DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/330705 filed on 6/7/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-25 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if all the outstanding rejections/objections overcome and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of records fails to disclose “…when the registration information … acts as an OffN …create a record in a resource repository that maps the registration information of the first wireless communication device to the OffN ID…and when the registration information indicates …acts as a CompN … create a record in the resource repository that maps the registration information of the first wireless communication device to the CompN ID…” of claim 3. Claims 4-9 depend on claim 3 which are also object to as being allowable. The prior art also fails to teach claims 4-9 because they include the allowable subject matter of claim 3.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4 limitation “…memory, cause the device to” should be amended to state “…memory, cause the wireless communication device…” Claims 14 and 19 should also be amended to state the same.
Claim 1, lines 5-6 state “…from another wireless communication device…” & “…the other wireless communication device…” applicant should amend the limitation to state “second device” to avoid any clarity issues with respect to the dependent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9, 11-13, 16-17, 21, 22, 23 or 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected because the limitation “…the device to” in line 2 is not clear. It is not clear whether “…the device…” refers back to claim 1 limitation “the wireless communication device,” “the device,” “another wireless communication device” or “the other wireless communication device.” Thus, the claim is rejected. Claims 4 and 8 are also rejected because they depend on rejected claim 3.
Claims 5-7, 9, 11-13 include the same limitation “…the device…” which is not clear because the limitation it is not clear whether “…the device…” refers back to claim 1 limitation “the wireless communication device,” “the device,” “another wireless communication device” or “the other wireless communication device.” Thus, the claims are rejected.
Claims 16-17 are also rejected because it is not clear whether “…the device…” in claim 16 or 17 refers back to claim 14 limitation wireless communication device acting like OffN or to the wireless communication device acting ContN.
Claims 21-24 are also rejected because it is not clear whether “…the device…” in claim 21, 22, 23 or 24 refers back to claim 19 limitation CompN or ContN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi US 2014/0038654 A1 in view of Sun et al. (hereinafter Sun) US 2023/0139345 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Ahmadi teaches a wireless communication device configured to act as a distributed computing control node (ContN), the wireless communication device comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory (¶0056; the computing distribution node [ContN] may poll nodes regarding computing resources. The computing distribution node may poll some or all nodes in the wireless communication system. The nodes polled may include access points, base stations, relay stations, femto base stations, other network elements, UEs, etc.), the processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the device to:
receive a registration message from another wireless communication device, the registration message including registration information indicating whether the other wireless communication device acts as an offload node (OffN) for distributed computing or a compute node (CompN) for distributed computing (¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN or CompN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system [CompN]…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node);
and based on the registration information of the wireless communication device, transmit a resource availability message indicating available distributed computing resources to wireless communication devices acting as OffNs (¶0063; 506, a notification of a request for a computing resource may be received. The request for a computing resource may originate from a UE 106. The notification of the request may be received from a base station. For example, the UE 106 may be provided with wireless communication services by a serving base station, which may receive the request from the UE 106 and notify the computing distribution node of the request).
Ahmadi does not teach that the message is a “registration message” in the limitation above.
Sun is analogous art because Sun is directed to a UE registering in a network via a registration request. See abstract.
Sun also teaches “registration message” in the limitation above (¶0150; the terminal device includes the terminal device computing capability information in a registration request message sent to the first CN device. Also see ¶0158; fifth acknowledgment information is also carried in a NAS message. Optionally, the first CN device includes the fifth acknowledgment information in a registration accept message sent to the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the system of Ahmadi in order to allow a device to connect, access services, get an identity (GUTI), establish security, and allow the network to track its location, enabling calls, data, and updates, with key benefits including seamless service access, mobility management, security setup, and efficient resource allocation (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 2, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the registration message comprises an OffN information element or an OffN flag that is set to indicate that the respective wireless communication device acts as an OffN for distributed computing and a CompN information element or a CompN flag that is set to indicate that the respective wireless communication device acts as an CompN for distributed computing (¶0006 & ¶0046-¶0049, ¶0060 & ¶0062; different types of nodes include information elements that distinguishes a base station from UE based on its characteristics and type of resources to provide assistant with).
