DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is in response to the Applicant’s submission filed 08 June 2023 where:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Foreign priority is claimed to GB 5208547.6, filed 10 June 2022, and GB 2305219.4, filed 06 April 2023. A certified copy of each paper has been filed 02 November 2023. Accordingly, receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Information disclosure statement(s) were submitted on 08 September 2023 (qty 3) and 06 December 2023. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
5. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, line 1, recites “wherein step (a) comprises the transformation.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
6 35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
7. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term "non-transient computer readable medium” covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments, which are not eligible for patent protection, and therefore the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
The plain meaning of computer readable medium (CRM) encompasses signals. The specification recites:
In another aspect of the invention a non-transient computer readable medium is provided. The non-transient computer readable medium comprising instructions which cause a computer to enact the above described method. (Specification at p. 19, lines 29-31). The specification does not rebut the presumption that the term be given its plain meaning because it does not provide further definitions directed to the term.
Examiner suggests Applicant amend the claims to exclude transitory computer usable program product and transitory computer-readable devices in order to narrow the broadest reasonable interpretation of those claims to embodiments that fall within a statutory category.
8. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a method, which is a process, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “(b) initialising the set of data qudits into an initial state,” “(c) performing a local generalised measurement from the set of local generalised measurements,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalised measurement,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) for another local generalised measurement unless or until a stopping condition has been met.”” The limitations1 of “(b) initialising,” “(c) performing,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d),” can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groupings of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)).
The claim recites more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “(c) performing,” “[(c.1)] wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving data over a network, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)) sub II.i), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 19 recites a quantum computing system, which is a product, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “(b) initialising the set of data qudits into an initial state,” “(c) performing a local generalised measurement from the set of local generalised measurements,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalised measurement,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) for another local generalised measurement unless or until a stopping condition has been met.”” The limitations2 of “(b) initialising,” “(c) performing,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d),” can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groupings of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)).
The claim recites more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “(c) performing,” “[(c.1)] wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 19 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 19 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving data over a network, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)) sub II.i), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 19 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 20 recites a non-transient computer readable medium,” which is not one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101). For purposes of examination, the claim is considered as providing one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “(b) initialising the set of data qudits into an initial state,” “(c) performing a local generalised measurement from the set of local generalised measurements,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalised measurement,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) for another local generalised measurement unless or until a stopping condition has been met.”” The limitations3 of “(b) initialising,” “(c) performing,” “(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation,” and “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d),” can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groupings of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)).
The claim recites more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “(c) performing,” “[(c.1)] wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 20 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 20 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include a “quantum computer system,” that is recited at a high-level of generality, and accordingly, is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian,” which is the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving data over a network, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)) sub II.i), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 20 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 7, and 10 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claims recite more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) . . . unless or until a stopping condition has been met,” (claim 2: “[(e)] wherein a stopping condition comprises [(e.1)] repeating steps (c) to (d) until all of the local generalised measurements in the set have been performed;” claim 3: “[(d.1)] wherein if the perturbation is rejected a subset or all of the data qudits are reinitialized;” claim 4: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition is [(e.1)] dependent on the number of successive perturbations that are accepted;” claim 7: “[(e)] wherein the stopping condition [(e.2)] comprises stopping once a number, n of consecutive perturbations have been accepted;” and claim 10: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition [(e.1)] comprises, each time a perturbation is accepted after n prior acceptances, stopping with a probability 0<p<1 or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with a probability (1−p)”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. The additional elements of the claim does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), and thus, the claim recites no more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2, 3, 4, 7, and 10 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, and 11 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) . . . unless or until a stopping condition has been met,” (claim 5: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: . . . [(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations; and [(e.4)] stopping during a time after the first time period after the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances”; claim 6: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: . . . [(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations; and [(e.4)] stopping after N*F number of instances at the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances, [(e.4.1)] wherein N is a user selected number of instances and F is a fraction”; claim 8: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: [(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds nt; . . . and [(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the accepted perturbation occurred in a tth repetition of step (d) and the most recent number of consecutive accepted perturbations is at least as large as nt”; claim 9: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: [(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds s, where i is a positive integer; . . . and [(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the current instance of consecutive accepted perturbations is the ith such instance and the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the current instance is the same length or shorter than at most si−1 of the previously recorded such instances”; and claim 11: “[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: . . . and [(e.3)] stopping with probability p=p(n) or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with probability (1−p(n)) where the probability p(n) depends on the number n of successive accepted perturbations”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea.
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, and 11 further recite the additional element of “recording,” (claim 5: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: [(e.2)] recording each instance in a first time period in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance”; claim 6: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: [(e.2)] recording each instance in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance”; claim 8: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: . . . [(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance”; claim 9: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: . . . [(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance”; and claim 11: [(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises: [(e.2)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number n of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance”), which is the insignificant extra-solution activity of storing information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Also, the activity of “recording” is the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea . Thus claims 5, 6, 8, 9, and 11 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 12, 13, and14 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claim recites more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “(c) performing a local generalised measurement . . . [(c.1)] wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state,” (claim 12: “[(c)] wherein the perturbation is [(c.2)] tuneable by enacting a unitary matrix having terms dependent on a tuning parameter epsilon, ϵ;” claim 13: “[(c.3)] reducing the magnitude of ϵ, followed by repeating the method using the reduced magnitude of ϵ as a parameter controlling the perturbation“ and claim 14: “[(c.3)] variationally optimising a sequence of values of epsilon, by performing the method with an initial sequence of values of epsilon; [(c.4)] measuring an energy the k-local Hamiltonian; and [(c.5)] updating the sequence of values of epsilon to reduce the value of said energy”), and accordingly are merely more specific to the abstract idea. The additional elements of the claim does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), and thus, the claim recites no more than the abstract idea. Thus claims 12, 13, and 14 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 15 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “(b) initialising the set of data qudits,” “wherein the initialising step (b) comprises [(b.1)] initialising one or more ancilla qudit(s),” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Also, the claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “(c) measuring,” “wherein the measuring step (c) of the method comprises [(c.2)] interacting each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with an ancilla qudit,” and “[(c.3)] measuring the state of the ancilla qudit,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea.
[Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim preamble of “method of approximating a ground state or a Gibbs state of a k-local Hamiltonian using a quantum computer system comprising a set of data qudits” includes simulation of quantum and/or hybrid quantum computer devices, and accordingly, covers a simulation environment executable on a classical computer having a processor and a memory, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111; see Specification at p. 2, lines 4-8))].
The additional elements of the claim does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), and thus, the claim recites no more than the abstract idea. Thus, claim 15 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 16 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(c.1)] perturbs a subset of the data qudits,” “[(c)] wherein the perturbing step (c) comprises: [(c.2)] performing a unitary rotation on an ancilla qudit,” “[(c.3)] interacting again each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with the ancilla qudit,” and “[(c.4)] performing an inverse of the unitary rotation on the ancilla,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea.
[Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim preamble of “method of approximating a ground state or a Gibbs state of a k-local Hamiltonian using a quantum computer system comprising a set of data qudits” includes simulation of quantum and/or hybrid quantum computer devices, and accordingly, covers a simulation environment executable on a classical computer having a processor and a memory, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111; see Specification at p. 2, lines 4-8))].
The additional elements of the claim does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), and thus, the claim recites no more than the abstract idea. Thus, claim 16 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 17 and 18 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claims recite more details or specifics to the additional element of “(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements,” where (claim 17: “wherein step (a) comprises [(a.1)] the transformation from the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian into a set of local generalised measurements,” and claim 18: [(a)] wherein each of the provided local generalised measurements is k′-local such that the local generalised measurement of step (c) perturbs a subset of data qudits comprising no more than k′ data qudits”) and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. Thus, claims 17 and 18 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
10. Claims1, 3, 4, 7, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender].
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20. Ender teaches [a] method of approximating a ground state or a Gibbs state of a k-local Hamiltonian using a quantum computer system comprising a set of data qudits (Ender, Abstract, teaches a “method of performing a quantum computation . . . determining a constraint Hamiltonian of the quantum system [(that is, using a quantum computer system)]; the constraint Hamiltonian a sum of summand constraint Hamiltonians; a ground state of a total Hamiltonian encodes a solution to the computational problem [(that is, a method of approximating a ground state)]”; Ender ¶ 0029 teaches a “qubit shall be understood as a physical entity that realizes a two-level quantum system. The constituents may be d-level quantum systems (“qudits”) with d>2, wherein only two levels of the d levels might be used [(that is, using a quantum computer system comprising a set of data qudits)]”) of claim 1, [a] quantum computing system (Ender ¶ 0112 teaches “apparatus 500 includes a quantum system 300 comprising constituents 302. The apparatus 500 includes a classical computing system 550. The classical computing system 550 is configured to encode a computational problem 110 into a problem Hamiltonian of the quantum system 300 [(that is, a quantum computing system)]”) of claim 19, and [a] non-transient computer readable medium comprising instructions which cause a computer to enact the method (Ender ¶ 0116 teaches “A classical computing system may include a central processing unit (CPU) for processing information with classical bits and/or a memory for storing information with classical bits. A classical computing system may include one or more conventional computers and/or a network of conventional computers, such as personal computers (PCs) [(that is, a non-transient computer readable medium comprising instructions which cause a computer to enact the method)]”) of claim 20, comprising:
(a) providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian (Ender, Fig. 5 teaches an apparatus for performing a quantum computation [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Ender ¶ 0051 teaches “constraint Hamiltonian may be a d-body Hamiltonian, wherein d is 8 or less, particularly 4 or less. A d-body Hamiltonian [(that is, a “d-body Hamiltonian” is a k-local Hamiltonian )] may refer to a Hamiltonian representing interactions of the plurality of constituents, wherein no joint interactions occur between groups comprising d+1 or more constituents”; Ender ¶ 0051 teaches “[m]easurements allow to obtain a read-out of the quantum system. A read-out of a quantum system is a set of measurement values obtained by measurements of constituents of the quantum system, involving physical interactions with the constituents [(that is, “measurements of constituents” is providing a set of local generalised measurements corresponding to the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian)]”),
(b) initialising the set of data qudits into an initial state (Ender ¶ 0029 teaches “constituents of the quantum system can be qubits. A qubit shall be understood as a physical entity that realizes a two-level quantum system. The constituents may be d-level quantum systems ("qudits") with d>2, wherein only two levels of the d levels might be used [(that is, set of data qudits)]”; Ender ¶ 0113 teaches “[e]ach round of the N rounds of operations may include preparing, for example by at least one of the unitary evolution device and the measurement device, an initial quantum state [(that is, “an initial quantum state” is initializing the set of data qudits into an initial state)]”);
(c) performing a local generalised measurement from the set of local generalised measurements (Ender ¶ 0082 teaches “N rounds of operations may include a second round of operations performed after the first round of operations. Evolving the quantum system according to the sequence of unitary operators of the second round of operations may result in a second quantum state of the quantum system. Performing the measurement in the second round may include measuring an energy of the second quantum state. Measuring the energy of the second quantum state may include measuring a Hamiltonian, such as the total Hamiltonian”; Ender ¶ 003 teaches [t]he problem Hamiltonian is a single-body Hamiltonian being a sum of summand problem Hamiltonians [(that is, a “sum of summand problem Hamiltonians” is performing a local generalized measurement from the set of local generalized measurements)]”),
