DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 filed on 06/08/2023 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number LU502324 dated 06/21/2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
No certified English translation is in the official record for the application. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action, see 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 06/08/2023, 11/21/2023, 03/19/2024, and 06/06/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coupling unit and vacuum unit of claim 9 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 22c and 32 and because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 22.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Driverless Vehicle for Transport of Spinning Cans.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0404094 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a driverless transport vehicle for autonomous transport and replacement of at least one spinning can comprising:
an autonomous travelling drive (FIGS. 1-7 and [0049]: self-walking trolley 5);
a transport platform for taking up the at least one spinning can ([0064]: basic yarn stacking position 51); and
an autonomous manipulator unit for taking up and setting down the at least one spinning can (FIG. 2, FIG. 5 and FIG. 7 and [0061]: manipulator 6), whereby the autonomous manipulator unit includes a gripper for gripping the at least one spinning can (FIG. 5 and [0061]: first mechanical claw 62 and second mechanical claw 63 correspond to grippers) and an actuating device for adjusting the gripper ([0063]: “The first mechanical claw 62 and the second mechanical claw 63 are a plurality of mechanical fingers capable of changing a circumscribed circle diameter,” which means the grippers have an actuating device for adjustment).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 1.
Zhang further discloses wherein a control unit of the autonomous manipulator unit is arranged in, or on the take-up unit (FIGS. 1-3 and [0051]: trolley wireless controller 10).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a process for replacing at least one spinning can on a spinning machine comprising:
moving the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 1 loaded with at least one spinning can filled with fibre band to the spinning machine ([0051]: “The self-walking trolley 5 is provided with a trolley wireless controller 10 and a self-walking device 52, and further provided with a manipulator 6 for receiving an instruction of the dispatching control system 12 and walking to a station of the twisting machine 2 to take off an empty bobbin 4, and put a basic yarn 1 on a creel 3 of the twisting machine 2 or take off a finished product package 22 for stacking”);
positioning the driverless transport vehicle on the spinning machine in front of the at least one spinning can to be replaced ([0051]: “The self-walking device is able to automatically walk to a designated position according to feedback of a navigation device”);
moving the at least one spinning can to be replaced by the driverless transport vehicle, from an operating position to a take-up position at a distance from the operating position ([0078]: “The manipulator 6 which completes installation of the basic yarn 1 puts the bobbin 4 into the empty bobbin storage box 9, and a number is counted to prevent the empty bobbin storage box 9 from overflowing. The self-walking trolley 5 moves to a next node again for yarn loading,” where the bobbin storage box corresponds to a take-up position);
picking up the at least one spinning can filled with fibre band from the transport platform by the autonomous manipulator unit and the setting of the at least one spinning can down next to the driverless transport vehicle ([0080]: “the self-walking trolley 5 is instructed to unload the finished product package 22 at a tail of the twisting machine 2, and the finished product package is stacked on a nearby pallet 25,” which corresponds to setting a spinning can down next to the driverless transport vehicle); and
moving the filled spinning can that has been set down into a free operating position by the driverless transport vehicle ([0080]: “when the stacking is completed, the dispatching control system 12 informs an operator to move the full pallet 25 and arrange a new pallet 25”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0404094 A1), in view of Galluzzo et al. (US 2020/0316786 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches further including a take-up unit which is arranged on the transport platform and mounts the autonomous manipulator unit (FIG. 7 and [0066]: “the empty bobbin storage box 9 is located in a middle of the self-walking trolley 5, a top portion of the empty bobbin storage box 9 is provided with a manipulator seat 24, and the manipulator 6 is fixedly installed on the manipulator seat 24”).
Zhang does not explicitly teach “an operating unit communicatively connected to the autonomous manipulator unit in a raised manner with respect to a surface of the transport platform for operation by an operator of at least the autonomous manipulator unit.”
Galluzzo further teaches an operating unit communicatively connected to the autonomous manipulator unit in a raised manner with respect to a surface of the transport platform for operation by an operator of at least the autonomous manipulator unit ([0109]: “Each manipulation robot may also have a user interface 130 which includes a graphical display monitor and an input device, where the input device may be a touch screen 130, a track ball, voice command, a keyboard, input buttons or any combination of these devices and possibly others. The user interface 130 allows a user to command and control each manipulation robot to perform localized tasks”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Galluzzo so as to include an operating unit communicatively connected to the autonomous manipulator unit in a raised manner with respect to a surface of the transport platform for operation by an operator of at least the autonomous manipulator unit. Doing so would allow a human operator to work side-by-side with the manipulator with the motivation of improving efficiency and minimizing the need to change existing infrastructure (Galluzzo, [0008]: “a solution that does not require changing significant infrastructure in a facility, such as using existing shelving and racks, and works side-by-side with manual labor is desired. Moreover, a solution that may expedite and improve item localization and pick accuracy is desired”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 1.
