DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 10/23/2025. Claims 1, 3, 9 and 13 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 9 and 13, filed on 10/23/2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments on page 11, the applicant states that “In explaining the rejection, the Office reads the silicone seal 47 as corresponding to the claimed partition part 18g. However, this is an incorrect reading of Betsugi. In Besugi, the second support body 46 and the silicone seal 47 are separate parts (see, e.g., paragraph70), and thus the second support body 46 does not include the silicone seal 47”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because since the partition part 47a is positioned within the base member 46 as shown in Figure 8 then this would result in the base member to include the partition part. Even though the base member and the partition part are separate parts, the base member can still include the partition part and does not need to be monolithically formed as a single piece. There is nothing in the claim that would require the partition part and the base member to not be separate parts. Therefore, the rejection is proper.
Regarding arguments on page 12, the applicant states that “The connection base portion 46c has two T-shaped communication holes 81 and 82, each of which has three wires passing therethrough. That is, multiple wires pass through each of the communication holes 81 and 82. Applicant notes that circular holes 83 and 84 are also illustrated, but Betsugi fails to disclose that any wires pass through these holes 83 and 84.”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because the partition part is indicated by element 47a which includes holes that correspond to a respective one of the wires as shown in Figures 8-9. Paragraph 0086 discloses that “The first insertion hole 171, the second insertion hole 172, and the third insertion hole 173 of the first insertion hole group 71 penetrate through the first seal portion 47a and the second seal portion 47b in the Z direction. The first insertion hole 171, the second insertion hole 172, and the third insertion hole 173 of the second insertion hole group 72 pass through the first seal portion 47a and the third seal portion 47c in the Z direction”. Therefore, wires 1 and 2 pass through their own respective hole that is formed in the partition part 47a as shown in Figures 8-9 and in the annotated figure below for claim 1. Therefore, the rejection is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) (Since the PCT application is in Japanese, the disclosure of US Pub No. 2021/0196416 will be used as English translation for the sole purpose of clarifying the rejection below).
Regarding claim 1, Betsugi discloses (Figures 3-31) a forceps device comprising: a grasping part (41) (Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps); a support (45) that holds the grasping part; a rotating shaft (pin of R2 as shown in Figures 7 and 14) that turnably supports the support; a base member (46) that holds the rotating shaft (Figure 7); a plurality of grasping-portion wires (W) that transmit driving forces to move the grasping part (Paragraphs 0073-0076); a guide pulley (55, 56) that guides one or more of the plurality of grasping-portion wires (Paragraph 0100); and a support shaft (pin of R4 as shown in Figures 7 and 14) that rotatably supports the guide pulley (Figures 7 and 14), wherein the base member includes: a partition part (47a) (Figure 9) having a plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes (holes of 47a) (see annotated figure below) formed therein (Paragraph 0086), each grasping-portion-wire hole corresponding to a respective one of the grasping portion wires (Figures 8-9) and through which the respective one of the grasping-portion wires passes (Paragraph 0086); and a pair of arms (46a, 46b) extending from the partition part toward the grasping part (Figure 8), respective ends of the support shaft being fixed to the respective arms (Figure 7), wherein the plurality of grasping-portion wires include a first grasping-portion wire (W of 1) and a second grasping-portion wire (W of 2) (Figure 8), wherein the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes include a first grasping-portion- wire hole through which the first grasping-portion wire passes (hole of 47a where W of 1 passes as shown in Figures 8, 10 and 16), and a second grasping-portion- wire hole which is closest to the first grasping-portion-wire hole among the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes and through which the second grasping-portion wire passes (hole of 47a where W of 2 passes as shown in Figures 8 and 10), and wherein the guide pulley guides the one or more of the plurality of grasping-portion wires so that the first grasping-portion wire is separated from the second grasping-portion wire (clearly shown in Figure 16).
Regarding claim 7, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member (47c) on one side with respect to the partition part (Figure 9), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes (72) at positions corresponding to the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes (clearly shown in Figure 9).
Regarding claim 13, Betsugi discloses (Figures 3-31) a forceps device comprising: a first grasping portion and a second grasping portion (41) (Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps which would have a first grasping portion and a second grasping portion similar to Figure 3); a support (45) that holds the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion; a first shaft (pin of R2 as shown in Figures 7 and 14) that turnably supports the support; a base member (46) that holds the first shaft (Figure 7); a plurality of wires including a first wire (W of 1) and a second wire (W of 2) (Figures 8 and 10) that transmit driving forces to move the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion (Paragraphs 0073-0076); a first guide pulley (55) and a second guide pulley (56) (Paragraph 0100); and a support shaft (pin of R4 as shown in Figures 7 and 14) that rotatably supports the first guide pulley and the second guide pulley (Figures 7 and 14), wherein the base member includes: a partition part (47a) (Figure 9) having a plurality of holes (holes of 47a) (see annotated figure above for claim 1) formed therein (Paragraph 0086), each hole corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of wires (Figures 8-9) and through which the respective one of the plurality of wires passes (Paragraph 0086), the plurality of holes including a first hole (hole of 47a where W of 1 passes as shown in Figures 8, 10 and 16) through which the first wire passes and a second hole (hole of 47a where W of 2 passes as shown in Figures 8 and 10) that is closest to the first hole among the plurality of holes and through which the second wires passes (Figure 8); and a first arm (46a) and a second arm (46b) extending from the partition part toward the first grasping portion and the second grasping portion, respective ends of the support shaft being fixed to the first arm and the second arm (Figure 7), and wherein the first guide pulley being provided adjacent to the first arm and the second guide pulley being provided adjacent to the second arm and spaced apart from the first guide pulley (clearly shown in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 19, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member (47c) (Figure 9), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes (72) at positions corresponding to the plurality of holes in the partition part (clearly shown in Figure 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) (Since the PCT application is in Japanese, the disclosure of US Pub No. 2021/0196416 will be used as English translation for the sole purpose of clarifying the rejection below).
