DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant amendment/remarks filed 07/01/2026. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12-15 and 17-20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-15 filed 07/01/2026, with regards to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the new amended limitation of casting a ray and the “multi-step geometric determination requiring directional ray projection, boundary traversal, and parity analysis cannot practically be performed in the mind. The examiner respectfully disagrees. A person with a printed map and a ruler can do this. Additionally, even if this step couldn’t be practically performed in the mind, the ray casting step is a known mathematical concept with mathematical steps. Therefore, under Step 2A Prong 1, this added limitation encompasses both a mental and mathematical process. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection remains.
The applicant further argues that the claimed method improves the accuracy of the traffic flow migration data. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Getting the traffic flow migration data to be more accurate is not an improvement in computer technology (i.e. it does not improve the machine itself) and just makes the output better. An improved mathematical analysis of data is not an improvement in computer technology. Furthermore, the applicant discloses that obtaining and displaying step are not insignificant extra-solution activities, and that the obtaining step requires obtaining a road network driving trajectory that is specifically composed of links in the road network (which is not raw positioning point data) and is meaningful input that directly enables the more fine-grained road level analysis that was not previously possible. The examiner respectfully disagrees, since the obtaining of the road network driving trajectory that is composed of links in the road network is a generic “obtaining data” step. Obtaining a driving trajectory composed of links in the road network is common in the art and comprises a generic obtaining step. The claims do not reflect an obtaining step that represents a “meaningful input that directly enables the more fine-grained road level analysis”. Furthermore, the applicant discloses that the displaying step is not merely outputting generic data but improving the display intuitiveness of the traffic flow migration data and improves the efficiency of human-computer interaction. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nowhere in the claim does it reflect that “displaying a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data” improves the display intuitiveness or the efficiency of human-computer interaction. It is a generic displaying step that doesn’t improve the display itself and merely displays determined data. Lastly, the applicant discloses that the claim as whole provides an inventive concept as it is not well understood, routine, or conventional under step 2B. The examiner respectfully disagrees since step 2B does not ask whether the claim is conventional and routine. Step 2B is used to determine if the additional elements add significantly more, and the examiner argues that they do not. The claims as a whole are directed to obtaining road-network trajectory data, making a determination via a mathematical process that can also be drawn, and displaying the result on a display screen. The claims use a generic computer that is recited at a high level of generality that is used for data gathering (i.e. insignificant extra-solution activity), determining data, and outputting data (i.e. insignificant extra-solution activity). The generic computer is invoked merely as a tool, and the invention can be done on any general-purpose computer. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection remains.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 15, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection with regards to the added amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Fowe et al. US20150300835A1 in view of Wang et al. US20090093958A1 and Du et al. US20210049905A1.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 15-16 filed 07/01/2026 with regards to the road-level data argument have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant discloses that Fowe does not discloses any “road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region” and that Fowe’s road-level data is aggregated traffic flow on roads generally rather than inflow/outflow data for each link that spatially intersects the boundary of a target region. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant states that Fowe does not disclose inflow/outflow data for each link that spatially intersects the boundary of a target region. This is specifically not described in the claims. The claim broadly recites “the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region” and does not disclose that the inflow/outflow data is for each link that spatially intersects the boundary of a target region, which is more specific than what is claimed. Para. 0082 of Fowe discloses “the OD-matrix platform 109 may determine and display the arrows 801a-803c indicating the most popular roadways by which vehicles exit the city. Arrows 803a-803f indicates all the major roadways entering the city.” The boundary is the boundary of the city and road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow of a boundary link (i.e. the boundary of the city). Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection remains.
Examiner Note: The examiner recommends being more specific on the road-level traffic flow migration data such that it includes the traffic inflow/outflow of each link that intersects the boundary of the target region, which would appear to overcome the prior art on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method (i.e. a process).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Claims 1-20 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below in bold) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1:
A traffic flow migration situation display method, executed by a computer device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a processor, a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the road network driving trajectory representing a trajectory generated by the vehicle traveling in a road network, and the road network driving trajectory being composed of links in the road network;
determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region, the traffic flow migration data comprising region-level traffic flow migration data and road-level traffic flow migration data, the region-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of the target region, and the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region;
wherein the spatial positional relationship is determined by casting a ray from a trajectory endpoint of the road network driving trajectory in a positive direction of a transverse axis, and determining the trajectory endpoint as being located inside the target region when a number of intersections between the ray and region boundaries of the target region is an odd number, and as being located outside the target region when the number of intersections is an even number.
