DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the compound shown below wherein m is 1, in the reply filed on 06/04/2025 is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/04/2025.
A search of the prior art did not identify this material. As no claims are drawn to this species alone, the search was broadened in order to identify an examinable species supported by the instant claims and/or specification. By way of amendment, the previously identified examinable has been canceled and therefore a new examinable species was identified as follows: a compound of formula II wherein n is 1, R1 is a dibenzofuran and R2 to R6 are each phenyl.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 16, 22-25, 28-30 and 32-33 are drawn to the elected species with claims 4, 7, 10, 17, 34 and 35 withdrawn as being drawn to an unexamined species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 16, 18, 22, 23, 25, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al (JP 2003109759) (Hasegawa) in view of Okida et al (JP 2005281563) (Okida).
It is noted that when utilizing JP 2003109759 and JP 2005281563, the disclosures of the reference are based on the machine translation made of record because the references are published in the Japanese language. The machine translation may have been paraphrased in attempt to correct obvious mistranslation and syntax errors.
In reference to claim 1, 6, 9, 16, 18 and 30, Hasegawa teaches a compound of formula 1 as shown below,
for example wherein in the formula (1), n is 4 (Hasegawa [0008]), each Ark is a phenyl group, one Ark’ is a heteroaryl group and each other Ark’ is a phenyl group (Hasegawa [0014]-[0016]).
Hasegawa discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula (1), n is 4, each Ark is a phenyl group, one Ark’ is a heteroaryl group and each other Ark’ is a phenyl group. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Hasegawa are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formulas (1) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Hasegawa and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hasegawa does not expressly state that the heterocyclic group of Ak’ is, e.g. a benzofurans or dibenzofuran as instantly claimed but teaches that it has a total of 5 to 14 carbon atoms and heteroatoms, is preferably an aromatic heterocyclic group containing at least one of a nitrogen atom, an oxygen atom and a sulfur atom and gives examples including furyl, thienyl, indolyl carbazolyl, ‘and the like’ (Hasegawa [0017]). The ordinarily skilled artisan would immediately recognize dibenzofuran or dibenzothiophene to be an aromatic heterocyclic group containing a total of 5 to 14 carbon atoms and heteroatoms that meet the teaching of furyl, thienyl, carbazolyl and the like.
Furthermore, with respect to the difference, Okida teaches in analogous art arylsilane materials comprising disilyl bonds that are substituted with aryl or heteroaryl groups for use in organic electronics such as electroluminescent devices and exemplifies heteroaryl groups including many of the groups exemplified by Hasegawa and further including benzofuran, dibenzofuran, benzothiophene and dibenzothiophene (Okida [7]-[9]; [16]). It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan before the filing of the instant application to have selected dibenzofuran as the heteroaryl group for use in the material of Hasegawa in the absence of unexpected results from such a selection.
That is, the substitution of the dibenzofuran of Okida for the furyl, thienyl, carbazolyl and the like of Hasegawa, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of preparing a material for an organic electroluminescent device. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
For Claim 1: Reads on formula II wherein n is 1, one of R1 to R8 is dibenzofuran and the rest is phenyl.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein R1 to R8 are each aryl or heteroaryl.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein one of R1 to R8 is
wherein X is O and each other is
.
For Claim 16: Reads on
wherein X is O.
For Claim 30: Reads on a formulation comprising the compound of formula II wherein n is 1, one of R1 to R8 is dibenzofuran and the rest is phenyl.
For Claim 32: Reads on heteroaryl and aryl.
For Claim 33: Reads on dibenzofuran.
In reference to claim 22, Hasegawa in view of Okida teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the compound is included in an organic electroluminescent device having an organic light emitting layer and an organic carrier transporting layer between a cathode and an anode wherein one of the organic layers comprises the compound (Hasegawa [0007]). Hasegawa does not describe a discrete device example comprising this exact material.
However, given that Hasegawa discloses the device that encompasses the presently claimed device, including an anode, a cathode, and an organic light emitting layer and an organic carrier transporting layer between a cathode and an anode wherein one of the organic layers comprises the compound, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hasegawa and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 22: Reads on the claimed device structure comprising a compound of formula II wherein n is 1, one of R1 to R8 is dibenzofuran and the rest is phenyl.
In reference to Claim 23, Hasegawa in view of Okida teaches the device as described above for claim 22 and further teaches that the material of formula (1) is used in the light emitting layer as a conductive compound in combination with another emitting material (Hasegawa [0027]). Hasegawa does not describe a discrete device example comprising this exact material.
However, given that Hasegawa discloses the that encompasses the presently claimed device, including wherein the compound of formula (1) is used in the light emitting material as a conductive compound in combination with another emitting material, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device structure, which is both disclosed by Hasegawa and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hasegawa does not expressly state that the material is used as a host. However, given the description of Hasegawa it is clear that the ‘conductive compound’ is capable of functioning as such and recitation of a specific name for the materials role does not distinguish the device structure. Furthermore, the claimed and prior art device structures are identical. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
In reference to claim 25, Hasegawa in view of Okida teaches the device as described above for claim 22 including wherein the compound of formula (1) is included in an organic carrier transporting layer.
Reads on wherein the layer is a transporting layer that includes the compound.
In reference to claim 28, Hasegawa in view of Okida teaches the device as described above for claim 22 including wherein the compound of formula (1) is included in an organic light emitting layer.
While Hasegawa does not expressly state that the compound is a delayed fluorescent emitter, the compound is identical in structure to the instantly claimed compound. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa in view of Okida and further in view of Miura et al (JP 2013048190) (Miura).
In reference to claims 24, Hasegawa in view of Okida teaches devices for example as described above for claim 23 comprising another material in the light emission material that emits light.
Hasegawa in view of Okida does not expressly teach that the material is a transition metal complex as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Miura teaches a phosphorescent dopant for use in an organic light emitting device for example the compound D-1 (Miura [0046]) as shown below and further teaches that the use of this compound as a dopant in the light emitting layer of a device improves luminous efficiency and device lifetime (Miura [0018].
In light of the motivation of using the light emitting dopant D-1 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the dopant D-1 as described by Miura in the light emitting layer of the device of Hasegawa in view of Okida in order to improve luminous efficiency and device lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 24: Reads on an iridium complex comprising a ligand
wherein each of X1 to X11 is a carbon, Rb represents tri substitution and is alkyl or a combination of aryl and alkyl groups.
In reference to claim 29, Hasegawa in view of Okida and Miura teaches a device as described above for claim 24 and further teaches that such OLED devices are useful in various consumer products including large screen displays and lighting etc. (Miura [0104]). Hasegawa in view of Okida and Miura does not exemplify such a device.
However, given that Hasegawa in view of Okida and Miura discloses the device that encompasses the presently claimed device, including wherein it is employed as a consumer product including a large screen display or lighting product, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device type, which is both disclosed by Hasegawa in view of Miura and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786