Regarding claim 2, Betsugi discloses the invention above except for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 3, Betsugi further discloses wherein: the base member includes a sealing member (47c) on one side with respect to the partition part (Figure 9), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes (72) at positions corresponding to the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes (clearly shown in Figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Betsugi further discloses wherein the sealing member is a silicone resin film (Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 8, Betsugi discloses a pair of support wires (wires that go through holes 171(71) and 172(71) as shown in Figure 9) that transmit driving forces to turn the support (Paragraph 0089), wherein the partition part has a pair of support-wire holes (holes of 47a that are aligned with holes 171(71), 172(71)) through which the pair of support wires, respectively, pass (Paragraph 0089), but fails to disclose for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 9, Betsugi discloses (Figures 3-31) a base member (46) arranged between a grasping part of a forceps device (41) (Paragraph 0047 discloses end effector can be grasping forceps) and a shaft (42) of the forceps device (Figure 4), the base member comprising: a partition part (47a) (Figure 9) having a plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes (holes of 47a) (see annotated figure above for claim 1) formed therein (Paragraph 0086), each grasping-portion-wire hole corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of grasping-portion wires (Not positively recited in the claim and only functionally recited) and through which the respective one of the plurality of grasping-portion wires passes (Paragraph 0086), the plurality of grasping-portion wires transmitting driving forces to move the grasping part (Paragraphs 0073-0076) wherein the plurality of grasping-portion holes include a first grasping-portion hole (hole of 47a that is aligned with hole 172(72) as shown in Figure 9) and a second grasping-portion hole (hole of 47a that is aligned with hole 173(72) as shown in Figure 9) which is closest to the first grasping-portion-wire hole among the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes.
Betsugi fails to disclose when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first grasping-portion-wire hole and the second grasping-portion- wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 10, Betsugi discloses the partition part has a pair of support-wire holes (holes of 47a that is aligned with holes 171(71) and 172(71) as shown in Figure 9) through which a pair of support wires (wires that go through holes 171 and 172 as shown in Figure 9), respectively, pass, the pair of support wires transmitting driving forces for turning a support (45) of the forceps device that holds the grasping part (Paragraph 0089) but fails to disclose for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between each of the pair of support-wire holes and a grasping portion wire hole among the plurality of grasping portion wire holes that is closest to the support wire hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Betsugi discloses a pair of arms (46a, 46b) extending from the partition part toward the grasping part (Figure 7), wherein the pair of arms each have a fitting hole (holes of 46a and 46b where pin of R4 is positioned as shown in Figures 7 and 14), and respective ends of a support shaft (pin of R4) of the forceps device that rotatably supports a pair of guide pulleys (55, 56) of the forceps device being fitted into the fitting holes (Figures 7 and 14).
Regarding claim 14, Betsugi discloses the invention above except for when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first hole and the second hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first hole and the second hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part being viewed in a vertical direction, an angle at a center of the partition part between the first hole and the second hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 15, wherein: the base member includes a sealing member (47c), and the sealing member has a plurality of sealing holes (72) at positions corresponding to the plurality of holes (clearly shown in Figure 9).
Regarding claim 18, Betsugi further discloses wherein the sealing member is a silicone resin film (Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 20, Betsugi discloses a first support wire and a second support wire (wires that go through holes 171(71) and 172(71) as shown in Figure 9) that transmit driving forces to turn the support (Paragraph 0089), wherein the partition part has a first support hole and a second support hole (holes of 47a that are aligned with holes 171(71), 172(71)) through which the first support wire and the second support wire, respectively, pass (Paragraph 0089), but fails to disclose when the partition part is viewed in a vertical direction, with respect to a center of the partition part, an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole is equal to or larger than 30°, and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole is equal to or larger than 30°.
Since Betsugi clearly shows in Figure 9 that there is an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole when viewed in a vertical direction at the center of the partition part but does not explicitly disclose the exact angle measurement, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Betsugi to have the partition part to be viewed in a vertical direction, with respect to a center of the partition part, an angle between the first support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the first support hole to be equal to or larger than 30°, and an angle between the second support hole and a closest one of the plurality of holes to the second support hole to be equal to or larger than 30° since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative angle of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative angle would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record of Betsugi (PCT/JP2019/031064) fails to disclose wherein the plurality of sealing holes each have a diameter that is smaller than a diameter of a corresponding one of the plurality of grasping-portion-wire holes and smaller than a diameter of a corresponding one of the plurality of grasping-portion wires (claims 4 and 16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771