Regarding Claim 10, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the registration information includes a location of the wireless device acting as the OffN or the CompN or a mobility status of the wireless device acting as the OffN or the CompN (¶0058-¶0063; obvious because each node may be coupled to the network in a particular way, based on which it may have certain networking characteristics (e.g., direct and indirect connections to other nodes, types of networking capabilities, qualities (e.g., bandwidth, latency, reliability, etc.) of network connection(s), etc.). In some embodiments, the poll may also request information from each node regarding one or more such networking characteristics).
Regarding Claim 11, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to generate the resource availability message to indicate one or more available distributed computing resources and, for each distributed computing resource, a CompN associated with the distributed computing resource (¶0058-¶0093; obvious because reports may include information regarding availability, amount, and/or type of computing resources available at each node, and in some embodiments may include information from regarding one or more networking characteristics of each node. The information may be provided by the nodes in response to a poll, such as described above, or may be provided without external prompting according to some embodiments).
Regarding Claim 12, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, Sun further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit the resource availability message via a system information block (SIB), a non-access stratum (NAS), radio resource control (RRC) container, or dedicated signaling with the wireless communication device acting as the OffN or the CompN (¶0150; the terminal device includes the terminal device computing capability information in a registration request message sent to the first CN device. Also see ¶0158; fifth acknowledgment information is also carried in a NAS message. Optionally, the first CN device includes the fifth acknowledgment information in a registration accept message sent to the terminal device).
Regarding Claim 13, Ahmadi in view of Sunteaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit the resource availability message periodically, in response to an event, or in response to a request (¶0059; some or all nodes may be configured to periodically transmit a report on their computing resources to the computing distribution node, e.g., according to a schedule or some other trigger).
Regarding Claim 14, Ahmadi teaches a wireless communication device configured to act as a distributed computing offload node (OffN) (Fig. 1 & ¶0028-¶0030; UE 106 is a distributed computing offload node), the wireless communication device comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory (Fig. 1 & 4), cause the device to:
transmit a registration message comprising OffN registration information to a wireless communication device acting as a distributed computing control node (ContN) (¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node);
receive a registration response message from the wireless communication device acting as the ContN (¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN or CompN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system [CompN]…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node), the registration response message indicating an OffN ID (¶0060 & ¶0062; obvious because each node provides a response to the polling including information regarding one or more characteristics of each node);
and receive, from the wireless communication device acting as the ContN, a resource availability message indicating available distributed computing resources (¶0063; 506, a notification of a request for a computing resource may be received. The request for a computing resource may originate from a UE 106. The notification of the request may be received from a base station. For example, the UE 106 may be provided with wireless communication services by a serving base station, which may receive the request from the UE 106 and notify the computing distribution node of the request).
Ahmadi does not teach that the message is a “registration message” in the limitation above.
Sun is analogous art because Sun is directed to a UE registering in a network via a registration request. See abstract.
Sun also teaches “registration message” in the limitation above (¶0150; the terminal device includes the terminal device computing capability information in a registration request message sent to the first CN device. Also see ¶0158; fifth acknowledgment information is also carried in a NAS message. Optionally, the first CN device includes the fifth acknowledgment information in a registration accept message sent to the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the system of Ahmadi in order to allow a device to connect, access services, get an identity (GUTI), establish security, and allow the network to track its location, enabling calls, data, and updates, with key benefits including seamless service access, mobility management, security setup, and efficient resource allocation (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 15, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 14, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the registration message comprises an OffN information element or an OffN flag that is set to indicate that the registration message comprises OffN registration information (¶0006 & ¶0046-¶0049, ¶0060 & ¶0062; different types of nodes include information elements that distinguishes a base station from UE based on its characteristics and type of resources to provide assistant with).
Regarding Claim 16, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 14, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit a registration update message to the wireless communication device acting as the ContN, wherein the registration update message comprises updated registration information (¶0060-¶0062; it may further be desirable for at least neighboring computing distribution nodes to keep each other updated on the status of computing resources in the regions for which they are responsible for distributing computing tasks).
Regarding Claim 17, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 14, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the registration information includes a location of the device or a mobility status of the wireless communication device (¶0060-¶0062; obvious because it may further be desirable for at least neighboring computing distribution nodes to keep each other updated on the status of computing resources in the regions for which they are responsible for distributing computing tasks).