While Zhang teaches the autonomous manipulator comprising a 3-axis to 6-axis manipulator with a mechanical claw, as supported by [0061], Zhang does not explicitly teach “the autonomous manipulator unit comprises a collaborating robot wherein the actuating device comprises a robot arm and the gripper comprises a robot hand of the collaborating robot.”
Galluzzo further teaches wherein the autonomous manipulator unit comprises a collaborating robot ([0125]: “in facilities where human workers may work side-by-side with the robots of the present invention, the distance limits at which an object is registered as an obstacle may be set to avoid accidental contact with a human, or the robot may be configured to slow when approaching a human worker,” which corresponds to a collaborating robot),
wherein the actuating device comprises a robot arm ([0111]: “additional high degree-of-freedom robot manipulator arms 120 may be included which may provide additional lift capability to pick objects of various shapes and sizes when the arms work cooperatively, or to pick more than one object at a given pick location using arms working in parallel but independently”) and
the gripper comprises a robot hand of the collaborating robot ([0113]: “the end effector may be a mechanically actuated gripper such as, for example, a robotic hand having articulated digits”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Galluzzo so as to include an operating unit communicatively connected to the autonomous manipulator unit in a raised manner with respect to a surface of the transport platform for operation by an operator of at least the autonomous manipulator unit. Doing so would allow a human operator to work side-by-side with the manipulator with the motivation of improving efficiency and minimizing the need to change existing infrastructure (Galluzzo, [0008]: “a solution that does not require changing significant infrastructure in a facility, such as using existing shelving and racks, and works side-by-side with manual labor is desired. Moreover, a solution that may expedite and improve item localization and pick accuracy is desired”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Galluzzo teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 2.
Zhang further teaches wherein the take-up unit comprises a detection unit for detecting a position of the at least one spinning can and/or of a fibre band end arranged in the at least one spinning can and/or of the fibre band end in the at least one spinning can ([0078]: “A position of the basic yarn 1 on the yarn stack 11 is positioned through visual recognition by an image shot by the mechanical claw camera 61 during operating, and a position of a positioning rod 303 needing yarn loading on the creel 3 is positioned through visual recognition by the image shot by the mechanical claw camera 61,” where mechanical claw camera 61 corresponds to a detection unit for detecting a position of a spinning can or a fibre band end).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Galluzzo teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 10.
Zhang further teaches wherein the detection unit is embodied for camera-based, laser-based and/or sensor-based detection of a position of the at least one spinning can ([0078]: “a position of a positioning rod 303 needing yarn loading on the creel 3 is positioned through visual recognition by the image shot by the mechanical claw camera 61,” which corresponds to camera-based detection of a position of a spinning can) and/or of the fibre band end in the at least one spinning can ([0078]: “A position of the basic yarn 1 on the yarn stack 11 is positioned through visual recognition by an image shot by the mechanical claw camera 61 during operating,” which corresponds to camera-based detection of a position of a fibre band end).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0404094 A1), in view of Patta et al. (US 2017/0368693 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches wherein the gripper comprises two gripper elements ([0063]: “The first mechanical claw 62 and the second mechanical claw 63 are a plurality of mechanical fingers capable of changing a circumscribed circle diameter”).
Zhang does not explicitly teach “a first one of the two gripper elements is arranged in a stationary manner and a second one of the two gripper elements is arranged in a linearly adjustable manner on a support strut of the gripper in a direction of the first one of the two gripper elements and away from the latter, in order to assume a release position releasing the at least one spinning can and a holding position locking the at least one spinning can in a course of adjustment.”
Patta further teaches wherein a first one of the two gripper elements is arranged in a stationary manner and a second one of the two gripper elements is arranged in a linearly adjustable manner on a support strut of the gripper in a direction of the first one of the two gripper elements and away from the latter ([0004]: “The gripper device comprises a base comprising a first end and a second end; a plurality of fingers, wherein a fixed finger comprising a top end and a bottom end, wherein the bottom end of the fixed finger is coupled to the first end of the base, a sliding finger comprising a top end and a bottom end, wherein the bottom end of the sliding finger is positioned at the second end of the base and opposite to the fixed finger”), in order to assume a release position releasing the at least one spinning can and a holding position locking the at least one spinning can in a course of adjustment ([0029]: “the one or more identified grasping components perform pick and place function for objects in a particular orientation and/or particular movement/direction based on the determined optimal holding orientation and the determined optimal movement. This ensures that the gripper device 100 grips the objects firmly and ensures that the object does not fall and is rather grasped (or held) tightly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Patta so as to include a first one of the two gripper elements arranged in a stationary manner and a second one of the two gripper elements arranged in a linearly adjustable manner on a support strut of the gripper in a direction of the first one of the two gripper elements and away from the latter, in order to assume a release position releasing the at least one spinning can and a holding position locking the at least one spinning can in a course of adjustment. Doing so would allow gripping of objects with the aim of picking and placing objects of various shapes ([0003]: “Gripping systems enable gripping of objects. Current gripping system have fingers driven by actuators, in which the gripping system pick objects which are in gripping range. The problem in the current gripping systems is that they do not have much intelligence to estimate the object picking positions and holding positions, and have restrictions where the fingers hold the objects which are having height”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Patta teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 5.
