DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendment, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 10 and 13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sosuke et al (JPH 09318271) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Goodfellow et al (4,747,771).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goodfellow et al (4,747,771). Goodfellow et al discloses a heating furnace (column 2, lines 28-33), comprising a plurality of heat storage coolers (1, 1A, 1B) capable of introducing a cooling gas into an inside of the furnace and sucking an in-furnace gas; wherein each of the plurality of heat storage coolers comprises a gas nozzle (10) in communication with the inside of the furnace (SEE element 8 & 11 of Figure 1); a gas port (70) in communication with an outside of the furnace and connected to a gas piping system (69, 88, 90, SEE Figure 1) that is capable of switching between supplying gas to the heat storage cooler and exhausting gas from the heat storage cooler (column 4, lines 34-45); a gas passage (116, 103, 104, 105, 110) communicating the gas nozzle with the gas port and having a space (103) for filling a heat storage element (100); and a heat storage element filled in the space for filling the heat storage element (Figure 1), wherein the gas nozzle is not configured to be supplied with a fuel gas (gas nozzle receives waste gas from the furnace), and wherein the gas nozzle is configured to suck in heated in-furnace gas and direct the heated in-furnace gas to the heat storage element and cool the heated in-furnace gas prior to being discharged from the gas port (column 4, lines 21-45). In re claim 3, Goodfellow et al discloses that the heat storage cooler of the plurality of heat storage coolers comprises at least one inlet/outlet (112) for exchanging the heat storage element. In re claim 6, Goodfellow et al discloses that the heat storage element is in a form of balls, honeycombs or meshes (column 8, lines 25-30). In re claim 7, Goodfellow et al discloses that at least one of the plurality of heat storage coolers comprises the gas nozzle (10) on a first inner wall (11), and at least one of the plurality of heat storage coolers comprises the gas nozzle on a second inner wall facing the first inner wall (schematically depicted in Figure 3, where each regenerator (1) are on opposite sides of the furnace as is commonly known in the art). In re claim 9, Goodfellow et al discloses
wherein a number of the heat storage coolers includes the gas nozzle on the first inner wall and a number of the heat storage coolers comprising the gas nozzle on the second inner wall are the same (schematically depicted in Figure 3, where each regenerator on opposite sides of the inner wall of a furnace are identical as commonly known in the art). In re claim 10, Goodfellow et al discloses at least one heat storage cooler including the gas nozzle on the first inner wall and at least one heat storage cooler comprising the gas nozzle on the second inner wall are configured to be contrary regarding a timing of introducing the cooling gas into the furnace and a timing of sucking the in-furnace gas (they are regenerative, SEE column 4, lines 21-45, this is the common function). In re claim 13, Goodfellow et al discloses that the heating furnace is a firing furnace (SEE Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanzawa et al (11,029,090) in view of Goodfellow et al (4,747,771). Hanzawa et al discloses a continuous industrial furnace having an inlet, a heating zone, a cooling zone (SEE column 30, lines 30-59) and an outlet wherein the furnace is configured to heat treat a workpiece while conveying the workpiece from the inlet to the outlet. Goodfellow et al teaches a plurality of heat storage coolers (1) which are incorporated into the wall of the furnace which is capable of receiving and cooling waste gas from a furnace. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the applicants claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for which the subject matter pertains to have adapted the plurality of heat storage coolers of Goodfellow et al into the cooling zone of the continuous industrial furnace of Hanzawa et al and arrived at the applicants claimed invention for the purpose of cooling waste gas and supplying cooled gas into the furnace with less deviation from the temperature of the furnace gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8, 11 and 12 are allowed.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 May 2, 2026