DETAILED ACTION
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1, 9 and 16, which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 and similarly claims 9 and 16 recites “determine the grid connection is in an active state and a current provided by the grid connection to the charger does not meet a minimum threshold current level or the current exceeds a maximum threshold current level above a threshold active range; responsive to the determination, determine to switch from charging the electric vehicle using the power received from the grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using a power supply” is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter.
The specification supports:
“[0025] The power supply 150 can provide the high voltage 185 to the charger 110 based on power received from the power grid 120. However, responsive to the power grid 120 being down, the power grid 120 being turned off, the power grid 120 being disconnected, the power grid 120 entering a fault state, the power grid 120 providing a voltage to the power supply 150 that is less than a level, the power grid 120 providing a current to the power supply 150 that is less than a level, or the power grid 120 providing a current to the power supply 150 that is greater than a level, the power supply 150 can cause the battery 190 to provide power to the charger 110….The power system 105 or a fuse box can include one or multiple fuses or disconnects that couple with the power grid 120 and disconnect the power system 105 or the power supply 150 from the power grid 120 responsive to a current provided by the power grid 120 exceeding a level”.
The specification does not support switching from charging the electric vehicle using the power received from the grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using a power supply in response to “a current provided by the grid connection to the charger” not meeting a minimum threshold current level or exceeding a maximum threshold.
Claim 1 and similarly claims 9 and 16 also recites “cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices” is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter.
The specification does not support power from the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection for charging one or more devices.
Claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are included in this rejection based on their dependence on claims 1, 9 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,2,6-10, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 20180170201) in view of Chu (US20170063105) evident by Suman (US 20160181863) in view of Perez (US 20180358839).
As to claim 1, Miller discloses a system (Fig. 2), comprising:
a controller (Fig. 2 controller 40) to:
cause power received from a grid connection (Fig. 5, connection where battery bank 36 connect as seen in Fig. 5 identified as “grid connection”) to be provided to a charger to charge an electric vehicle (Fig. 5-6 and [0054] ..the charging station 38 (Fig. 2) include a DC circuit 60 (Fig. 5-6) and may be of the type designed to receive 480 V AC input from the external power source 35. .... [0056] a power cord 74 of the charging station 38, which typically receives the 3-phase AC power from the external power source 35. [0041]...the external power source 35 includes a grid power source);
cause the power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank with inverter 37 connected to external power source 35 which is a grid [0041].The DC output 70 of the battery bank 36 is connected to a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 [0056] ) comprising an output to provide a voltage signal to the charger (Fig.2, Charging station 38) to charge the electric vehicle ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 is selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12. The voltage signal at the charging station 38 identified as “voltage signal”).
Miller does not disclose/teach the controller to: receive a signal from the charger that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger, wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply.
Chu teaches a controller (Fig. 1 first transmission module/charging controller 100 [0035]) receive a signal (charging information) from a charger (Power receiving device 20 identified as “charger”) that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger (Fig.1 The power receiving device 20,via the second transmission module 202, transmits charging information associated with the current passing through and the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit 200 to its first transmission module 100. [0009] lines 12-19, [0012],[0022],[0037] lines 7-13 and 19-23, and [0050]-[0052] Fig. 4 S2a-S2c). Charging information identified as “the signal that indicates a voltage drop”), wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply ([0037] of Chu where the voltage received and detected at the battery charging circuit 200 is less than the voltage at the output of the charging device 10 “… enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miller to include the controller to: receive a signal from the charger that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger, wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Miller further does not disclose/teach the battery’s output coupled to a boost module nor discloses the controller to: operate the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop.
Chu further teaches a power source output coupled to a boost module (interpreted as the battery output “electrically coupled to a boost module”. control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted [0037]. As such there is a boost module that is boosting the voltage of a power source and therefore the output of the power source is electrically coupled to the boost module).
