DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term Wi-Fi, WiMAX, WiMedia, Bluetooth, ZigBee, Blu-ray, FlashLinQ which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13-20, 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2024/094192 A1 to GAO et al. (“Gao”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation of WO 2024/094192 A1 for purposes of examination, which is supported by foreign priority application CN 202211380859.0 having a priority date of November 4, 2022, also attached for reference].
As to claim 1, Gao discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (pages 8, 24 terminal/device 900), comprising: a transceiver (page 24, transceiver 920); one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions (page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions ); and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions): monitor a control channel search space for downlink control information (DCI) (pages 12-13, The UE-specific search space set can be used to send a control channel for transmitting a certain UE-specific control information to the terminal; The base
station can also configure the SS set and the DCI format schedulable for the search space set SS set used to monitor DCI through RRC parameters) based on at least two DCI formats (pages 12-13, The base station can send configuration information of a search space set to the terminal, and the configuration information may include…corresponding one or more DCI formats) associated with switching to one or more uplink frequency resources of multiple configured uplink frequency resources (pages 12-13, base station configures a UE to monitor single DCI on PCell through RRC parameters, and configures the single DCI on PCell to schedule (i.e. switch to) up to four carrier units CC#1, CC#2, CC#3 and CC#4 at the same time; carrier unit set can be divided into an uplink carrier unit set and a downlink carrier unit set. Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; page 9, communicate through spectrum below 6 gigahertz (GHz), spectrum above 6 GHz, or spectrum below 6 GHz and spectrum above 6 GHz, i.e. UL CCs operate at particular frequencies); decode the DCI received in the control channel search space based on one of the at least two DCI formats and according to a size associated with the one of the at least two DCI formats (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling…it can be known that the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes), including decoding a field from the DCI (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields); and switch to the one or more uplink frequency resources indicated in a frequency resource switching table based on the field (page 12, Table 1 below shows the functions of each DCI format for uplink scheduling (i.e. switching); page 13, the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes, i.e. bit size detected, therefore format is known and use the Table to switch to particular uplink carrier frequency ).
As to claim 2, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least two DCI formats include: a first DCI format having a first size and associated with switching to a single frequency resource of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; some examples of downlink carrier unit sets include: {DL CC#1}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2, DL CC#3, DL CC#4}. Each USS set in multiple USS sets can be associated with at least one uplink carrier unit set and/or at least one downlink carrier unit set. For example, assuming that the DCI format configured by a USS set includes DCI format 0_X; page 15, USS#2 is only configured with DCI format 0_X, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#3} is associated); and a second DCI format having a second size, larger than the first size (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}), and associated with switching to concurrently (page 11, number of carriers used simultaneously) transmit over two uplink frequency resources of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}); where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the first size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions); and where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the second size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions).
As to claim 4, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling), and the second size is associated with a maximum sum of DCI sizes configured for two of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 23, the sum of the number of different lengths of different DCI sizes (i.e. associated with) of single DCI and legacy DCI after alignment does not exceed 3).
As to claim 5, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the first size including obtaining a value of a field from the DCI configured for the single frequency resource (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)), or wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the second size including obtaining values of a field from the DCI configured for the two uplink frequency resources (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)).
As to claim 6, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least two DCI formats include: a first DCI format having a first size and associated with switching to at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; some examples of downlink carrier unit sets include: {DL CC#1}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2, DL CC#3, DL CC#4}. Each USS set in multiple USS sets can be associated with at least one uplink carrier unit set and/or at least one downlink carrier unit set. For example, assuming that the DCI format configured by a USS set includes DCI format 0_X; page 15, USS#2 is only configured with DCI format 0_X, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#3} is associated); and a second DCI format having a second size, larger than the first size, and associated with switching to at least another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}); where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the first size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)); and where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the second size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)).
As to claim 7, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode a second DCI received in the control channel search space based on another one of the at least two DCI formats and according to a second size associated with the another one of the at least two DCI formats (page 13, the terminal monitors at most 3 unicast-scheduled DCIs of different lengths in one cell, and the total number of DCIs of different lengths is 4; pages 12-13, The UE-specific search space set can be used to send a control channel for transmitting a certain UE-specific control information to the terminal), including decoding a second field from the second DCI (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields), wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to switch to the one or more uplink frequency resources including switching to concurrently transmit (page 11, number of carriers used simultaneously) over the one or more uplink frequency resources and another one of the one or more uplink frequency resources indicated in the frequency resource switching table or another frequency resource switching table based on the second field (page 12, Table 1 below shows the functions of each DCI format for uplink scheduling (i.e. switching); page 13, the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes, i.e. bit size detected, therefore format is known and use the Table to switch to particular uplink carrier frequency ).
As to claim 8, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for the at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling), and the second size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for the another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling).
As to claim 9, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the size including obtaining a first value of a field from the DCI for the at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size), and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the second size including obtaining a second value of the field from the DCI for the another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 14, The zero padding method refers to adding one or more zeros in the DCI. Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI).
