DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-17 are directed to method of genomic analysis . As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the steps of representing nucleic acids as a directed acyclic graph (DAG), obtaining a second DAG, and determining an alignment between a second and reference DAG. These steps are a mathematical algorithm or mental steps. Dependent claims 2-17 include additional mental or mathematical steps to the mathematical algorithm. Instant claim 18 recites mapping the upstream pair member of each of a plurality of paired-end reads to a reference, finding a subset of the plurality of paired-end reads, assembling the downstream pair members into a DAG. Instant claim 19 recites assembling the plurality of sequence reads into a DAG, determining support for each of a plurality of paths through DAG. The steps in claims 18 and 19 are drawn to a mathematical algorithm or mental steps. Dependent claim 20 recites a mathematical step. Mental steps are a judicial exception. The courts have found mathematical algorithms to be drawn to the judicial exception of an abstract idea (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite the elements of a non-transitory memory, a processor, computer system, and a computer file. However, the instant claims do not recite structural limitations of these elements. They are not drawn to a particular machine and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The instant claims also recite obtaining a plurality of paired-end reads from a nucleic acid sample and obtaining a plurality of nucleic acid sequence reads. However, these are extra solution data gather steps. Extra solution data gathering steps are not sufficient to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements of a non-transitory memory, a processor, computer system, and a computer file. However, these elements are well-understood, conventional and routine components of a computer (Specification, page 24). The instant claims also recite the elements of obtaining a plurality of paired-end reads from a nucleic acid sample and obtaining a plurality of nucleic acid sequence reads. These steps are well-understood, conventional, and routine data gathering steps (Specification, page 24). Reciting such well-understood, routine, and conventional elements does not transform a judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data to be used in the judicial exception does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely gathering data for the judicial exception and implementing the judicial exception on a computer. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanovsky et al. (“Read Mapping Algorithms for Single Molecular Sequencing Data” Proc 8th Int Workshop Alg Bioinformatics (2008) volume 5251 pages 38-49).
Yanovsky et al. teach a method that includes a reference directed acyclic graph (DAG) with nodes connected by edges in which a node includes a string of a plurality of nucleotide characters and obtaining a second DAG and aligning the two DAGs (pages 41 - 43); where each DAG includes alternative sequence per position (pages 40-41); scoring sequence overlaps between the reference and second DAG and aligning portions of the second DAG to location of the reference DAG to achieve an best scoring optimal alignment (page 41); using a mathematical construct representing the optimal path through a matrix of similarity scores (pages 42-43), and where the sequences are obtained from a human subject and is of a human chromosome (pages 46 and 47). In addition, Yanovsky et al. teach calculating a matrix of similarities between the reference DAG and a second DAG based on the highest value neighboring entry, identifying a path through a matrix that originates at the entry with the highest calculated value (pages 44-46), and where the reference DAG comprises a plurality of BAM entries that has been mapped to a first genomic sequence and a second DAG comprises a plurality of BAM entries is mapped to a second genomic reference (page 40 and 41). Furthermore, Yanovksy et al. where their program is available in a software package, which would require a computer system, non-transitory memory, processor, and computer files (page 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanovsky et al. (“Read Mapping Algorithms for Single Molecular Sequencing Data” Proc 8th Int Workshop Alg Bioinformatics (2008) volume 5251 pages 38-49) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-14, 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Homer et al. (“Improved Variant Discovery Through Local Re-alignment of Short-Read Next-Generation Sequencing Data Using SRMA” Genome Biology (2010) Volume 11, pages R:99).
Yanovsky et al. is applied as above.
However, Yanovsky et al. do not teach where the reference DAG represents a plurality of alleles associated with disease.
Homer et al. teach creating a DAG (page 9, left column) of a plurality of alleles associated with disease (page 1, left column); where the homozygous and heterozygous loci are represented in the DAG (pages 3-4).
It would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine the methods of Yanovsky et al. and Homer et al. Yanovsky et al. teach a general method of genomic analysis. Give that the nucleic acid data of Yanovsky et al. is similar to the data of Homer et al. (i.e. alleles associated with disease or homozygous or heterozygous loci), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the data of Homer et al. into the method of Yanovsky et al. without an change in the function of the method of Yanovsky et al.
7. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanovsky et al. (“Read Mapping Algorithms for Single Molecular Sequencing Data” Proc 8th Int Workshop Alg Bioinformatics (2008) volume 5251 pages 38-49) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-14, 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (IDS filed 8/10/15, entry #7).
Yanovsky et al. is applied as above.
However, Yanovsky et al. do not teach where the second DAG represents a transcriptome from an organism.
Bao et al. teach where the DAG represents a transcriptome from an organism and the reference DAG represents one or more genomes from organisms of a same species as the organism (pages 3-4).
It would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine the methods of Yanovsky et al. and Bao et al. Transcriptome assemblies are important when working with large genomes (abstract, page 1). Bao et al. offers a method that improves these assemblies. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods in order to improve the DAG of Yanovsky et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,817,944. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant claims and the claims of the U.S. Patent recite similar limitations. The claims different in that the claims of the U.S. Patent recite limitations in addition to the limitations in the instant claims. Thus, the subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the subject matter of the U.S. Patent. The claims at issue are not patentably distinct.
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685