Chu further teaches a controller to operate the boost module to increase the voltage level output by a power supply to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop (After the first transmission module 100 receives the actual information associated with the current and voltage (Fig. 4 S2e and [0052]), control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage level), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the voltage level output by the power source is boosted).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery’s output to be coupled to a boost module and modify the controller of Miller to operate the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Miller does not disclose/teach determine the grid connection is in an active state and a current provided by the grid connection to the charger does not meet a minimum threshold current level or the current exceeds a maximum threshold current level above a threshold active range; responsive to the determination, determine to switch from charging the electric vehicle using the power received from the grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using a power supply.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to switch from charging Millers electric vehicle using the power received from Millers grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using Millers power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank) when the grid’s current does not meet a minimum threshold or exceeds a maximum threshold in order to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage.
The concept of switching from the grid power to a backup power source like a battery when grid power is still available for the above reason is evident in Suman. Suman teaches in ([0071] and Fig. 1) a spoke system includes battery back-up. For example, one or more devices, circuits, locales, dwellings, businesses, communities, etc., may have battery backup. In [0074]-[0075] Suman further teaches cutting off the power from the grid or mains and operating on battery power (or on other backup power) and teaches ([0098]) an appliance, device, etc., may be switched to battery power even if there is still available grid power. The switch may be performed as a precaution to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage, etc.
Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman does not teach cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices.
Perez teaches cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection ([0014] electric vehicle to grid/micro-grid energy supply, where in the event of a utility failure or when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity, the energy from the vehicle batteries can be directed to the grid) to charge one or more devices (Examiner takes official notice that power provided from the grid is used to charge other device in the home or a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miller to cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices in order to prevent disruption of use when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity .
As to claim 2, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Perez teaches the system of claim 1, comprising:
the boost module configured to boost the voltage level output by the
power supply to the second voltage level (element that boosts the output voltage of the power source in control circuit 101 of Chu [0035] [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e of Chu. Miller teaches the output of a battery bank in Fig. 2 ); and
the controller (first transmission module 100) to operate the boost module to boost the first voltage output by the power supply (first transmission module 100 adjusts an output voltage value outputted from the output voltage control circuit 101 by the first transmission module 100. The adjustment mentioned means that the first transmission module 100 transmits the information associated with the received voltage to the software program of the charging device 10 for adjusting or boosting the output voltage [0009] lines 5-8 and [0035]).
As to claim 6, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a power supply (Battery bank 36) comprising; the boost module to boost the voltage level output by the battery to the second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop (element that boosts the output voltage of the power source in control circuit 101 of Chu [0035] [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e of Chu. Miller teaches the output of a battery bank in Fig. 2).
Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman does not disclose/teach the power supply to discharge responsive to a determination that a voltage of a power grid is less than a level.
However it would be obvious to one of modify the power supply of Miller to include a power supply to discharge responsive to a determination that a voltage of a power grid is less than a level in order to allow Miller’s system to maintain operation in the event of a power outage from the grid.
As to claim 7, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a plurality of dispensers (Fig. 4 of Miller charging stations 3) coupled with the power supply (Fig. 4 and [0016] of Miller battery bank 36 ).
Miller does not clearly disclose wherein a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers includes: a sensor to detect the voltage signal received from the power supply nor discloses a second controller to transmit the signal to the controller, the signal indicates that the voltage signal received by the dispenser from the power supply is less than a level; and the controller to: operate the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply.
Chu teaches a sensor (Sensing module 201) to detect the voltage received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device) and a second controller (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) to transmit the signal to the controller (The first transmission module 100 [0052] S2c… transmitting the charging information … to the first transmission module by the second transmission module), the signal (charging information) indicates that the voltage (charging voltage) received by the charger from the power supply is less than a level ([0050]-[0052] charging information is associated with the current and the charging voltage. … after transmitting the charging information to the first transmission module 100, control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the charging voltage [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the charging information indicates that charging voltage is less than a level); and the controller to: operate the power supply to increase the voltage level output by the power source (Fig.1 The first transmission module 100 adjusts an output voltage value outputted from the output voltage control circuit 101..”. The adjustment means that the first transmission module 100 transmits the information for adjusting or boosting the output voltage (i.e. second voltage. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor to detect the voltage received from the power supply and the second controller to transmit the signal to the controller, the signal indicates that the voltage received by the dispenser from the battery is less than a level; and the controller to: operate the power supply to increase the first voltage output by the battery to the dispenser so that the receiving device/charger can receive the maximum output current thereby shortening the charging period, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
As to claim 8, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: the charger (Fig. 4 charging stations 3) to charge a battery of the electric vehicle (Fig. 2 vehicle 12) based on the second voltage output by the power supply ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 may be selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12.[0036] The charging port 32 is adapted to selectively receive power from the charging station, such as from a power cable connected to the charging station, and then distribute the power to the battery pack 24 for charging the energy storage devices).