[(c.1)] wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state (Ender ¶ 0084 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the first round, the user may make a small perturbation to said sequence [(that is, perturbs a subset of the data qudits)], e.g. by replacing one or just a few operators from said sequence by different operators [(that is, wherein step (c) perturbs a subset of the data qudits from the initial state to a perturbed state)]”);
(d) accepting or rejecting the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalised measurement (Ender ¶ 0086 teaches “if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the quantum state of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round [(that is, rejecting the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalized measurement)]; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round [(that is, accepting . . . the perturbation based on the measurement outcome of said local generalized measurement)]”),
(e) repeating steps (c) to (d) for another local generalised measurement unless or until a stopping condition has been met (Ender ¶ 0060 teaches “N rounds of operations may include 10 or more, particularly 100 or more, more particularly 1.000 or more rounds of operations, or even 100.000 or more rounds of operations [(that is, the “N rounds” is unless or until a stopping condition has been met)]”; Ender ¶ 0079 teaches “[e]ach round of the N rounds of operations includes performing a measurement of one or more constituents of the quantum system. For each round of the N rounds of operations, the measurement of said round may be performed on a quantum state resulting from evolving the quantum system according to the sequence of unitary operators of said round. Performing a measurement of the one or more constituents may include measuring a Pauli operator, e.g. the Pauli operator σz, for each of the one or more constituents [(that is, the “N rounds” is repeating steps (c) to (d) for another local generalized measurement unless or until a stopping condition has been met)] ”).
Examiner notes that the Applicant’s preamble does not afford patentable weight to the Applicant’s claims because the claim preamble is not “necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality” to the claim. Moreover, because the Applicant’s preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.
Regarding claim 3, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
[(d.1)] wherein if the perturbation is rejected a subset or all of the data qudits are reinitialized (Ender ¶ 0061 teaches “[e]ach round of the N rounds of operations includes preparing an initial quantum state for said round [(that is, a subset or all of the data qudits are reinitialized ))]; Ender ¶ 0084 teaches “the user may reject the sequence of unitary operators of the second round [(that is, if the perturbation is rejected)] and return to the sequence of unitary operations of the first round [(that is, wherein, if the perturbation is rejected a subset or all of the data qudits are reinitialized)]”)
Regarding claim 4 Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition [(e.1)] is dependent on the number of successive perturbations that are accepted (Ender ¶ 0086-87 teaches “if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb said accepted sequence to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations. As the number N of rounds is increased [(that is, the number of successive perturbations)], an increasingly larger set of quantum states is prepared, wherein the energy of subsequent quantum states gradually decreases (or at least does not increase). Accordingly, the energy gradually approaches the ground state energy of the measured Hamiltonian [(that is, “approaches the ground state energy” is the stopping condition dependent on the number of successive perturbations that are accepted)]. In light thereof, embodiments described herein provide a gradually improving approximation to the ground state of the measured Hamiltonian”).
Regarding claim 7, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition [(e.2)] comprises stopping once a number, n of consecutive perturbations have been accepted (Ender ¶ 0112 teaches “The quantum processing system is configured to perform N rounds of operations, wherein N > 2 [(that is, number n)]; Ender ¶ 0086 teaches “if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the quantum state of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round [(that is, “acceptance occurs at each round,” which comprises stopping once a number, n of consecutive perturbations have been accepted)]”;
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]).
Regarding claim 15, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
wherein the initialising step (b) comprises
[(b.1)] initialising one or more ancilla qudit(s) (Ender ¶ 0029 teaches “constituents of the quantum system can be qubits. A qubit shall be understood as a physical entity that realizes a two-level quantum system. The constituents may be d-level quantum systems ("qudits") with d>2, wherein only two levels of the d levels might be used [(that is, set of data qudits)]”; Ender ¶ 0107 teaches “[a] constraint Hamiltonian, for example a plaquette Hamiltonian, can be realized using ancillary qubits, wherein an ancillary qubit may be arranged inside each plaquette”; Ender ¶ 0113 teaches “[e]ach round of the N rounds of operations may include preparing, for example by at least one of the unitary evolution device and the measurement device, an initial quantum state [(that is, “an initial quantum state” is )] initialising one or more ancilla qudit(s))]”), and
wherein the measuring step (c) of the method comprises
[(c.2)] interacting each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with an ancilla qudit (Ender ¶ 0030 teaches “unknown final quantum state that contains information about the solution to a computational problem. This information can be revealed by measuring the quantum system or a part thereof, i.e., at least some of its constituents. The act of measuring is also a physical/technical process. Measurements allow to obtain a read-out of the quantum system. A read-out of a quantum system is a set of measurement values obtained by measurements of constituents of the quantum system, involving physical interactions with the constituents”; as set out above, Ender ¶ 0029 teaches a “qubit shall be understood as a physical entity that realizes a two-level quantum system. The constituents may be d-level quantum systems (“qudits”) with d>2, wherein only two levels of the d levels might be used [(that is, )] interacting each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with an ancilla qudit)]”); and
[(c.3)] measuring the state of the ancilla qudit (Ender ¶ 0030 teaches “Measurements allow to obtain a read-out of the quantum system. A read-out of a quantum system is a set of measurement values obtained by measurements of constituents [(that is, ancilla qudit)] of the quantum system, involving physical interactions with the constituents [(that is, measuring the state of the ancilla qudit)]”).
