DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 3-8, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to Claims 1-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of 02/02/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant discloses Moreover, Takahashi does not explicitly state that the threshold is a similarity threshold. Indeed, Takahashi only discloses, at best, a threshold value set in advance, but does not explicitly disclose that it is a similarity threshold based on "one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product" (emphasis added). It is further noted that Takahashi does not disclose one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshot.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-3, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Rao et al. (WO2022016108A1, 2022-01-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US20210247754A1, 2021-08-12) herein referred to as Takahashi, in view of Rao et al. (WO2022016108A1, 2022-01-20) herein referred to as Rao.
Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi teaches a computer-implemented method for inferring an emerging problem in product manufacturing [0061-0065], the method comprising:
obtaining a time-ordered set comprising one or more snapshots of a product and one or more similarity thresholds, a snapshot representing a distribution of a physical signal measured from a product [[0035-0036] (i.e. position, pressure); 0048; 0055-0059; 0083-0083];
obtaining at least one recent snapshot, the at least one recent snapshot being time-ordered after at least one snapshot of the time-ordered set (Fig. 5; [0057]);
retrieving a subset of one or more snapshots from the time-ordered set, the one or more snapshots being time-ordered before the at least one recent snapshot and satisfying, with respect to the at least one recent snapshot, a similarity above at least one of the one or more similarity thresholds [0134; 0137; 0173-0174]; and
determining a trend from the retrieved subset and a baseline, the trend being a time distribution of the snapshots of the retrieved subset with respect to the baseline [0184-0189].
Takahashi fails to specifically teach each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing.
However, in a related field, Rao teaches each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product [0035; 0054]; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing [0029;0051; 0054]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Rao by including: the limitations above in order to maintain or increase quality of the previous product.
Regarding Claim 2, The combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution with respect to the baseline by determining a ratio between the one or more snapshots of the subset and a predetermined baseline time-ordered set, the predetermined baseline time-ordered set being a predetermined time-ordered set of snapshots of the product (Takahashi: [0184-0189]).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution by fitting the snapshots of the retrieved subset to a time-series distribution, and comparing the computed time distribution to one or more predetermined baseline values (Takahashi: [0173-0174; 0180]).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution by defining a function that takes the one or more snapshots of the subset as input, the output of the function being compared to a probability distribution that determines a ratio between one or more values of the output of the function and one or more predetermined baseline values of the probability distribution (Takahashi: [0184-0185]).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more similarity thresholds are each based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set (Takahashi: [0081-0082]).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more similarity thresholds are additionally based on a predetermined threshold on a number of the one or more snapshots of the product comprised in the time-ordered set (Takahashi: [0081-0082]).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more similarity signatures are obtained from a neural network architecture applied to a respective snapshot of the product (Takahashi: [Abstract; 0092]).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more similarity signatures encode one or more of: information on the distribution of the product; information of the response of the product to a physical stimulation; and/or a text description of the product (Takahashi: [Fig. 6-9; 0065; 0132; 0210-0213]).
Regarding Claim 12, Takahashi teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having recorded thereon a computer program that when executed by a computer causes the computer to implement [0054] method for inferring an emerging problem in product manufacturing [0061-0065], the method comprising:
obtaining a time-ordered set comprising one or more snapshots of a product and one or more similarity thresholds [[0035-0036] (i.e. position, pressure); 0048; 0055-0059; 0083-0083];
obtaining at least one recent snapshot, the at least one recent snapshot being time-ordered after at least one snapshot of the time-ordered set (Fig. 5; [0057]);
retrieving a subset of one or more snapshots from the time-ordered set, the one or more snapshots being time-ordered before the at least one recent snapshot and satisfying, with respect to the at least one recent snapshot, a similarity above at least one of the one or more similarity thresholds [0134; 0137; 0173-0174]; and
determining a trend from the retrieved subset and a baseline, the trend being a time distribution of the snapshots of the retrieved subset with respect to the baseline [0184-0189].
Takahashi fails to specifically teach each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing.
However, in a related field, Rao teaches each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product [0035; 0054]; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing [0029;0051; 0054]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Rao by including: the limitations above in order to maintain or increase quality of the previous product.
