DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TS 38.322 V2.0.0 (2017-12)) in view of XIAO et al (US 2021/0218501)
Regarding claim 1, 7, 13, 14, 3GPP discloses a method performed by an acknowledge mode (AM) radio link control (RLC) entity of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (3GPP: Fig. 4.2.1-1, Page 7-8, AM RLC entity of a UE), the method comprising:
generating a plurality of RLC protocol data units (PDUs) without waiting for a notification from of a transmission opportunity from a medium access control (MAC) layer of the UE based on receiving a respective RLC service data unit (SDU), wherein a transmit state variable is updated for each of the plurality of generated RLC PDUs (3GPP: Page 8, Each RLC SDU is used to construct an RLC PDU without waiting for notification from the lower layer (i.e., by MAC) of a transmission opportunity);
submitting one or more RLC PDUs to the MAC layer based on the transmission opportunity being notified by the MAC layer, wherein the one or more RLC PDUs comprise a first RLC PDU having a poll related to triggering a status report at a peer AM RLC entity (3GPP: Page 8, Page 19, based on a transmission opportunity, at least one RLC PDUs is submitted to the MAC layer; Page 20, Section 5.3.3.2, AMD PDU including poll);
starting or restarting a poll retransmission timer based on a submission of the first RLC PDU (3GPP: Page 19, a t-PollRetransmit is started upon submitting the AMD PDU to the lower (MAC) layer);
based on expiry of the poll retransmission timer and no new RLC SDU being able to be transmitted, determining an RLC SDU among one or more RLC SDU included in the one or more RLC PDUs that: [are] submitted to the MAC layer prior to the expiry of the poll retransmission time, and ii) is a subset of the plurality of generated RLC PDUs (3GPP: Page 20, Page 7, upon expiration or the poll timer (t-PollRetransmit), the RLC PDU is transmitted to the receiving side; select an RLC SDU that has been submitted to MAC layer for transmission (this is part of transmission by the transmitting RLC entity), but not previously acknowledged i.e. unacknowledged; Page 19, the unacknowledged PDUs are submitted before the poll timer expires i.e. it is started after the submission of the PDU to the lower layer; Page 8, and Page 11, since the transmitting side of AM RLC entity generates AMD PDUs for each RLD SDU without waiting for a notification from the lower layer more than one PDUs have been generated including the at least one that is transmitted but not acknowledged, and at least one not yet transmitted, see Page 20 and Page 11);
generating a second RLC PDU, comprising the determined RLC SDU the RLC SDU considered for the retransmission; and submitting the second RLC PDU to the MAC layer (3GPP: Page 20, construct the AMD PDU based on the selected RLC SDU and transmitting to the lower layer).
3GPP remains silent regarding determining an RLC SDU with the highest sequence number among all of the one or more RLC SDUs submitted to MAC layer.
However, XIAO et al (US 2021/0218501) discloses determining an RLC SDU with the highest sequence number among all of the one or more RLC SDUs submitted to MAC layer. (XIAO: ¶51, ¶60, ¶63, the SNs of the data units not yet acknowledged by the receiving side and the highest sequence number is selected).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of 3GPP would have been motivated to use the teachings of XIAO as it provides resolving a processing process of a poll flow at a transmitting side of an AM RLC entity (¶3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of 3GPP with teachings of XIAO in order to improve poll flow.
Regarding claim 3, 9, 3GPP modified by XIAO discloses method according to claim 1/7, wherein generating the second RLC PDU comprises setting the poll related to triggering the status report at the peer AM RLC entity in the second RLC PDU (3GPP: Page 20, section 5.3.4 include the poll in the constructed AMD PDU which is for the status reporting).
Regarding claim 5, 11, 3GPP modified by XIAO discloses method according to claim 1/7, wherein the SN of the determined RLC SDU is smaller than a highest SN among SNs of a plurality of RLC SDUs included in the plurality of generated RLC PDUs (3GPP: Page 16, Page 8, the latest AMD PDU constructed has higher SN than the AMD PDU submitted to the MAC layer/lower layer; the constructed highest SN is greater than the retransmitted higher SN i.e. less than TX_Next).
Regarding claim 15, 17, 3GPP modified by XIAO discloses method according to claim 1, further comprising: wherein the transmit state variable is incremented by one for each of the plurality of generated RLC PDUs (3GPP: page 16, increment by one XIAO: ¶37, POLL_SN is set to the highest).
Regarding claim 16, 18, 3GPP modified by XIAO discloses method according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more RLC PDUs submitted for the transmission opportunity contains either a not previously transmitted RLC SDU or an RLC SDU segment containing a not previously transmitted byte segment (3GPP: Page 19, 5.3.3.2, the not previously transmitted RLC SDU segment or RLC SDU or a byte segment).
