Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response filed on 05/18/2026; and IDS filed on 05/18/2026, 11/25/2024 and 09/15/2023.
Claims 2, 10, 19-24, 26-29, 32-36, 40-41 are drawn to non-elected species.
Claims 1-43, 138-141 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 2, 10, 19-24, 26-29, 32-36, 40-41, 43, 138-141 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-42) and specie election of “Lipid 15 in Table 1” in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Note, claims 2, 10, 19-24, 26-29, 32-36, 40-41 are drawn to non-elected species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-9,11-18,25,30-31,37-39 and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 19/284,535 and 18/979,339 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-applications recites cationic Lipid 15 (see 19/284,535 at claim 22) and compound formula I (see 18/979,339 at claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 39, claims 39 recites “the compound is selected from Table 1”. However, the court has stated "Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table 'is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.' Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993)" (MPEP 2173.05(s)). Applicants should copy the table contents into the claim itself. There is no limit to the length of a claim. If the subject matter can be listed in the specification, that list can be copied and pasted into a claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 12-18, 25, 30-31, 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over MADDEN et al (WO 2019/089828).
MADDEN teaches lipid nanoparticles (see title) made from cationic lipids (see pg. 3, line 17) similar to Applicant’s compound in several structural features, such cationic lipid compounds include compound II-9 (see pg. 71), compounds II-10 to II-13 (see pg. 72), compound II-17 to II-21 (see pg. 73), compound II-22 (see pg. 75), compounds II-35, II-36, II-38, II-39 (see pg. 76), and compounds II-41 to II-43 (see pg. 114) and compound VIII-7 (see pg. 130), wherein compound II-36 is provided below.
MADDEN further teaches the hydrocarbon chain can have varying lengths and double bonds (see pg. 65-69, and 108; Formula (IIC) on pg. 65 as shown below).
, wherein R7 can be (see pg. 68-69):
MADDEN’s examples have R1 and R2 to be at least 5 carbons, such as Compound II-36 has R1 and R2 to be 9 carbons. However, MADDEN teaches the carbon length can be from 2 to 12 (see pg. 52, line 8), wherein 2-3 carbons would read on Applicant’s R1 and R2 is C1-3 alkylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-9,11-18, 25, 30-31, 37-39 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MADDEN et al (WO 2019/089828).
As discussed above, MADDEN teaches Applicant’s invention. Especially, R1 and R2 can have 2 carbon length.
MADDEN does not teach R1 and R2 are methyl (1 carbon length).
The difference between the instant claims and MADEN is that the substituents at R1 and R2 differ by one -CH2 moiety. Compounds that differ only by the presence or absence of an extra methyl group or two are homologues. Homologues are of such close structural similarity that the disclosure of a compound renders prima facie obvious its homologue. As was stated in In re Grose, 201 USPQ 57, 63, “The known structural relationship between adjacent homologues, for example, supplies a chemical theory upon which a prima facie case of obviousness of a compound may rest.” The homologue is expected to be preparable by the same method and to have generally the same properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing homologues. Of course, these presumptions are rebuttable by the showing of unexpected effects, but initially, the homologues are obvious even in the absence of a specific teaching to add or remove methyl groups. See In re Wood, 199 USPQ 137; In re Hoke, 195 USPQ 148; In re Lohr, 137 USPQ 548; In re Magerlein, 202 USPQ 473; In re Wiechert, 152 USPQ 247; Ex parte Henkel, 130 USPQ 474; In re Jones, 74 USPQ 152, 154; In re Herr, 134 USPQ 176; Ex parte Dibella, 157 USPQ 59; In re Zickendraht, 138 USPQ 22; Ex Parte Fischer, 96 USPQ 345; In re Fauque, 121 USPQ 425; In re Druey, 138 USPQ 39; In re Bowers and Orr, 149 USPQ 570; Redox Technologies Inc. v. Pourreau, 73 USPQ2d 1435, 1451; In re Henze, 85 USPQ 261; In re Basell Poliolefine Italia S.P.A., 89 USPQ2d1030 (“As homologs are presumptively obvious over known compounds…..”). In all of these cases, the close structural similarity between two compounds differing by one or two methyl groups was itself sufficient show obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expect similar beneficial results with compounds having only additional -CH2- groups. Case laws holds that homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g,. by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Thus, it would be presumed that the addition of a single or two -CH2- group would possess similar properties.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618