearwardly toward a left side, the second positioning bevel inclined rearwardly toward a right side, the first positioning bevel is directly in contact with the first inclined plane of the first blade, the second positioning bevel is directly in contact with the second inclined plane of the second blade (as modified by Chung, see Figure 8 of Chung and paragraph 0029 of Chung).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chi teaches the inner surface of each of the first moving component and the second moving component forms a receiving space for receiving the first blade and the second blade respectively, and the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion are completely inside the accommodating space (as modified by Chung, see Figure 8 of Chung).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chi teaches each of the first moving component and the second moving component is in a plate shape (as modified by Chung, see Figure 8 of Chung).
Regarding claim 18, modified Chi teaches the first positioning bevel and the second positioning bevel intersect at an angle to form an V shape at a front end of the second positioning portion (as modified by Chung, shape of 186, see Figure 8 of Chung).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1) and in further view of Gringer (US 5813121).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chi teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Modified Chi fails to teach the knife rest is provided with sliding portions, side flange groups, and retaining portions on both a front surface and a back surface; the sliding portions are located on a front side of the knife rest; the side flange groups protrude along two side edges of the sliding portions; the retaining portions are located on a rear side of the knife rest; the moving components respectively face the front surface and the back surface of the knife rest; rear ends of the moving components are elastically connected to the retaining portions; two side edges of the moving components are slidably connected to the side flange groups respectively, so that the moving components slide back and forth along the sliding portions.
Gringer teaches a knife with the knife rest is provided with sliding portions (left portion of 22, see Figure 43), side flange groups (35), and retaining portions (right portion of 22, see Figure 43) on both a front surface and a back surface ; the sliding portions are located on a front side of the knife rest; the side flange groups protrude along two side edges of the sliding portions; the retaining portions are located on a rear side of the knife rest (see Figure 43); the moving components respectively face the front surface and the back surface of the knife rest (see Figure 43); rear ends of the moving components are elastically connected to the retaining portions; two side edges of the moving components are slidably connected to the side flange groups respectively (see Figure 43), so that the moving components slide back and forth along the sliding portions (see Figures 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to change the blade holder arrangement, as taught by Gringer, in order to make an automatic retractable knife (abstract of Gringer).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1) and in further view of Gringer (US 5813121) and in further view of Raymond (US 20160023364 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chi further teaches each moving component comprises a main body portion (as modified by Gringer, body of 22, see Figure 43 of Gringer), an extending portion (as modified by Gringer, extending portion to the right of 35, see Figure 43 of Gringer), and an elastic member (as modified by Gringer, 60, see Figure 43 of Gringer); the extending portion extends from the main body portion to the elastic member; the elastic member is deformably connected to the extending portion and the corresponding retaining portion of the knife rest (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 43 of Gringer); the main body portion comprises an operating portion and a positioning portion (see Figures 1-2 of Chi); the operating portion is located on an outer surface of the main body portion (see Figures 1-2 of Chi); a knife shell main body is provided with a pair of operating holes (see Figures 1-2 of Chi); the operating holes are separately formed in two side surfaces of the knife shell main body (see Figures 1-3 of Chi), so that the various operating portions are located in the operating holes of the knife shell main body (see Figure 3 of Chi); the positioning portion protrudes out of an inner surface of the main body portion (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 43-49 of Gringer); the positioning portion faces the corresponding sliding portion of the knife rest (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 43-49 of Gringer), so that the blade is detachably fixed to the positioning portion (as modified, 56 of Gringer).
Modified Chi fails to teach a protrusion height of the positioning portion is greater than a thickness of the blade, so that a preset space is reserved between the blade and the sliding portion.
Raymond teaches a knife with a protrusion height (height of 30) of the positioning portion is greater than a thickness of the blade (see Figure 4).
Furthermore, with respect to the specific protrusion height of the positioning portion is greater than a thickness of the blade, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the device of modified Chi to have the protrusion height, as taught by Raymond, in order to get the desired shape wanted by the end user.
