DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 16, 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 Ln 4, please amend to --to provide the gouging power--.
Claim 16 Ln 4, please amend to -- to provide the gouging power--.
Claim 18 Ln 9-10, please amend to --control the first power conversion circuitry--.
Claim 18 Ln 10-11, please amend to --for the gouging power--.
Claim 20 states a limitation that was previously stated in parent claim 18 Ln 5-6. Please confirm this is intentional.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 Ln 2 states the limitation "communicate the command to”. The term ‘the command’ lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear to which previous term it is referring. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indeterminate. For examination, the limitation was interpreted as -- communicate the [[command]] control signal to --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowski; James Donald et al. US 20210114129 A1, hereinafter Borowski, in view of Mehlman; Alexander C. US 20210069815 A1, hereinafter Mehlman. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (welding systems); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (providing power to multiple welding tools). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 1, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) a wire feeder (104) (as claims 1-7 are directed to a ‘wire feeder’ only positively claimed components thereof are interpreted as necessary to read upon the claim; for example, the welding power supply is not positively claimed and is not positively claimed component of the wire feeder), comprising:
isolation circuitry (135) for a gouging power output (depicted (135) output) to automatically isolate one power output responsive to a weld process selection [0088]; and
control circuitry (134) configured to:
receive a weld process selection input to provide gouging power [0081];
transmit a control signal to a welding power supply (102) to provide the gouging power [0081];
control the isolation circuitry to isolate the gouging power output [0088]; and
control power conversion circuitry (110) to provide the gouging power to the gouging power output [0074, 0075, 0088, 0091].
Borowski fails to explicitly state that the isolation circuitry is between a welding power output and a gouging power output to isolate one power output from the other.
Mehlman discloses (Fig. 1, 2) discloses an isolation circuitry (220) between a welding power output (140) and a gouging power output (120, [0007] states gouging) to automatically isolate one power output from the other power output responsive to a weld process selection [0019], for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine [0002-0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Borowski, by providing the welding power output, gouging power output and associated isolation circuitry, as taught by Mehlman, for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine.
Regarding claim 2, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the gouging power output includes gouging power circuitry (wires associated with contactor (135)).
Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the welding power output (140) includes welding power circuitry (wires associated with (140)) and the gouging power output (120) includes gouging power circuitry (wires associated with contactor (120)).
Regarding claim 3, Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the welding power circuitry provides welding power to a welding torch via the welding power output and the gouging power circuitry provides the gouging power to a gouging torch via the gouging power output [0018, 0019].
Regarding claim 4, Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the isolation circuitry is further configured to:
electrically or physically isolate the welding power output from the welding power circuitry [0018, 0019]; or
electrically or physically isolate the gouging power output from the gouging power circuitry [0018, 0019].
Regarding claim 5, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the power conversion circuitry (110) is operable to receive power from the welding power supply (102) and to provide the gouging power to the wire feeder via one or more cables (144, [0088].
Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) also delivering the welding power [0018, 0019].
Regarding claim 6, as far as is definite, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the control circuitry is further configured to communicate the command to control circuitry of the welding power supply via one or more of weld cable communications (WCC), wireless communications, wired communications, or any combination thereof [0093].
Regarding claim 7, Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the control circuitry of the welding power supply is configured to automatically adjust output polarity of the gouging power to a polarity suitable for a gouging operation in response to a command from the wire feeder control circuitry to provide gouging power ([0026] states that the power supply is configured to supply distinct polarities depending upon tool usage)
Regarding claim 8, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) a system, comprising:
a welding power supply (102) to supply a power output [0073];
one or more welding torches (106); and
a wire feeder (104) coupled between the welding power supply and the one or more welding torches [0073], the wire feeder comprising:
isolation circuitry (135) to physically or electrically isolate a gouging power output [0088]; and
control circuitry (134) configured to:
receive an input to provide gouging power [0081];
control the isolation circuitry to isolate the gouging power output [0088]; and
control power conversion circuitry (110) to provide the gouging power to the gouging power output [0074, 0075, 0088, 0091].
Borowski fails to explicitly state that the isolation circuitry is to physically or electrically isolate a welding power output and a gouging power output.
Mehlman discloses (Fig. 1, 2) discloses an isolation circuitry (220) to physically or electrically isolate a welding power output (140) and a gouging power output (120, [0007] states gouging) to automatically isolate one power output from the other power output responsive to a weld process selection [0019], for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine [0002-0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Borowski, by providing the welding power output, gouging power output and associated isolation circuitry, as taught by Mehlman, for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine.
