DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the acronym GMCSF without having made clear the full meaning of the term in its first use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 states “wherein the vaccine comprises or more vectors,” which does not specify an initial quantity of vectors, and as such, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Therefore, claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112a
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It should be noted that instant claim 6 states “wherein the vaccine comprises or more vectors” and this is interpreted for examination purposes as “comprises one or more vectors” which corresponds to the language of other claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Independent claims 1, 12, 13, 14, and 20 recite a vaccine comprising “one or more peptides having the sequence according to SEQ ID NOs: 1-34 and/or a nucleic acid capable of expressing the one or more peptides”. The specification, however, only describes a single peptide vaccine comprising a pool of the 20 specific peptides found in Table 2, and two plasmid constructs, NTC9382R-LS-rCOMP-TT-VACCS I and II, comprising specific nucleic acid groupings that, in total, do not encode all of SEQ ID NOs 1-34. There is no evidence in the specification to support that the inventors had possession of all possible combinations of one or more peptides and/or nucleic acid embodiments. All other claims are also rejected as they explicitly or implicitly require this composition.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Johnston et al., WO2018223093A1.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a vaccine comprising one or more sequences according to SEQ ID NOs 1-34 and/or a nucleic acid capable of expressing the one or more of the peptides. Independent claims 12 and 13 are drawn to methods of eliciting an immune response and treating cancer. Independent claim 14 is drawn to the composition of claim 1.
Johnston et al. teaches a canine cancer vaccine comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and one or more peptides, or alternatively, nucleic acids encoding said peptides, selected from Johnston et al.’s SEQ ID NOs 1-6554, in which Johnston’s SEQ ID NOs 2844, 2847, 2849, 2923, 2934, 2955, 6322, 6524-6527, 6531-6533, 6536, 6539-6549, and 6551 correspond to SEQ ID NOs 1-33 of the instant application (instant claims 1 and 14). The vaccine may further comprise the adjuvant GM-CSF (instant claims 2 and 3), and the vaccine’s peptide coding sequences can be introduced into bacteria or a virus as a vector (instant claims 6 and 15). Of note, Johnston et al. does not enumerate the sequence for GM-CSF. Johnston et al. further teaches use of said vaccine to both elicit an immune response and treat cancer (claims 12 and 13).
Therefore, claims 1-3, 6, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as anticipated by Johnston et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of Nash et al.
Johnston et al.’s teachings are discussed above. Johnston et al. fails to teach the specific claimed amino acid sequence for canine GM-CSF or the specific vector NTC9382R-MCS-GMCSF.
Nash et al. teaches the same GM-CSF sequence as the instant application, and notes an increased immune response in canines (claim 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these teachings to enhance immune responses in dogs, with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, selection of a particular expression vector for GM-CSF, such as NTC9382R-MCS-GMCSF (instant claim 5), represents a routine design choice in molecular biology.
Accordingly, claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of Nash et al.
Claims 7, 10, 11, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of Braun et al.
Johnston et al.’s teachings are discussed above. Johnston et al. do not disclose a vaccine with two vectors, the specific NTC9382R-LS-rCOMP-TT-VACCS I and II vectors, or said vaccine further comprising an additional peptide component comprising isolated peptides.
Braun et al. teach that co-administration of multiple plasmid DNA constructs encoding different antigenic proteins results in immune responses to the individual antigenic components without substantial interference by the other components, showing the compatibility of multiple plasmids expressing different antigens in a single vaccine. One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the payload capacities of plasmids and thus would be motivated to combine the sequences of Johnston et al. with the teachings of Braun et al. to distribute the large number of peptides across multiple vectors and therefore improve antigen expression and increase immune responses (instant claims 7 and 16). The selection of particular peptides to include in each vector and the selection of particular expression vectors, such as NTC9382R-LS-rCOMP-TT-VACCS I or NTC9382R-LS-rCOMP-TT-VACCS II, represent routine optimization and design choices in the art (instant claims 10 and 19).
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, although Johnston et al. do not disclose an additional peptide component to the two-vector vaccine described above, page 10 paragraph 1 of Johnston at al.’s specification notes a prime-boost paradigm comprising two rounds of genetic immunization with a gene gun and an additional peptide boost. As claim 11 only requires that an additional peptide component be present, this prime-boost paradigm described by Johnston et al. corresponds to a vaccine further comprising a peptide component comprising isolated peptides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings and utilize the two-vector vaccine described above with a peptide boost model similar to that described by Johnston et al., as prime-boost strategies were well established in the art to enhance immunogenicity and breadth of immune responses.
Accordingly, claims 7, 10, 11, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of Braun et al.
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of van Rosmalen et al.
Johnston et al.’s teachings are discussed above. Johnston et al. do not disclose a linker.
van Rosmalen et al. teaches that flexible glycine-serine linkers are used in multidomain proteins to allow intrinsic flexibility between domains and that the linker flexibility can be tuned by the composition and length of the glycine and serine residues. Although van Rosmalen et al. do not specifically teach SEQ ID NO 36 of the instant application, it provides technical motivation, showing that GS repeat linkers are known elements with predictable properties. Given this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings and use a flexible GS linker (instant claims 8 and 17), such as the linker described in instant SEQ ID NO 36 (instant claims 9 and 18), to improve protein folding, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al., in view of van Rosmalen et al.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston et al.
Johnston et al.’s teachings are discussed above. Johnston et al. do not disclose the vaccine as part of a kit.
However, assembling the vaccine into a kit with instructions constitutes a routine and predictable step for pharmaceutical products to facilitate distribution and proper administration (instant claim 20).
Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/T.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675