Regarding claim 17, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
wherein step (a) comprises
[(a.1)] the transformation from the terms of the k-local Hamiltonian (Ender ¶ 0107 teaches “[a] summand constraint Hamiltonian can then be realized . . . , which includes only pairwise interactions of the form
σ
z
(
K
0
σ
z
(
m
)
and single body
σ
z
(
l
)
terms corresponding to imposed energy differences between the
0
and
1
quantum basis states [(that is, terms of the k-local Hamiltonian)]”) into a set of local generalised measurements (Ender ¶ 0110 teaches “the qubit states 10> and 11 > can be measured with high fidelity using a measurement device including a plurality of superconducting quantum interference devices, in particular N hysteretic DC superconducting quantum interference devices and N RF superconducting quantum interference device latches controlled by bias lines, wherein the number of bias lines scales according to N [(that is, transformation . . . into a set of local generalized measurements)]”)
Regarding claim 18, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
[(a)] wherein each of the provided local generalised measurements is k′-local such that the local generalised measurement of step (c) perturbs a subset of data qudits comprising no more than k′ data qudits (Ender ¶ 0084 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the first round, the user may make a small perturbation to said sequence [(that is, perturbs a subset of the data qudits)], e.g. by replacing one or just a few operators from said sequence by different operators [(that is, perturbs a subset of the data qudits comprising no more than k’ data qudits)]”).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
14. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of Cubitt et al., “Stability of Local Quantum Dissipative Systems,” arXiv (2015) [hereinafter Cubitt 2015].
Regarding claim 2, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches a stopping condition and a sum of summand Hamiltonians, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein a stopping condition comprises
[(e.1)] repeating steps (c) to (d) until all of the local generalised measurements in the set have been performed.
But Cubitt 2015 teaches -
[(e)] wherein a stopping condition comprises
[(e.1)] repeating steps (c) to (d) until all of the local generalised measurements in the set have been performed (Cubitt 2015, at p. 3, “1. Background & Previous Work,” footnote 1, teaches “the perturbations considered here simultaneously change all the local interactions by a small amount [(that is, “all the local interactions” is repeating steps (c) to (d) until all of the local generalised measurements in the set have been performed)]. The strength of the total perturbation therefore scales with system size and standard perturbation theory does not apply. It is the structure of local ground states of the Hamiltonian that ensures stability.”).
Ender and Cubitt are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Ender teaches the acceptance/rejection of perturbations directed to stopping at a ground state of the total Hamiltonian, or close to the ground state. Cubitt teaches simultaneously change all the local interactions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to applying perturbations to a ground state convergence with the simultaneous application of a perturbation for a total Hamiltonian of Cubitt.
The motivation to do so is to “reasons, it is crucial to estimate the impact that perturbations in the generating Lindbladian, arising as noise or errors, can have on the evolution. These local perturbations are potentially unbounded, but constrained to respect the underlying lattice structure. We show that even for polynomially decaying errors in the Lindbladian, local observables and correlation functions are stable if the unperturbed Lindbladian has a unique fixed point and a mixing time which scales logarithmically with the system size.” (Cubitt 2015, Abstract).
15. Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of US Published Application 20230419154 to Lechner [hereinafter Lechner ‘154].
Regarding claim 5, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches accepting or rejecting small perturbations to sequences of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] recording each instance in a first time period in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance;
[(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations; and
[(e.4)] stopping during a time after the first time period after the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances.
But Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] recording each instance in a first time period (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0059 teaches “[a]fter the sequence C1 D1 C2 D2 has been applied to the state
ψ
1
, the total Hamiltonian as described above is measured, and the measured energy is recorded [(that is, recording each instance in a first time period)]”) in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1 [(that is, “round R1” is a first time period)], the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators . . . from said sequence by a small amount. The resulting sequence may be the sequence of unitary operators to be applied in the round R3”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0194 teaches “(i) measure the energy of the quantum state obtained after applying the sequence of unitary operations of the current round of operations; (ii) compare the measured energy of the current round with a measured energy of a previous round; (iii) if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the sequence of unitary operators of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb at least one parameter of a unitary operator of said accepted to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations [(that is “accept previous round” and “accept the current round” is in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each instance)]”
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]);
[(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0193 teaches “the operator or the classical computing system may conclude that the second quantum state is closer to the ground state of the measured Hamiltonian than the first quantum state [(that is, “closer to the ground state” is noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations)]”); and
[(e.4)] stopping during a time after the first time period after the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0195 teaches that “[a]s the number N of rounds is increased, an increasingly larger set of quantum states is prepared, wherein the energy of subsequent quantum states is non-increasing and will gradually decrease. Accordingly, the energy gradually approaches the minimal energy of the measured Hamiltonian. As described herein, the N rounds of operations may be performed while a training data configuration is encoded into the quantum system, for example by applying one or more fields which bias the data qubits towards a target state encoding a training data configuration. In doing so, the quantum system is driven to a quantum state of low energy subject to the condition that the data qubits are biased towards the target state in question [(that is, “biased towards the target state” is stopping during a time after the first time period after the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long or longer than any one of the recorded instances)]”).