As to claim 9, Miller discloses a method, comprising:
causing, by a controller (controller 40), power received from a grid connection to be provided to a charger to charge an electric vehicle ( Fig. 5-6 [0054] ..the charging station 38 may be of the type designed to receive 480 V AC input from the external power source 35. .... [0056] a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 (fig. 2) , which typically receives the 3-phase AC power from the external power source 35. [0041]...the external power source 35 includes a grid power source);
causing, by the controller, the power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank with inverter 37 connected to external power source 35 which is a grid [0041].The DC output 70 of the battery bank 36 is connected to a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 [0056] ), to provide a voltage signal to the charger Fig.2, Charging station 38) to charge the electric vehicle ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 may be selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12. The voltage signal at the charging station 38 identified as “voltage signal”).
Miller does not disclose receiving, by the controller, a signal from the charger that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger, wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply
Chu teaches receiving, by the controller (Fig. 1 first transmission module/charging controller 100 [0035]), receive a signal (charging information) from a charger (Power receiving device 20 identified as “charger”) that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger(Fig.1 The power receiving device 20,via the second transmission module 202, transmits charging information associated with the current passing through and the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit 200 to its first transmission module 100. [0009] lines 12-19, [0012],[0022],[0037] lines 7-13 and 19-23, and [0050]-[0052] Fig. 4 S2a-S2c). Charging information identified as “the signal that indicates a voltage drop”), wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply ([0037] of Chu where the voltage received and detected at the battery charging circuit 200 is less than the voltage at the output of the charging device 10 “… enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Miller to include receiving, by the controller, a signal from the charger that indicates a voltage drop in the voltage signal detected by the charger, wherein the voltage signal detected by the charger is at a voltage level less than a voltage level output by the power supply, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Miller does not disclose the power supply’s output coupled to a boost module nor discloses and operating, by the controller, the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop.
Chu further teaches a power source output coupled to a boost module (interpreted as the battery output “electrically coupled to a boost module”. control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted [0037]. As such there is a boost module that is boosting the voltage of a power source and therefore output of the power source is electrically coupled to the boost module) and teaches and operating, by the controller, the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power source to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop (After the first transmission module 100 receives the actual information associated with the current and voltage (Fig. 4 S2e and [0052]), control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage level), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the voltage level output by the power source is boosted).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply’s output to be coupled to a boost module and modify the method of Miller to include operating, by the controller, the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply to a second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Miller does not disclose/teach determine the grid connection is in an active state and a current provided by the grid connection to the charger does not meet a minimum threshold current level or the current exceeds a maximum threshold current level above a threshold active range; responsive to the determination, determine to switch from charging the electric vehicle using the power received from the grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using a power supply.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to switch from charging Millers electric vehicle using the power received from Millers grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using Millers power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank) when the grid’s current does not meet a minimum threshold or exceeds a maximum threshold in order to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage.
The concept of switching from the grid power to a backup power source like a battery when grid power is still available for the above reason is evident in Suman. Suman teaches in ([0071] and Fig. 1) a spoke system includes battery back-up. For example, one or more devices, circuits, locales, dwellings, businesses, communities, etc., may have battery backup. In [0074]-[0075] Suman further teaches cutting off the power from the grid or mains and operating on battery power (or on other backup power) and teaches ([0098]) an appliance, device, etc., may be switched to battery power even if there is still available grid power. The switch may be performed as a precaution to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage, etc.
Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman does not teach causing, by the controller, power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices.
