DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
the first side of the first portion of the first wire guide includes a recess, as claimed in Claim 32
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons.
The lead line for the third wire guide –146—is pointing to a portion of second wire guide –144--, not the third wire guide
Element 250 –the first pulley—is pointing to the first portion of second wire guide 144 in Figure 7A; it does not appear a pulley is even shown in Figure 7A
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
Paragraph 0069 should read --With particular reference to FIG. 8A, first distal portion 402 may be hollow so that first distal portion 402 includes a recess 430 on second side 194. Recess 430 may have interior walls 432 that follow the contours of first distal portion 402. Alternatively, recess 430 may only include interior walls 432 corresponding to proximal edge 412 and wall 410, so that recess 430 is open on distalmost side 382 of third wire guide 146 and second lateral side 386 of third wire guide 146. The fact that first distal portion 402 may be hollow may result in decreased manufacturing costs and mass of third wire guide 146. A shape of recess 430 may also facilitate placement of other mechanisms in handle 12 (e.g., an elevator articulation mechanism or other mechanism). Recess 430 or another portion of third wire guide 146 also may include an indicator 434. Indicator 434 may indicate, for example, an orientation of third wire guide 146 within handle 12. For example, indicator 434 may be a “T,” or a third symbol different from indicators 234, 360, indicating that third wire guide 146 is the top wire guide that will face outwardly from recess 80. Alternatively, other indicators may be used.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 25, 32-33 & 36-40 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 25 should read --The steering assembly of claim 22, wherein the second portion of the first wire guide extends from a first lateral side of the first wire guide towards a second lateral side of the first wire guide, and wherein the third portion of the first wire guide extends from the second lateral side of the first wire guide[[ to]] towards the first lateral side of the first wire guide.—
Claim 32 should read --The steering assembly of claim 31, wherein a first side of the first portion of the first wire guide includes a recess.—
Claim 33 should read --The steering assembly of claim 31, wherein the second portion of the first wire guide extends partially across the first wire guide from a first lateral side of the first wire guide towards a second lateral side of the first wire guide, and wherein the third portion of the first wire guide extends partially across the first wire guide from the second lateral side of the first wire guide[[ to]] towards the first lateral side of the first wire guide.—
Claim 36, Line 14, the phrase “the proximal portion of second wire guide” should read --the proximal portion of the second wire guide--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-35 & 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 21, the limitation “the first wire segment extends distally over a first side of the first wire guide, and wherein the second wire segment extends distally below a second side of the first wire guide”, in Lines 8-10, is indefinite. The instant application has defined the first wire guide as Element 142. Instant application Paragraph 0039 defines sides of first wire guide 142, where the first side is Element 192, and the second side is Element 194. When referencing instant application Figure 2, this definition would place first wire guide 142 second side 194 on the bottom of first wire guide 142, and first side 192 on the top of first wire guide 142. Instant application Paragraph 0032 defines the first wire segment as Element 132, and the second wire segment as Element 134. Instant application Figure 2 shows first wire segment 132 over first side 192, but also shows second wire segment 134 over second side 194. As such, the limitation contradicts what is described in the specification, rendering the limitation indefinite in light of the specification. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the first wire segment extends distally over a first side of the first wire guide, and wherein the second wire segment extends distally over a second side of the first wire guide.
As to Claim 22, the limitation “the second thickness is equal to the third thickness”, in Line 9, is indefinite. The instant application has defined the first wire guide as Element 142, which is shown in instant application Figures 4A-5B. Figure 5B shows the thickness of second portion –from the bottom of second portion 202 to the top of second portion 202, as described in instant application Paragraph 0041—being greater than third portion 204, which is not what is claimed. However, this feature as claimed appears to be described –see instant application Paragraph 0054-- for second wire guide 144, as shown in Figures 6A-7B. As such, the limitation contradicts what is described in the specification, rendering the limitation indefinite in light of the specification.
It appears Applicant is intending for the “first wire guide” to be a genus term for each of the three wire guides described in the specification. However, the term “first wire guide” may not be used in this manner, since the specification clearly describes the first wire guide as Element 142, which must have the characteristics and structural features assigned to Element 142. For the purpose of examination, the term “the first wire guide”, in Line 1, will be interpreted as a genus term. However, Applicant must amend Claim 21 and Claim 22 to overcome this rejection.
