Response to Amendment
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite the seal has a specific gravity of 1.8 or higher. Written support is only found for the “fluororesin” to have a specific gravity of 1.8 or higher at ¶ 13 and for the livestock sensor itself to have a specific gravity of 1.8 or higher at ¶ 84. There does not appear to be written disclosure for the seal generically or a perfluororubber possessing the specific gravity characteristic at issue. Therefore, claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
As claims 3 and 6 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same issue discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallast (AT505607 A1) in view of Cho (JP2018-113902A) as evidenced by Plastics International (PTFE Information). As the cited AT and JP publications are in a non-English language, machine-translated versions of the publications will be cited to (attached).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 6, Fallast teaches probes/sensors for livestock (Page 1) comprising seals / sealing rings to protect against ingress of acidic rumen from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor (Pages 2 and 9; Figure 4), construed as gaskets / o-rings / packing that prevents a body fluid containing organic acid in livestock from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor.
Fallast differs from the subject matter claimed in that resin or rubber free of chlorine atom is not described as particular materials. Cho is also directed toward sensors for rumen liquids of livestock (Abstract; ¶ 1). Cho teaches it was known in the art fluororesins such as polytetrafluoroethylene/Teflon are capable of forming protective sealing films that do not decompose with respect to rumen fluid (¶ 26, 29, 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize fluororesins such as polytetrafluoroethylene/Teflon for the seals of Fallast because such materials would be resistant to decomposition within rumen fluid as taught by Cho. As evidenced by Plastics International, polytetrafluoroethylene/Teflon has a density / specific gravity of roughly 2.13-2.22. Since the same materials and same densities are present, it stands to reason such seals would intrinsically facilitate submerging of the livestock sensor in the body fluid in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallast (AT505607 A1) in view of Underwood (US 2016/0289399 A1) as evidenced by DuPont (Kalrez Information). As the cited AT publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to (attached).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, Fallast teaches probes/sensors for livestock (Page 1) comprising seals / sealing rings to protect against ingress of acidic rumen from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor (Pages 2 and 9; Figure 4), construed as gaskets / o-rings / packing that prevents a body fluid containing organic acid in livestock from entering a space that contains sensors/substrate of the sensor.
Fallast differs from the subject matter claimed in that resin or rubber free of chlorine atom is not described as particular materials. Underwood teaches perfluoropolymer materials (Abstract) suitable for use within o-rings / gaskets / seals that are subject to corrosive environments or extreme operating conditions (¶ 3, 7, 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the perfluoropolymer materials of Underwood within the seals of Fallast because doing so would provide seals that are resistive to corrosive environments and operating conditions as taught by Underwood. Underwood describes embodiments using Kalrez perfluoroelastomers (¶ 25). As evidenced by DuPont, Kalrez elastomers generally have densities / specific gravities spanning 1.9-2.0 (Page 2). Since the same materials and same densities are present, it stands to reason such seals would intrinsically facilitate submerging of the livestock sensor in the body fluid in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references suggests the use of perfluororubber, which satisfies “a resin or a rubber” of claim 1. As claim 3 only serves to further limit the resin option of claim 1, the disclosure of the prior art is still seen to meet the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant generally argues use of fluororesin / perfluororubber seals are favorable toward livestock sensor seals owing to their acid-resistance characteristics. This is not found persuasive. Fluororesins are already known suitable materials for livestock sensors (see Cho above). Cho essentially teaches the seals are preferable since they do not decompose with respect to rumen fluid. Underwood teaches it was already well known in the art perfluoroelastomers also exhibit chemical resistance generally associated with fluoropolymers; even indicating such is useful as seals in implants for animal bodies (¶ 18) whereby their usefulness extends to corrosive environments or extreme operating conditions (¶ 3). Thus, the use of such materials would have been obvious in view of the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759