and displaying, via a display screen, a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because user its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, the limitation of “determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region, the traffic flow migration data comprising region-level traffic flow migration data and road-level traffic flow migration data, the region-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of the target region, and the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region” in the context of the claim encompasses the user making a determination (i.e. a mental process) of traffic flow migration data of a target region, which is based on a spatial positional relationship between the driving trajectory data and a target region, wherein the region-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of the target region, and the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region. This can be done on a map, wherein the user draws arrows that represent the traffic inflow/outflow of a chosen (i.e. target) region of a boundary link. Since this can be done via drawing on a map based on obtained trajectories of vehicles, then these limitations recite a mental process. Additionally, determining the spatial positional relationship by casting a ray and determining the trajectory endpoints being located inside/outside the boundary region based on an even/odd number is both a mental process (i.e. drawing an arrow that estimates the ray casting) and a known mathematical technique, and therefore recites an abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The same rational applies to independent claims 13 and 18.
Claim 2:
wherein determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region comprises: determining a trajectory origin and a trajectory destination of the road network driving trajectory; and determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region.
Regarding claim 2, the bolded limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user determining a trajectory origin and destination (i.e. a mental process), and determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region. This determination can be done on a map, wherein the user draws the region-level traffic flow migration data based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region. Therefore, this limitation recites a mental process i.e. an abstract idea. The same rational applies to claims 14 and 19.
Claim 3:
wherein determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region comprises: updating traffic outflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region; and determining the traffic outflow data of the target region and the traffic inflow data of the target region as the region-level traffic flow migration data.
Regarding claim 3, the bold limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user updating the traffic outflow and inflow data, based on whether the trajectory of the vehicle is heading from outside to inside the target region, and vice versa. Since this updating of the traffic inflow/outflow of the target region can be drawn on a map and wherein the determining step is a mental process, then these limitations recite at least one abstract idea.
Claim 4:
wherein determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region comprises: determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory; and determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region
Regarding claim 4, the bold limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory, which is a process that can be done by a user choosing the candidate link (i.e. a mental process). Then, the user can make a determination of the traffic flow based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region. Since this can be done and drawn on a map, then this limitation recites a mental process i.e. an abstract idea. The same rational applies to claims 15 and 20.
Claim 5:
wherein determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region comprises: determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link; updating traffic outflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region; and determining the traffic outflow data of the boundary link and the traffic inflow data of the boundary link as the road-level traffic flow migration data.
Regarding claim 5, the bolded limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user updating the traffic outflow and inflow data based on the determined candidate link and the boundary link and based on whether the trajectory of the vehicle is heading from outside to inside the target region, and vice versa. Since this updating of the traffic inflow/outflow of the target region can be drawn on a map and wherein the determining step is a mental process, then these limitations recite at least one abstract idea.
Claim 6:
wherein determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link comprises: determining a first line segment based on a link coordinate origin and a link coordinate destination of the candidate link; determining a second line segment based on a first boundary coordinate point and a second boundary coordinate point of the region boundary; and determining the candidate link as the boundary link in response to the first line segment intersecting the second line segment.
Regarding claim 6, the bolded limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link, wherein the candidate link is determined as the boundary link is response to the determined first and second line segments. Since these limitations can be done by making determinations of road links on a map, then these limitations recite a mental process, i.e. an abstract idea.
Claim 7:
wherein before the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory, the method further comprises: determining an origin region identifier and a destination region identifier corresponding to the road network driving trajectory, the origin region identifier and the destination region identifier being generated in a process of determining the region-level traffic flow migration data; and the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory comprises: determining the candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory in response to the origin region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region, or the destination region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region.
Regarding claim 7, the bolded limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user making determinations regarding an origin/destination region identifier that corresponds to the driving trajectory and determining a candidate link based on the identifiers being consistent with a target region. Since these limitations can be done mentally, they recite an abstract idea.
Claim 8:
wherein before obtaining a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the method comprises: obtaining driving sub-trajectory data of a vehicle, the driving sub-trajectory data comprising positioning point data of a positioning point in a vehicle driving process; determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data, the road network driving sub-trajectory being composed of links in the road network; and splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory.
Claim 9:
wherein determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data comprises: matching the positioning point to a link in the road network based on the positioning point data and a link data of the link in the road network data; and generating the road network driving sub-trajectory based on the link in the road network.
Claim 10:
wherein the splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory comprises: obtaining an end time of an ith road network driving sub-trajectory, and a start time of an (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory, i being a positive integer; splicing the ith road network driving sub-trajectory and the (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory to create a spliced road network driving trajectory in response to a time interval between the end time and the start time being less than or equal to a threshold; and outputting the spliced road network driving trajectory in response to the time interval between the end time and the start time being greater than a threshold.