As to Claim 26, the limitation “the second portion and the third portion protrude relative to the first portion on the first side and the second side of the first wire guide” is indefinite. The instant application has defined the first wire guide as Element 142, which is shown in instant application Figures 4A-5B. Figures 4B/5B show second portion 202 and third portion 204 protruding only from first side 192, not second side 194, which is not what is claimed. However, this feature as claimed appears to be described –see instant application Paragraph 0052-- for second wire guide 144, as shown in Figures 6A-7B. As such, the limitation contradicts what is described in the specification, rendering the limitation indefinite in light of the specification.
It appears Applicant is intending for the “first wire guide” to be a genus term for each of the three wire guides described in the specification. However, the term “first wire guide” may not be used in this manner, since the specification clearly describes the first wire guide as Element 142, which must have the characteristics and structural features assigned to Element 142. For the purpose of examination, the term “the first wire guide”, in Line 1, will be interpreted as a genus term. However, Applicant must amend Claim 21 and Claim 26 to overcome this rejection.
As to Claim 30, the limitation “a first wire guide”, in Line 3, and each use thereafter, in combination with the limitation “the first pulley is disposed on a first side of the first wire guide”, in Lines 9-9, and the limitation “the second pulley is disposed on a second side of the first wire guide”, in Lines 12-13, is indefinite. The instant application has defined the first wire guide as Element 142, which is shown in instant application Figures 4A-5B. Figures 4B/5B show a pulley on first side 192, not second side 194, which is not what is claimed. However, this feature as claimed appears to be described –see instant application Paragraph 0058-- for second wire guide 144, as shown in Figures 6A-7B. As such, the limitation contradicts what is described in the specification, rendering the limitation indefinite in light of the specification.
It appears Applicant is intending for the “first wire guide” to be a genus term for each of the three wire guides described in the specification. However, the term “first wire guide” may not be used in this manner, since the specification clearly describes the first wire guide as Element 142, which must have the characteristics and structural features assigned to Element 142. For the purpose of examination, the term “the first wire guide”, in Line 1, will be interpreted as just a wire guide, where Applicant is intending to claim the second wire guide described in the specification.
As to Claim 34, the limitation “The steering assembly of claim 31, wherein the first wire guide includes a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the first portion is proximal to the second portion and the third portion, wherein the second portion is adjacent to the third portion” is indefinite. This exact limitation was included in Claim 31, upon which Claim 34 depends. As such, it is not clear if the first, second, and third portions in Claim 34 are the same respective portions as in Claim 31, or if new respective portions are being defined, rendering the claim indefinite. The instant application does not appear to have support for multiple respective portions, so the first, second, and third portions defined in Claim 34 will be interpreted as the same respective structures as the first, second, and third portion defined in Claim 31.
As to Claim 39, the limitation “the proximal portion has a first thickness, the first lateral portion has a second thickness, and the second lateral portion has a third thickness”, in Lines 9-10, is indefinite. Multiple proximal portions were previously defined. As such, it is not clear which proximal portion is being referred to, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the proximal portion will be interpreted as the second wire guide proximal portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamane (JP2016220882A – see attached translation).
As to Claim 21, Yamane teaches a steering assembly (12) of a medical device (10), the steering assembly (12) comprising:
a handle (the dashed line in Figure 3) having a recess (the volume within the dashed line in Figure 3 containing wire guide fixing unit 84);
a first wire guide (84A, 84B, or 84C) disposed within (as shown in Figure 3, where each of 84A/84B/84C are part of 84) the recess (the volume within the dashed line in Figure 3 containing wire guide fixing unit 64), wherein the first wire guide (84A, 84B, or 84C) is shaped to prevent rotation (as described in Paragraphs 0037/0067 via being fixed to support member 68) of the first wire guide (84C) within (as shown in Figure 3) the recess (the volume within the dashed line in Figure 3 containing wire guide fixing unit 64); and
first (see Figure 4 below) and second (see Figure 4 below) wire segments configured to steer (Paragraph 0038) a distal portion (44) of the medical device (10) in first (either up or to the left, as described in Paragraph 0038) and second (either down or to the right, as described in Paragraph 0038) directions,
wherein the first wire segment (see Figure 4 below) extends distally over (as shown in Figure 4, where the first wire segment extends within pipe 72, as described in Paragraph 0039) a first side (see Figure 4 below) of the first wire guide (84A, 84B, or 84C), and wherein the second wire segment (see Figure 4 below) extends distally over (as shown in Figure 4, where the second wire segment extends within pipe 72, as described in Paragraph 0039; see 112(b) above for interpretation clarification) a second side (see Figure 4 below) of the first wire guide (84A, 84B, or 84C).