Regarding claim 6, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches accepting or rejecting small perturbations to sequences of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] recording each instance in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance;
[(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations; and
[(e.4)] stopping after N*F number of instances at the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances, [(e.4.1)] wherein N is a user selected number of instances and F is a fraction.
But Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] recording each instance in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1 [(that is, “round R1” is a first time period)], the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators . . . from said sequence by a small amount. The resulting sequence may be the sequence of unitary operators to be applied in the round R3”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0194 teaches “(i) measure the energy of the quantum state obtained after applying the sequence of unitary operations of the current round of operations; (ii) compare the measured energy of the current round with a measured energy of a previous round; (iii) if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the sequence of unitary operators of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb at least one parameter of a unitary operator of said accepted to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations [(that is “accept previous round” and “accept the current round” is recording each instance in which at least two consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive perturbations in each such instance)]”
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]);
[(e.3)] noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0193 teaches “the operator or the classical computing system may conclude that the second quantum state is closer to the ground state of the measured Hamiltonian than the first quantum state [(that is, “closer to the ground state” is noting the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the instance with the largest number of consecutive accepted perturbations)]”); and
[(e.4)] stopping after N*F number of instances (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0157 teaches “N rounds of operations may include 2 or more, particularly 10 or more, more particularly 1000 or more rounds of operations [(that is, stopping after N*F number of instances)]”) at the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances, [(e.4.1)] wherein N is a user selected number of instances and F is a fraction (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0193 teaches “the operator or the classical computing system may accept the sequence of unitary operators of the round R2. Starting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R2, the operator or the classical computing system may make a small adjustment or perturbation to said sequence [(that is, at the first subsequent instance of accepted perturbations that is as long as or longer than any one of the recorded instances)]”).
Ender and Lechner ‘154 are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations. Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to generating perturbations with the tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation of Lechner ‘154.
The motivation to do so is because though “several methods have been proposed for solving machine learning problems, for some problems the runtime of even the best available methods is exponentially long, making these methods intractable for large neural networks. Therefore, there is a need for improved methods and devices for performing machine learning.” (Lechner ‘154 ¶¶ 005-06).
Regarding claim 8, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches accepting or rejecting small perturbations to sequences of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds nt;
[(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance; and
[(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the accepted perturbation occurred in a Ith repetition of step (d) and the most recent number of consecutive accepted perturbations is at least as large as nt.
But Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds nt (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0193 teaches “the operator or the classical computing system may conclude that the second quantum state is closer to the ground state of the measured Hamiltonian than the first quantum state [(that is, selecting a sequence of thresholds nt)]”);
[(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1 [(that is, “round R1” is a first time period)], the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators . . . from said sequence by a small amount. The resulting sequence may be the sequence of unitary operators to be applied in the round R3”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0194 teaches “(i) measure the energy of the quantum state obtained after applying the sequence of unitary operations of the current round of operations; (ii) compare the measured energy of the current round with a measured energy of a previous round; (iii) if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the sequence of unitary operators of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb at least one parameter of a unitary operator of said accepted to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations [(that is “accept previous round” and “accept the current round” is recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance)]”
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]); and
[(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the accepted perturbation occurred in a tth repetition of step (d) and the most recent number of consecutive accepted perturbations is at least as large as nt (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0193 teaches “the operator or the classical computing system may accept the sequence of unitary operators of the round R2. Starting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R2, the operator or the classical computing system may make a small adjustment or perturbation to said sequence [(that is, stopping on an accepted perturbation if the accepted perturbation occurred in a tth repetition of step (d) and the most recent number of consecutive accepted perturbations is at least as large as nt)]”).
Ender and Lechner ‘154 are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations. Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to generating perturbations with the tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation of Lechner ‘154.
The motivation to do so is because though “several methods have been proposed for solving machine learning problems, for some problems the runtime of even the best available methods is exponentially long, making these methods intractable for large neural networks. Therefore, there is a need for improved methods and devices for performing machine learning.” (Lechner ‘154 ¶¶ 005-06).
Regarding claim 9, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches accepting or rejecting small perturbations to sequences of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds s, where i is a positive integer;
[(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance; and
[(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the current instance of consecutive accepted perturbations is the ith such instance and the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the current instance is the same length or shorter than at most si−1 of the previously recorded such instances.
But Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] selecting a sequence of thresholds s, where i is a positive integer (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0157 teaches “The N rounds of operations may include 2 or more, particularly 10 or more, more particularly 1000 or more rounds of operations [(that is, selecting a sequence of thresholds s, where i is a positive integer)]”);
[(e.3)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0059 teaches “[a]fter the sequence C1 D1 C2 D2 has been applied to the state
ψ
1
, the total Hamiltonian as described above is measured, and the measured energy is recorded [(that is, recording each instance)]”); Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1 [(that is, “round R1” is a first time period)], the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators . . . from said sequence by a small amount. The resulting sequence may be the sequence of unitary operators to be applied in the round R3”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0194 teaches “(i) measure the energy of the quantum state obtained after applying the sequence of unitary operations of the current round of operations; (ii) compare the measured energy of the current round with a measured energy of a previous round; (iii) if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the sequence of unitary operators of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb at least one parameter of a unitary operator of said accepted to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations [(that is “accept previous round” and “accept the current round” is recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance)]”
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]); and
[(e.4)] stopping on an accepted perturbation if the current instance of consecutive accepted perturbations is the ith such instance and the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the current instance is the same length or shorter than at most si−1 of the previously recorded such instances (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0195 teaches that “[a]s the number N of rounds is increased, an increasingly larger set of quantum states is prepared, wherein the energy of subsequent quantum states is non-increasing and will gradually decrease. Accordingly, the energy gradually approaches the minimal energy of the measured Hamiltonian. As described herein, the N rounds of operations may be performed while a training data configuration is encoded into the quantum system, for example by applying one or more fields which bias the data qubits towards a target state encoding a training data configuration. In doing so, the quantum system is driven to a quantum state of low energy subject to the condition that the data qubits are biased towards the target state in question [(that is, “biased towards the target state” is stopping on an accepted perturbation if the current instance of consecutive accepted perturbations is the ith such instance and the number of consecutive accepted perturbations in the current instance is the same length or shorter than at most si−1 of the previously recorded such instances)]”).
Ender and Lechner ‘154 are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations. Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to generating perturbations with the tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation of Lechner ‘154.
The motivation to do so is because though “several methods have been proposed for solving machine learning problems, for some problems the runtime of even the best available methods is exponentially long, making these methods intractable for large neural networks. Therefore, there is a need for improved methods and devices for performing machine learning.” (Lechner ‘154 ¶¶ 005-06).
Regarding claim 12, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(c)] wherein the perturbation is [(c.2)] tuneable by enacting a unitary matrix having terms dependent on a tuning parameter epsilon, ϵ
But Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(c)] wherein the perturbation is [(c.2)] tuneable by enacting a unitary matrix having terms dependent on a tuning parameter epsilon, ϵ (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0159 teaches “[a] unitary operator is an operator (matrix) acting on the quantum system [(that is, enacting a unitary matrix)]. A unitary operator corresponds to a coherent time evolution of a quantum system”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1, the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators (e.g. the parameter β, Ω, α, or τ) [(that is, tuning parameter epsilon ϵ)] as described above) from said sequence by a small amount [(that is, “make a small perturbation” is wherein the perturbation is tuneable by enacting a unitary matrix having terms depend on a tuning parameter epsilon, ϵ)]”).
Ender and Lechner ‘154 are from the same or similar field of endeavor.
Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations.
Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to generating perturbations with the tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation of Lechner ‘154.
The motivation to do so is because though “several methods have been proposed for solving machine learning problems, for some problems the runtime of even the best available methods is exponentially long, making these methods intractable for large neural networks. Therefore, there is a need for improved methods and devices for performing machine learning.” (Lechner ‘154 ¶¶ 005-06).
16. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of US Published Application 20230419154 to Lechner [hereinafter Lechner ‘154] and Gottwald et al., "On spurious detection of linear response and misuse of the fluctuation-dissipation theorem in finite time series," arXiv (2021) [hereinafter Gottwald].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ender and Lechner ‘154 teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above in detail.
Though Ender and Lechner ‘154 teach the features of parameters that adjust a perturbation, the combination of Ender and Lechner ‘154, however, does not explicitly teach –
comprising, after an acceptance in step (d), [(d.1)] reducing the magnitude of ϵ, followed by repeating the method using the reduced magnitude of ϵ as a parameter controlling the perturbation.
But Gottwald teaches -
comprising, after an acceptance in step (d), [(d.1)] reducing the magnitude of ϵ, followed by repeating the method using the reduced magnitude of ϵ as a parameter controlling the perturbation (Gottwald, Fig. 7, teaches observed sample average as a function of the perturbation size ɛ [Examiner annotation in dashed-line text boxes]:
Gottwald, Abstract, teaches “the invariant measure needs to be differentiable with respect to the parameter describing the magnitude of the perturbation”; Gottwald at p. 19, “5.1 Effect of Finite Data Length N,” 5.3 Effect of the Observable,” first partial paragraph, teaches “the observed sample average A (7) as a function of the perturbation size [(that is, reducing the magnitude of ϵ, followed by repeating the method using the reduced magnitude of ϵ as a parameter controlling the perturbation)]”).
Ender, Lechner ‘154, and Gottwald are from the same or similar field of endeavor.
Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations.
Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters.
Gottwald teaches successful detection of breakdown depends on the length of the time series, the magnitude of the perturbation and on the choice of the observable.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ender and Lechner ‘154 pertaining to generating perturbations through tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation with the reduced magnitude of ϵ of Gottwald.
The motivation to do so is because “in order to reliably reject the assumption of linear response for typical observables sufficiently large data sets are needed.” (Gottwald, Abstract).
17. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of US Published Application 20230419154 to Lechner [hereinafter Lechner ‘154], Gottwald et al., "On spurious detection of linear response and misuse of the fluctuation-dissipation theorem in finite time series," arXiv (2021) [hereinafter Gottwald], and US Published Application 20210279631 to Pichler et al. [hereinafter Pichler].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ender, Lechner ‘154, and Gottwald teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above in detail.
Though Ender and Lechner ‘154 teach the feature of perturbation varying a parameter of the operators, the combination of Ender and Lechner ‘154, however, does not explicitly teach -
comprising:
[(c.3)] variationally optimising a sequence of values of epsilon, by performing the method with an initial sequence of values of epsilon;
[(c.4)] measuring an energy the k-local Hamiltonian; and
[(c.5)] updating the sequence of values of epsilon to reduce the value of said energy.
