DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 6th, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 19 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant's amendments to the Specification have overcome almost every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final office Action mailed April 7th, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0101], line 4, "do not effect" should likely read "do not affect".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nathan (US 20220365190 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nathan teaches an electronic system comprising:
a pulse emitting circuit configured to generate an oscillating current for an illumination source ( [0034] The DUT launches pulses of light into free space; [0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application.); and
a pulsed signal generator ([0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application) comprising:
a main switch electrically connected to the pulse emitting circuit ([0056] controller 150);
wherein the main switch is configured to control a flow of the oscillating current through the main switch ([0060] As another example, light source 110 may include a continuous-wave (CW) or quasi-CW laser diode followed by an external optical modulator (e.g., an electro-optic amplitude modulator). The optical modulator may modulate the CW light from the laser diode to produce optical pulses which are sent to a fiber-optic amplifier or SOA.)
a selection switch electrically connected in parallel with the main switch, ([0226] While operations may be depicted in the drawings as occurring in a particular order, this should not be understood as requiring that such operations be performed in the particular order shown or in sequential order… In certain circumstances, multitasking or parallel processing operations may be performed. ) and
wherein the selection switch is configured to control the flow of the oscillating current to the illumination source ([0059] As an example, light source 110 may include a current-modulated InGaAsP DFB laser diode that produces optical pulses at a wavelength of approximately 1550 nm.); and
a switching control circuit comprising: a first control circuit, wherein the first control circuit receives an illumination source enabled signal indicating a status of the illumination source, and wherein the first control circuit generates a duration target code indicative of a comparison between a duration of the illumination source enabled signal and a target duration of the illumination source enabled signal ([0118] In particular embodiments, a pulse-detection circuit 365 may include a time-to-digital converter (TDC) 380 configured to receive an electrical-edge signal from a comparator 370 and determine an interval of time between emission of a pulse of light 400 by a light source 110 and receipt of the electrical-edge signal. The interval of time may correspond to a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light 400 to travel from the lidar system 100 to a target 130 and back to the lidar system 100.); and
a second control circuit, wherein the second control circuit receives the duration target code, and wherein the second control circuit determines a main switch enable signal configured to activate the main switch and a selection switch enable signal configured to activate the selection switch, based at least in part on the duration target code and a target overlap ([0056] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130, such as its distance downrange from the lidar system 100. This may be done, for example, by analyzing a time of flight or a frequency or phase of a transmitted beam of light 125 or a received beam of light 135; [0077] As an example, controller 150 may receive electrical trigger pulses or edges from light source 110, where each pulse or edge corresponds to the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110. ... the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150.),
wherein the selection switch causes the illumination source to generate a pulsed illumination signal output based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal ([0077] As another example, controller 150 may provide instructions, a control signal, or a trigger signal to light source 110 indicating when light source 110 should produce optical pulses. Controller 150 may send an electrical trigger signal that includes electrical pulses, where each electrical pulse results in the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110.).
Regarding claim 2, Nathan teaches the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the first control circuit of the switching control circuit further comprises a first time-to-digital converter (TDC), wherein the first TDC is configured to determine an illumination signal offset between the duration of the illumination source enabled signal and the target duration of the illumination source enabled signal ([0115] An electronic amplifier 350 may include a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 300 or a voltage-gain circuit 310, and a pulse-detection circuit 365 may include a comparator 370 or a time-to-digital converter (TDC) 380...As another example, a TIA 300, gain circuit 310, comparator 370, and TDC 380 may be part of a receiver 140, and an output signal from the TDC 380 may be supplied to a controller 150.).
Regarding claim 8, Nathan teaches the electronic system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of selection switches, and a plurality of switching control circuits, each switching control circuit associated with a corresponding selection switch ([0046] In some embodiments, a system comprises a first and second interface. For example, a geometric-calibration system includes two (or more) target elements, each with an input interface).
