DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on December 19th, 2025, amended claim 1 and new claim 6 are entered. Claim 3 is canceled. Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered. The objection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “The housing for a livestock sensor according to claim 1,” in line 1, but should read “The housing for the livestock sensor according to claim 1,” or “The housing according to claim 1,”
Claim 4 recites “The housing for a livestock sensor according to claim 1,” in line 1, but should read “The housing for the livestock sensor according to claim 1,” or “The housing according to claim 1,”
Claim 5 recites “the housing for a livestock sensor according to claim 1;” in line 2, but should read “the housing for the livestock sensor according to claim 1;” or “the housing according to claim 1;”
Claim 6 recites “The housing for a livestock sensor according to claim 1,” in line 1, but should read “The housing for the livestock sensor according to claim 1,” or “The housing according to claim 1,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “A livestock sensor” in line 1. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a livestock sensor” from Claim 1, or a separate element. Claim 5 further recites “a livestock sensor according to claim 1” in line 2. Although this limitation is clearly referring to the “livestock sensor” of claim 1, it is still unclear as to whether the “A livestock sensor” in line 1 of Claim 5 and the “a livestock sensor” in line 2 of Claim 5 are referring to the same or separate elements. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret these limitations as referring to the same element.
Claim 6 recites “an entire external metal surface” in lines 2-3. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “an external metal surface” from Claim 1, or a separate element. Claim 6 further recites “the external metal surface” in line 3. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “an entire external metal surface” from lines 2-3 of Claim 6, or “an external metal surface” from Claim 1. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret all three of these limitations to be referring to the same external metal surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laporte Uribe (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0353710; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Laporte Uribe discloses a housing for a livestock sensor (apparatus for monitoring nutrition; Abstract), the housing comprising: a metal housing (encasement 11) including an external metal surface (First communication unit 4, battery 9, control unit 8 and sensing unit 2 are covered by an encasement 11 made from stainless steel; [0096]) covered with a thermoplastic resin, wherein the thermoplastic resin is a fluororesin (a membrane comprising polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE)…preferably, the membrane is shaped such that the shape of the whole apparatus is smoothed, in particular in the edge regions to allow an easier oral application; [0051]; Measurement chamber 3 and reflecting surface 5 are encased by a PTFE membrane 6; [0095]; Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein the stainless steel encasement 11 is covered with the PTFE membrane 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin includes at least one selected from the group consisting of polytetrafluoroethylene, a tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) copolymer, a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer, an ethylene/ tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, polychlorotrifluoroethylene, a tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoroalkyl allyl ether copolymer, and polyvinylidene fluoride (a membrane comprising polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE); [0051]; Measurement chamber 3 and reflecting surface 5 are encased by a PTFE membrane 6; [0095]).
Regarding Claim 5, Laporte Uribe discloses a livestock sensor comprising: the housing for a livestock sensor according to claim 1 (encasement 11; PTFE membrane 6; [0095-0096]; Figure 1); and a detector (sensing unit 2) inside the housing (First communication unit 4, battery 9, control unit 8 and sensing unit 2 are covered by an encasement 11 made from stainless steel to take care of possible corrosion problems; [0096]; Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein sensing unit 2 is inside encasement 11).
Regarding Claim 6, Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin covers, out of 100% (area %) of an entire external metal surface, 95% or higher of the external metal surface ([0095-0096]; Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein the stainless steel encasement 11 is 100% covered with the PTFE membrane 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laporte Uribe in view of Stanley, II (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0167340).
Regarding Claim 2, although Laporte Uribe discloses wherein the metal housing (encasement 11; [0096]) is covered with the thermoplastic resin (PTFE membrane 6; [0095]; Figure 1), Laporte Uribe fails to specifically disclose wherein the metal housing is covered with a heat-shrink tube containing the thermoplastic resin.
In a similar technical field, Stanley, II discloses an electrode comprising a metal housing including an external metal surface (The electrode member 110 is formed of an electrically conductive material or materials. In some embodiments, the electrode member 110 is formed of metal; [0065]), wherein the metal housing is covered with a heat-shrink tube containing the thermoplastic resin (The insulation sleeve 102 is formed of an electrically insulating material or materials. The insulation sleeve 102 may be a preformed component or a coating. In some embodiments, the insulation sleeve 102 is formed of a polymeric insulating material. Suitable materials may include heat shrinkable thermoplastic; [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the heat-shrink tube teachings of Stanley, II into those of Laporte Uribe in order to provide proper insulation and prevent any inadvertent burning (Stanley, II [0066]).
Conclusion
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791