Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 1, the phrase “the at least one closure element is configured to open or to close the at least one nozzle”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Where are the structures of “open or to close the at least one nozzle” in the drawings?
This is an exemplary of the errors. Applicant should carefully review the entire specification/drawings to fix this issue.
Use consistent phraseology to describe a component, part or element in the specification/drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiss Johann (EP 2256389).
Regarding claim 1, Johann discloses an Electromagnet comprising:
an armature space (2),
an armature (3) which is arranged longitudinally movably in the armature space (2), the armature (3) having a penetration opening (30),
at least one closure element (43), and
at least one nozzle (71), wherein the armature (3) supports the at least one closure element (43) which is mounted movably in the penetration opening (30),
wherein the at least one closure element (43) is configured to open or to close the at least one nozzle (71),
wherein the at least one closure element (43) comprises:
a guiding element (41), which configured to guide the at least one closure element (43) in the penetration opening (30), and
a sealing element (40) which is supported by the guiding element (41), and locking or floating manner on the guiding element (41).
Since Figure 1 of the applicant shows the guiding element (41) and the at least one closure element (4) are the same element. Therefore, Johann’s element (43), which is both the guiding element (43) and the closure element (43), reads on the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Johann discloses:
the at least one closure element (43) further comprises a supporting spring (33), wherein the supporting spring (33) is provided in the penetration opening (30), the sealing element (4) being supported by the supporting spring (33).
Regarding claim 3, Johann discloses:
an end winding of the supporting spring (33) which bears against the sealing element (4) is added and/or ground down.
Regarding claim 5, Johann does not disclose:
wherein on an outer circumferential side of the sealing element (4), the sealing element (4) has a supporting step (34) which is supported against an inner circumferential-side supporting step (34) of the guiding element (43).
Regarding claim 6, Johann discloses:
wherein the supporting step (34) of the sealing element (4) is arranged in a tenth or half, facing the at least one nozzle (71), of a longitudinal extent of the sealing element (4).
Regarding claim 7, Johann discloses:
the guiding element (43) has a hollow cylindrical portion (see the drawing below), in which the sealing element (4) is arranged.
[AltContent: textbox (Not Conical surface)][AltContent: textbox (bounding collar)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Guiding ribs)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hollow sleeve)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hollow cylindrical portion)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 8, Johann discloses:
the guiding element (43) is configured as a hollow sleeve (see the drawing above) and/or has guiding ribs (see the drawing above) which run longitudinally on an outer circumferential side of the guiding element (43).
Regarding claim 10, Johann discloses:
the guiding element (43) has a bounding collar (see the drawing above) which bears against the sealing element (4) on an outer circumferential side of the guiding element (43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss Johann (EP 2256389).
Regarding claim 4, Johann does not disclose: the guiding element (43) is configured from a thermoplastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the guiding element (43) is configured from a thermoplastic material for the purpose of suitability of the intended use. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Johann does not disclose:
wherein on the outer circumferential side, the guiding element (43) has at least one conical surface (see the drawing above) or curved surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the outer circumferential side, the guiding element (43) change the NOT conical surface (see the drawing above) or curved surface, as taught by Johann, to the conical surface for the purpose of suitability of the intended use. Since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 11-13, Johann does not explicitly disclose: the sealing element (4) is formed from a vulcanization-free material or from an elastic plastic (claim 11), or an elastomer (claim 12), or a fluoro-rubber (FKM) material (claim 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sealing element (4) as taught by Johann is formed from a vulcanization-free material or from an elastic plastic (claim 11), or an elastomer (claim 12), or a fluoro-rubber (FKM) material (claim 13) for the purpose of suitability of the intended use. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS:
Page 18, applicant argued that:
“Johann fails to disclose a sealing element which is held "in a locking or floating manner on the guiding element".
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because claim 1 does not specifically disclose the structures of how the “sealing element which is held "in a locking or floating manner on the guiding element”. Therefore, the sealing element (40) as taught by Johann, which is held in a locking or floating manner on the guiding element (41), still reads on claim 1.
Page 18, Applicant also argued that:
“Johann describes its guide element (41) and sealing nipple (40) are formed of one piece.”
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because Figures 3a and 3b clearly show that the guide element (41) and sealing nipple (40) are formed of two pieces.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837