Regarding claim 10, Nathan teaches a method for generating a pulsed illumination signal, the method comprising:
receiving, from a pulse emitting circuit at a pulsed signal generator, an oscillating current for an illumination source ([0061] A direct-emitter laser diode may be driven by an electrical power source that supplies current pulses to the laser diode, and each current pulse may result in the emission of an output optical pulse; [0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application.);
receiving, from the illumination source at the pulsed signal generator, an illumination source enabled signal indicating a status of the illumination source ([0056] This may be done, for example, by analyzing a time of flight or a frequency or phase of a transmitted beam of light 125);
generating, at a first control circuit, a duration target code indicative of a comparison between a duration of the illumination source enabled signal and a target duration of the illumination source enabled signal based at least in part on the illumination source enabled signal ([0118] In particular embodiments, a pulse-detection circuit 365 may include a time-to-digital converter (TDC) 380 configured to receive an electrical-edge signal from a comparator 370 and determine an interval of time between emission of a pulse of light 400 by a light source 110 and receipt of the electrical-edge signal. The interval of time may correspond to a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light 400 to travel from the lidar system 100 to a target 130 and back to the lidar system 100.);
receiving, at a second control circuit, the duration target code; determining, at the second control circuit, a main switch enable signal configured to activate a main switch wherein the main switch is configured to control a flow of the oscillating current through the main switch; determining, at the second control circuit, a selection switch enable signal configured to activate a selection switch based at least in part on the duration target code and a target overlap with the main switch enable signal, ([0056] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130, such as its distance downrange from the lidar system 100. This may be done, for example, by analyzing a time of flight or a frequency or phase of a transmitted beam of light 125 or a received beam of light 135; [0077] As an example, controller 150 may receive electrical trigger pulses or edges from light source 110, where each pulse or edge corresponds to the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110. ... the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [0060] As another example, light source 110 may include a continuous-wave (CW) or quasi-CW laser diode followed by an external optical modulator (e.g., an electro-optic amplitude modulator). The optical modulator may modulate the CW light from the laser diode to produce optical pulses which are sent to a fiber-optic amplifier or SOA.),
wherein the selection switch is electrically connected in parallel with the main switch, ([0226] While operations may be depicted in the drawings as occurring in a particular order, this should not be understood as requiring that such operations be performed in the particular order shown or in sequential order… In certain circumstances, multitasking or parallel processing operations may be performed.), and
wherein the selection switch is configured to control the flow of the oscillating current to the illumination source ([0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application.;); and
generating the pulsed illumination signal based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal wherein the pulses illumination signal causes the illumination source to generate a pulsed illumination signal output ([0077] As another example, controller 150 may provide instructions, a control signal, or a trigger signal to light source 110 indicating when light source 110 should produce optical pulses. Controller 150 may send an electrical trigger signal that includes electrical pulses, where each electrical pulse results in the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110.).
Regarding claim 11, Nathan teaches the method of claim 10, the method further comprising: determining, at a first time-to-digital converter (TDC) of the first control circuit, an illumination signal offset between the duration of the illumination source enabled signal and the target duration of the illumination source enabled signal ([0115] An electronic amplifier 350 may include a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 300 or a voltage-gain circuit 310, and a pulse-detection circuit 365 may include a comparator 370 or a time-to-digital converter (TDC) 380...As another example, a TIA 300, gain circuit 310, comparator 370, and TDC 380 may be part of a receiver 140, and an output signal from the TDC 380 may be supplied to a controller 150.).
Regarding claim 17, Nathan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the pulsed signal generator further comprises a plurality of selection switches, and a plurality of switching control circuits, each switching control circuit associated with a selection switch ([0046] In some embodiments, a system comprises a first and second interface. For example, a geometric-calibration system includes two (or more) target elements, each with an input interface.).
Regarding claim 19, Nathan teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system comprising:
a controller ([0056] controller 150);
a pulse emitting circuit electrically connected to the controller and configured to generate an oscillating current for an illumination source, ([0034] The DUT launches pulses of light into free space; [0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application.),
wherein the illumination source is configured to generate a light output based at least in part on an illumination source enabled signal ([0058] The average power (P.sub.av) of an output beam 125 can be related to the pulse repetition frequency (PRF) and pulse energy by the expression P.sub.av=PRF.Math.E.);
a pulsed signal generator ([0053] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 which may be continuous wave (CW), pulsed, or modulated in any suitable manner for a given application) comprising:
a main switch electrically connected to the pulse emitting circuit ([0056] controller 150);
wherein the main switch is configured to control a flow of the oscillating current through the main switch ([0060] As another example, light source 110 may include a continuous-wave (CW) or quasi-CW laser diode followed by an external optical modulator (e.g., an electro-optic amplitude modulator). The optical modulator may modulate the CW light from the laser diode to produce optical pulses which are sent to a fiber-optic amplifier or SOA.);
a selection switch electrically connected in parallel with the main switch, ([0226] While operations may be depicted in the drawings as occurring in a particular order, this should not be understood as requiring that such operations be performed in the particular order shown or in sequential order… In certain circumstances, multitasking or parallel processing operations may be performed.);
wherein the selection switch is configured to control the flow of the oscillating current to the illumination source ([0059] As an example, light source 110 may include a current-modulated InGaAsP DFB laser diode that produces optical pulses at a wavelength of approximately 1550 nm.); and
