DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group1 and species 2 (claims 1-10 and figure 2) in the reply filed on 05/06/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, wherein a conducting material is arranged at least partially between the second contact element and the surface of the magnetic core must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "15" and "17" have both been used to designate a second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1 Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabeza et al.(US 20240153694) in view of Xia et al. (CN 209641497)(English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Cabeza et al (figures 1-13 and para 0097-0121) discloses magnetic core (10)(see figure 13); a bobbin (20) (see figures 1/13) extending about and partially covering the magnetic core (see figure 13); wherein the bobbin is made of a thermally conductive dielectric material (see para 0060); wherein the bobbin further comprises an outer body connectable to an inner body (see figure 13); wherein the inner body comprises at least a first contact element (34) being formed as a rib (see figure 13).
Cabeza et al (figure 13) discloses the wherein the first contact element is directly contacting the magnetic core but does expressly discloses a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core.
Xia et al. (figure 2 and pages 3-4) discloses teaching wherein thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core the first contact element is connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core. (see page 0000 discloses wherein the core is coated with a graphite heat dissipation coating and also the height of the convex portions (ribs) size can be adjusted which allows for the first contact element to connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element; see also page disclosing the bobbin contacting magnetic core portions that are coated with the heat dissipation coating)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core as taught by Xia et al. to the inductive device of Cabeza et al.so as to improve the heat dissipation performance while also improving electrical and thermal insulation.
Regarding claim 2, Cabeza et al (figures 13 and para 0118-0121) discloses wherein an inner wall of the outer body of the bobbin and the surface of the magnetic core form a space which is configured as a cooling channel.
Regarding claim 3, Cabeza et al (para 0043-0052) discloses a cooling medium arranged inside the cooling channel.
Regarding claim 4, Cabeza et al (para 0043-0052) discloses wherein the cooling medium is a cooling fluid.
Regarding claim 5, Cabeza et al (para 0043-0052) discloses wherein the thermally conductive dielectric material of the bobbin is at least one of a thermoplastic material, an epoxy resin with a filler, a ceramic or a carbon material.
Regarding claim 6, Cabeza et al (figure 13) discloses wherein the bobbin is at least one of a circular, square, octagonal, hexagonal or any other polygonal shape.
Regarding claim 9, Cabeza et al (figure 13) discloses wherein the electrical device comprises an electrical conductor forming a winding that encloses the bobbin.
Regarding claim 10, Cabeza et al (figures 1-13 and para 0097-0121) discloses magnetic core (10)(see figure 13); a bobbin (20) (see figures 1/13) extending about and partially covering the magnetic core (see figure 13); wherein the bobbin is made of a thermally conductive dielectric material (see para 0060); wherein the bobbin further comprises an outer body connectable to an inner body (see figure 13); wherein the inner body comprises at least a first contact element (34) being formed as a rib (see figure 13) and wherein the transformer is a high-power medium frequency transformer (see para 0001-0008).
Cabeza et al (figure 13) discloses the wherein the first contact element is directly contacting the magnetic core but does expressly discloses a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core.
Xia et al. (figure 2 and pages 3-4) discloses teaching wherein thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core the first contact element is connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core. (see page 0000 discloses wherein the core is coated with a graphite heat dissipation coating and also the height of the convex portions (ribs) size can be adjusted which allows for the first contact element to connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element; see also page disclosing the bobbin contacting magnetic core portions that are coated with the heat dissipation coating)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core as taught by Xia et al. to the inductive device of Cabeza et al.so as to improve the heat dissipation performance while also improving electrical and thermal insulation.
2 Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabeza et al.(US 20240153694) in view of Xia et al. (CN 209641497)(English translation) in further view of Sines (US 6,259,347).
Regarding claim 8, the modified inductive device of Cabeza et al (figures 1-13 and para 0097-0121) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein a conducting material is arranged at least partially between the second contact element and the surface of the magnetic core.
Sines (see Col 3, lines 5-15) discloses a teaching wherein a conducting material (25) is arranged at least partially between the second contact element (16) and the surface of the magnetic core. (see Col 3, lines 5-15 disclosing a teaching wherein a conducting material 25 can be design ed between the core 12 and the second contact element/(graphite material 16)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a conducting material is arranged at least partially between the second contact element and the surface of the magnetic core as taught by Sines to the inductive device of Cabeza et al. so as to greatly ensure efficient uninterrupted heat transfer away from the electronic component and prevent dangerous overheating.
3 Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollock et al.(US 20150318106) in view of Xia et al. (CN 209641497)(English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Pollock et al (figures 1-5e and para 0016-0057) discloses magnetic core (508)(see figure 508); a bobbin (100) (see figures 1-5a) extending about and partially covering the magnetic core (see figure 5a); wherein the bobbin is made of a thermally conductive dielectric material (see para 0023); wherein the bobbin further comprises an outer body connectable to an inner body (see figure 5a); wherein the inner body comprises at least a first contact element (506) being formed as a rib (see figure 5a).
Pollock et al. (figure 5a) discloses the wherein the first contact element is directly contacting the magnetic core but does expressly discloses a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core.
Xia et al. (figure 2 and pages 3-4) discloses teaching wherein thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core the first contact element is connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core. (see page 0000 discloses wherein the core is coated with a graphite heat dissipation coating and also the height of the convex portions (ribs) size can be adjusted which allows for the first contact element to connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element; see also page disclosing the bobbin contacting magnetic core portions that are coated with the heat dissipation coating)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core as taught by Xia et al. to the inductive device of Pollock et al. so as to improve the heat dissipation performance while also improving electrical and thermal insulation.
Regarding claim 10, Pollock et al (figures 1-5e and para 0016-0057) discloses magnetic core (508)(see figure 5a); a bobbin (100) (see figures 1-5a) extending about and partially covering the magnetic core (see figure 5a); wherein the bobbin is made of a thermally conductive dielectric material (see para 0023); wherein the bobbin further comprises an outer body connectable to an inner body (see figure 5a); wherein the inner body comprises at least a first contact element (506) being formed as a rib (see figure 5a) and wherein the transformer is a high-power medium frequency transformer (see para 0022).
Pollock et al. (figure 5a) discloses the wherein the first contact element is directly contacting the magnetic core but does expressly discloses a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core.
Xia et al. (figure 2 and pages 3-4) discloses teaching wherein thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core the first contact element is connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core. (see page 0000 discloses wherein the core is coated with a graphite heat dissipation coating and also the height of the convex portions (ribs) size can be adjusted which allows for the first contact element to connectable to a thermally conductive second contact element; see also page disclosing the bobbin contacting magnetic core portions that are coated with the heat dissipation coating)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a thermally conductive second contact element that surrounds at least partially a surface of the magnetic core and is between the first contact element and the magnetic core as taught by Xia et al. to the inductive device of Pollock et al. so as to improve the heat dissipation performance while also improving electrical and thermal insulation.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837