Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallast (AT505607 A1) in view of Cho (JP2018-113902A). As the cited AT and JP publications are in a non-English language, machine-translated versions of the publications will be cited to (attached).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 6, Fallast teaches probes/sensors for livestock (Page 1) comprising seals / sealing rings to protect against ingress of acidic rumen from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor (Pages 2 and 9; Figure 4), construed as gaskets / o-rings / packing that prevents a body fluid containing organic acid in livestock from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor.
Fallast differs from the subject matter claimed in that resin or rubber free of chlorine atom is not described as particular materials. Cho is also directed toward sensors for rumen liquids of livestock (Abstract; ¶ 1). Cho teaches it was known in the art fluororesins such as polytetrafluoroethylene/Teflon are capable of forming protective sealing films that do not decompose with respect to rumen fluid (¶ 26, 29, 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize fluororesins such as polytetrafluoroethylene/Teflon for the seals of Fallast because such materials would be resistant to decomposition within rumen fluid as taught by Cho.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, the combination of references suggests the use of fluororesin, which satisfies “a resin or a rubber” of claim 1. As claims 4 and 5 only serve to further limit the rubber option of claim 1, the disclosure of the prior art is still seen to meet the claims.
Claim(s) 1-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallast (AT505607 A1) in view of Farnsworth (US 2003/0211264 A1). As the cited AT publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to (attached).
Regarding Claims 1-6, Fallast teaches probes/sensors for livestock (Page 1) comprising seals / sealing rings to protect against ingress of acidic rumen from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor (Pages 2 and 9; Figure 4), construed as gaskets / o-rings / packing that prevents a body fluid containing organic acid in livestock from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor.
Fallast differs from the subject matter claimed in that resin or rubber free of chlorine atom is not described as particular materials. Farnsworth teaches elastomer compositions suitable for use as gaskets / o-rings (Abstract; ¶ 18). Farnsworth teaches the compositions are substantially non-permeable, have thermal resistance, and are resistant to chemical attack / great inertness (¶ 1, 13, 34-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the elastomers of Farnsworth within the seals of Fallast because doing so would provide non-permeable seals with thermal resistance and inertness toward chemical attack as taught by Farnsworth.
Farnsworth teaches examples where ring gaskets are prepared comprising expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (fluororesin) and tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoromethyl vinyl ether (perfluororubber) (¶ 25-26, 76-77).
Claim(s) 1-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallast (AT505607 A1) in view of Underwood (US 2016/0289399 A1). As the cited AT publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to (attached).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4-6, Fallast teaches probes/sensors for livestock (Page 1) comprising seals / sealing rings to protect against ingress of acidic rumen from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor (Pages 2 and 9; Figure 4), construed as gaskets / o-rings / packing that prevents a body fluid containing organic acid in livestock from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor.
Fallast differs from the subject matter claimed in that resin or rubber free of chlorine atom is not described as particular materials. Underwood teaches perfluoropolymer materials (Abstract) suitable for use within o-rings / gaskets / seals that are subject to corrosive environments or extreme operating conditions (¶ 3, 7, 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the perfluoropolymer materials of Underwood within the seals of Fallast because doing so would provide seals that are resistive to corrosive environments and operating conditions as taught by Underwood.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, the combination of references suggests the use of perfluororubber, which satisfies “a resin or a rubber” of claim 1. As claims 4 and 5 only serve to further limit the resin option of claim 1, the disclosure of the prior art is still seen to meet the claims.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759