But Pichler teaches -
comprising:
[(c.3)] variationally optimising a sequence of values of epsilon, by performing the method with an initial sequence of values of epsilon (Pichler, Fig. 14A, teaches optimization parameters [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Pichler ¶ 0132 teaches “where the optimization parameters
γ
⃑
*
,
β
⃑
*
were identified at a local but not global optimum for the initial value p= 1 [(that is, a probability (1-p))], perturbations can be introduced to avoid focusing only on that local optimum for increased values of p [(that is, such “perturbations” are variationally optimising a sequence of values of epsilon, by performing the method with an initial sequence of values of epsilon)]”);
[(c.4)] measuring an energy the k-local Hamiltonian (Pilcher ¶ 0106 teaches “evolved state of the qubits is measured, which is fed back into an optimization routine (such as a classical algorithm) to adjust the variational parameters. The process then repeats on the qubits until it is determined that the measured state of the qubits is a solution to the encoded problem or an approximation thereof”); and
[(c.5)] updating the sequence of values of epsilon to reduce the value of said energy (Pilcher ¶ 0122 teaches “it is possible to optimize the variational parameters to cause the solution to go to a local optimum by a local optimization method, such as one where the optimization only searches parameters close to the initial starting parameters. This local optimization can be repeated with sufficiently many different seeds to find the global optimum [(that is, updating the sequence of values of epsilon to reduce the value of said energy)]”).
Ender, Lechner ‘154, Gottwald, and Pichler are from the same or similar field of endeavor.
Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations.
Lechner ‘154 teaches varying a perturbation via a unitary matrix dependent on operator parameters.
Gottwald teaches quantum breakdown based on the length of the time series, the magnitude of the perturbation and on the choice of the observable.
Pichler teaches parameter optimization of directed to perturbation variance.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Ender, Lechner ‘154, and Gottwald pertaining to generating perturbations through tuning of unitary operators to adjust the perturbation including magnitude reduction with the parameter optimization related to perturbation variations of Pichler.
18. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of US Published Application 20210279631 to Pichler et al. [hereinafter Pichler].
Regarding claim 10, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Though Ender teaches accepting or rejecting small perturbations to sequences of unitary operations, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises,
[(e.1)] each time a perturbation is accepted after n prior acceptances, stopping with a probability 0<p<1 or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with a probability (1−p).
But Pichler teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises,
[(e.1)] each time a perturbation is accepted after n prior acceptances, stopping with a probability 0<p<1 or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with a probability (1−p) (Pichler ¶ 0132 teaches “where the optimization parameters
γ
⃑
*
,
β
⃑
*
were identified at a local but not global optimum for the initial value p= 1 [(that is, a probability (1-p))], perturbations can be introduced to avoid focusing only on that local optimum for increased values of p [(that is, such “perturbations” are each time a perturbation is accepted after n prior acceptances . . . or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with a probability (1-p))]”).
Ender and Pichler are from the same or similar field of endeavor.
Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations.
Pichler teaches perturbation acceptance and further iterations for increased values of p.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ender pertaining to generating perturbations with the further iterations for increased probability of Pichler.
The motivation to do so is because “[q]uantum algorithms can solve combinatorically hard optimization problems by encoding such problems in the classical ground state of a programmable quantum system, such as spin models. Quantum algorithms are then designed to utilize quantum evolution in order to drive the system into this ground state, such that a subsequent measurement reveals the solution. . . . When properly encoded, the ground state of the many-body system comprises the solution to the optimization problem. The problem can therefore be solved by driving the many-body system through an evolutionary process into its ground state.” (Pichler ¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ender and Pichler teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, as described above in detail.
Lechner ‘154 teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
[(e.2)] recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number n of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0059 teaches “[a]fter the sequence C1 D1 C2 D2 has been applied to the state
ψ
1
, the total Hamiltonian as described above is measured, and the measured energy is recorded [(that is, recording each instance)]”; (Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0192 teaches “[s]tarting from the sequence of unitary operations of the round R1 [(that is, “round R1” is a first time period)], the operator or classical computing system may make a small perturbation to said sequence, e.g. by varying a parameter of the operators . . . from said sequence by a small amount. The resulting sequence may be the sequence of unitary operators to be applied in the round R3”; Lechner ‘154 ¶ 0194 teaches “(i) measure the energy of the quantum state obtained after applying the sequence of unitary operations of the current round of operations; (ii) compare the measured energy of the current round with a measured energy of a previous round; (iii) if the measured energy of the current round is larger than the measured energy of the previous round, reject the sequence of unitary operators of the current round and accept the sequence of unitary operations of the previous round; alternatively, if the measured energy of the current round is smaller than the measured energy of the previous round, accept the sequence of unitary operations of the current round; (iv) starting from the accepted sequence of unitary operations, perturb at least one parameter of a unitary operator of said accepted to obtain a sequence of operations for a next round of operations [(that is “accept previous round” and “accept the current round” is recording each instance in which one or more consecutive perturbations have been accepted and the number n of successive accepted perturbations in each such instance)]”
[Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “perturbation” is one that may have either a negative effect or a positive effect, and accordingly, an “acceptance” of a current round or a previous round are covered by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s claims, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111)]); and
* * *
Pichler teaches -
[(e)] wherein the stopping condition comprises:
* * *
[(e.3)] stopping with probability p=p(n) or repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with probability (1−p(n)) where the probability p(n) depends on the number n of successive accepted perturbations (Pichler ¶ 0132 teaches “where the optimization parameters
γ
⃑
*
,
β
⃑
*
were identified at a local but not global optimum for the initial value p= 1 [(that is, a probability (1-p))], perturbations can be introduced to avoid focusing only on that local optimum for increased values of p [(that is, such “increased values of p” is where the probability p(n) depends on the number n of successive accepted perturbations, and repeating steps (c) and (d) for a further iteration with probability (1−p(n)))]”).
19. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20250156498 to Ender et al. [hereinafter Ender] in view of Mohammadbagherpoor et al., “An Improved Implementation Approach for Quantum Phase Estimation on Quantum Computers,” arXiv (2019) [hereinafter Mohammadbagherpoor].
Regarding claim 16, Ender teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above in detail.
Ender teaches -
[(c)] wherein the perturbing step (c) comprises:
[(c.2)] performing a unitary rotation on an ancilla qudit (Ender ¶ 0107 teaches “[a] constraint Hamiltonian, for example a plaquette Hamiltonian, can be realized using ancillary qubits, wherein an ancillary qubit may be arranged inside each plaquette”; Ender ¶ 0103 teaches that a “plaquette, or elementary square, may consist of four constituents of the quantum system that are spatially arranged according to a square”; Ender ¶ 0164 teaches “[t]o prepare the desired state from this, we have to perform the operations on the quantum system Ήparity corresponding to a π/2-rotation around the y-axis on all driver qubits, which can be decomposed into consecutive rotations [(that is, performing a unitary rotation on an ancilla qudit)]”);
[(c.3)] interacting again each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with the ancilla qudit (Ender ¶ 0030 teaches “unknown final quantum state that contains information about the solution to a computational problem. This information can be revealed by measuring the quantum system or a part thereof, i.e., at least some of its constituents. The act of measuring is also a physical/technical process. Measurements allow to obtain a read-out of the quantum system. A read-out of a quantum system is a set of measurement values obtained by measurements of constituents of the quantum system, involving physical interactions with the constituents”; as set out above, Ender ¶ 0029 teaches a “qubit shall be understood as a physical entity that realizes a two-level quantum system. The constituents may be d-level quantum systems (“qudits”) with d>2, wherein only two levels of the d levels might be used [(that is, interacting again each data qudit on which the local generalised measurement is to be performed with the ancilla qudit)]”);
* * *
Though Ender teaches the use of ancilla qudits for measurements, Ender, however, does not explicitly teach –
* * *
[(c.4)] performing an inverse of the unitary rotation on the ancilla,
But Mohammadbagherpoort teaches –
* * *
[(c.4)] performing an inverse of the unitary rotation on the ancilla (Mohammadbagherpoor, left column of p. 7, “III. SIMULATION AND EXPERIMENTAL RESULTS,” second paragraph, teaches implementing “[quantum phase estimation (QPE)] algorithms using the inverse quantum Fourier transform technique to find the phase ϕ on both the Qiskit Aer simulator and the IBMQX4 quantum computer”).
Ender and Mohammadbagherpoor are from the same or similar field of endeavor.
Ender teaches unitary operators (unitary matrix) in which a user may make a small perturbation to a sequence of unitary operations to perform device measurements.
Mohammadbagherpoor teaches a quantum phase estimation where measurements are used to estimate the phase of the unitary matrix.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify Ender pertaining to quantum measurements involving ancilla qudits with the quantum phase estimation of Mohammadbagherpoor.
The motivation to do so is to because “the accuracy of finding the phase using these QPE algorithms is severely constrained by the NISQ computer’s physical characteristics such as coherence time and error rates. To mitigate these physical limitations, we propose implementing a modified solution by reducing the number of controlled rotation gates and phase shift operations, thereby increasing the accuracy of the finding phase in near-term quantum computers.” (Mohammadbagherpoor, Abstract).
Conclusion
20. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(Bravyi et al., “Topological Quantum Order: Stability under Local Perturbations,” arXiv (2010)) teaches zero-temperature stability of topological phases of matter under weak time-independent perturbations. Our results apply to quantum spin Hamiltonians that can be written as a sum of geometrically local commuting projectors on a D-dimensional lattice with certain topological order conditions.
(US Published Application 20210264309 to Wang et al.) teaches method including predicting a first set of ansatz terms and a first plurality of amplitudes associated with the first set of ansatz terms; minimizing energy of the system based on the first set of ansatz terms and the first plurality of amplitudes; computing perturbative corrections using one or more ansatz wavefunctions; determining whether energy of the system converges; and predicting, in response to determining that the energy of the system does not converge, a second set of ansatz terms and a second plurality of amplitudes associated with the second set of ansatz terms.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, KAKALI CHAKI can be reached on 571-272-3719. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.L.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122
1 The claim limitations are numbered for the limited purpose of expressing the subject-matter evaluation of the claims as a whole, and not intended to represent an oversimplification of the claimed subject matter.
2 The claim limitations are numbered for the limited purpose of expressing the subject-matter evaluation of the claims as a whole, and not intended to represent an oversimplification of the claimed subject matter.
3 The claim limitations are numbered for the limited purpose of expressing the subject-matter evaluation of the claims as a whole, and not intended to represent an oversimplification of the claimed subject matter.