Zhang further teaches wherein each of the two gripper elements has in each case at least two contact surfaces for contacting the at least one spinning can (FIG. 5 elements 62 and 63 show the gripper elements having at least two contact surfaces for gripping a spinning can),
the contact surfaces of each of the two gripper elements being arranged at a distance from one another on each of the two gripper elements (FIG. 5 elements 62 and 63 show the contact surfaces of each of the two gripper elements being arranged at a distance from one another),
at least one of the contact surfaces per each of the two gripper elements having a static-friction structure for contacting the at least one spinning can (FIG. 5 elements 62 and 63 show the gripper elements having a flat static-friction structure for gripping cans in a non-destructively replaceable manner, as supported by [0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Patta teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 5.
Zhang does not explicitly teach “a signal transmitter that is arranged on one of the two gripper elements and embodied to signal contacting of the two gripper elements.”
Patta further teaches further including a signal transmitter that is arranged on one of the two gripper elements and embodied to signal contacting of the two gripper elements ([0025]: “proximity sensors may be attached to the gripper device 100 and are configured to determine the proximity of the object (e.g., position and/or distance of the object) from (i) the fingers 104A-B, and/or the suction cups 106A-C. In one embodiment, the one or more proximity sensors are attached to (or fixed to) each of the inward layers of the fingers”).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0404094 A1), in view of Patta et al. (US 2017/0368693 A1), and in view of Fujihara et al. (US 2019/0084762 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Patta teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 5.
Zhang does not explicitly teach “a pushing apparatus arranged on the gripper and having a pusher body which can be brought into engagement with the at least one spinning can for bottom-level displacement of the at least one spinning can.”
Fujihara further teaches further including a pushing apparatus arranged on the gripper and having a pusher body which can be brought into engagement with the at least one spinning can for bottom-level displacement of the at least one spinning can (FIG. 3 and [0203]: “The first finger 51, the second finger 52, and the third finger 53 are rotated with respect to the base portion 31 and displaced in a direction approaching each other, whereby the article 5 is clamped between at least two fingers. Thus, in a case where an article is clamped by rotation of the finger, the article receives a clamping force from the two fingers and receives force acting in a direction to push out from the two fingers. It is assumed a case where the article 5 is detached from the clamping mechanism 50 by the force acting in the direction to push out from between the two fingers,” thus, the device is able to perform the function of pushing an article).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Zhang in view of Patta to incorporate the teachings of Fujihara so as to include a pushing apparatus arranged on the gripper and having a pusher body which can be brought into engagement with the at least one spinning can for bottom-level displacement of the at least one spinning can. Doing so would allow pushing of articles with the aim of transporting objects of various shapes (Fujihara, [0028]: “Embodiments provide a gripping device that can grip an article regardless of shape and posture of the article, and a conveying apparatus including the gripping device”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Patta and Fujihara teaches the driverless transport vehicle according to claim 8.
Zhang and Patta do not explicitly teach “the pusher body has a coupling unit for releasable tension-resistant connection to the at least one spinning can, the coupling unit having a vacuum unit which is arranged on the first one of the two gripper elements on a side facing away from the second one of the two gripper elements.”
Fujihara further teaches wherein the pusher body has a coupling unit for releasable tension-resistant connection to the at least one spinning can, the coupling unit having a vacuum unit which is arranged on the first one of the two gripper elements on a side facing away from the second one of the two gripper elements (FIG. 5 and [0040]: “As shown in FIG. 3, the gripping device 30 includes a base portion 31, a suction mechanism 40 which can suck an article 5 by the suction portion 41, and a clamping mechanism 50 which can clamp an article 5 using a plurality of fingers”; [0047]: “The vacuum generator 45 is configured so that a negative pressure can be applied to the suction portion 41 through a pipe 47”; [0221]: “in addition to the palm portion 32, the suction portion 41 may be provided at any position of each finger, for example, the second finger configuration portion 54b and the first finger configuration portion 54a,” where since the suction portion may be provided at any position, it may be arranged on a side facing away from the second of two gripper elements).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0011491 A1: Automated guided vehicle with robot manipulator for transporting packages of yarn
US 2021/0016456 A1: Variable grippers for grasping various objects
US 2021/0053216 A1: Robotic vacuum gripper
US 5,390,484 A: Method for exchanging sliver cans
US 5,511,372 A: Transport vehicle for exchanging sliver cans
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117