Response After Election
This Office action is in response to the response to election filed on 6/17/2026.
Claims 1-13 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-11, are rejected.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed
on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CPR
1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
Title is objected to for failure to be sufficiently descriptive.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the
presence of all possible minor errors. The applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality:
In line 2, “structurer” should be --structure--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Weir et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210229986; hereinafter “Weir”) in view of Honda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6699602; hereinafter “Honda”).
Regarding claim 1, Weir teaches a piezoelectric film laminated body comprising: a base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) having a base surface (Fig. 2, base surface of 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) and a scandium-containing aluminum nitride film (Fig. 2, 4; [0016]-[0017] – “…the aluminum nitride layer is doped with scandium.”; [0019]) disposed (Fig. 2) in contact (Fig. 2; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) with the base surface (Fig. 2, base surface of 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]). Weir does not teach wherein a surface roughness of the base surface is 0.5 nm or less in arithmetic average roughness.
Honda, however, does teach wherein a surface roughness (Fig. 1, surface roughness of 4) of the base surface (Fig. 1, surface of 4) is 0.5 nm or less in arithmetic average roughness (Fig. 1, surface roughness of 4; [Column 4, lines 22-25] – “An amorphous magnetic recording medium…wherein the magnetic recording medium has a surface average roughness Ra of 0.1 to 0.4 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the surface roughness of Honda because it would enable surface roughness control by reverse sputtering thereby improving magnetic properties and R/W characteristic (Honda [Column 14, lines 65-66]).
Regarding claim 2, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) is made of an amorphous insulating material (Fig. 2, 8; [0016] – “The insulating layer is preferably present as amorphous silicon oxide and/or amorphous silicon nitride and/or amorphous silicon-rich nitride.”; [0017]; [0019] – “…one or both silicon layer(s) of a silicon-aluminum nitride-silicon sandwich structure may include a core made up of a highly conductive layer,…”).
Regarding claim 6, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 2, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) has a film shape (Fig. 2), and a film thickness (Fig. 2, film thickness of 8) of the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) and a film thickness (Fig. 2, film thickness of 4 is 2.5 microns; [0014]; [0016]-[0017];) of the scandium-containing aluminum nitride film (Fig. 2, 4; [0016]-[0017] – “…the aluminum nitride layer is doped with scandium.”; [0019]). Weir does not teach the base member film thickness being 1/10 or less than 2.5 microns.
Honda, however, does teach, the base member film thickness (Fig. 1, thickness of 4; [Column 6, line 27] – “20nm”) being 1/10 or less than 2.5 microns (Fig. 1; [Column 6, line 27] – “20nm” is 1/10 or less 2.5 microns).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member film thickness of Weir to include the base member film thickness of Honda because it would enable control by varying magnetic domain formation-controlling layer thickness thereby improving R/W characteristic (Honda [Column 9, lines 58-60]).
Regarding claim 7, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 2, further comprising a conductive member (Fig. 2, molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019] – “The at least one further layer particularly preferably includes molybdenum and/or tungsten and/or tungsten silicide. The at least one further layer may be situated above or beneath (based on the direction perpendicular to the main extension plane of the aluminum nitride layer) the aluminum nitride layer and, in particular, directly abut the aluminum nitride layer. According to one particularly preferred specific embodiment, the at least one further layer is situated beneath the aluminum nitride layer and, in particular during the manufacturing process, forms a substrate, for example made up of molybdenum or platinum, for the aluminum nitride layer growing thereon. According to one further preferred specific embodiment, the at least one further layer is completely embedded into a silicon layer, so that the highly conductive material is completely surrounded by silicon.”) made of a conductive material (Fig. 2, molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]), wherein the conductive member (Fig. 2, molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) is disposed (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) in contact (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) with a surface (Fig. 2, surface 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) of the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) that is located (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) opposite to (Fig. 2; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) the scandium-containing aluminum nitride film (Fig. 2, 4; [0016]-[0017] – “…the aluminum nitride layer is doped with scandium.”; [0019]) across (Fig. 2; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 7, wherein the conductive member (Fig. 2, molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) has a surface (Fig. 2, surface of molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) that is in contact (Fig. 2, molybdenum layer; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) with the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]). Weir does not teach a surface roughness of the surface of the conductive member is 0.5 nm or less in arithmetic average roughness.
Honda, however, does teach, a surface roughness (Fig. 1, surface roughness of 1) of the surface (Fig. 1, surface of 1) of the conductive member (Fig. 1, 1) is 0.5 nm or less in arithmetic average roughness (Fig. 1, 1; [Column 14, lines 48-49]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductive member of Weir to include the surface roughness of Honda because it would enable surface roughness control by reverse sputtering thereby improving magnetic properties and R/W characteristic (Honda [Column 14, lines 65-66]).
Regarding claim 9, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) is made of an amorphous conductive material (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]; Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification paragraph [0019] discloses SiN as the base member.).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Weir in view of Honda and further in view of Yura et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20090236946; hereinafter “Yura”).
Regarding claim 3, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 10 beneath SCALN layer (4); [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) is made of an insulating material (Fig. 2, 10 beneath SCALN layer (4); [0016]-[0017]; [0019]). Weir does not teach a polycrystalline having a plurality of crystal grains, and each of the plurality of crystal grains has a non-oriented structure.