Regarding claim 9, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the wire feeder is located remotely from the welding power supply and proximate to the one or more welding torches [0084].
Regarding claim 10, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the one or more welding torches includes a welding torch (130) to perform a welding operation and a gouging torch (110) to perform a gouging operation [0007, 0017].
Regarding claim 11, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the power conversion circuitry (110) is operable to receive power from the welding power supply (102) and to condition the power to provide welding power or the gouging power [0050-0051, 0091].
Regarding claim 12, Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the control circuitry is further configured to transmit a control signal to the welding power supply to provide power with a polarity suitable for the gouging power ([0026] states that the power supply is configured to supply distinct polarities depending upon tool usage as signaled via sensors/controller (Ckt1, Ckt2, 210)).
Regarding claim 13, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the isolation circuitry includes a physical interlock comprising one or more of a relay, a contactor (135), or a switch [0088].
Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the isolation circuitry includes a physical interlock comprising one or more of a relay, a contactor (221-224), or a switch [0019].
Regarding claim 14, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the isolation circuitry (135) is electrically controlled by the control circuitry to close a circuit to the gouging power output [0088].
Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the isolation circuitry (221-224) is electrically controlled by the control circuitry (210) to close a circuit to the welding power output (140) or the gouging power output (120) [0018-0019].
Regarding claim 15, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) further comprising a user interface (114) to receive a command to provide the input to provide the welding power or the gouging power [0066, 0076].
Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) further comprising a user interface (230) to receive a command to provide the input to provide the welding power or the gouging power ([0018, 0020, 0021] via a user making contact with the tool).
Regarding claim 16, Mehlman discloses (Fig 1, 2) the welding power supply includes welding control circuitry configured to automatically adjust output polarity of the gouging power to a polarity suitable for a gouging operation in response to a command from the wire feeder control circuitry to provide gouging power.
Regarding claim 17, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the welding power supply communicates with the wire feeder via a weld power cable ([0026] states that the power supply is configured to supply distinct polarities depending upon tool usage).
Regarding claim 18, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) a welding system, comprising:
a welding power supply (102) to supply a power output [0073], the welding power supply comprising
first power conversion circuitry (110) [0050-0051]; and
a wire feeder (104) comprising:
isolation circuitry (135) to physically or electrically isolate a gouging power output [0088]; and
control circuitry (134) configured to:
receive an input to provide gouging power [0081];
control the isolation circuitry to isolate the gouging power output [0088]; and
control second power conversion circuitry to provide the gouging power via the gouging power output [0074, 0075, 0088, 0091].
Borowski fails to explicitly state that the isolation circuitry is to physically or electrically isolate a welding power output and a gouging power output and the control circuitry is configured to transmit a control signal to the welding power supply to control the power conversion circuitry to adjust a polarity of the power output for gouging power.
Mehlman discloses (Fig. 1, 2) discloses an isolation circuitry (220) to physically or electrically isolate a welding power output (140) and a gouging power output (120, [0007] states gouging) to automatically isolate one power output from the other power output responsive to a weld process selection [0019], and
control circuitry (210) configured to transmit a control signal to the welding power supply to control the power conversion circuitry to adjust a polarity of the power output for gouging power ([0026] states that the power supply is configured to supply distinct polarities depending upon tool usage); for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine [0002-0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Borowski, by providing the welding power output, gouging power output and associated isolation circuitry, as taught by Mehlman, for the purpose of supporting different welding processes without the necessity of manually making a selection on a user interface of the welding machine.
Regarding claim 20, Borowski discloses (Fig. 2A, 2B, 2C) the isolation circuitry is configured to electrically or physically isolate the welding power output from the gouging power output (see claim 18 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, Borowski discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 18 except fails to explicitly state that the control circuitry is further configured to control the second power conversion circuitry to provide the gouging power as a constant current power output.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed control circuitry configuration. Although Borowski discloses a control circuitry configuration, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Borowski to incorporate the details of the control circuitry is further configured to control the second power conversion circuitry to provide the gouging power as a constant current power output, along with the other claimed components of the welding system. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Relevant Art
The following is a listing of relevant art:
US 20220032389 A1, US 20140238966 A1 discloses a welding system comprising a welding power supply and a wire feeder comprising isolation circuitry for a welding tool and a gouging tool.
US 20170021442 A1, US 20210101220 A1, US 20130334188 A1, US 20190366469 A1 discloses a welding system comprising a welding power supply and a wire feeder for a welding tool.
US 20190232414 A1, US 20080149602 A1, US 3475585 A, US 20170028501 A1 discloses a welding system comprising a welding power supply for a welding tool and a gouging tool.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745