DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments received 12 May 2026, have been fully considered. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-21 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the amendments obviate any rejection. The examiner disagrees, since the amended limitations do not address the reasons for ineligibility. The amended claims still amount to computer-assisted calibration testing for a device. The device and type of calibration test are not limited. The interface and template provide no more than commonplace functions such as data entry into cells and automate generic processes such as calculating an error based on input and output data associated with equipment undergoing a calibration test.
Applicant submits that any abstract ideas are integrated into a practical application that improves a computer’s functioning. The examiner disagrees; the invention does not improve a computer’s functioning, rather it applies a computer to facilitate a calibration test.
Applicant states that the claims, under broadest reasonable interpretation, must be limited to computer implementation. The examiner agrees that a computer must be involved since use of a computer is explicitly recited, but this does not mean that all of the prior art’s teachings must be performed by a computer. See 101 rejections below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. Applicant argues that applying Bardi, Bankhead, and/or Schwiesow to argue that using a computer would have been obvious represents impermissible hindsight reconstruction. Applicant again argues that nothing in ITD suggests that its worksheets should be converted into a user-customizable computer system, and that the previous Office action gives no teaching as to why ITD would change its fixed worksheets into an interactive, user-configurable calibration testing template.
The examiner disagrees that hindsight reconstruction was used. Computers are used in calibration. Digital spreadsheets provided on and filled out using a computer are known. The examiner agrees that ITD does not discuss converting its test procedures to be implemented on a computer system including data cells and which performs automatic calculations, but considers these features to be nearly ubiquitous in modern life and therefore well within the knowledge and ability of one of ordinary skill in the art. Again, the reasons for digitizing a worksheet are well-known; they allow worksheet automation, enable access from multiple locations, replace possibly illegible handwriting with clear, standardized text, allow for greater customization, etc.
However, in light of the amendments, new grounds of rejection are given. See 103 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At Step 1 of the 101 analysis, claims 1-14 are directed to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 1 is rejected in response to the following analysis:
At Step 2A, Prong One, the abstract ideas are bolded in the copy of claim 1 below:
A method, comprising:
providing, at a user interface and using at least one processor associated with a calibration testing template, a customized testing data sheet comprising a plurality of test points, each test point of the plurality of test points including a target input indicator, a test data input cell, and a test data output cell;
receiving, at the user interface, a selection of at least one reference standard associated with an equipment item and assignable to a test data input and/or a test data output;
receiving, from the test data input cell and using the at least one processor, the test data input associated with the equipment item;
receiving, from the test data output cell and using the at least one processor, the test data output associated with the equipment item;
determining, using the at least one processor and based on the received test data input and test data output, an output error; and
determining, using the at least one processor and based on the determined output error, a status result of the equipment item,
wherein the status result of the equipment item indicates whether the equipment item passes or fails calibration testing, wherein determining the status result of the equipment item includes:
determining, using the at least one processor, whether the output error is within a process tolerance, wherein the process tolerance is adjustable by the user.
Determining an output error, determining a status result of an equipment item, and determining whether the output error is within a user-defined process tolerance are mental or mathematical processes depending on the complexity of the operations involved.
At Step 2A, Prong Two, a number of additional elements are recited. A processor and user interface are recited, both of which are encompassed by supplying a general-purpose computer. A testing data sheet comprising points with target input indicators, reference standard selectors, input cells, and output cells is provided, and the processor receives data from the input and output cells. This describes data gathering which is used to perform the judicial exceptions. While the data is associated with the equipment item, the nature of the equipment item is unclear. With these considerations, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the abstract idea of determining an output error and status of an item.
At Step 2B, when considering the claim as a whole, claim 1 describes providing a template and computer for implementing error testing. Therefore, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions.
Claims 3 recites assigning reference standards to the test data input and/or output. This does not significantly clarify the field of use nor change the conclusions reached in the analysis of claim 1, therefore claim 3 is also rejected.
Claims 4-7 add elements to what is provided at the user interface, all of which are general elements commonly found on user interfaces. Furthermore, none of these additional limitations clarify the field of use or change the conclusions reached in the analysis of claim 1. Claims 4-7 are therefore also rejected.
