DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 2 and 3, while the disclosure provides support for a first polymer portion that covers the upper arm of the clamp as suggested at [0172], and the polymer overmold overlaying recesses formed in the substrate members at [0284]-[0287] of the instant publication, the disclosure does not provide support for a first polymer portion that completely fills the one or more suture passageways or partially fills the one or more suture passageways.
6. Claims 8, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. At line 3 of claim 8, it is unclear if “each of the recessed suture portions” is intended to reference “a second plurality of suture portions that are recessed” as recited at line 2 of claim 8, or “a plurality of recessed suture portions” recited at lines 13-14 of claim 1.
8. At lines 4-5 of claim 12, it is unclear in both instances which “the suture portions” are being referenced as lines 2-3 recites “one or more suture portions”. A suggested amendment to lines 4-5 is –the one or more suture portions--.
9. At lines 3-4 of claim 13, it is unclear in both instances which “the suture portions” are being referenced as line 2 recites “one or more suture portions”. A suggested amendment to lines 3-4 is –the one or more suture portions--.
10. Claim 18 at line 6 recites the limitation "the polymer portion that is penetrable by a suture needle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
11. Claim 19 at line 3 recites the limitation "the first suture portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1, 4-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0190791). Regarding claim 1, Jacobs et al. (hereinafter Jacobs) teaches a bariatric clamp (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first elongated portion 104A (Fig. 2(a)) including a first substrate member [0076] at least partly overmolded by a first polymer portion 700 (Figs. 19-20 and [0095]-[0096]), the first elongated portion 104a having a first proximal end and a first distal end opposite the first proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface (Fig. 2(a));
a second elongated portion 104B (Fig. 2(a)) including a second substrate member at least partially overmolded by a second polymer portion ([0096]; and [0079]: “sleeves…can be slid over the arms of the clamp”), the second elongated portion 104B having a second proximal end and a second distal end opposite the second proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface (Fig. 2(a)); and
a bight portion 106 including a flexible hinge (Fig. 2(a) and [0063]-[0064], [0071]), the flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion at the first proximal end thereof and joining the second elongated portion at the second proximal end thereof (Fig. 2(a));
wherein the first elongated portion 104A includes a plurality of recessed suture portions 612D,E that are recessed from at least one of the inner surface and the outer surface of the first elongated portion (Fig. 14 and [0087]), each recessed suture portion including one or more suture passageways through the first substrate member such that the one or more suture passageways have a perimeter at least partially defined by the first substrate member (sutures placed through suture holes as described at [0097] and claim 46).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs discloses that the first polymer portion can completely cover the one or more suture passageways of the recessed suture portions ([0096]: “…silicone sleeve 700 can have tubular section 702…that…can be manipulated into position to encapsulate the…bight portion of the clamp”).
Regarding claim 5, the bight portion 106 includes an opening 108 through a portion of the flexible hinge (Figs. 2(b)-2(c) and [0063], [0066], [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, the opening 108 in the bight portion 106 is configured to form a suture connection as it can be configured to have other engagement features such as “a socket, a loop, a hook, a clasp, a string, magnetic, etc” [0066] or receive a T-bar 118 [0068] which can form a suture connection.
Regarding claim 7, the bight portion 106 includes a substrate member 702 at least partially surrounding the opening in the flexible hinge (Figs. 19-27 and [0096]).
Regarding claim 8, the second elongated portion 104B includes a second plurality of suture portions that are recessed from at least one of the inner surface and the outer surface of the second elongated portion (Figs. 14 and 15(a); [0087]: “additional suture holes 612 provided in the lower rigid member 608”), each of the recessed suture portions including one or more suture passageways through the second substrate member (sutures placed through suture holes as described at [0097] and claim 46).
Regarding claim 9, the clamp further comprises a closure mechanism [0076]-[0077] and Figs. 5, 6B, 7A-7B and 9A) comprising: an engagement portion disposed adjacent the first distal end of the first elongated portion 104A; and a fastener portion 220 disposed adjacent the second distal end of the second elongated portion comprising one or more openings (“loop”) to receive at least a portion of the engagement portion ([0076] and [0079]) to retain the bariatric clamp in a closed position ([0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 10, the first substrate member includes a first bend adjacent the first proximal end of the first elongated portion and the second substrate member includes a second bend adjacent the second proximal end of the second elongated portion (“bends” shown in the first/second substrate members in Figs. 6C and 6D) such that, when the bariatric clamp is positioned on a stomach, the flexible hinge of the bight portion forms an aperture 108 through which fluid contained within the stomach may flow (Fig. 2(b)-2(i); [0063] and [0066]; fluid is capable of flowing through the aperture).