a switching control circuit comprising: a first control circuit, wherein the first control circuit receives the illumination source enabled signal indicating a status of the illumination source, and wherein the first control circuit generates a duration target code indicative of a comparison between a duration of the illumination source enabled signal and a target duration of the illumination source enabled signal ([0118] In particular embodiments, a pulse-detection circuit 365 may include a time-to-digital converter (TDC) 380 configured to receive an electrical-edge signal from a comparator 370 and determine an interval of time between emission of a pulse of light 400 by a light source 110 and receipt of the electrical-edge signal. The interval of time may correspond to a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light 400 to travel from the lidar system 100 to a target 130 and back to the lidar system 100.); and
a second control circuit, wherein the second control circuit receives the duration target code, and wherein the second control circuit determines a main switch enable signal configured to activate the main switch and a selection switch enable signal configured to activate the selection switch, based at least in part on the duration target code and a target overlap ([0056] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130, such as its distance downrange from the lidar system 100. This may be done, for example, by analyzing a time of flight or a frequency or phase of a transmitted beam of light 125 or a received beam of light 135; [0077] As an example, controller 150 may receive electrical trigger pulses or edges from light source 110, where each pulse or edge corresponds to the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110. ... the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150.); and
wherein the selection switch causes the illumination source to generate a pulsed illumination signal output based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal ([0077] As another example, controller 150 may provide instructions, a control signal, or a trigger signal to light source 110 indicating when light source 110 should produce optical pulses. Controller 150 may send an electrical trigger signal that includes electrical pulses, where each electrical pulse results in the emission of an optical pulse by light source 110.);
an emitted pulse receiver electrically connected to the controller and configured to receive a reflection of the light output off an object ([0054] Once the output beam 125 reaches the downrange target 130, the target may scatter or reflect at least a portion of light from the output beam 125, and some of the scattered or reflected light may return toward the lidar system 100. In the example of FIG. 1, the scattered or reflected light is represented by input beam 135, which passes through scanner 120 and is reflected by mirror 115 and directed to receiver 140.);
wherein the controller is configured to determine a distance of the object based on the reflection of the light output ([0056] If lidar system 100 measures a time of flight of ΔT (e.g., ΔT represents a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light to travel from the lidar system 100 to the target 130 and back to the lidar system 100), then the distance D from the target 130 to the lidar system 100 may be expressed as D=c.Math.ΔT/2,).
Regarding claim 20, Nathan teaches the light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system of claim 19, wherein the pulsed signal generator further comprises a plurality of selection switches, and a plurality of switching control circuits, each switching control circuit associated with a corresponding selection switch ([0046] In some embodiments, a system comprises a first and second interface. For example, a geometric-calibration system includes two (or more) target elements, each with an input interface.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan (US 20220365190 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Dutton (US 20210302550 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nathan teaches the electronic system of claim 2,
Nathan fails to teach the system wherein the first control circuit further comprises a first proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to generate the duration target code based on the illumination signal offset.
However, Dutton teaches the system wherein the first control circuit further comprises a first proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to generate the duration target code based on the illumination signal offset ([0082] As shown in FIG. 11, during the coarse integration step 1102, coarse operations, which include step 402, are performed in parallel for each row.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the proportional-integral-derivative controller similar to Dutton, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known computational programmable device to generate the target code of the system.
Regarding claim 4, Nathan teaches the electronic system of claim 1,
Nathan fails to teach the system wherein the second control circuit further comprises a second time-to-digital converter (TDC) configured to determine a selection signal offset, wherein the selection signal offset represents a time difference between the target overlap and an overlap of a selection switch status signal and a main switch status signal, wherein the selection switch status signal is based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal, and wherein the main switch status signal is based at least in part on the main switch enable signal.
However, Dutton teaches the system wherein the second control circuit further comprises a second time-to-digital converter (TDC) configured to determine a selection signal offset ([0048] Histogram generation circuit 308 initially generates a coarse histogram of coarse bins (e.g., 16 bins) based on the output of TDC 306. Control circuit 260 receives from histogram generation circuit 308 the coarse histogram and determines (e.g., based on a peak search), the bin(s) in which the target is located.),
wherein the selection signal offset represents a time difference between the target overlap and an overlap of a selection switch status signal and a main switch status signal ([0050] TDC 306 is configured to output a timestamp (a digital code D.sub.306 indicative of time) and may be implemented in any way known in the art. For example, in some embodiments, an address indicative of time is propagated through SPAD array 104, and each TDC 306 latches the address at the instant that the corresponding SPAD(s) are asserted, and subsequently outputs such address),
wherein the selection switch status signal is based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal, and wherein the main switch status signal is based at least in part on the main switch enable signal ([0050] In some embodiments, TDC 306 may be implemented as a gray-code latch with low-voltage differential signaling (LVDS) clocks. Other implementations are also possible.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the second TDC with time-stamp signals similar to Dutton, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of utilizing a TDC as previously presented in a second configuration to monitor the start and stop times of the system switch devices.