Claims 8 and 15 recite a system and non-transient computer-readable storage medium, respectively, which are implemented to perform the method of claim 1. However, neither include limitations which change the conclusions reached in the analysis of claim 1, therefore claims 8 and 15 are also rejected.
Claims 10-14 and 17-21 recite the limitations of claims 3-7, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITP (“ITD Laboratory Qualification Program—Appendix B” from Idaho Department of Transportation on itd.idaho.gov, https://apps.itd.idaho.gov/apps/manuals/labops/labops_290_appb.pdf with Wayback Machine Publication date of April 23, 2021 having the link: https://web.archive.org/web/20210423003017/https://apps.itd.idaho.gov/apps/manuals/labops/labops_290_appb.pdf; hereinafter “ITP”) in view of Brown (US 20220050003 A1). Note that a screenshot from web.archive.org showing when ITD’s URL was crawled has been saved as a separate document.
Regarding claim 1, ITP discloses a calibration testing template comprising a customized testing data sheet (pg. 75, Worksheet 26). The data sheet comprises a plurality of test points (pg. 75, Section 1 includes multiple cells for inputting test information).
ITP also discloses a method of testing an equipment item (pg. 73, a “thermometer being verified,” hereafter referred to as a device under test (DUT)). The method includes providing test data input associated with the equipment item (pg. 73, “a temperature bath maintained at test temperature” is measured by the DUT), providing test data output associated with the equipment item (pg. 73, the temperature of the DUT is taken), determining an output error based on the test data input and test data output (pg. 73, a “certified thermometer” verifies the temperature bath, and a “difference between the two thermometers” is calculated and compared to a “scale error value”; the output error is based on the difference between what DUT ought to read and what it does read), and determining a status result of the equipment item based on the output error (pg. 73, if the error value is “outside the scale error maximum, repeat this procedure two more times and reject [the DUT] if difference remains outside of scale error maximum”), wherein the status result of the equipment item indicates whether the equipment item passes or fails calibration testing (if the DUT is outside the scale error thrice it is rejected), wherein determining the status result includes determining whether the output error is within a process tolerance (the “process tolerance” is being within the scale error maximum in one of up to three consecutive tests).
ITP does not explicitly disclose providing the customized testing data sheet at a user interface using at least one processor.
Brown discloses a method, comprising: providing, at a user interface (see at least Fig. 1A) and using at least one processor (¶109: computing devices may be used for the systems and methods of the invention) associated with a calibration testing template (see Fig. 1C), a customized testing data sheet (Abstract: "Methods and systems include a universal, device-agnostic calibration process in which measured indications output by a device under test (DUT) (or corrected or converted indications derived therefrom) may be compared with calibration thresholds for any type of DUT to be calibrated. A complete, universal, and extensible calibration process is thus achieved that is capable of accommodating routine and complex calibration scenarios alike."; See also at least Fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Brown with the invention of ITP by causing the method to comprise providing at a user interface and using at least one processor associated with the calibration testing template, the customized testing data sheet. Having such an interface, it would further have been obvious to cause each test point of the plurality of test points to include a test data input cell and a test data output cell; and to cause the at least one processor to receive the test data input from the test data input cell, receive the test data output from the test data output cell, determine the output error, and determine the status result. Doing so would enable one to use a computer to facilitate calibration testing.
Brown also teaches determining the status result (Fig. 1A, “Result” column 112) of an equipment item (Fig. 1A, a pressure gauge is calibration-tested), where determining the status result includes determining whether the output error is within a process tolerance (in ¶29 and Fig. 1A, the "pass" result is given if the measured value is within the defined limits) which is adjustable by the user (¶29: "The lower limit values and the upper limit values may be selected").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Brown with the invention of ITP in view of Brown by causing the process tolerance to be adjustable by the user. This would be useful in case a user wishes to, for example, increase the accuracy requirements for a thermometer to remain in use.
ITP does not explicitly disclose including a target input indicator, however it does disclose a multi-point thermometer test to be verified at two temperature points (pg. 73, the DUT is verified “at two temperature points, the Ice Point and the Maximum Operation Temperature Point. (The Maximum Operation Temperature Point is defined as the highest temperature the thermometer will be used at to conduct testing.)”). Furthermore, Brown does disclose target input indicators (See Fig. 1C testing a 100 gram precision balance; "Cardinal Point" column 152; ¶31: a "precision balance 142 is tested using masses having known cardinal point weights" as indicated in column 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the invention of ITP in view of Brown to cause each of the plurality of test points to include a target input indicator. Doing so would communicate to a user a desired set of values (such as Ice Point and Maximum Operation Temperature Point) to measure when testing a device under test.