Yamane Figure 4, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 22, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claim 21, and continues to teach the first wire (84B) guide includes a first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above), a second portion (see Figure 8 below), and a third portion (see Figure 8 below), wherein the first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) is proximal to (as shown in Figure 4) the second portion (see Figure 8 below) and the third portion (see Figure 8 below), wherein the second portion (see Figure 8 below) is adjacent to (as shown in Figure 8) the third portion (see Figure 8 below),
wherein the first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) has a first thickness (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above), the second portion (see Figure 8 below) has a second thickness (see Figure 8 below), and the third portion (see Figure 8 below) has a third thickness (see Figure 8 below),
wherein the first thickness (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) is less than (as shown in Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above, where the second and third thicknesses are significantly larger than the first thickness; see dashed lines in Figure 4 above for comparison) the second thickness (see Figure 8 below) and the third thickness (see Figure 8 below), and
wherein the second thickness (see Figure 8 below) is equal to (as shown in Figure 8 below) the third thickness (see Figure 8 below).
Yamane Figure 8, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 23, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claims 21-22, and continues to teach the second thickness (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) is a thickness (as shown in Figure 8) of a distal wall (the wall forming the second portion, as shown in Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the second portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above), and wherein the third thickness (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) is a thickness (as shown in Figure 8) of a distal wall (the wall forming the third portion, as shown in Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the third portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above).
As to Claim 24, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claims 21-22, and continues to teach the first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) is washer-shaped (see end of paragraph for clarification). Although not shown in the figures, Paragraph 0052 describes base portion 84, which includes wire guide 84B, as being fixed to support member 68. One of ordinary skill in the art would conclude a hole aligned with the holes shown in wire guides 84A/84C in Figures 4/5, would also be required in wire guide 84B. Since the wire guide 84B first portion is shown as a relatively thin structure, and has a hole, one of ordinary skill in the art would broadly conclude the wire guide 84B first portion is “washer-shaped”.
As to Claim 25, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claims 21-22, and continues to teach the second portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B) extends from (as shown in Figure 8) a first lateral side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B) towards (as shown in Figure 8) a second lateral side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B), and wherein the third portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B) extends from (as shown in Figure 8) the second lateral side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B) to towards (as shown in Figure 8) the first lateral side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 22 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B).
As to Claim 26, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claim 21, and continues to teach the first wire guide (84B) includes a first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above), a second portion (see Figure 8 below), and a third portion (see Figure 8 below), wherein the first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) is proximal to (as shown in Figure 4) the second portion (see Figure 8 below) and the third portion (see Figure 8 below), wherein the second portion (see Figure 8 below) is adjacent to (as shown in Figure 8) the third portion (see Figure 8 below), and wherein the second portion (see Figure 8 below) and the third portion (see Figure 8 below) protrude (as shown in Figure 8) relative to (as shown in Figures 4/8/9) the first portion (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) on the first side (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) and the second side (see Figure 4 in the Claim 21 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B).
Yamane Figure 8, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 27, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claims 21 & 26, and continues to teach the second portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) protrudes relative to (as shown in Figure 8) the third portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) on the first side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B).
As to Claim 28, Yamane teaches all the limitations of Claims 21 & 26, and continues to teach the third portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) protrudes relative to (as shown in Figure 8) the second portion (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) on the second side (see Figure 8 in the Claim 26 rejection above) of the first wire guide (84B).
Claims 21-22 & 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama (U.S. PGPub 2016/0266374). Note parallel rejections.