Regarding Claim 13, Takahashi teaches a system comprising: a processor coupled to a memory [0072] and a graphical user interface [0071], the memory having recorded thereon a computer program for inferring an emerging problem in product manufacturing that when executed by the processor causes the processor [0061-0065] to be configured to:
obtain a time-ordered set comprising one or more snapshots of a product and one or more similarity thresholds [[0035-0036] (i.e. position, pressure); 0048; 0055-0059; 0083-0083];
obtain at least one recent snapshot, the at least one recent snapshot being time-ordered after at least one snapshot of the time-ordered set (Fig. 5; [0057]);
retrieve a subset of one or more snapshots from the time-ordered set, the one or more snapshots being time-ordered before the at least one recent snapshot and satisfying, with respect to the at least one recent snapshot, a similarity above at least one of the one or more similarity thresholds [0134; 0137; 0173-0174];; and
determine a trend from the retrieved subset and a baseline, the trend being a time distribution of the snapshots of the retrieved subset with respect to the [0184-0189].
Takahashi fails to specifically teach each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing.
However, in a related field, Rao teaches each of the one or more similarity thresholds being based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set, the one or more similarity signatures encoding one or more physical characteristic of the product [0035; 0054]; thereby improving a sensitivity of the inference of the emerging problem in product manufacturing [0029;0051; 0054]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Rao by including: the limitations above in order to maintain or increase quality of the previous product.
Regarding Claim 14, The combination teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution by fitting the snapshots of the retrieved subset to a time-series distribution, and comparing the computed time distribution to one or more predetermined baseline values. (Takahashi: [0173-0174; 0180]).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution by defining a function that takes the one or more snapshots of the subset as input, the output of the function being compared to a probability distribution that determines a ratio between one or more values of the output of the function and one or more predetermined baseline values of the probability distribution (Takahashi: [0184-0185]).
Regarding Claim 16, The combination teaches the method of claim 3, wherein determining the trend further comprises computing the time distribution by defining a function that takes the one or more snapshots of the subset as input, the output of the function being compared to a probability distribution that determines a ratio between one or more values of the output of the function and one or more predetermined baseline values of the probability distribution (Takahashi: [0184-0185]).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more similarity thresholds are each based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set (Takahashi: [0081-0082]).
Regarding Claim 18, The combination teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more similarity thresholds are each based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set (Takahashi: [0081-0082]).
Regarding Claim 19, The combination teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more similarity thresholds are each based on one or more similarity signatures of the one or more snapshots of the time-ordered set (Takahashi: [0081-0082]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Rao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vagman et al. (US20150248755A1, 2015-09-03) herein referred to as Vagman.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising computing one or more labels for each of the one or more snapshots corresponding to the determined trend, the computing including: obtaining metadata from each of the one or more snapshots, each respective metadata including at least one range of physical values of the product and being representative of the emerging problem; and associating, to each of the one or more snapshot, data pieces each corresponding to the obtained metadata (Takahashi: [Fig. 6-9; 0065; 0132]; Rao: [0038-0039])
Although it is believed by the examiner that the combination teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9, one could argue that the combination fails to specifically teach each respective metadata including at least one range of physical values of the product and being representative of the emerging problem. In lite of continuing prosecution, the examiner provides another reference that teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 9, Vagman teaches computing one or more labels for each of the one or more snapshots corresponding to the determined trend [0017; 0108], the computing including: obtaining metadata from each of the one or more snapshots [0038-0040; 0108], each respective metadata including at least one range of physical values of the product and being representative of the emerging problem [0108; 0115]; and associating, to each of the one or more snapshot, data pieces each corresponding to the obtained metadata [0108].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi and Rao to incorporate the teachings of Vagman by including: each respective metadata including at least one range of physical values of the product and being representative of the emerging problem in order to assist the user in identifying trends in quality or iterations of systematic problems.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination further teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising obtaining a first distribution of the obtained metadata over the retrieved snapshots and a second distribution of the obtained metadata over the dataset, and associating data pieces each corresponding to obtained metadata for which the obtained first and second distributions are different (Vagman: [0108-0118]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination further teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising performing a consistency check of the obtained metadata with metadata of the recent snapshot (Vagman: [0038; 0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J SINGLETARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857