DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “said laterally disposed oil-jacketed melting kettle” in lines 9-10. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1 previously recites “at least one laterally disposed oil-jacketed melting kettle”. The limitation will be interpreted as “said at least one laterally disposed oil-jacketed melting kettle” for consistency and clarity.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “said laterally disposed kettle” in line 3. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1 previously recites “at least one laterally disposed oil-jacketed melting kettle”. The limitation will be interpreted as “said at least one laterally disposed kettle” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 5 recites “said kettle” in the last line. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1 previously recites “at least one laterally disposed oil-jacketed melting kettle”. The limitation will be interpreted as “said at least one laterally disposed kettle” for consistency and clarity.
Claim Interpretation
--Claim 1 recites “a heating mechanism for heating” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a means plus function limitation. The specification indicates “The heating mechanism utilizes oil as a heat transfer medium.” (Paragraph 46, lines 10-11).
--Claim 8 recites “a heating mechanism attached to said vehicle for heating” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a means plus function limitation. The specification indicates “The heating mechanism utilizes oil as a heat transfer medium.” (Paragraph 46, lines 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker (US 10,883,232 B2) in view of Li et al. (CN111041963A).
Regarding claim 1: Crocker discloses a device (10) for melting and applying thermoplastic materials to surface. The device includes a kettle (60). The kettle uses air or oil heat-transfer jacket (61) (Abstract; column-4, lines 30-33). There is a screw conveyor (auger) (68) ran by a motor (70) for supplying non molten thermoplastic materials to the kettle (60) for heating and agitation (column 8, lines 12-34). The kettle also has an aperture at a first end thereof for accepting thermoplastic granules, a second end of said at least one conduit fluidly connected to a material discharge (78) (column 10, lines 17-21). A heating mechanism (30), that uses oil, is further included to heat the kettle in order to melt the thermoplastic granules (column 7, lines 12-26; column 8, lines 41-45).
Crocker does not teach a kettle that is oriented laterally.
However, Li discloses a road marking vehicle having laterally arranged oil jacketed melting kettle (24) mounted on a rectangular vehicle frame (paragraph 0013 and 0044). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Crocker's orientation of kettle (60) from vertical to horizontal orientation, for the benefit of providing a side-by-side arrangement, which take up less space (paragraph 0013; Fig 1) and to increase the efficiency of road marking operations (paragraph 0008).
Regarding Claim 3: Crocker discloses the melting marking device (10) could be mounted on a walk-behind system, pulled on a trailer, or built on a vehicle chassis and discusses platform/ladder/steps as a convenience for operator access (column 3, lines 40-46).
Regarding Claim 4: Crocker discloses a screw conveyor (auger) (68) that is rotated by a motor (70) for transporting thermoplastic into the melting kettle and for agitation of thermoplastic (column 8, lines 12-34), but does not teach that the auger (68) is rotated by a hydraulically-driven sprocket set.
However, Li teaches a sprocket assembly (32) with the mixing/stirring shaft(auger) (30) (paragraph 0044; Fig. 6). Li further shows that the sprocket set (32) is hydraulically-driven (paragraph 0013; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the auger taught by Crocker to be actuated by a hydraulically-driven sprocket set assembly, as taught by Li, for the equivalent purpose of stirring the hot melt.
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding Claim 5: Crocker discloses a hopper (20) and chute (24) combination to guide non-molten thermoplastic granules into the kettle (Column 6, lines 43-45; Column 6 lines 66,67 to Column 7, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 6: Crocker teaches that glass beads are used for retro-reflectivity for surface markings (column 2, lines 41-50). Crocker further discloses a hopper(tank/storage) (20) to hold thermoplastic materials (Column 10, lines 43-45), but does not explicitly disclose a holding tank to store glass-beads and place glass beads into molten thermoplastic materials. However, Li teaches a glass bead system (6) that includes a glass bead tank (40) that is connected with a glass bead spray gun (41) through a pipeline. A pressure control valve (42) is arranged on the glass bead pipeline. Glass beads are provided to the glass beads spray gun (41) through the pressure control valve (42) and the glass bead pipeline and the glass beads are sprayed during scribing operation (paragraph 0048). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include an additional tank for beads and an arrangement taught by Li to Crocker's invention, to apply glass beads with molten thermoplastic material to surface for road marking (paragraph 0048) and provide retro-reflectivity to the marking.