Regarding Claim 18, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 14, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the resource availability message indicates one or more available distributed computing resources and, for each distributed computing resource, a distributed computing compute node (CompN) associated with the distributed computing resource (¶0058-¶0093; obvious because reports may include information regarding availability, amount, and/or type of computing resources available at each node, and in some embodiments may include information from regarding one or more networking characteristics of each node. The information may be provided by the nodes in response to a poll, such as described above, or may be provided without external prompting according to some embodiments).
Regarding Claim 19, Ahmadi teaches a wireless communication device configured to act as a distributed computing compute node (CompN), the wireless communication device comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the device to:
transmit a registration message comprising CompN registration information to a wireless communication device acting as a distributed computing control node (ContN) (¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN or CompN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system [CompN]…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node),
wherein the CompN registration information includes distributed computing capacity of the wireless communication device, the distributed computing capacity including one or more of computing resources, memory resources, or communication resources (¶0078-¶0093; information includes resource availability);
and receive a registration response message from the wireless communication device acting as the ContN (¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN or CompN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system [CompN]…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node), the registration response message indicating a CompN ID (¶0060 & ¶0062; obvious because each node provides a response to the polling including information regarding one or more characteristics of each node).
Ahmadi does not teach that the message is a “registration message” in the limitation above.
Sun is analogous art because Sun is directed to a UE registering in a network via a registration request. See abstract.
Sun also teaches “registration message” in the limitation above (¶0150; the terminal device includes the terminal device computing capability information in a registration request message sent to the first CN device. Also see ¶0158; fifth acknowledgment information is also carried in a NAS message. Optionally, the first CN device includes the fifth acknowledgment information in a registration accept message sent to the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the system of Ahmadi in order to allow a device to connect, access services, get an identity (GUTI), establish security, and allow the network to track its location, enabling calls, data, and updates, with key benefits including seamless service access, mobility management, security setup, and efficient resource allocation (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 20, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 19, wherein the registration message comprises a Comp N information element or a CompN flag that is set to indicate that the registration message comprises CompN registration information (¶0006 & ¶0046-¶0049, ¶0060 & ¶0062; different types of nodes include information elements that distinguishes a base station from UE based on its characteristics and type of resources to provide assistant with).
Regarding Claim 21, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit a registration update message to the wireless communication device acting as the CompN, wherein the registration update message comprises updated registration information (¶0080-¶0084; polling implies periodic messages. Also see ¶0057-¶0062; the computing distribution node [ContN] may provide information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics of nodes in the wireless communication system [OffN like UE 106] to one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system, and/or receive information regarding computing resources and/or networking characteristics [similar to acting as OffN or CompN since each node evaluates its availability, amount or type of resources and it provides it to the computing distribution node via polling or a request. For example, a node is an access point, relay station or another mobile station or a base station each has its own characteristics, see ¶0046-¶0049] of nodes in the wireless communication system from one or more other computing distribution nodes in the wireless communication system [CompN]…each node have certain computing resources…the poll may request information from each node regarding the availability, amount or type of computing resources available at each node. Note that one skilled in the art would realize that the type of node includes offload node);
Regarding Claim 22, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit a capacity update message to the wireless communication device acting as the ContN, wherein the capacity update message comprises updated distributed computing capacity of the CompN (¶0080-¶0084; polling implies periodic messages).
Regarding Claim 23, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 22, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit the capacity update message periodically, in response to an event, or in response to a request (¶0080-¶0084; polling implies periodic messages).
Regarding Claim 24, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 22, Sun further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the device to transmit the capacity update message via a system information block (SIB), a non-access stratum (NAS), radio resource control (RRC) container, or dedicated signaling with the wireless communication device acting as the OffN or the CompN (¶0150; the terminal device includes the terminal device computing capability information in a registration request message sent to the first CN device. Also see ¶0158; fifth acknowledgment information is also carried in a NAS message. Optionally, the first CN device includes the fifth acknowledgment information in a registration accept message sent to the terminal device).
Regarding Claim 25, Ahmadi in view of Sun teaches the wireless communication device of claim 19, Ahmadi further teaches wherein the registration information includes a location or a mobility status of the wireless device (¶0060-¶0062; obvious because it may further be desirable for at least neighboring computing distribution nodes to keep each other updated on the status of computing resources in the regions for which they are responsible for distributing computing tasks).
Conclusion
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455