DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 11, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “each of the first flow rate controlling channels is disposed coaxially with one of the first splitting channels” as recited in claim 5;
the “size of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of first flow rate controlling channels increases in proportion to a distance from the first inlet” as recited in claim 6; and
“the continuous-phase fluid to flow in a direction parallel to a first direction; a spraying nozzle configured to be connected to the second splitter and spray the dispersed-phase fluid in a second direction, crossing the first direction, toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel” as recited in claim 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Elected Fig. 3 fails to show the first flow rate controlling channels 431 disposed coaxially with one of the first splitting channels 420. Similar objection applies to claim 9. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that “the first flow rate controlling channels is disposed coaxially with one of the first splitting channels” as recited in claim 5. Elected Fig. 3 fails to show the first flow rate controlling channels 431 disposed coaxially with one of the first splitting channels 420. Clarification is respectfully requested.
The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the “size of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of first flow rate controlling channels increases in proportion to a distance from the first inlet” as recited in claim 6. Elected Fig. 3 fails to show the plurality of first flow rate controlling channels 431 may be formed so that a size of cross-sectional areas thereof increases in proportion to a distance from the first inlet 200. Similar rejection applies to claim 9. Clarification is respectfully requested.
The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the “the continuous-phase fluid to flow in a direction parallel to a first direction; a spraying nozzle configured to be connected to the second splitter and spray the dispersed-phase fluid in a second direction, crossing the first direction, toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel” as recited in claim 10. Elected Figures fail to show a first direction and a second direction, crossing the first direction, toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 余子夷 Yu et al. (CN 113304790. Yu hereinafter. IDS provided by the Applicant. See attached English translation by Google Patents).
With respect to claim 1, Yu discloses a parallelized droplet generating apparatus (Figs. 1-5) comprising: a first inlet (100 to 601) configured to (capable of) introduce a continuous-phase fluid; a second inlet (200 to 602) configured to (capable of) introduce a dispersed-phase fluid; a first (dome-shaped) splitter (Fig. 2a and enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to split the continuous-phase fluid introduced through the first inlet; a second (rectangle-shaped) splitter (downstream of 602) configured to split the dispersed-phase fluid introduced through the second inlet; and a droplet generator (601 and 608. “…the micro droplet unit generation layer includes five groups of micro droplet generation units…” Page 4 under “Detailed Description.”) configured to combine the continuous-phase fluid split by the first splitter and the dispersed-phase fluid split by the second splitter to generate droplets.
With respect to claim 2, Yu discloses wherein the first splitter includes: a first splitting (dome-shaped) body (including elements forming the upstream passage from 100, 601 to 603) configured to receive the continuous-phase fluid from the first inlet; a plurality of first splitting channels (from 602 to the left and right 603) disposed to be spaced apart from the first splitting body; and a first flow rate controller (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) configured to control a flow rate of the continuous-phase fluid introduced from the first splitting body into the first splitting channels.
With respect to claim 3, Yu discloses wherein the first flow rate controller introduces the continuous-phase fluid with the same flow rate into each of the first splitting channels (by having the same sizes/diameters first splitting channels).
With respect to claim 4, Yu discloses wherein the first flow rate controller includes a plurality of first flow rate controlling channels (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) provided between the first splitting body and the first splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas (one circular at 100, one short elongated downstream of 100, one elongated and five smaller circular cross-sectional areas parallel to the plane of 700) from one another.
With respect to claim 5, Yu discloses wherein each of the first flow rate controlling channels is disposed coaxially with one of the first splitting channels (at 602).
With respect to claim 6, as best understood by the Examiner, Yu discloses wherein a size of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of first flow rate controlling channels increases in proportion to a distance from the first inlet (cross-sectional areas increases from a circular at 100, one short elongated downstream of 100, one longer elongated cross-sectional area parallel to the plane of 700).
With respect to claim 7, Yu discloses wherein the second splitter includes: a second splitting (rectangle-shaped) body (including elements forming the upstream passage from 200, 602 to 604) configured to receive the dispersed-phase fluid from the second inlet; a plurality of second splitting channels (from 602 to the left and right 604) disposed to be spaced apart from the second splitting body; and a second flow rate controller (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) configured to control a flow rate of the dispersed-phase fluid introduced from the second splitting body into the second splitting channels.
With respect to claim 8, Yu discloses wherein the second flow rate controller includes a plurality of second flow rate controlling channels (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) provided between the second splitting body and the second splitting channels and having different cross-sectional areas (one circular at 200, one elongated downstream of 200 and five smaller circular cross-sectional areas parallel to the plane of 700) from one another.
With respect to claim 9, Yu discloses wherein a size of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of second flow rate controlling channels increases in proportion to a distance from the second inlet (cross-sectional areas increases from a circular at 200 to the elongated cross-sectional area downstream of 200 parallel to the plane of 700).
With respect to claim 10, Yu discloses wherein the droplet generator includes: a first droplet generating channel (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to be connected to the first splitter and allow the continuous-phase fluid to flow in a direction parallel to a first (rightward) direction; a spraying nozzle configured to be connected to the second splitter and spray the dispersed-phase fluid in a second (downward) direction, crossing the first direction, toward an inside of the first droplet generating channel; and a second droplet generating channel disposed to be spaced apart from the spraying nozzle and connected to the first droplet generating channel.
With respect to claim 11, Yu discloses wherein the spraying nozzle is provided as a plurality of spraying nozzles (two shown in the enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below), each of which is individually connected to one (side) of the second splitting channels, and the second droplet generating channel is provided as a plurality of second droplet generating channels, each of which is disposed to individually (directly and indirectly connect) face one of the spraying nozzles.
With respect to claim 12, Yu discloses wherein the second droplet generating channel extends in a direction parallel to the second (downward) direction.
With respect to claim 13, Yu discloses wherein the spraying nozzle includes: a nozzle body (element defining the spraying nozzle) disposed between the second splitting channels and the second droplet generating channel; and a spraying channel (of the spraying nozzle. Enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below) configured to be connected to the second splitting channels and guide a flow of the dispersed-phase fluid inside the nozzle body.
With respect to claim 14, Yu discloses wherein the nozzle body is formed to have a width that progressively decreases toward an end (at the merging point of the two spraying channels).
With respect to claim 15, Yu discloses wherein the second inlet includes: a second-first inlet (200 to the left most 602. Fig. 2a) configured to introduce a first dispersed-phase fluid; and a second-second inlet (200 to the left middle 602) configured to introduce a second dispersed-phase fluid, wherein the second splitter is provided as a pair of second splitters (of the left most 602 and the left middle 602) and connected to each of the second-first inlet and the second-second inlet.
With respect to claim 16, Yu discloses wherein the spraying channel includes: a first spraying channel (in the left most 602. Fig. 2a) configured to be connected to the second splitting channel provided in any one of the pair of second splitters and guide a flow of the first dispersed-phase fluid; and a second spraying channel (in the left middle 602) configured to be connected to the second splitting channel provided in the other of the pair of second splitters and guide a flow of the second dispersed-phase fluid.
With respect to claim 17, Yu discloses wherein the first spraying channel and the second spraying channel induce (bring about) the first dispersed-phase fluid and the second dispersed-phase fluid to be sprayed symmetrically toward the inside of the first droplet generating channel (See enlarged Fig. 4a with additional annotations below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a droplet generating apparatus: Matsumoto, Duthaler, Morita, Stone, Hwang, Lee, Clarke ‘026 and Clarke ‘911.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 December 23, 2025