Regarding claim 5, Nathan, as modified, teaches the electronic system of claim 4, wherein the second control circuit further comprises a second proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to generate an overlap target code based on the selection signal offset ([0056] In particular embodiments, receiver 140 or controller 150 may include a processor, computing system (e.g., an ASIC or FPGA), or other suitable circuitry.).
Regarding claim 6, Nathan, as modified, teaches the electronic system of claim 5, wherein the second control circuit further comprises an illumination signal off programmable delay line configured to generate an illumination off signal based on the overlap target code and the target overlap ([0133] The captured pulse is modulated and delayed and at least a portion returns to lidar system 951 as input beam 955. In various embodiments, calibration system 900 can be utilized to calibrate and verify the accuracy of lidar system 951. For example, calibration system 900 can be used to perform range calibration using optical network module 907 to simulate a target object at a configured distance. In some embodiments, calibration system 900 and/or portions of calibration system 900 are further utilized with additional geometric calibration components to perform geometric calibration of a lidar system.).
Regarding claim 7, Nathan, as modified, teaches the electronic system of claim 6, wherein the second control circuit de-asserts the selection switch enable signal based on the illumination off signal ([0110] Alternatively, the lidar system 100 may be configured so that only the output beam 125 is scanned, and the detector has a static FOV that is not scanned. In this case, the input beam 135 (which includes received pulses of light 410) may bypass the scanner 120 and be directed to the receiver 140 without passing through the scanner 120.).
Regarding claim 12, Nathan teaches the method of claim 11,
Nathan fails to teach the method further comprising: receiving, at a first proportional-integral-derivative controller, the illumination signal offset; and generating the duration target code based on the illumination signal offset.
However, Dutton teaches the method further comprising: receiving, at a first proportional-integral-derivative controller, the illumination signal offset; and generating the duration target code based on the illumination signal offset ([0082] As shown in FIG. 11, during the coarse integration step 1102, coarse operations, which include step 402, are performed in parallel for each row.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the proportional-integral-derivative controller similar to Dutton, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known computational programmable device to generate the target code of the system.
Regarding claim 13, Nathan teaches the method of claim 10,
Nathan fails to teach the method further comprising: receiving, at a second time-to-digital converter of the second control circuit, a selection switch status signal and a main switch status signal, wherein the selection switch status signal is based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal, and wherein the main switch status signal is based at least in part on the main switch enable signal; and determining a selection signal offset based at least in part on a time difference between the target overlap and an overlap of the selection switch status signal and the main switch status signal.
However, Dutton teaches the method further comprising: receiving, at a second time-to-digital converter of the second control circuit, a selection switch status signal and a main switch status signal ([0048] Histogram generation circuit 308 initially generates a coarse histogram of coarse bins (e.g., 16 bins) based on the output of TDC 306. Control circuit 260 receives from histogram generation circuit 308 the coarse histogram and determines (e.g., based on a peak search), the bin(s) in which the target is located.),
wherein the selection switch status signal is based at least in part on the selection switch enable signal, and wherein the main switch status signal is based at least in part on the main switch enable signal; and determining a selection signal offset based at least in part on a time difference between the target overlap and an overlap of the selection switch status signal and the main switch status signal ([0050] In some embodiments, TDC 306 may be implemented as a gray-code latch with low-voltage differential signaling (LVDS) clocks. Other implementations are also possible.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the second TDC with time-stamp signals similar to Dutton, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of utilizing a TDC as previously presented in a second configuration to monitor the start and stop times of the system switch devices.
Regarding claim 14, Nathan, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, the method further comprising: receiving, at a second proportional-integral-derivative controller of the second control circuit, the selection signal offset; and generating an overlap target code based at least in part on the selection signal offset ([0056] In particular embodiments, receiver 140 or controller 150 may include a processor, computing system (e.g., an ASIC or FPGA), or other suitable circuitry.).
