DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following item(s) from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 08 July 2024. The references have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (Yu, US PGPub 2015/0012804) in view of Liang (CN113259063 translation).
Referring to Claim 1, Yu teaches a DSP (Digital Signal Processor) (Fig. 1 #710; [0123]), receiving a digital signal, wherein the digital signal comprises a plurality of frames (Fig. 5 frame 1-1, 2-1, 3-1, etc.; [0104-0105]; wherein the plurality of frames are divided into groups by the DSP, but does not explicitly disclose not limit a vital group and a non-vital group based on a criterion; wherein the DSP compares a total number of frames of the vital group with a threshold value; wherein in response to the total number of frames of the vital group being greater than the threshold value, the DSP calculates a signal strength of the vital group.
However, Liang teaches a vital group and a non-vital group based on a criterion; wherein the DSP compares a total number of frames of the vital group with a threshold value; wherein in response to the total number of frames of the vital group being greater than the threshold value, the DSP calculates a signal strength of the vital group; [n0036] critical and non-critical are interpreted as being vital and non-vital in operation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the grouping and threshold comparisons as taught by Liang so as to predictably improve the accuracy of identifying feature detection within data frames.
It is noted that while Liang is directed to voice data, the data processing aspects are analogous to both inventions and using similar techniques across the art is well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to Claims 2 and 12, Yu as modified by Liang teaches wherein a peak frequency of each of frames of the vital group is between a down limit value and an up limit value; See Liang [n0144] spike frequencies.
Referring to Claim 11, Yu as modified by Liang teaches eceiving a digital signal by the electronic device, wherein the digital signal comprises a plurality of frames; dividing the plurality of frames into a vital group and a non-vital group according to a criterion; comparing a total number of frames of the vital group with a threshold value; and in response to the total number of frames of the vital group being greater than the threshold value, calculating a signal strength of the vital group; see the citations of Claim 1 above as this claim is method for device of Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646