Perez teaches causing, by the controller, power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection ([0014] electric vehicle to grid/micro-grid energy supply, where in the event of a utility failure or when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity, the energy from the vehicle batteries can be directed to the grid) to charge one or more devices (Examiner takes official notice that power provided from the grid is used to charge other device in the home or a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miller to cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices in order to prevent disruption of use when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity As to claim 10, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches method of claim 9, comprising:
providing, by the controller, a signal to cause the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply ([0009] lines 5-8 and [0035] of Chu); and
boosting, by the boost module, the voltage level output by the power supply to the second voltage level responsive to the signal of the controller (“first transmission module 100 adjusts an output voltage value … adjustment mentioned means that the first transmission module 100 transmits the information associated with the received voltage to the software program of the charging device 10 for adjusting or boosting the output voltage [0009] lines 5-8 and [0035] of Chu).
As to claim 14, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Perez teaches the method of claim 9, comprising; and boosting, by the boost module, the voltage level output by the power supply to the second voltage level responsive to the signal that indicates the voltage drop (element that boosts the output voltage of the power source in control circuit 101 of Chu [0035] [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e of Chu. Miller teaches the output of a battery bank in Fig. 2).
Miller in view of Chu does not disclose/teach discharging, by the power supply, to output the voltage level to the charger responsive to a determination that a voltage of a power grid is less than a level.
However it would be obvious to one of modify the method of Miller to include discharging, by the battery of a power supply, to output the voltage level to the charger responsive to a determination that a voltage of a power grid is less than a level in order to allow Miller’s system to maintain operation in the event of a power outage from the grid.
As to claim 15, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Perez teaches the method of claim 9, comprising: providing, by the power supply (Fig. 4 and [0016] of Miller battery bank 36) , the voltage signal to a plurality of dispensers ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 may be selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12. Fig. 4 of Miller plurality of charging stations 3. The voltage signal at the charging station 38 identified as “voltage signal”).
Miller does not clearly disclose detecting, by a sensor of a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers a voltage received from the power supply nor discloses transmitting, by a second controller of the charger, the signal to the controller indicating that the voltage the dispenser received from the power supply is less than a level; and operating, by the controller, the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply to the dispenser.
Chu teaches detecting, by a sensor of a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers a voltage received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device) and transmitting, by a second controller of the charger (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202), the signal to the controller (The first transmission module 100 [0052] S2c… transmitting the charging information … to the first transmission module by the second transmission module), indicating that the voltage (charging voltage) the charger received from the power supply is less than a level ([0050]-[0052] charging information is associated with the current and the charging voltage. … after transmitting the charging information to the first transmission module 100, control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the charging voltage [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the charging information indicates that charging voltage is less than a level); and operating, by the controller, the power supply to increase the voltage level output by the power source to the charging device (Fig.1 The first transmission module 100 adjusts an output voltage value outputted from the output voltage control circuit 101..”. The adjustment means that the first transmission module 100 transmits the information for adjusting or boosting the output voltage (i.e. second voltage. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Miller include detecting, by a sensor of a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers a voltage received from the power supply nor discloses transmitting, by a second controller of the charger, the signal to the controller indicating that the voltage the dispenser received from the power supply is less than a level; and operating, by the controller, in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Claims 3-5,11-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 20180170201) in view of Chu (US20170063105) evident by Suman (US 20160181863) in view of Perez (US 20180358839) in view of Shiu (US20160329730).
