DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on May 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Four pages of drawings were received on May 13, 2026. The drawings are acceptable to correct the obvious scrivener’s errors in the original disclosure.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 11, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 7, the recitation “a first flow rate controller” appears to be a double inclusion of the “first flow rate controller” recited in line 5 of claim 1. It is unclear if additional “first flow rate controller” is needed in claim 2 in addition to the “first flow rate controller” recited in line 5 of claim 1? Same rejection applies to claim 3. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein the first flow rate controller includes a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels provided between the first splitting body and the first splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas from one another" in lines 8-11. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect. It is unclear if the first splitting body and the first splitting channels different cross-sectional areas or the channel of the first splitting channels are having different cross-sectional areas. Same rejection applies to claims 4 and 8. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first splitting channels" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner is unsure if the “first splitting channels" in line 8 is or is not the “first splitting channels" from the "plurality of first splitting channels" recited in line 5. Furthermore, the Examiner is unsure if the “first splitting channels" in line 8 is all or part (some or subset) of the “first splitting channels" from the "plurality of first splitting channels" recited in line 5. Same rejection applies to the limitation “the second splitting channels.” Similar rejection applies to all pending claims.
In claim 4, line 2, the recitation “a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels” appears to be a double inclusion of the “plurality of first flow rate controlling channels” recited in line 9 of claim 2. It is unclear if additional “plurality of first flow rate controlling channels” is needed in claim 4 in addition to the “plurality of first flow rate controlling channels” recited in line 9 of claim 2? Same rejection applies to all pending claim. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 余子夷 Yu et al. (CN 113304790. Yu hereinafter. IDS provided by the Applicant. See attached English translation by Google Patents).
With respect to claim 1, Yu discloses a parallelized droplet generating apparatus (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a first inlet (100 to 601) configured to (capable of) introduce a continuous-phase fluid;
a second inlet (200 to 602) configured to (capable of) introduce a dispersed-phase fluid;
a first (dome-shaped) splitter (Fig. 2a and enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to split the continuous-phase fluid introduced through the first inlet, the first splitter including a first flow rate controller (two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter) configured to (capable of) control a flow rate of the continuous-phase fluid (via the increase channels size relative to upstream);
a second (rectangle-shaped) splitter (downstream of 602) configured to split the dispersed-phase fluid introduced through the second inlet; and
a droplet generator (601 and 608. “…the micro droplet unit generation layer includes five groups of micro droplet generation units…” Page 4 under “Detailed Description.”) configured to combine the continuous-phase fluid split by the first splitter and the dispersed-phase fluid split by the second splitter to generate droplets.
With respect to claim 2, Yu discloses wherein the first splitter includes:
a first splitting (dome-shaped) body (including elements forming the upstream passage from 100, 601 to 603) configured to receive the continuous-phase fluid from the first inlet;
a plurality of first splitting channels (two L-shaped channels downstream of the two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter. See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) disposed to be spaced apart from the first splitting body; and
a first flow rate controller (two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter) configured to (capable of) control a flow rate of the continuous-phase fluid introduced from the first splitting body into the first splitting channels, wherein the first flow rate controller includes a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels (two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter. See Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) provided between the first splitting body and the first splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas from one another (Interpretation A: The cross-sectional areas of the first splitting body and the first splitting channels are different. Interpretation B: when cut or slice horizontally from top to bottom of the L-shaped channels of the first splitting channels, the bottom section (horizontal section of the L-shaped channels would have a oblong shape opening in stead of a circular shape).
With respect to claim 3, Yu discloses wherein the first splitter includes:
a first splitting (dome-shaped) body (including elements forming the upstream passage from 100, 601 to 603) configured to receive the continuous-phase fluid from the first inlet;
a plurality of first splitting channels (two L-shaped channels downstream of the two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter. See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) disposed to be spaced apart from the first splitting body; and
a first flow rate controller (two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter) configured to (capable of) control a flow rate of the continuous-phase fluid introduced from the first splitting body into the first splitting channels,
wherein the first flow rate controller introduces the continuous-phase fluid with the same flow rate into each of the first splitting channels (by having the same sizes/diameters first splitting channels).
With respect to claim 4, Yu discloses wherein the first flow rate controller includes a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels (two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter) provided between the first splitting body and the first splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas from one another (Interpretation A: The cross-sectional areas of the first splitting body and the first splitting channels are different. Interpretation B: when cut or slice horizontally from top to bottom of the L-shaped channels of the first splitting channels, the bottom section (horizontal section of the L-shaped channels would have an oblong shape opening instead of a circular shape).
