DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on August 7th, 2026, amended claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are entered. Claim 5 is canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered. The objections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered. The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on August 7th, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laporte Uribe (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0353710; cited by Applicant) and Rettedal (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0289820).
Regarding Claim 1, Laporte Uribe discloses a livestock sensor (apparatus for monitoring nutrition; Abstract), comprising:
a housing (encasement 11); and
a detector (sensing unit 2) inside the housing (First communication unit 4, battery 9, control unit 8 and sensing unit 2 are covered by an encasement 11 made from stainless steel to take care of possible corrosion problems. The sensing unit 2 comprises a temperature sensor 10; [0096-0097]),
wherein the housing comprises a metal housing including an external metal surface (First communication unit 4, battery 9, control unit 8 and sensing unit 2 are covered by an encasement 11 made from stainless steel; [0096]) covered with a thermoplastic resin, wherein the thermoplastic resin is a fluororesin (a membrane comprising polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE)…preferably, the membrane is shaped such that the shape of the whole apparatus is smoothed, in particular in the edge regions to allow an easier oral application; [0051]; Measurement chamber 3 and reflecting surface 5 are encased by a PTFE membrane 6; [0095]; Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein the stainless steel encasement 11 is covered with the PTFE membrane 6).
Laporte Uribe fails to specifically teach wherein the detector includes a piezoelectric sensor, an acceleration sensor, or a position sensor.
In a similar technical field, Rettedal discloses an animal environmental and physiological monitoring system (Abstract), wherein the detector includes a piezoelectric sensor, an acceleration sensor, or a position sensor (at least one bolus sensor (18) suitable for use in particular embodiments include: a global positioning chip (29) for example PN XPOSYS PMB 2540 distributed by Infineon Technologies AG, an omnidirectional tilt and vibration sensor (30) (also referred to as an “accelerometer”); [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the bolus sensor teachings of Rettedal into those of Laporte Uribe in order to sense movement of the bolus to sense changes in one or more physiological parameters of the animal (Rettedal [0101]).
Regarding Claim 4, Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin includes at least one selected from the group consisting of polytetrafluoroethylene, a tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) copolymer, a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer, an ethylene/ tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, polychlorotrifluoroethylene, a tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoroalkyl allyl ether copolymer, and polyvinylidene fluoride (a membrane comprising polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE); [0051]; Measurement chamber 3 and reflecting surface 5 are encased by a PTFE membrane 6; [0095]).
Regarding Claim 6, Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin covers, out of 100% (area %) of the external metal surface, 95% or higher of the external metal surface ([0095-0096]; Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein the stainless steel encasement 11 is 100% covered with the PTFE membrane 6).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laporte Uribe and Rettedal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stanley, II (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0167340; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 2, although Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the metal housing (encasement 11; [0096]) is covered with the thermoplastic resin (PTFE membrane 6; [0095]; Figure 1), Laporte Uribe and Rettedal fail to specifically disclose wherein the metal housing is covered with a heat-shrink tube containing the thermoplastic resin.
In a similar technical field, Stanley, II discloses an electrode comprising a metal housing including an external metal surface (The electrode member 110 is formed of an electrically conductive material or materials. In some embodiments, the electrode member 110 is formed of metal; [0065]), wherein the metal housing is covered with a heat-shrink tube containing the thermoplastic resin (The insulation sleeve 102 is formed of an electrically insulating material or materials. The insulation sleeve 102 may be a preformed component or a coating. In some embodiments, the insulation sleeve 102 is formed of a polymeric insulating material. Suitable materials may include heat shrinkable thermoplastic; [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the heat-shrink tube teachings of Stanley, II into those of Laporte Uribe and Rettedal in order to provide proper insulation and prevent any inadvertent burning (Stanley, II [0066]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791