Double Patenting
Rejections withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed on 4/14/2024
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a first position that reference 3GPP modified by XIAO does not disclose "…determining an RLC SDU having a highest sequence number (SN) among one or more RLC SDUs included in the one or more RLC PDUs submitted to the MAC layer prior to the expiry of the poll retransmission time, and is a subset of the plurality of generated RLC PDUs…”
Examiner to the sections of 3GPP and XIAO that teach above argued feature.
Submitting one or more RLC PDUs which is subset of the plurality of generated RLC PDUs
On Page 8, 3GPP recites, that multiple RLC PDUs are submitted to the lower (MAC) layer after being generated at the RLC layer.
Each RLC SDU is used to construct an RLC PDU without waiting for notification from the lower layer (i.e., by MAC) of a transmission opportunity. In the case of UM and AM RLC entities, an RLC SDU may be segmented and transported using two or more RLC PDUs based on the notification(s) from the lower layer.
RLC PDUs are submitted to lower layer only when a transmission opportunity has been notified by lower layer (i.e. by MAC).
(See Page 8 of 3GPP)
An AM RLC entity consists of a transmitting side and a receiving side. The transmitting side of an AM RLC entity receives RLC SDUs from upper layer and sends RLC PDUs to its peer AM RLC entity via lower layers. The receiving side of an AM RLC entity delivers RLC SDUs to upper layer and receives RLC PDUs from its peer AM RLC entity via lower layers.
(See Page 7 of 3GPP)
The transmitting side of an AM RLC entity generates AMD PDU(s) for each RLC SDU. When notified of a transmission opportunity by the lower layer, the transmitting AM RLC entity shall segment the RLC SDUs, if needed, so that the corresponding AMD PDUs, with RLC headers updated as needed, fit within the total size of RLC PDU(s) indicated by lower layer.
(See Page 11 of 3GPP)
Upon expiry of t-PollRetransmit, the transmitting side of an AM RLC entity shall:
- if both the transmission buffer and the retransmission buffer are empty (excluding transmitted RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment awaiting acknowledgements); or
- if no new RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment can be transmitted (e.g. due to window stalling):
- consider the RLC SDU with SN = TX_Next – 1 for retransmission; or
- consider any RLC SDU which has not been positively acknowledged for retransmission;
- include a poll in an AMD PDU as described in section 5.3.3.2.
(see Page 20 of 3GPP)
The above indicates there are PDUs that are generated but not submitted to the lower layer for transmission at the RLC entity. An RLC PDU is submitted and then, when a condition of window stalling occurs, an RLC SDU is selected from unacknowledged RLC PDUs. The unacknowledged RLC PDUs are at least one of a proper and an improper subset of the generated RLC PDUs as they are already generated and submitted once. Also, based on Page 8’s teachings above, there is at least one unsubmitted RLC PDU.
3GPP remains silent regarding determining an RLC SDU with the highest sequence number among all of the one or more RLC SDUs submitted to the MAC layer.
However, XIAO et al (US 2021/0218501) discloses determining an RLC SDU with the highest sequence number among all of the one or more RLC SDUs submitted to the MAC layer (XIAO: ¶51, ¶60, ¶63, the SNs of the data units not yet acknowledged by the receiving side and the highest sequence number is selected).
[0051] In an embodiment, if both the transmission buffer and the retransmission buffer (excluding a transmitted RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment awaiting acknowledgments) are empty, or no new RLC SDU or RLC SDU segment can be transmitted (for example, due to window stalling), then an RLC SDU or AMD PDU having been transmitted in a transmission opportunity indicated by the lower layer and awaiting acknowledgments and with (or associated with) the highest sequence number SN is retransmitted. The sequence number SN satisfies TX_Next_Ack<=SN<=TX_Next or TX_Next_Ack<=SN<TX_Next_Ack+AM_Window_Size.
The arguments presented by the Applicants contend that SN range is defined by TX_Next_Ack<=SN<=TX_Next and thus SN of the transmitted PDU is TX_Next. This position is invalid. The range is defined by the above inequality, however, the SN of the selected PDU is the “highest number SN” which is already transmitted and is selected for retransmission.
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of 3GPP would have been motivated to use the teachings of XIAO as it provides resolving a processing process of a poll flow at a transmitting side of an AM RLC entity (¶3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of 3GPP with teachings of XIAO in order to improve poll flow.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret the above as teaching feature argued by the Applicants.
All arguments are based on the arguments addressed above and, therefore, fully addressed as above.
Conclusion
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461