ITP does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the user interface, a selection of at least one reference standard associated with the equipment item and assignable to the test data input and/or the test data output. However, Brown teaches receiving a selection of at least one reference standard (though not explicitly teaching that this occurs at the user interface) (¶83: output quantities used in calibrating a DUT are compared to a reference quantity value or values which may have been pre-selected). Additionally, ITP discloses DUT measurements with a reference standard (see pg. 73, under Inspection Equipment Required: a “Certified Thermometer” is used as a standard to compare with the DUT’s output). Furthermore, ITP discloses, in multiple test procedures, providing identification information of a particular certified thermometer used as a reference standard (see pg. 75, “Standard Used: Type: ITD Number:” in reference to the certified thermometer; see also Procedure 25, Unit Weight Bucket Standardization, pg. 72, “Standards Used:…Thermometer ITD Number:”). Thus, ITD teaches that multiple certified thermometers may be available, and that one must be chosen and recorded when using it for a test. When providing the testing template on a computer, enabling a user to select the certified thermometer used from a list of usable certified thermometers would help a user quickly fill out a testing sheet and would keep a record of a particular certified thermometer’s use in case it becomes faulty.
For the reasons above, then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the invention of ITP in view of Brown to receive, at the user interface, a selection of at least one reference standard associated with the equipment item and assignable to a test data input and/or a test data output.
Additionally, ITP teaches a number of other calibration tests (see pg. 1, Table B-1 states that the list of procedures and worksheets is for calibration, among other things), and Brown teaches that its methods and systems are for device-agnostic calibration, and are adaptable to many different DUTs (see Abstract and many of the Figures depicting calibration tests of different DUTs). For these reasons as well, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the invention of ITP in view of Brown to cause the calibration testing template to be usable with equipment items of various types and to receive, at the user interface, a selection of at least one reference standard associated with the equipment item and assignable to a test data input and/or a test data output. Doing so would enable a user to set up the calibration testing template for testing other DUTs.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 1 are found in claim 8 and rejected for the same reasons. Claim 8 also recites that the one or more hardware processors are configured by machine-readable instructions to perform the method of claim 1. It would have been obvious to provide instructions to enable the one or more processors to perform their functions.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations of claim 15 are found in claim 8 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, ITP in view of Brown teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, and ITP further discloses that a first reference standard is assigned to the test data input (the “Ice Bath” is a temperature standard assignable to the input; at standard atmospheric pressure, water exists in equilibrium at its solid and liquid states at
0
°
Celsius) and a second reference standard (pg. 73, the “certified thermometer”) is assigned to the test data output (the output of the DUT is compared to the certified thermometer, thus it is a second reference standard assigned to the test data output), the first reference standard being different than the second reference standard (the ice bath and certified thermometer are different but both are standards).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, ITP in view of Brown teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, and ITP further discloses a cell for a user to enter text associated with each of the plurality of test points (pg. 75, there are numerous cells (such as the “Remarks” cell) in which a user can write information pertaining to the test and which is therefore associated with the plurality of test points), and it would have been obvious to include the same functionality on the user interface so a user can record and save information.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, ITP in view of Brown teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, and further provides a graphical representation of completed test points (see Brown, Fig. 1A; the first three test points are completed).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, ITP in view of Brown teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, and further teaches providing, at the user interface, a summary of completed test points (Brown, Fig. 1A: the test points are summarized on the interface). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide such a summary on the user interface to help a user quickly see which test points have been completed and what the completed results indicate about the DUT.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 21, ITP in view of Brown teaches the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15. Brown further teaches that the test data input cells and the test data output cells of the plurality of test points may be positioned along a single user interface (see Fig. 1C, test data input cells are on the “Applied” column 154 and test data output cells are on the “Measured” column 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Brown with the invention of ITP in view of Brown by causing the test data input cells and the test data output cells of the plurality of test points to be positioned along a single user interface in order to consolidate all of the information in one place.
Conclusion
ETHAN WESLEY EDWARDS
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/E.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857