Regarding Claim 8: Crocker discloses a device (10) for melting and applying thermoplastic materials to surface. The melting marking device (10) could be mounted on a walk-behind system, pulled on a trailer, or built on a vehicle chassis and discusses platform/ladder/steps as a convenience for operator access (column 3, lines 40-46). The device includes a kettle (60) that uses air or oil heat-transfer jacket (61) (Abstract; column-4, lines 30-33). There is a screw conveyor (auger) (68) ran by a motor (70) for supplying non molten thermoplastic materials to the kettle (60) for heating and agitation (Column 8, lines 12-34). The kettle also has an aperture at a first end thereof for accepting thermoplastic granules, a second end of said at least one conduit fluidly connected to a material discharge (78) (column 10, lines 17-21). A heating mechanism (30), that uses oil, is further included to heat the kettle in order to melt the thermoplastic granules (Column 7, lines 12-26; Column 8, lines 41-45).
Crocker does not teach multiple kettles oriented in a lateral position; or a platform positioned over kettles.
However, Li discloses a road marking vehicle having three sets of melting kettle assemblies (24) that may be individually heated (paragraph 0046; Fig. 4). Li further teaches that the kettle assemblies (24) laterally-oriented on a rectangular vehicle frame such that they are arranged side-by-side, and a heating system that utilizes oil for heating (paragraph 0013 and 0044). Li also teaches a carriage (19) including a platform positioned above kettles (24) to place raw materials (paragraph 0043; Fig. 4). Li also teaches the road marking vehicle comprises of a power system (1) which includes an automobile chassis assembly (15). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include additional kettles that are laterally oriented, and a platform positioned over kettles, in the apparatus of Crocker, as taught by Li for the benefit of heating thermoplastic materials at different temperatures, reducing space with a side-by-side arrangement, and to provide space to place raw materials.
Regarding Claim 9: Crocker discloses a device (10) for melting and applying thermoplastic materials to surface. The melting marking device (10) could be mounted on a walk-behind system, pulled on a trailer, or built on a vehicle chassis and discusses platform/ladder/steps as a convenience for operator access (column 3, lines 40-46); but Crocker does not disclose a platform that is positioned over a kettle.
However, Li teaches a carriage (19) including a platform positioned above kettles (24) to place raw materials (para 0043; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a platform positioned over kettles in the apparatus of Crocker, as taught by Li, to place raw materials.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker (US 10, 883, 232) in view of Li et al. (CN 111041963A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crocker (11,174,858 B2).
Regarding Claim 2: Crocker '232 discloses conduit (66) members constructed from a heat conductive material and having an aperture at a first end thereof for accepting thermoplastic granules, a second end of said at least one conduit fluidly connected to a material discharge collector at the bottom end of said kettle for discharging molten thermoplastic (column 10, lines 17-23).
Crocker '232 and Li do not teach about a thermo pump for discharging molten thermoplastic material.
However, Crocker ‘858 teaches a pump (thermo pump) (10) for applying thermoplastic materials to road surface. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a thermo pump in the apparatus of Crocker ‘232, as taught by Crocker ‘858, to apply molten thermoplastic to a surface (column 6, lines 61-62).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker (US 10,883,232 B2) in view of Li et al. (CN111041963A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ganzer et al. (US 2015/0075625 A1).
Regarding Claim 7: Crocker teaches a valve at discharge to apply thermoplastic material to surface, but does not teach an electric knife gate valve on discharge.
Li does not teach about an electric gate valve to apply thermoplastic material to surface.
However, Ganzer teaches an electric rotary knife gate valve (Figs. 9-11D) at discharge to control flow of molten material from a container outlet (paragraph 0062-0068). Ganzer further states that the rotational force of the electric rotary knife gate valve may be provided either manually or by a motor (paragraph 0069). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to Crocker’s marking device to include the electric rotary knife gate valve, as taught by Ganzer, to enable automated and controlled flow regulation while discharging molten thermoplastic material (for motivation see paragraph 0007, 0009).
Conclusion
/W.H./
/WASIQUL HAQ/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717