DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. Figures 7A, 7B and 7C should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosvenor et al. (US 5,800,946) as cited in IDS dated 6/8/23.
Regarding claim 1, Grosvenor discloses a bipolar storage battery (Col. 10, lines 32-36) comprising: a bipolar electrode (bipolar plate structure 31 with electrically conductive multilayered electrode (ECME)32, Fig. 3, ECME 19, Fig. 2, Col. 9, lines 31-33) including a positive electrode(see metal 24 in Fig. 2, Col. 8, lines 32-36 and positive active material 39 in Fig. 3), a negative electrode(see metal 30 in Fig. 2, Col. 8, lines 47-51 and negative active material 40 in Fig. 3), and a bipolar plate provided with the positive electrode on one surface and the negative electrode on an other surface (polymer/metal mesh composite core 18, Fig. 2), wherein: a first adhesive is provided between the one surface of the bipolar plate and the positive electrode to bond the positive electrode to the bipolar plate(electrically conductive adhesive layer 26, Fig. 2), and the first adhesive is a conductive adhesive(Col. 8, lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 2, Grosvenor discloses the positive electrode includes a positive current collector(metal 24, Fig. 2), the negative electrode includes a negative current collector(metal 30, Fig. 2), and the positive current collector and the negative current collector are made of lead or a lead alloy(Col. 8, lines 32 and 50-51).
Regarding claim 3, Grosvenor discloses the first adhesive is provided to cover the one surface of the bipolar plate(Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Grosvenor discloses the positive electrode includes a positive current collector(metal 24, Fig. 2), the negative electrode includes a negative current collector(metal 30, Fig. 2), and the positive current collector and the negative current collector are made of lead or a lead alloy(Col. 8, lines 32 and 50-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the first adhesive is provided in a peripheral region of a communication hole communicating the one surface and the other surface of the bipolar plate, and a second adhesive is provided in another region other than the peripheral region in the one surface of the bipolar plate.
In the instant invention, as illustrated in FIG. 5 , the first adhesive 140 is provided only in the peripheral region X of the communication hole 150, and the second adhesive 141 is provided in the other region Y of the substrate 111([0054] US 2023/0318046). This second adhesive 141 is not a conductive adhesive, unlike the first adhesive 140([0054]). Instead, for example, the second adhesive 141 is an adhesive that does not contain a conductive filler and is generally used for bonding a substrate and a lead layer([0054]).
Grosvenor does not disclose, teach or render obvious the first adhesive is provided in a peripheral region of a communication hole communicating the one surface and the other surface of the bipolar plate, and a second adhesive is provided in another region other than the peripheral region in the one surface of the bipolar plate.
7. Claims 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724