As to claim 10, Gao discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (page 24, the communication device 900/base station), comprising: a transceiver (page 24, transceiver); one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions (page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions ); and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions ): encode (page 24, data generated), for a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) (pages 12-13, The UE-specific search space set can be used to send a control channel for transmitting a certain UE-specific control information to the terminal; The base station can also configure the SS set and the DCI format schedulable for the search space set SS set used to monitor DCI through RRC parameters) based on one of at least two DCI formats (pages 12-13, The base station can send configuration information of a search space set to the terminal, and the configuration information may include…corresponding one or more DCI formats) associated with switching to one or more uplink frequency resources of multiple configured uplink frequency resources (pages 12-13, base station configures a UE to monitor single DCI on PCell through RRC parameters, and configures the single DCI on PCell to schedule (i.e. switch to) up to four carrier units CC#1, CC#2, CC#3 and CC#4 at the same time; carrier unit set can be divided into an uplink carrier unit set and a downlink carrier unit set. Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; page 9, communicate through spectrum below 6 gigahertz (GHz), spectrum above 6 GHz, or spectrum below 6 GHz and spectrum above 6 GHz, i.e. UL CCs operate at particular frequencies), wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI according to a size associated with the one of the at least two DCI formats (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling…it can be known that the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes), and includes encoding a field in the DCI (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields); transmit the DCI in a control channel search space (pages 12-13, The UE-specific search space set can be used to send a control channel for transmitting a certain UE-specific control information to the terminal; The base station can also configure the SS set and the DCI format schedulable for the search space set SS set used to monitor DCI through RRC parameters); and switch to one or more uplink frequency resources indicated in a frequency resource switching table based on the field for receiving uplink transmissions from the UE (page 12, Table 1 below shows the functions of each DCI format for uplink scheduling (i.e. switching); page 13, the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes, i.e. bit size detected, therefore format is known and use the Table to switch to particular uplink carrier frequency ).
As to claim 11, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the at least two DCI formats include: a first DCI format having a first size and associated with switching to a single frequency resource of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; some examples of downlink carrier unit sets include: {DL CC#1}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2, DL CC#3, DL CC#4}. Each USS set in multiple USS sets can be associated with at least one uplink carrier unit set and/or at least one downlink carrier unit set. For example, assuming that the DCI format configured by a USS set includes DCI format 0_X; page 15, USS#2 is only configured with DCI format 0_X, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#3} is associated); and a second DCI format having a second size, larger than the first size (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}), and associated with switching to concurrently (page 11, number of carriers used simultaneously) transmit over two uplink frequency resources of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}); where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI based on the first size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions); and where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI based on the second size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions).
As to claim 13, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling), and the second size is associated with a maximum sum of DCI sizes configured for two of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 23, the sum of the number of different lengths of different DCI sizes (i.e. associated with) of single DCI and legacy DCI after alignment does not exceed 3).
As to claim 14, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the first size including obtaining a value of a field from the DCI configured for the single frequency resource (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)), or wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to decode the DCI based on the second size including obtaining values of a field from the DCI configured for the two uplink frequency resources (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)).
As to claim 15, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the at least two DCI formats include: a first DCI format having a first size and associated with switching to at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, Some examples of uplink carrier unit sets include: {UL CC#1}, {UL CC#1, UL CC#2}, {UL CC#2, UL CC#3, UL CC#4}; some examples of downlink carrier unit sets include: {DL CC#1}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2}, {DL CC#1, DL CC#2, DL CC#3, DL CC#4}. Each USS set in multiple USS sets can be associated with at least one uplink carrier unit set and/or at least one downlink carrier unit set. For example, assuming that the DCI format configured by a USS set includes DCI format 0_X; page 15, USS#2 is only configured with DCI format 0_X, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#3} is associated); and a second DCI format having a second size, larger than the first size, and associated with switching to at least another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 15, DCI format 1_X are configured on USS#1, and an uplink carrier unit set = {UL CC#1, UL CC#2, UL CC#3}); where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI based on the first size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)); and where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI based on the second size (page 9, The terminal can attempt to decode each candidate PDCCH in one or more search space sets according to the corresponding configuration information (such as DCI format, etc.), and the behavior of attempting to decode can be called blind detection; page 24, the communication device 900 may further include a memory 930 for storing instructions executed by the processor 910 or storing input data required by the processor 910 to execute instructions or storing data generated after the processor 910 executes instructions; (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields)).
As to claim 16, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode a second DCI received in the control channel search space based on another one of the at least two DCI formats and according to a second size associated with the another one of the at least two DCI formats (page 13, the terminal monitors at most 3 unicast-scheduled DCIs of different lengths in one cell, and the total number of DCIs of different lengths is 4; pages 12-13, The UE-specific search space set can be used to send a control channel for transmitting a certain UE-specific control information to the terminal), including encoding a second field in the second DCI (page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size; page 14, Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI; i.e. payload or bit being fields), wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to switch to the one or more uplink frequency resources including switching to concurrently transmit (page 11, number of carriers used simultaneously) over the one or more uplink frequency resources and another one of the one or more uplink frequency resources indicated in the frequency resource switching table or another frequency resource switching table based on the second field (page 12, Table 1 below shows the functions of each DCI format for uplink scheduling (i.e. switching); page 13, the DCI formats configured with different USS sets may have different DCI sizes, i.e. bit size detected, therefore format is known and use the Table to switch to particular uplink carrier frequency ).