Yura, however, does teach a polycrystalline (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]) having a plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]), and each of the plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]) has a non-oriented structure (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the non-oriented polycrystalline substrate of Yura because it would enable phase transition suppression thereby improving mechanical strength and toughness (Yura [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]; Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification paragraph [0019] discloses SiN as the base member.) is made of a conductive material (Fig. 2, 8; [0016]-[0017]; [0019]; Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification paragraph [0019] discloses SiN as the base member.). Weir does not teach a polycrystalline having a plurality of crystal grains, and each of the plurality of crystal grains has a non-oriented structure.
Yura, however, does teach a polycrystalline (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]) having a plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]), and each of the plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]) has a non-oriented structure (Fig. 1, 12; [0027]; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the non-oriented polycrystalline substrate of Yura because it would enable phase transition suppression thereby improving mechanical strength and toughness (Yura [0027]).
Claims 4-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Weir in view of Honda and further in view of Taki et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220145697; hereinafter “Taki”).
Regarding claim 4, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1, wherein the base member (Fig. 2, 10 beneath SCALN layer (4); [0016]-[0017]; [0019]) is made of an insulating material (Fig. 2, 10 beneath SCALN layer (4); [0016]-[0017]; [0019]). Weir does not teach a crystal structure other than a hexagonal crystal and a cubic crystal.
Taki, however, does teach a crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) other (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) than a hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) and a cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the crystal structure of Taki because it would enable a laminated body having a low sheet resistance value thereby improving a heat shielding property and transparency (Taki [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1. Weir does not teach wherein the base member is made of an insulating material having a crystal structure of a hexagonal crystal or a cubic crystal and having a polycrystalline structure or a single crystal structure including a plurality of crystal grains, the plurality of crystal grains includes a crystal grain in which a crystal axis of the crystal grain is oriented in a specific orientation, in a case where the base member has the crystal structure of the hexagonal crystal, the base member has a structure excluding a structure in which an orientation of a c-axis of the hexagonal crystal is perpendicular to the base surface, and in a case where the base member has the crystal structure of the cubic crystal, the base member has a structure excluding a structure in which an orientation of a <111> axis of the cubic crystal is perpendicular to the base surface.
Taki, however, does teach wherein the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) is made of an insulating material (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]; Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification paragraph [0019] discloses SiN as the base member.) having a crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) or a cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) and having a polycrystalline structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) or a single crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) including a plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, crystal grains in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, crystal grains in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) includes a crystal grain (Fig. 1, crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which a crystal axis (Fig. 1, crystal axis of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the crystal grain (Fig. 1, crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) is oriented (Fig. 1, orientation of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) in a specific orientation (Fig. 1, orientation of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), in a case where the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has the crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has a structure (Fig. 1, structure of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) excluding (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) a structure (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which an orientation (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a c-axis (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) is perpendicular (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) to the base surface (Fig. 1, base surface of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), and in a case where the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has the crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has a structure (Fig. 1, structure of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) excluding (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) a structure (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which an orientation (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a <111> axis (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the cubic crystal (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) is perpendicular (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) to the base surface (Fig. 1, base surface of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the crystal structure and orientation of Taki because it would enable a laminated body having a low sheet resistance value thereby improving a heat shielding property and transparency (Taki [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Weir as modified teaches the piezoelectric film laminated body according to claim 1. Weir does not teach wherein the base member is made of a conductive material having a crystal structurer of a hexagonal crystal, a body-centered cubic crystal or a face-centered cubic crystal, and having a polycrystalline structure or a single crystal structure including a plurality of crystal grains, the plurality of crystal grains includes a crystal grain in which a crystal axis of the crystal grain is oriented in a specific orientation, in a case where the base member has the crystal structure of the hexagonal crystal, the base member has a structure excluding a structure in which an orientation of a c-axis of the hexagonal crystal is perpendicular to the base surface, in a case where the base member has the crystal structure of the body-centered cubic crystal, the base member has a structure excluding a structure in which an orientation of a <101> axis of the body-centered cubic crystal is perpendicular to the base surface, and in a case where the base member has the crystal structure of the face-centered cubic crystal, the base member has a structure excluding a structure in which an orientation of a <111> axis of the face-centered cubic crystal is perpendicular to the base surface.
Taki, however, does teach wherein the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]; Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification paragraph [0019] discloses SiN as the base member.) is made of a conductive material (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) having a crystal structurer of a hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), a body-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) or a face-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), and having a polycrystalline structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) or a single crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) including a plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, crystal grains in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the plurality of crystal grains (Fig. 1, crystal grains in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) includes a crystal grain (Fig. 1, crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which a crystal axis (Fig. 1, crystal axis of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the crystal grain (Fig. 1, crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) is oriented (Fig. 1, orientation of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) in a specific orientation (Fig. 1, orientation of crystal grain in 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), in a case where the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has the crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has a structure (Fig. 1, structure of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) excluding (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) a structure (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which an orientation (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a c-axis (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the hexagonal crystal (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) is perpendicular (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) to the base surface (Fig. 1, base surface of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), in a case where the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has the crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the body-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has a structure (Fig. 1, structure of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) excluding (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) a structure (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which an orientation (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a <101> axis (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the body-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) is perpendicular (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) to the base surface (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]), and in a case where the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has the crystal structure (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the face-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]), the base member (Fig. 1, 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) has a structure excluding (Fig. 1, structure of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]) excluding (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) a structure (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) in which an orientation (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of a <111> axis (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) of the face-centered cubic crystal (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) is perpendicular (Fig. 1; [Abstract]; [0076]) to the base surface (Fig. 1, base surface of 140; [Abstract]; [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base member of Weir to include the crystal structure and orientation of Taki because it would enable a laminated body having a low sheet resistance value thereby improving a heat shielding property and transparency (Taki [0030]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
18 August 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837