As to claim 3, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Perez teaches the system of claim 1, comprising:
the charger (Power receiving device 20 of Chu), comprising:
a second controller (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202 of Chu) to:
detect the voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) in the voltage signal ([0055] of Chu the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmit the signal to cause the boost module to increase the voltage level output by the power supply (The power receiving device 20,via the second transmission module 202, transmits charging information associated with the current passing through the battery charging circuit 200 and the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit to its first transmission module 100 to boost the charging voltage of the power source outputted to the power receiving device. [0009] lines 12-19, [0012],[0022],[0037] lines 7-13 and 19-23, and [0050]-[0054] Fig. 4 S2a-S2e).Charging information identified as “the signal that indicates a voltage drop”. Miller teaches the power source to the charging station can be a battery. Fig. 2).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to the controller responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 4, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the system of claim 1, comprising:
the controller (Fig. 1 of Chu first transmission module 100 [0035]), wherein the controller is coupled to a communication bus ([0037] and Fig. 1 of Chu The second transmission module 202 and the first transmission module 100 are connected to each other through a communication channel 501);
the charger comprising a second controller, (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) the second controller to:
couple to the communication bus ([0037] and Fig. 1 of Chu communication channel 501);
detect the voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) in the voltage signal ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmit the signal to the controller via the communication bus ([0052] Step S2c of Chu: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module through the communication channel of the transmission cable).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 5, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the system of claim 1, comprising:
the charger comprising:
a sensor to (Sensing module 201 of Chu):
measure the voltage signal received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device. Fig. 2 of Miller teaches a power supply that includes a battery bank 36, Fig. 2); and
provide a second signal to a second controller of the charger (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) based on the measured voltage signal ([0050]- [0052] …Step S2a: ..detecting the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device; Step S2b: transmitting charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the second transmission module of the power receiving device by the monitoring program);
and the second controller to:
determine that the second signal indicates the voltage drop ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmit the signal to the controller via the communication bus ([0052] Step S2c: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 11, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the method of claim 9, comprising:
detecting, by a second controller of the charger (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202), the voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) in the voltage signal ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmitting, by the second controller, the signal to cause the boost to increase the voltage level output by the power supply (The power receiving device 20,via the second transmission module 202, transmits charging information associated with the current passing through the battery charging circuit 200 and the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit to its first transmission module 100 to boost the charging voltage outputted to the power receiving device. [0009] lines 12-19, [0012],[0022],[0037] lines 7-13 and 19-23, and [0050]-[0054] Fig. 4 S2a-S2e)..Charging information identified as “the signal that indicates a voltage drop”).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 12, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the method of claim 9, comprising:
coupling the controller to a communication bus ([0037] and Fig. 1 The second transmission module 202 and the first transmission module 100 are connected to each other through a communication channel 501);
coupling a second controller (second transmission module 202) of the charger to the communication bus ([0037] and Fig. 1 communication channel 501);
detecting, by the second controller, the voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) in the voltage level ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmitting, by the second controller, the signal to the controller via the communication bus ([0052] Step S2c: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module through the communication channel of the transmission cable).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source to responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to the controller via the communication bus responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 13, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman teaches the method of claim 9, comprising: measuring, by a sensor of the charger (Sensing module 201 pf Chu), the voltage signal received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device);
providing, by the sensor, a second signal to a second controller of the charger (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) based on the measured voltage signal ([0050]- [0052] …Step S2a- S2b: transmitting charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the second transmission module of the power receiving device by the monitoring program of the power receiving device);
determining, by the second controller, that the second signal indicates the voltage drop ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmitting, by the second controller, the signal to the controller ([0052] Step S2c: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to the controller responsive to a determination that the second signal indicates the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal responsive to the controller responsive to a determination that the second signal indicates the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal transmitted to the controller responsive to a determination that the second signal indicates the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 16, Miller discloses a system, comprising:
a first controller (controller 40) to:
cause power received from a grid connection to be provided to a charger to charge an electric vehicle ( Fig. 5-6 [0054] ..the charging station 38 may be of the type designed to receive 480 V AC input from the external power source 35. .... [0056] a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 (fig. 2) , which typically receives the 3-phase AC power from the external power source 35. [0041]...the external power source 35 includes a grid power source);
cause the battery disposed at the grid connection (Fig. 2,Battery bank with inverter 37 connected to external power source 35 which is a grid [0041].The DC output 70 of the battery bank 36 is connected to a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 [0056] ) and comprising an output to provide a voltage signal to the charger (Fig.2, Charging station 38) to charge the electric vehicle ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 is selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12. The voltage signal at the charging station 38 identified as “voltage signal”).
a voltage received by the charger (Fig.2, Charging station 38) from a power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank with inverter 37 connected to external power source 35 which is a grid [0041].The DC output 70 of the battery bank 36 is connected to a power cord 74 of the charging station 38 [0056])
Miller does not disclose the power supply’s output coupled to a boost module nor discloses a second controller to: detect a voltage drop in the voltage received by the charger from the power supply; and transmit a signal to the first controller to cause the boost module coupled with an output of the power supply to increase the first voltage output by the power supply to a second voltage responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Chu teaches a power source output coupled to a boost module (interpreted as the battery output “electrically coupled to a boost module”. control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted [0037]. As such there is a boost module that is boosting the voltage of a power source and therefore the output of the power source is electrically coupled to the boost module).