As to Claim 21, Koyama teaches a steering assembly (Figure 2) of a medical device (Figure 1), the steering assembly (Figure 2) comprising:
a handle (3h) having a recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed);
a first wire guide (50) disposed within (as shown in Figure 2) the recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed), wherein the first wire guide (50) is shaped to prevent rotation (via 50w/25t, as described in Paragraph 0148, where frame body 20 is fixed to the operation section, as described in Paragraph 0023; and the operation section includes handle 3h, as described in Paragraph 0046; as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude wire guide 50 is shaped to prevent rotation with respect to handle 3h, since wire guide 50 is fixed to frame body 20, and frame body 20 is fixed to handle 3h) of the first wire guide (50) within (as shown in Figure 2) the recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed); and
first (90d) and second (90l) wire segments configured to steer (left and right, as described in Paragraphs 0093/0117) a distal portion (2w) of the medical device (10) in first (left and right) and second (upward and downward) directions,
wherein the first wire segment (90d) extends distally over (as shown in Figure 3) a first side (see Figure 3 below) of the first wire guide (50), and wherein the second wire segment (90l) extends distally below (as shown in Figure 3) a second side (see Figure 3 below) of the first wire guide (50).
Koyama Figure 3, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 22, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 21, and continues to teach the first wire guide (50) includes a first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below), a second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below), and a third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below), wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) is proximal to (as shown in Figure 6) the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) and the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below), wherein the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) is adjacent to (as shown in Figure 6) the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below),
wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) has a first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below), the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) has a second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below), and the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) has a third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below),
wherein the first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection below) is less than (when viewing Figure 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude the first thickness is the same as Elements 56d/56u in Figure 7, which clearly shows the first thickness is less than the second and third thicknesses) the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below) and the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below), and
wherein the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below) is equal to (as shown in Figure 7) the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection below).
As to Claim 29, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claims 21-22, and continues to teach a first pulley (65) coupled to (Paragraph 0117) the first wire segment (90d), wherein the first pulley (65) is disposed on (as shown in Figures 3/6) the first side (see Yamane Figure 3 in the Claim 21 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50), and a second pulley (45) coupled to (Paragraph 0094) the second wire segment (90l), wherein the second pulley (45) is disposed on (as shown in Figures 3/6) the second side (see Yamane Figure 3 in the Claim 21 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50).
As to Claim 30, Koyama teaches a steering assembly (Figure 2) of a medical device (Figure 1), the steering assembly (Figure 2) comprising:
a first wire guide (50) disposed (as shown in Figure 2) in a recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed) of a handle (3h), wherein the first wire guide (50) is keyed to (via 50w/25t, as described in Paragraph 0148, where frame body 20 is fixed to the operation section, as described in Paragraph 0023; and the operation section includes handle 3h, as described in Paragraph 0046) the recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed) of the handle (3h) to prevent rotation (one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude wire guide 50 is prevented from rotation with respect to handle 3h, since wire guide 50 is fixed to frame body 20, and frame body 20 is fixed to handle 3h) of the first wire guide (50) within (as shown in Figure 2) the recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guide 50 is partially disposed);
a first pulley (45) having (via 40) first (90l) and second (90r) wires, wherein the first (0l) and second (90r) wires are configured to steer (left and right, as described in Paragraph 0093) a distal end (2w) of the medical device (10) in first (left) and second (right) directions, wherein the first pulley (45) is rotatable relative to (Paragraph 0086 states first pulley 45 is rotatable with respect to wire guide 30; Paragraph 0068 states wire guide 30 is stationary with respect to frame body 20; Paragraph 0066 states wire guide 50 is stationary with respect to frame body 20; as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude first pulley 45 is rotatable with respect to wire guide 50) the first wire guide (50), and wherein the first pulley (45) is disposed on (as shown in Figure 6) a first side (the bottom side of 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the first wire guide (50);
a second pulley (65) having third (90d) and fourth (90u) wires, wherein the third (90d) and fourth (90u) wires are configured to steer (upward and downward, as described in Paragraph 0117) the distal end (2w) of the medical device (10) in third (upward) and fourth (downward) directions, wherein the second pulley (65) is rotatable relative to (Paragraph 0109 states second pulley 65 is rotatable with respect to wire guide 70; Paragraph 0106 states wire guide 70 is stationary with respect to wire guide 50; as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude second pulley 65 is rotatable with respect to wire guide 50) the first wire guide (50), and wherein the second pulley (65) is disposed on (as shown in Figure 6) a second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) of the first wire guide (50),
wherein the first wire guide (50) includes an opening (58) extending from (as shown in Figure 6) the first side (the bottom side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) to (as shown in Figure 6) the second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in figure 6), and wherein the opening (58) is configured to receive a portion (as described in Paragraph 0143) of the first pulley (45).
