DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 16-17, 22-25, 28-30, and 32-35 remain ending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the compound shown below wherein m is 1, in the reply filed on 06/04/2025 is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/04/2025.
A search of the prior art did not identify this material. As no claims are drawn to this species alone, the search was broadened in order to identify an examinable species supported by the instant claims and/or specification. By way of amendment, the previously identified examinable has been canceled and therefore a new examinable species was identified as follows: a compound of formula I wherein m is 0, R1 and R5 are each a carbazole, and R2 to R4 and R6 are each methyl.
Claims 1, 22-25, 29-30, 32-33, and 35 are drawn to the elected species with claims 4, 6-7, 9-10, 16-17, 28, and 34 withdrawn as being drawn to an unexamined species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 22-23, 25, 30, 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al (US 2003/0091863) (Hasegawa).
In reference to claims 1, 30, 32-33 and 35, Hasegawa teaches the compound (2) as shown below that reads on the instant claims [0019].
For Claim 1: Reads on a compound of Formula I wherein m is 0, R1 is carbazole, R2, R3, R4 and R6 are each methyl and R5 is carbazole.
For Claim 30: The compound meets the requirements of a formulation.
For Claim 32: Reads on heteroaryl and alkyl.
For Claim 33: Reads on carbazole.
For Claim 35: Reads on carbazole.
In reference to claim 22, Hasegawa teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer comprising the compound (2) [0073] as shown above for claim 1.
In reference to claim 23, Hasegawa teaches the device as described above for claim 22. Hasegawa does not expressly state that the layer is an emissive layer or that the compound is a host in the layer. However, the device still meets all structural limitations of the claim. Recitation of a different name for an identical material or layer does not differentiate the claimed device from that of the prior art.
In reference to claim 25, Hasegawa teaches the device as described above for claim 22. Hasegawa does not expressly state that the layer is a transporting layer or that the compound is a transporting material in the layer. However, the device still meets all structural limitations of the claim. Recitation of a different name for an identical material or layer does not differentiate the claimed device from that of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa and further in view of Miura et al (JP 2013048190) (Miura).
In reference to claim 24, Hasegawa teaches the compound (2) as shown below and further teaches that this compound is used in an organic electroluminescent device including a luminous layer and one or more organic carrier transportation layers between a cathode and an anode wherein the carrier transportation layer contains the compound (Hasegawa [0048]; [0051])
Hasegawa does not expressly teach that the organic luminescent layer comprises a material as claimed.
With respect to the difference, Miura teaches a phosphorescent dopant for use in an organic light emitting device for example the compound D-1 (Miura [0046]) as shown below and further teaches that the use of this compound as a dopant in the light emitting layer of a device improves luminous efficiency and device lifetime (Miura [0018].
In light of the motivation of using the light emitting dopant D-1 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the dopant D-1 as described by Miura in the light emitting layer of the device of Hasegawa in order to improve luminous efficiency and device lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 24: Reads on an iridium complex comprising a ligand
wherein each of X1 to X11 is a carbon, Rb represents tri substitution and is alkyl or a combination of aryl and alkyl groups.
In reference to claim 29, Hasegawa in view of Miura teaches a device as described above for claim 24 and further teaches that such OLED devices are useful in various consumer products including large screen displays and lighting etc. (Miura [0104]). Hasegawa in view of Miura does not exemplify such a device.
However, given that Hasegawa in view of Miura discloses the device that encompasses the presently claimed device, including wherein it is employed as a consumer product including a large screen display or lighting product, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device type, which is both disclosed by Hasegawa in view of Miura and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786