With respect to claim 5, Yu discloses wherein each of the first flow rate controlling channels is disposed coaxially (curved axial along the two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter) with one of the first splitting channels.
With respect to claim 7, Yu discloses wherein the second splitter includes: a second splitting (rectangle-shaped) body (including elements forming the upstream passage from 200, 602 to 604) configured to receive the dispersed-phase fluid from the second inlet; a plurality of second splitting channels (See Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) disposed to be spaced apart from the second splitting body; and a second flow rate controller (two horizontal channels immediately upstream of the second splitting channels) configured to control a flow rate of the dispersed-phase fluid introduced from the second splitting body into the second splitting channels.
With respect to claim 8, Yu discloses wherein the second flow rate controller includes a plurality of second flow rate controlling channels (two horizontal channels immediately upstream of the second splitting channels) provided between the second splitting body and the second splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas from one another (Interpretation A: The cross-sectional areas of the second splitting body and the second splitting channels are different. Interpretation B: when cut or slice horizontally from top to bottom of the bent-shaped channels of the second splitting channels, the bottom section (section after the bent would have a bigger, oval shape opening instead of a circular shape).
With respect to claim 10, Yu discloses wherein the droplet generator includes: a first droplet generating channel (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to be connected to the first splitter and allow the continuous-phase fluid to flow in a direction parallel to a first (rightward) direction; a spraying nozzle configured to be connected to the second splitter and spray the dispersed-phase fluid in a second (downward) direction, crossing the first direction, toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel; and a second droplet generating channel disposed to be spaced apart from the spraying nozzle and connected to the first droplet generating channel.
With respect to claim 11, Yu discloses wherein the spraying nozzle is provided as a plurality of spraying nozzles (two shown in the enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below), each of which is individually connected to one (side) of the second splitting channels, and the second droplet generating channel is provided as a plurality of second droplet generating channels, each of which is disposed to individually (directly and indirectly connect) face one of the spraying nozzles.
With respect to claim 12, Yu discloses wherein the second droplet generating channel extends in a direction parallel to the second (downward) direction.
With respect to claim 13, Yu discloses wherein the spraying nozzle includes: a nozzle body (element defining the spraying nozzle) disposed between the second splitting channels and the second droplet generating channel; and a spraying channel (of the spraying nozzle. Enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to be connected to the second splitting channels and guide a flow of the dispersed-phase fluid inside the nozzle body.
With respect to claim 14, Yu discloses wherein the nozzle body is formed to have a width that progressively decreases toward an end (at the merging point of the two spraying channels).
With respect to claim 15, Yu discloses wherein the second inlet includes: a second-first inlet (200 to the left most 602. Fig. 2a) configured to introduce a first dispersed-phase fluid; and a second-second inlet (200 to the left middle 602) configured to introduce a second dispersed-phase fluid, wherein the second splitter is provided as a pair of second splitters (of the left most 602 and the left middle 602) and connected to each of the second-first inlet and the second-second inlet.
With respect to claim 16, Yu discloses wherein the spraying channel includes: a first spraying channel (in the left most 602. Fig. 2a) configured to be connected to the second splitting channel provided in any one of the pair of second splitters and guide a flow of the first dispersed-phase fluid; and a second spraying channel (in the left middle 602) configured to be connected to the second splitting channel provided in the other of the pair of second splitters and guide a flow of the second dispersed-phase fluid.
With respect to claim 17, Yu discloses wherein the first spraying channel and the second spraying channel induce (bring about) the first dispersed-phase fluid and the second dispersed-phase fluid to be sprayed symmetrically toward the inside of the first droplet generating channel (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below).
With respect to claim 20, Yu discloses wherein the droplet generator includes a first droplet generating channel (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to receive the continuous-phase fluid split by the first splitter, and a spraying nozzle (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) fluidly connected to the second splitter and configured to spray the dispersed-phase fluid toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel along a second (downward) direction crossing a first direction of flow of the continuous-phase fluid in the first droplet generating channel, and wherein the spraying nozzle includes a nozzle body (defining the spray nozzle) having a width that progressively decreases toward an end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Yu fails to disclose “the first flow rate controller includes a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels provided between the first splitting body and the first splitting channels and having different cross- sectional areas from one another.” The applicant’s argument has been considered but is moot due to the new interpretation of the Yu reference. The first flow rate controller is now being interpreted as the two curved channels immediately downstream of the first splitter (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations above). See revised detailed rejections elaborated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 17, 2026