As to claim 17, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for the at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling), and the second size is associated with a maximum DCI size configured for the another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling).
As to claim 18, Gao further discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encode the DCI based on the size including encoding a first value of a field from the DCI for the at least one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 13, The DCI size can also be replaced by the description of the DCI payload size or the DCI information bit size), and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to encoding the DCI based on the second size including encoding a second value of the field from the DCI for the another one of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources (page 13, The DCI size of a single DCI is related to the maximum number of carrier units that its corresponding DCI format supports scheduling; page 14, The zero padding method refers to adding one or more zeros in the DCI. Multiple bits "0" are used to increase the length of the DCI).
As to claims 19-20, 22-27, see similar rejections to claims 1-2, 4-9, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claims 28-29, see similar rejections to claims 10-11, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, 21, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/094192 A1 to GAO et al. (“Gao”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation of WO 2024/094192 A1 for purposes of examination, which is supported by foreign priority application CN 202211380859.0 having a priority date of November 4, 2022, also attached for reference] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0359832 A1 to LEI et al. (“Lei”).
As to claim 3, Gao does not expressly disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the frequency resource switching table corresponds to a first frequency resource switching table having rows indicating, for each of multiple possible frequency resources, a single frequency resource of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources for switching, or where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the frequency resource switching table corresponds to a second frequency resource switching table having rows indicating, for each of multiple possible frequency resources, two frequency resources of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources for switching.
Lei discloses at fig. 11 a table including: a row with a field identifying DCI formats, a row for uplink carrier indicator field, a row for a timer of uplink switching, a row for resource configuration for UL reference signal, a row for PUCCH resource indicator for time-frequency resources.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the table as taught by Lei into the
invention of Gao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to switch carrier frequencies by HD-FDD (Lei, para. 0002). Including the table as taught by Lei into the invention of Gao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lei.
As to claim 12, Gao does not expressly disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein: where the DCI is of the first DCI format, the frequency resource switching table corresponds to a first frequency resource switching table having rows indicating, for each of multiple possible frequency resources, a single frequency resource of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources for switching, or where the DCI is of the second DCI format, the frequency resource switching table corresponds to a second frequency resource switching table having rows indicating, for each of multiple possible frequency resources, two frequency resources of the multiple configured uplink frequency resources for switching.
Lei discloses at fig. 11 a table including: a row with a field identifying DCI formats, a row for uplink carrier indicator field, a row for a timer of uplink switching, a row for resource configuration for UL reference signal, a row for PUCCH resource indicator for time-frequency resources.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the table as taught by Lei into the
invention of Gao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to switch carrier frequencies by HD-FDD (Lei, para. 0002). Including the table as taught by Lei into the invention of Gao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lei.
As to claims 21, 30, see similar rejections to claims 3, 12, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190297604 A1 discloses at para. 0081: In the first example of DCI format size matching, shown in Table 2 below, the set of DCI formats selected for concurrent use (as indicated by emphasis in bold in Table 2) comprise DCI formats 0-0, 1-0, 2-0, 2-1, 2-2, and 2-3 in CSS and DCI formats 0-1 and 1-1 in USS. Referring to Table 1 above, without DCI format size matching the foregoing set of DCI formats would have 5 DCI format sizes (i.e., DCI format sizes 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6), which exceeds the first number of DCI sizes parameter providing for at most 4 different DCI sizes are monitored by the UE per slot. Moreover, as can be seen in Tables 1 and 2, the foregoing set of DCI formats has 3 DCI sizes per C-RNTI slot (i.e., DCI format sizes 1, 3, and 4), which does not exceed the second number of DCI sizes parameter providing for at most 3 different DCI sizes are monitored per C-RNTI per slot. Accordingly, in operation of DCI matching logic of an embodiment, 2 DCI format sizes of the set of DCI formats are to be combined to meet the first number of DCI sizes parameter, wherein the DCI format sizes combined may either be DCI formats for C-RNTI DCI or non-C-RNTI DCI to meet the second number of DCI sizes parameter. In the example of Table 2, the DCI format sizes for DCI formats 2-0 and 2-1 are matched to provide the set of DCI formats having a total of 4 DCI sizes and 3 C-RNTI DCI sizes. Various techniques for implementing the size matching of DCI formats, as may be utilized in size matching DCI formats 2-0 and 2-1 of this example, are descried below. It should be appreciated that, if the downlink or uplink BWP switches, the size of DCI formats 2-0 and 2-1 may change and thus embodiments may dynamically size match DCI formats of the set of DCI formats with respect to BWP switching.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463