Regarding claim 4, modified Chi further teaches each sliding portion is provided with a pair of sliding rails and a middle sliding chute; the middle sliding chute is recessed between the sliding rails (see Figure 3 of Chi); each side flange group comprises a pair of side flanges and a pair of side sliding chutes (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 9-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the side flanges are respectively arranged at the two side edges of the sliding portion in a protruding manner (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 9-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the side sliding chutes are separately formed in the corresponding side flanges (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); groove faces of the side sliding chutes and the middle sliding chute are lower than upper surfaces of the siding rails (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the main body portion further comprises a pair of limiting side edges; the limiting side edges extend from an edge of the main body portion to the side sliding chutes of the knife rest (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer), so that the limiting side edges of the moving component are slidably connected to the side sliding chutes of the knife rest (as modified by Gringer, see Figure 3 of Chi and Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chi further teaches the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion are arranged along a center axis of the main body portion (as modified by Chung, portions in Figure 8 of Chung); the first positioning portion is arranged at a front end of the main body portion in a protruding manner (as modified by Chung, portions in Figure 8 of Chung); the second positioning portion is arranged at a rear end of the main body portion in a protruding manner (as modified by Chung, portions in Figure 8 of Chung).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1) and in further view of Gringer (US 5813121) and in further view of Raymond (US 20160023364 A1) and in further view of Wu (US 20150013171 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chi further teaches a width of the second positioning portion matches the middle sliding chute of the sliding portion (see Figure 3 of Chi), so that the second positioning portion is slidably arranged between the sliding rails (see Figure 3 of Chi); ; when the moving component is at an extending position, the first positioning portion is located in front of the knife rest; a preset distance is reserved between the first positioning portion and a front end surface of the knife rest, so that the first positioning portion is separated from the middle sliding chute of the knife rest; and the preset distance is suitable for taking out the blade from the first positioning portion (see Figures 1-3 of Chi).
Modified Chi fails to teach the main body portion further comprises a magnetic portion; the magnetic portion is adjacent to the first positioning portion; a magnet is mounted in the magnetic portion, so that the blade is attracted tightly by a magnetic force, and the blade tightly abuts against the main body portion.
Wu teaches a knife with the main body portion (22) further comprises a magnetic portion (23); the magnetic portion is adjacent to the first positioning portion; a magnet is mounted in the magnetic portion (see Figure 2), so that the blade is attracted tightly by a magnetic force, and the blade tightly abuts against the main body portion (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to added the magnet portion, as taught by Wu, in order to better hold the blade in position (paragraph 0029 of Wu).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chi teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 6 above.
Modified Chi fails to teach each side flange group further comprises a limiting bulge; the limiting bulge is located at a front end of one side sliding chute; each main body portion further comprises a sliding block; the sliding block radially extends outward from the limiting side edge on one side; the sliding block is located at a rear end of the limiting side edge; the sliding block is provided with an inward recessed limiting gap; a shape of the limiting gap matches a shape of the limiting bulge; and the limiting gap of the main body portion is suitable for locking the limiting bulge of the sliding portion, so that the moving component is located at a locked position or an unlocked position.
The Embodiment of Figures 6-8 of Gringer further teaches a limiting bulge (36) arrangement (see Figures 6-8 and col. 4 lines 47-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to added a limiting bulge arrangement, as taught by the embodiment of Figures 6-8 of Gringer, in order to better lock the blade holder in position.