As to Claim 31, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 30, and continues to teach the first wire guide includes a first portion (see Figure 6 below), a second portion (see Figure 6 below), and a third portion (see Figure 6 below), wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 below) is proximal to (as shown in Figure 6) the second portion (see Figure 6 below) and the third portion (see Figure 6 below), wherein the second portion (see Figure 6 below) is adjacent to (as shown in Figure 6) the third portion (see Figure 6 below), wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 below) of the first wire guide (50) is washer-shaped (Figure 6 shows a relatively thin structure with a hole, which one of ordinary skill in the art would broadly interpret as “washer-shaped”), wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 below) is configured to receive (via 58; Paragraph 0143) the first pulley (45) on the first side (the bottom side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) of the first wire guide (50), and wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 below) is configured to receive (via 58; Paragraph 0143) the second pulley (65) on the second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) of the first wire guide (50).
Koyama Figure 6, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 32, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claims 30-31, and continues to teach the first side (the top of the first portion shown in Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50) includes a recess (56).
As to Claim 33, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claims 30-31, and continues to teach the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50) extends partially across (as shown in Figure 6) the first wire guide (50) from (as shown in Figure 6) a first lateral side (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50) towards (as shown in Figure 6) a second lateral side (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50), and wherein the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50) extends partially across (as shown in Figure 6) the first wire guide (50) from (as shown in Figure 6) the second lateral side (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50) to towards (as shown in Figure 6) the first lateral side (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) of the first wire guide (50).
As to Claim 34, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claims 30-31, and continues to teach the first wire guide (50) includes a first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), a second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), and a third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), wherein the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) is proximal to (as shown in Figure 6) the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) and the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), wherein the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) is adjacent to (as shown in Figure 6) the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above),
wherein, on the first side (the bottom side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) of the first wire guide (50), (1) the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) protrudes relative to (the surface of the second portion shown in Figure 7 below protrudes relative to surface 56 –which is coplanar with 56e, as shown in Figure 6-- of the first portion) the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), and (2) the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) protrudes relative to (the surface of the third portion shown in Figure 7 below protrudes relative to the surface of the second portion shown in Figure 7 below, and the surface of the third portion protrudes relative to surface 56 –which is coplanar with 56f, as shown in Figure 6-- of the first portion) the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) and the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), and
wherein, on the second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in figure 6) of the first wire guide (50), (3) the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) protrudes relative to (the surface of the third portion shown in Figure 7 below protrudes relative to the surface of the second portion shown in Figure 7 below, and the surface of the third portion protrudes relative to surface 56 –which is coplanar with 56f, as shown in Figure 6-- of the first portion) the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) and the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), and (4) the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) protrudes relative to (the surface of the second portion shown in Figure 7 below protrudes relative to surface 56 –which is coplanar with 56e, as shown in Figure 6-- of the first portion) the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above).
Koyama Figure 7, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 35, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claims 30-31, and continues to teach the first portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) has a first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), the second portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) has a second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above), and the third portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) has a third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above),
wherein the first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above) is less than (when viewing Figure 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude the first thickness is the same as Elements 56d/56u in Figure 7, which clearly shows the first thickness is less than the second and third thicknesses) the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above) and the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above), and wherein the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above) is equal to (as shown in Figure 7) the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above).
