DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)( 2 ) as being anticipated by Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) ( S ince the PCT application is in Japanese, the disclosure of US Pub No. 20 21 / 0 196416 will be used as English translation for the sole purpose of clarifying the rejection below ). Regarding claim 1, Betsugi discloses ( Figures 3-31 ) a forceps device comprising: a grasping part ( 41 ) ( Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps ) ; a support ( 45 ) that holds the grasping part; a rotating shaft ( pin of R2 as shown in Figures 7 and 14 ) that turnably supports the support; a base member ( 46 ) that holds the rotating shaft ( Figure 7 ) ; a plurality of grasping-portion wires ( W ) that transmit driving forces to move the grasping part ( Paragraphs 0073-0076 ) ; a guide pulley ( 55, 56 ) that guides one or more of the plurality of grasping-portion wires ( Paragraph 0100 ) ; and a support shaft ( pin of R 4 as shown in Figures 7 and 14 ) that rotatably supports the guide pulley ( Figures 7 and 14 ) , wherein the base member includes: a partition part ( 47a ) ( Figure 9 ) having a plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes ( holes of 47a ) ( Paragraph 0086 ) through which the respective grasping-portion wires pass ( Paragraph 0086 ) ; and a pair of arms ( 46a, 46b ) extending from the partition part toward the grasping part ( Figure 8 ) , respective ends of the support shaft being fixed to the respective arms ( Figure 7 ) , wherein the plurality of grasping-portion wires include a first grasping-portion wire ( W of 1 ) and a second grasping-portion wire ( W of 2 ) ( Figure 8 ) , wherein the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes include a first grasping-portion- wire hole through which the first grasping-portion wire passes ( hole of 47a where W of 1 passes as shown in Figures 8, 10 and 16 ) , and a second grasping-portion- wire hole which is closest to the first grasping-portion-wire hole among the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes and through which the second grasping-portion wire passes ( hole of 47a where W of 2 passes as shown in Figures 8 and 10 ) , and wherein the guide pulley guides the one or more of the plurality of grasping-portion wires so that the first grasping-portion wire is separated from the second grasping-portion wire ( clearly shown in Figure 16 ) . Regarding claim 7, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member ( 47c ) on one side with respect to the partition part ( Figure 9 ) , and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes ( 72 ) at positions corresponding to the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes ( clearly shown in Figure 9 ) . Regarding claim 13, Betsugi discloses ( Figures 3-31 ) a forceps device comprising: a first grasping portion and a second grasping portion ( 41 ) ( Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps which would have a first grasping portion and a second grasping portion similar to Figure 3 ); a support ( 45 ) that holds the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion; a first shaft ( pin of R2 as shown in Figures 7 and 14 ) that turnably supports the support; a base member ( 46 ) that holds the first shaft ( Figure 7 ); a first wire ( W of 1 ) and a second wire ( W of 2 ) ( Figure s 8 and 10 ) that transmit driving forces to move the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion ( Paragraphs 0073-0076 ); a first guide pulley ( 55 ) and a second guide pulley ( 56 ) ( Paragraph 0100 ); and a support shaft ( pin of R 4 as shown in Figures 7 and 14 ) that rotatably supports the first guide pulley and the second guide pulley ( Figures 7 and 14 ), wherein the base member includes: a partition part ( 47a ) ( Figure 9 ) having a plurality of holes ( holes of 47a ) ( Paragraph 0086 ) including a first hole ( hole of 47a where W of 1 passes as shown in Figures 8, 10 and 16 ) through which the first wire passes and a second hole ( hole of 47a where W of 2 passes as shown in Figures 8 and 10 ) that is closest to the first hole among the plurality of holes and through which the second wires passes ( Figure 8 ); and a first arm ( 46a ) and a second arm ( 46b ) extending from the partition part toward the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion , respective ends of the support shaft being fixed to the first arm and the second arm ( Figure 7 ), and wherein the first guide pulley being provided adjacent to the first arm and the second guide pulley being provided adjacent to the second arm and spaced apart from the first guide pulley ( clearly shown in Figure 7 ). Regarding claim 19, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member ( 47c ) ( Figure 9 ), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes ( 72 ) at positions corresponding to the plurality of holes in the partition part ( clearly shown in Figure 9 ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 2-3, 6, 8-12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) ( Since the PCT application is in Japanese, the disclosure of US Pub No. 20 21 / 0196416 will be used as English translation for the sole purpose of clarifying the rejection below ) . Regarding claim 2, Betsugi discloses the invention above except for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°. Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Regarding claim 3, Betsugi further discloses wherein: the base member includes a sealing member ( 47c ) on one side with respect to the partition part ( Figure 9 ), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes ( 72 ) at positions corresponding to the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes ( clearly shown in Figure 9 ). Regarding claim 6, Betsugi further discloses wherein the sealing member is a silicone resin film ( Paragraph 0070 ) . Regarding claim 8, Betsugi discloses a pair of support wires ( wires that go through hole s 1 71 (71) and 172 (71) as shown in Figure 9 ) that transmit driving forces to turn the support ( Paragraph 0089 ) , wherein the partition part has a pair of support-wire holes ( holes of 47a that are aligned with holes 171 (71) , 172 (71) ) through which the pair of support wires, respectively, pass ( Paragraph 0089 ) , but fails to disclose for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°. Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Regarding claim 9, Betsugi discloses ( Figures 3-31 ) a base member ( 46 ) arranged between a grasping part of a forceps device ( 41 ) ( Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps ) and a shaft ( 42 ) of the forceps device ( Figure 4 ) , the base member comprising: a partition part ( 47a ) ( Figure 9 ) having a plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes ( holes of 47a ) ( Paragraph 0086 ) through which a plurality of grasping-portion wires , respectively, pass ( wires (W) that pass through holes of 47a ) ( Paragraph 0086 ) , the plurality of grasping-portion wires transmitting driving forces to move the grasping part ( Paragraphs 0073-0076 ) wherein the plurality of grasping-portion holes include a first grasping-portion hole ( hole of 47a that is aligned with hole 172 (72) as shown in Figure 9 ) and a second grasping-portion hole ( hole of 47a that is aligned with hole 173 (72) as shown in Figure 9 ) which is closest to the first grasping-portion-wire hole among the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes. Betsugi fails to disclose when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°. Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Regarding claim 10, Betsugi discloses the partition part has a pair of support-wire holes ( hole s of 47a that is aligned with holes 171(71) and 172(71) as shown in Figure 9 ) through which a pair of support wires ( wires that go through hole s 1 71 and 172 as shown in Figure 9 ), respectively, pass, the pair of support wires transmitting driving forces for turning a support ( 45 ) of the forceps device that holds the grasping part ( Paragraph 0089 ) but fails to disclose for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°. Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Regarding claims 11 and 12, Betsugi discloses a pair of arms ( 46a, 46b ) extending from the partition part toward the grasping part ( Figure 7 ), wherein the pair of arms each have a fitting hole ( holes of 46a and 46b where pin of R4 is positioned as shown in Figures 7 and 14 ), and respective ends of a support shaft ( pin of R4 ) of the forceps device that rotatably supports a pair of guide pulleys ( 55, 56 ) of the forceps device being fitted into the fitting holes ( Figures 7 and 14 ). Regarding claim 14, Betsugi discloses the invention above except for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first hole and the second hole is equal to or larger than 30°. Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first hole and the second hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first hole and the second hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Regarding claim 15, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member ( 47c ), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes ( 72 ) at positions corresponding to the plurality of holes ( clearly shown in Figure 9 ). Regarding claim 18, Betsugi further discloses wherein the sealing member is a silicone resin film ( Paragraph 0070 ). Regarding claim 20, Betsugi discloses a first support wire and a second support wire ( wires that go through hole s 1 71 (71) and 172(71) as shown in Figure 9 ) that transmit driving forces to turn the support ( Paragraph 0089 ) , wherein the partition part has a first support hole and a second support hole ( holes of 47a that are aligned with holes 171 (71) , 172 (71) ) through which the first support wire and the second support wire , respectively, pass ( Paragraph 0089 ) , but fails to disclose when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, with respect to a center of the partition part, an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole is equal to or larger than 30°, and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole is equal to or larger than 30° . Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part to be viewed in a vertical direction, with respect to a center of the partition part, an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole to be equal to or larger than 30°, and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: The prior art of record of Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) fails to disclose wherein the plurality of sealing holes each have a diameter that is smaller than a diameter of a corresponding one of the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes and smaller than a diameter of a corresponding one of the plurality of grasping-portion wires (claims 4 and 16 ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID JAMIALAHMADI whose telephone number is (571) 270-0172. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7am-5pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Darwin Erezo can be reached on (571) 272-4695. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771