Regarding claim 8, modified Chi teaches each limiting side edge of the main body portion is of a multi-fold L-shaped structure (as modified by Gringer, L-shape with 35, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the limiting side edges downward and outward extend from an edge of the main body portion to keep the blade between the sliding rails and the main body portion; and the limiting side edges and the side flanges are in clearance fit (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chi further teaches each retaining portion is provided with a first limiting surface, a connection portion, a retaining slot, and a first hanging post (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the retaining slot is formed in the middle of the connection portion (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the retaining slot accommodates the elastic member (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the first limiting surface is located at a front end of the connection portion; the first hanging post extends from a rear end of the connection portion to the retaining slot; the extending portion comprises a second hanging post (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer), a front connection portion, and a rear connection portion; the front connection portion is connected to the main body portion and the rear connection portion (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the second hanging post extends from the rear connection portion to the retaining slot; and two ends of the elastic member are respectively connected to the first hanging post and the second hanging post (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chi further teaches the main body portion is provided with a second limiting surface at the rear end (as modified by Gringer, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); a thickness of the main body portion is greater than a thickness of the extending portion (as modified by Gringer, at least at 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the second limiting surface is located on a critical line between the main body portion and the extending portion; when the moving component moves back to an initial position, the second limiting surface resists against the first limiting surface of the retaining portion; the rear connection portion is an inclined plane; a thickness of the rear connection portion gradually decreases from front to back (as modified by Gringer, at least at 10 see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); and an inclination amplitude of the rear connection portion adapts to the connection portion (as modified by Gringer, at least at 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1) and in further view of Gringer (US 5813121) and in further view of Raymond (US 20160023364 A1) and in further view of Wu (US 20150013171 A1) and in further view of Radle (UD 20080235954 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chi further teaches a blade storage space (13, see figure 2 and 3 of Chi), the knife shell comprises the knife shell main body; a pair of moving slots are formed in an inner side of the knife shell main body; two outer sides of the knife holder are adapted to the moving slots, so that the knife holder is slidably connected to the knife shell to move back and forth along the moving slots (see Figure 3 of Chi).
Modified Chi fails to teach the knife holder further comprises a blade storage box; a blade storage box slot is formed inside the retaining portions; the blade storage box is laterally mounted in the blade storage box slot in a separable manner; the blade storage box is provided with a blade storage box bulge; correspondingly, a blade storage box gap is formed in upper surfaces of the retaining portions; the blade storage box gap matches the blade storage box bulge; and a height of each moving slot is less than a height of a middle portion of the accommodating cavity.
Radle teaches the knife holder further comprises a blade storage box (60) ; a blade storage box slot is formed inside the retaining portions (space for 60, see Figure 4); the blade storage box is laterally mounted in the blade storage box slot in a separable manner; the blade storage box is provided with a blade storage box bulge; correspondingly, a blade storage box gap is formed in upper surfaces of the retaining portions; the blade storage box gap matches the blade storage box bulge (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to change the storge box arrangement, as taught by Radle, in order to allow easy access (paragraph 0048 of Radle).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chi further teaches the knife rest further comprises a button (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); the button is located on one side surface of the knife rest; the button comprises a cantilever and a button face; the cantilever forward extends from a rear end of the knife rest in a suspended manner (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer), so that the button is elastic; the button face is located at a front end of the cantilever (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); correspondingly, a button hole is formed in one side surface of the knife shell; and the button hole is adapted to the button face, so that the button face protrudes from the button hole (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer), and the knife holder is detachably fixed in the accommodating cavity of the knife shell (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi (US 5584123) in view of Chung (US 20090266210 A1) and in further view of Gringer (US 5813121) and in further view of Raymond (US 20160023364 A1) and in further view of Wu (US 20150013171 A1) and in further view of Radle (UD 20080235954 A1) and in further view of Gilbert (US 20160184999 A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chi further teaches the first blade and the second blade are trapezoid blades, horned blades or crescent-shaped blades (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer); and the knife rest and the moving components in the knife holder are separately molded by injection, so that the knife rest and the moving components are made of plastic materials (as modified by Gringer, 10, see Figures 8-10 and 43-49 of Gringer and col. 1 lines 6-12 of Gringer).
Modified Chi fails to teach the knife shell is made of a zinc alloy metal material.
Gilbert teaches a knife shell made of Zinc (paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Chi to make the knife shell out of Zinc, as taught by Gilbert, in order to provide a common material to make the knife shell (paragraph 0042 of Gilbert).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
3/27/2026