As to Claim 36, Koyama teaches a steering assembly (Figure 2) of a medical device (Figure 1), the steering assembly (Figure 2) comprising:
a first wire guide (30), a second wire guide (50), and a third wire guide (70), wherein each of the first wire guide (30), the second wire guide (50), and the third wire guide (70) is disposed within (as shown in Figure 2) a recess (the recess within 3h, within which wire guides 30/50/70 are partially disposed) of a handle (3h) of the medical device (Figure 1);
a first pulley (45) coupled to (Paragraph 0094) first (90l) and second (90r) wire segments, wherein each of the first (90l) and second (90r) wire segments extends distally from (as shown in Figure 3) the first pulley (45), wherein the first pulley (45) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 6) a proximal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the first wire guide (30) and a proximal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the second wire guide (50), wherein each of the first (90l) and second (90r) wire segments are disposed between (as shown in Figure 3) a distal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the first wire guide (30) and a distal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the second wire guide (50);
a second pulley (65) coupled to (Paragraph 0117) third (90d) and fourth (90u) wire segments, wherein each of the third (90d) and fourth (90u) wire segments extends distally from (as shown in Figure 3) the second pulley (65) wherein the second pulley (65) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 6) the proximal portion (see Figure 6 below) of second wire guide (50) and a proximal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the third wire guide (70), and wherein the third (90d) and fourth (90u) wire segments are disposed between (as shown in Figure 3) the distal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the second wire guide (50) and a distal portion (see Figure 6 below) of the third wire guide (70).
Koyama Figure 6, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 37, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 36, and continues to teach the proximal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of each of the first wire guide (30), the second wire guide (50), and the third wire guide (70) is washer-shaped (Figure 6 shows a relatively thin structure with a hole for each of the proximal portions, which one of ordinary skill in the art would broadly interpret as “washer-shaped”).
As to Claim 38, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 36, and continues to teach the distal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of a first side (the top of first wire guide 30, as viewed in Figure 6) of the first wire guide (30) is identical to (Paragraph 0128) the distal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of a second side (the bottom of third wire guide 70, as viewed in Figure 6) of the third wire guide (70).
As to Claim 39, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 36, and continues to teach the distal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of a first side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) further includes a first lateral portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) and a second lateral portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) wherein the first lateral portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) extends partially across (as shown in Figure 6) the distal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of the first side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) from a first lateral side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) towards (as shown in Figure 6) a second lateral side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the first wire guide (50), and wherein the second lateral portion (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) extends partially across (as shown in Figure 6) the distal portion (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the first side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) from the second lateral side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) towards (as shown in Figure 6) the first lateral side (the top of second wire guide 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50),
wherein the proximal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) has a first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), the first lateral portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) has a second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above), and the second lateral portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) has a third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above),
wherein the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above) and the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above) are greater than (when viewing Figure 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude the first thickness is the same as Elements 56d/56u in Figure 7, which clearly shows the first thickness is less than the second and third thicknesses) the first thickness (see Figure 6 in the Claim 31 rejection above), and wherein the third thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above) is equal to (as shown in Figure 7) the second thickness (see Figure 7 in the Claim 34 rejection above).
As to Claim 40, Koyama teaches all the limitations of Claim 36, and continues to teach the proximal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of the second wire guide (50) includes a first opening (58) extending from (as shown in Figure 6) a first side (the bottom side of 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50) to a second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the second wire guide (50), and wherein the first opening (50) is configured to receive a portion (as described in Paragraph 0143) of the first pulley (45),
wherein the proximal portion (see Figure 6 in the Claim 36 rejection above) of the third wire guide (70) includes a second opening (78) extending from (as shown in Figure 6) a first side (the bottom side of 70, as viewed in Figure 6) of the third wire guide (70) to a second side (the top side of 50, as viewed in Figure 6) of the third wire guide (70), and wherein the second opening (78) is configured to receive a portion (as described in Paragraph 0143) of the second pulley (65), and wherein a diameter (see Figure 6 below) of the first opening (58) is smaller than (as indicated by the parallel dotted lines in Figure 6 below) a diameter (see Figure 6 below) of the second opening (78).
Koyama Figure 6, Modified by Examiner
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams (2015/0366435) and Nakade (2012/0220832) teach similar wire controls.
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783