Chu further teaches a second controller (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) to: detect a voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) in a voltage received by a charger from a power source in a power supply ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and transmit a signal (Charging information ) to the first controller (the first transmission module 100) to operate a boost module coupled with an output of a power source in the power supply to increase a first voltage output by the power supply to a second voltage (After the first transmission module 100 receives the actual information associated with the current and voltage (Fig. 4 S2cS2e and [0052]), control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage level), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the voltage level output by the power source is boosted).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miller to comprise the power supply’s output coupled to a boost module, a second controller to: detect a voltage drop in the voltage received by the charger from the power supply; and transmit a signal to the first controller to cause the boost module coupled with an output of the power supply to increase the first voltage output by the power supply to a second voltage responsive to a detection of the voltage drop in order to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the power cord/transmission cable between the Millers battery and the charging station ([0037] of Chu).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal to cause the power supply to increase the second voltage output by the power supply responsive to a detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
Miller does not disclose the power supply having a battery and thus does not disclose the voltage received by the charger is from the battery of the power supply
However it would be obvious to one of modify Miller’s power supply to include a battery and the voltage received by the charger is from said battery of the power supply, in order to allow Miller’s system to maintain operation in the event of a power outage from the grid.
Miller does not disclose/teach determine the grid connection is in an active state and a current provided by the grid connection to the charger does not meet a minimum threshold current level or the current exceeds a maximum threshold current level above a threshold active range; responsive to the determination, determine to switch from charging the electric vehicle using the power received from the grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using a power supply.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to switch from charging Millers electric vehicle using the power received from Millers grid connection to charging the electric vehicle using Millers power supply (Fig. 2,Battery bank) when the grid’s current does not meet a minimum threshold or exceeds a maximum threshold in order to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage.
The concept of switching from the grid power to a backup power source like a battery when grid power is still available for the above reason is evident in Suman. Suman teaches in ([0071] and Fig. 1) a spoke system includes battery back-up. For example, one or more devices, circuits, locales, dwellings, businesses, communities, etc., may have battery backup. In [0074]-[0075] Suman further teaches cutting off the power from the grid or mains and operating on battery power (or on other backup power) and teaches ([0098]) an appliance, device, etc., may be switched to battery power even if there is still available grid power. The switch may be performed as a precaution to improve grid health, reduce the chances for a power outage, etc.
Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman does not teach cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices.
Perez teaches cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection ([0014] electric vehicle to grid/micro-grid energy supply, where in the event of a utility failure or when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity, the energy from the vehicle batteries can be directed to the grid to charge one or more devices (Examiner takes official notice that power provided from the grid is used to charge other device in the home or a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miller to cause power received from at least one of the electric vehicle or the charger to be provided to the grid connection to charge one or more devices in order to prevent disruption of use when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity
As to claim 17, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Shiu teaches the system of claim 16, comprising:
a sensor (Sensing module 201): to:
measure the voltage received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device); and
provide a second signal to the second controller based on the measured voltage ([0050]- [0052] …Step S2a-Step S2b: transmitting charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the second transmission module of the power receiving device by the monitoring program of the power receiving device); and
the second controller to transmit the signal to the first controller (first transmission module 100) responsive to a reception of the second signal from the sensor ([0052] Step S2c: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module), the first controller to operate the boost module to increase the first voltage output by the power supply (Fig.1 and [0035] “The first transmission module 100 may be a control chip or circuit which adjusts an output voltage value outputted from the output voltage control circuit 101..” See also [0009] lines 1-8, [0015],[0019] lines 22-28. The adjustment mentioned means that the first transmission module 100 transmits the information associated with the received voltage to the software program of the charging device 10 for adjusting or boosting the output voltage [0035]. After the first transmission module 100 receives the actual information associated with the current, control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted, enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the voltage resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable 50. [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e).