Regarding claim 15, Nathan teaches the method of claim 14, the method further comprising: receiving, at an illumination signal off programmable delay line of the second control circuit, the overlap target code and the target overlap ([0133] The captured pulse is modulated and delayed and at least a portion returns to lidar system 951 as input beam 955.); and
generating an illumination off signal based at least in part on the overlap target code and the target overlap ([0133] In various embodiments, calibration system 900 can be utilized to calibrate and verify the accuracy of lidar system 951. For example, calibration system 900 can be used to perform range calibration using optical network module 907 to simulate a target object at a configured distance. In some embodiments, calibration system 900 and/or portions of calibration system 900 are further utilized with additional geometric calibration components to perform geometric calibration of a lidar system.).
Regarding claim 16, Nathan teaches the method of claim 15, the method further comprising: de-asserting the selection switch enable signal based at least in part on the illumination off signal ([0110] Alternatively, the lidar system 100 may be configured so that only the output beam 125 is scanned, and the detector has a static FOV that is not scanned. In this case, the input beam 135 (which includes received pulses of light 410) may bypass the scanner 120 and be directed to the receiver 140 without passing through the scanner 120.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan (US 20220365190 A1) and Dutton (US 20210302550 A1), as applied to Claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Rast (US 20060050929).
Regarding claim 9, Nathan, as modified, teaches the electronic system of claim 5,
Nathan, as modified, fails to teach the system wherein the second control circuit is a cascade of the first control circuit, such that adjustments to the duration target code do not affect the overlap target code and adjustments to the overlap target code do not affect the duration target code.
However, Rast teaches the system wherein the second control circuit is a cascade of the first control circuit, such that adjustments to the duration target code do not affect the overlap target code and adjustments to the overlap target code do not affect the duration target code ([0458] FIGS. 30 and 31 depict another embodiment of the invention 1310, in which the data is passed through the series of input circuits according to a cascade polling mode. For some applications this is the simplest of the embodiments to implement; [0462] FIG. 31 depicts an embodiment of a circuit 1320 for accomplishing the cascade data collection. The input switch 1334 or other input form, is encoded by an encoder 1332 and loaded into a shift register 1328 while the device is inactive (prior to detection of start signal); [0474] In a preferred embodiment each input module is an integrated element having the input switch, selector, or variable value selector coupled to the Reflective Cascade circuit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the cascade circuit similar to Rast, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known system circuit configuration to ensure the two switch control circuits do not interfere with each other.
Regarding claim 18, Nathan, as modified, teaches the method of claim 14,
Nathan fails to teach the method wherein the second control circuit is a cascade of the first control circuit, such that adjustments to the duration target code do not affect the overlap target code and adjustments to the overlap target code do not affect the duration target code.
However, Rast teaches the method wherein the second control circuit is a cascade of the first control circuit, such that adjustments to the duration target code do not affect the overlap target code and adjustments to the overlap target code do not affect the duration target code (([0458] FIGS. 30 and 31 depict another embodiment of the invention 1310, in which the data is passed through the series of input circuits according to a cascade polling mode. For some applications this is the simplest of the embodiments to implement; [0462] FIG. 31 depicts an embodiment of a circuit 1320 for accomplishing the cascade data collection. The input switch 1334 or other input form, is encoded by an encoder 1332 and loaded into a shift register 1328 while the device is inactive (prior to detection of start signal); [0474] In a preferred embodiment each input module is an integrated element having the input switch, selector, or variable value selector coupled to the Reflective Cascade circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nathan to comprise the cascade circuit similar to Rast, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known system circuit configuration to ensure the two switch control circuits do not interfere with each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of Nathan as cited in the Non-Final Office action provides no disclosure or teaching of a pulse emitting circuit configured to generate an oscillating current for an illumination source as amended. While not cited in the previous office action, Nathan does in fact teach an oscillating current for the illumination source under the modulating current light source cited above. This citation was omitting from the previous office action as it was note written in the previously presented set of claims, and as necessitated by the amendments, the proper citation has been presented above where Nathan teaches this claim. As part of a necessity of generating an modulating current would require generating an oscillating current as described, the examiner notes that the prior art reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant further argues that the parallel structure of the switches is not described in Nathan; however, as with the above previous argument, this argument is also not found to be persuasive as Nathan teaches that the control and the light source may be operated in parallel and should not be limited to a sequential order. The proper citation has been provided above for the newly amended claim.
Finally, applicant argues that the main switch and selector switch are not taught as intended by Nathan. Examiner notes that the claims are interpreted as written under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art, and under this scope, the switches and control circuit as described in the claims are interpreted to be the same as the source and controller described by Nathan. Without further amendments as to how these switches and controllers are patently different from the prior art’s teaching, the rejection is maintained in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645