Regarding claim 11, Jacobs teaches a bariatric clamp (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first elongated portion 104A (Fig. 2(a)) that includes a first substrate member [0076];
a second elongated portion 104B (Fig. 2(a)) that includes a second substrate member [0076]; and
a bight portion 106 including a flexible hinge (Fig. 2(a) and [0063]-[0064], [0071]), the flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion and the second elongated portion (Fig. 2(a));
wherein the first elongated portion 104A includes one or more suture portions 612A-E configured to facilitate formation of a suture connection with a patient’s stomach (Fig. 14 and [0087]),
wherein each suture portion comprises a first suture passageway through the first substrate member (sutures placed through suture holes as described at [0097] and claim 46) and is at least partially overlaid by a first polymer portion 700 ([0095]-[0096] and Figs. 19-20), and wherein the first polymer portion 700 is penetrable by a suture needle (silicone, which makes up the first polymer portion 700 [0087], is penetrable by a needle).
Regarding claim 12, the second substrate member of the second elongated portion 104B includes one or more suture portions (Figs. 14 and 15(a); [0087]: “additional suture holes 612 provided in the lower rigid member 608”), and wherein the one or more suture portions of the first elongated portion are aligned with the one or more suture portions of the second elongated portion when the bariatric clamp is in a substantially closed position (Fig. 15(a) and [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, the first polymer portion 700 comprises a polymer overmold of at least a portion of the bariatric clamp ([0095]-[0096] and Figs. 19-27).
15. Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Santilli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0149989). Regarding claim 15, Santilli et al. (hereinafter Santilli) teaches a bariatric clamp (Figs. 1 and 4) comprising:
a first elongated member 32 having a first proximal end 12b and a first distal end 12a opposite the first proximal end, and a first longitudinal axis that is defined between the first distal end and the first proximal end of the first elongated member (Figs. 7-8 and [0034]);
a second elongated member 34 having a second proximal end 14b and a second distal end 14a opposite the second proximal end, and a second longitudinal axis that is defined between the second distal end and the second proximal end of the second elongated member (Figs. 7-8 and [0034]); and
a bight portion 16 including a flexible hinge ([0029] and [0035]) joining the first elongated member 32 at the first proximal end 12b thereof and joining the second elongated member 34 at the second proximal end 14b thereof (Fig. 7);
wherein, when the bariatric clamp is in a closed position, the bight portion 16 at least partially forms a passage-forming section (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first elongated member 32 and the second elongated member 34 form a partition-forming section that, when the bariatric clamp is positioned on a stomach of a patient, partitions a portion of the stomach into a first partitioned volume and a second partitioned volume (as shown in Fig. 4), and
wherein at least a portion of the first elongated member 32 includes a first curve that is positioned between the first distal end 12a and the first proximal end 12b of the first elongated member 32 (as shown in Fig. 8 and described at [0034]) and curved away from the second elongated member 34 along the first longitudinal axis thereby defining a curved separation in the partition-forming section of the bariatric clamp (“curved away from the second elongated member 34” being interpreted as Santilli’s teaching of the first elongated member 32 being “disposed away from an operative site” at [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, when the bariatric clamp is positioned on the stomach of the patient, the passage-forming section of the bariatric clamp permits gastric fluids within the stomach to flow from the first partitioned volume to the second partitioned volume (as shown in Fig. 2, the various levels of teeth 15 allows various levels of compression, which would still allow fluid to flow [0030] and [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, at least a portion of the second elongated member 34 includes a second curve along the second longitudinal axis (also has “arc-shaped feature” as the first elongated member [0035]) that is curved away from the first elongated member (“curved away from the first elongated member” being interpreted as Santilli’s teaching of the first and second members being “disposed away from an operative site” at [0035]), the second curve positioned between the second distal end and the second proximal end of the second elongated member ([0034]-[0035] and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18 and in view of its indefinite nature, the first elongated member includes a suture portion 20 configured to facilitate formation of a suture connection with a patient's stomach ([0033]-[0034] and Figs. 1 and 8), and wherein the suture portion 20 comprises an aperture (“opening”) formed through the first elongated member ([0033] and Fig. 1) and at least a portion of the aperture of the suture portion is capable of being overlaid by a polymer portion 18 that is penetrable by a suture needle (polyester mesh 18 is penetrable by a suture needle [0033]).
Regarding claim 20, the clamp further comprises a closure mechanism comprising: an engagement portion 13 disposed adjacent the first distal end of the first elongated member 32; and a fastener portion disposed adjacent the second distal end of the second elongated member 34 comprising one or more openings (of teeth 15) to receive at least a portion of the engagement portion 13 to retain the bariatric clamp in the closed position ([0029]-[0030]; and Figs. 1-4, 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0190791). Regarding claim 13, Jacobs discloses wherein the second substrate member of the second elongated portion includes one or more suture portions (Figs. 14 and 15(a); [0087]: “additional suture holes 612 provided in the lower rigid member 608”); however Jacobs fails to explicitly disclose wherein the suture portions of the first elongated portion are not aligned with the suture portions of the second elongated portion when the bariatric clamp is in a substantially closed position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the device wherein the suture portions of the first elongated portion are not aligned with the suture portions of the second elongated portion when the bariatric clamp is in the substantially closed position, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to create dispersed pressure across the tissue when the device is in a closed position as discussed at [0084]-[0086] of Jacobs.
19. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santilli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0149989). Regarding claim 19, while Santilli discloses that the first elongated member includes a suture portion 20 ([0033]-[0034] and Figs. 1 and 8), and wherein the suture portion 20 comprises an aperture (“opening”) formed through the first elongated member ([0033] and Fig. 1), Sanitilli fails to disclose explicitly that the second elongated member includes a second suture portion, wherein the first suture portion is aligned with the second suture portion when the bariatric clamp is in a substantially closed position. However, placing a suture portion/aperture on the second elongated member would constitute a mere duplication of parts, which would be obviated by Santilli’s teaching of parallel elongated members, both of which are necessitating coverage by the cover 18, and the teaching of sewing the cover to the elongated member to retain it on the clamp when in the closed position [0033]. Providing another opening on the second elongated member would enabling retaining the cover on the second elongated member sufficiently, in addition to its retention on the first elongated member ([0033]-[0035]).
Double Patenting
21. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9, 12, 16-19, 25 and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,420,664. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose:
“a bariatric clamp comprising: a first elongated portion including a first substrate member at least partly overmolded by a first polymer portion, the first elongated portion having a first proximal end and a first distal end opposite the first proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface; a second elongated portion including a second substrate member at least partially overmolded by a second polymer portion, the second elongated portion having a second proximal end and a second distal end opposite the second proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface; and a bight portion including a flexible hinge, the flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion at the first proximal end thereof and joining the second elongated portion at the second proximal end thereof; wherein the first elongated portion includes a plurality of recessed suture portions that are recessed from at least one of the inner surface and the outer surface of the first elongated portion, each recessed suture portion including one or more suture passageways through the first substrate member such that the one or more suture passageways have a perimeter at least partially defined by the first substrate member”; and
“a bariatric clamp comprising: a first elongated portion that includes a first substrate member; a second elongated portion that includes a second substrate member; and a bight portion including a flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion and the second elongated portion; wherein the first elongated portion includes one or more suture portions configured to facilitate formation of a suture connection with a patient's stomach, wherein each suture portion comprises a first suture passageway through the first substrate member of the first elongated portion and is at least partially overlaid by a first polymer portion, and wherein the first polymer portion is penetrable by a suture needle”.
22. Claims 1, 9, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 8 and 13-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,786. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose:
“a bariatric clamp comprising: a first elongated portion including a first substrate member at least partly overmolded by a first polymer portion, the first elongated portion having a first proximal end and a first distal end opposite the first proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface; a second elongated portion including a second substrate member at least partially overmolded by a second polymer portion, the second elongated portion having a second proximal end and a second distal end opposite the second proximal end, and an inner surface and an outer surface; and a bight portion including a flexible hinge, the flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion at the first proximal end thereof and joining the second elongated portion at the second proximal end thereof; wherein the first elongated portion includes a plurality of recessed suture portions that are recessed from at least one of the inner surface and the outer surface of the first elongated portion, each recessed suture portion including one or more suture passageways through the first substrate member such that the one or more suture passageways have a perimeter at least partially defined by the first substrate member”; and
“a bariatric clamp comprising: a first elongated portion that includes a first substrate member; a second elongated portion that includes a second substrate member; and a bight portion including a flexible hinge joining the first elongated portion and the second elongated portion; wherein the first elongated portion includes one or more suture portions configured to facilitate formation of a suture connection with a patient's stomach, wherein each suture portion comprises a first suture passageway through the first substrate member of the first elongated portion and is at least partially overlaid by a first polymer portion, and wherein the first polymer portion is penetrable by a suture needle”; and
“a bariatric clamp comprising: a first elongated member having a first proximal end and a first distal end opposite the first proximal end, and a first longitudinal axis that is defined between the first distal end and the first proximal end of the first elongated member; a second elongated member having a second proximal end and a second distal end opposite the second proximal end, and a second longitudinal axis that is defined between the second distal end and the second proximal end of the second elongated member; and a bight portion including a flexible hinge joining the first elongated member at the first proximal end thereof and joining the second elongated member at the second proximal end thereof; wherein, when the bariatric clamp is in a closed position, the bight portion at least partially forms a passage-forming section, wherein the first elongated member and the second elongated member form a partition-forming section that, when the bariatric clamp is positioned on a stomach of a patient, partitions a portion of the stomach into a first partitioned volume and a second partitioned volume, and wherein at least a portion of the first elongated member includes a first curve that is positioned between the first distal end and the first proximal end of the first elongated member and curved away from the second elongated member along the first longitudinal axis thereby defining a curved separation in the partition-forming section of the bariatric clamp.”
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791