As to claim 18, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Shiu teaches the system of claim 16, comprising:
the second controller (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) to:
couple to a communication bus ([0037] and Fig. 1 communication channel 501);
detect the voltage drop (e.g. “loss”) ([0055] the power receiving device compares the voltage value with the variation of the original charging voltage to obtain the loss resulted from the impedance of the transmission cable); and
transmit the signal to the first controller via the communication bus ([0052] Step S2c: transmitting the charging information associated with the current and the voltage to the first transmission module by the second transmission module through the communication channel of the transmission cable).
Chu is not clear if the signal was transmitted via the communication bus responsive to a the detection of the voltage drop.
Shiu teaches transmitting a signal indicative of a voltage to a power source responsive to a detection of the voltage drop ([0041] the charging control circuit 160 is arranged to dynamically estimate the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 based on the sensing result in respect of the signal on the power input path (e.g., signal Vin, Iin, VB, and/or IB). Then the charging control circuit 160 may further instruct the power converting circuit 211 to adjust the magnitude of the DC voltage signal Vdc and the DC current signal Idc based on the voltage drop estimation, so as to control the voltage drop of the charging cable 130 to be less than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second controller of Chu to transmit the signal via the communication bus responsive to a second detection of the voltage drop, in order to offer the user replacement flexibility of the charging cable 130 while maintaining the safety during the charging process ([0041] of Shiu).
As to claim 19, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Shiu teaches the system of claim 16, comprising: a component to charge a battery of an electric vehicle (Fig. 4 charging stations 3. Fig. 2 vehicle 12) based on the second voltage output by the power supply ([0046] A DC power output from the battery bank 36 may be selectively supplied to the charging station 38 over a DC bus 45 for subsequent delivery to the electrified vehicle 12.[0036] The charging port 32 is adapted to selectively receive power from the charging station, such as from a power cable connected to the charging station, and then distribute the power to the battery pack 24 for charging the energy storage devices).
As to claim 20, Miller in view of Chu evident by Suman in view of Shiu teaches the system of claim 16, comprising: comprising: a plurality of dispensers (Fig. 4 of Miller charging stations 3) coupled with the power supply to receive the voltage from the power supply (Fig. 4 and [0016] of Miller battery bank 36 ).
Miller does not clearly disclose wherein a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers includes: a sensor to detect the voltage received from the power supply nor discloses a third controller to transmit the signal to the power supply, the signal indicates that the voltage received by the dispenser from the power supply is less than a level.
Chu teaches a sensor (Sensing module 201) to detect the voltage received from the power supply ([0050] detecting …the voltage inputted to the battery charging circuit by the sensing module of the power receiving device) and a controller (monitoring program 203, element in the power receiving device that determines the loss and second transmission module 202) to transmit the signal to the power supply (The first transmission module 100 [0052] S2c… transmitting the charging information … to the first transmission module by the second transmission module), the signal (charging information) indicates that the voltage (charging voltage) received by the charger from the power supply is less than a level ([0050]-[0052] charging information is associated with the current and the charging voltage. … after transmitting the charging information to the first transmission module 100, control circuit 101 charging voltage is gradually boosted (i.e. second voltage), enabling the boosted voltage to compensate the loss of the charging voltage [0037] lines 28-37 and [0054]-[0055], Fig. 4 S2e. As such the charging information indicates that charging voltage is less than a level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Miller to include wherein a dispenser of the plurality of dispensers includes: a sensor to detect the voltage received from the battery; a third controller to transmit the signal to the power supply, the signal indicates that the voltage received by the dispenser from the power supply is less than a level, so that the receiving device/charger can receive the maximum output current thereby shortening the charging period, and so that the charging voltage is automatically adjusted without manual adjustment ([0025]-[0028] of Chu).
Conclusion and Related art
Tilley (US 20140201109 [0052]) is cited for a first rule may dictate that the node manager 303 disconnect from the main grid when power generation at the grid is unstable (e.g., spikes) beyond a certain threshold of power stability…..a second rule may work in combination with the first rule to dictate when the tracker 200 should connect to the microgrid. For example, the second rule could dictate to the node manager 303 to connect the battery bank 312 to the microgrid when the battery is holding a sufficient amount of charge, or to keep the battery bank disconnected until the battery bank has the appropriate amount of charge.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859