Regarding claims 8-10, the bolded limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user determining a sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on received data and splicing at least two road sub-trajectories to obtain one driving trajectory. Since these limitations can be done on a map and mentally, they recite an abstract idea. Furthermore, matching points on a map to generate a sub-trajectory based on the link in the road network is a process that can be done on a map and therefore recites a mental process i.e. an abstract idea. The same rational applies to claim 16.
Claim 11:
determining, in response to a region division operation on a map, the target region based on a region boundary indicated by the region division operation; or determining, in response to a selection operation on a candidate region in the map, the target region based on the selection operation, wherein the candidate region is divided based on a region division rule, and the region division rule comprises at least one of an administrative region division rule and a region size division rule.
Regarding claim 11, the bold limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user dividing a region on a map (based on rules), which is a limitation that can be done on a map and therefore mentally. Therefore, this limitation recites at least one abstract idea.
Claim 12:
wherein the displaying a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data comprises: generating a traffic inflow identifier and a traffic outflow identifier based on the region-level traffic flow migration data; displaying the traffic inflow identifier and the traffic outflow identifier at a display region corresponding to the target region in a map; and/or highlighting the boundary link of the target region in the map based on the road-level traffic flow migration data, wherein boundary links of different traffic inflow/outflow situations correspond to different display modes; and displaying, in response to a selection operation on a target boundary link, the road-level traffic flow migration data corresponding to the target boundary link.
Regarding claim 12, the bold limitation above in the context of the claim encompasses the user generating traffic inflow/outflow identifiers based on the migration data, which is a step that can be done by drawing arrows on a map that signifies the migration data. Furthermore, highlighting a boundary link of the target region is a step that can be done by drawing on a map and therefore recites a mental process i.e. an abstract idea. The same rational applies to claim 17.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1:
A traffic flow migration situation display method, executed by a computer device, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a processor, a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the road network driving trajectory representing a trajectory generated by the vehicle traveling in a road network, and the road network driving trajectory being composed of links in the road network;
determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region, the traffic flow migration data comprising region-level traffic flow migration data and road-level traffic flow migration data, the region-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of the target region, and the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region;
wherein the spatial positional relationship is determined by casting a ray from a trajectory endpoint of the road network driving trajectory in a positive direction of a transverse axis, and determining the trajectory endpoint as being located inside the target region when a number of intersections between the ray and region boundaries of the target region is an odd number, and as being located outside the target region when the number of intersections is an even number.
and displaying, via a display screen, a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data.
Claim 8:
wherein before obtaining a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the method comprises: obtaining driving sub-trajectory data of a vehicle, the driving sub-trajectory data comprising positioning point data of a positioning point in a vehicle driving process; determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data, the road network driving sub-trajectory being composed of links in the road network; and splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory
Claim 12:
wherein the displaying a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data comprises: generating a traffic inflow identifier and a traffic outflow identifier based on the region-level traffic flow migration data; displaying the traffic inflow identifier and the traffic outflow identifier at a display region corresponding to the target region in a map; and/or highlighting the boundary link of the target region in the map based on the road-level traffic flow migration data, wherein boundary links of different traffic inflow/outflow situations correspond to different display modes; and displaying, in response to a selection operation on a target boundary link, the road-level traffic flow migration data corresponding to the target boundary link.
For the following reasons(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “obtaining” data, and “displaying” data, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (i.e. processors) to perform the process. In particular, the obtaining and displaying steps by the processors are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering/displaying data), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “one or more processors” merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general-purpose vehicle environment.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claims 1,8, and 15 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the determining and comparing amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, with regards to the additional limitations of “obtaining… “, and “displaying…”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “obtaining…” and “displaying…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the processor is anything other than a conventional processor. The step of “obtaining” and “displaying” data is taught in the primary reference, see at least Para. 0081 and Fig. 8. Accordingly, the step of obtaining and displaying data is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept, and the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowe et al. US20150300835A1 (henceforth Fowe) in view of Wang et al. US20090093958A1 (henceforth Wang) and Du et al. US20210049905A1 (henceforth Du).
Regarding claim 1,
Fowe discloses:
A traffic flow migration situation display method (See at least Fig. 8 and Para. 0082), executed by a computer device (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a processor, a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the road network driving trajectory representing a trajectory generated by the vehicle traveling in a road network, and the road network driving trajectory being composed of links in the road network (See at least Fig. 7 and Para. 0081, wherein the vehicle’s trajectory is composed of links in the road network. Further see Fig. 8 and Para. 0082.)
determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region, the traffic flow migration data comprising region-level traffic flow migration data and road-level traffic flow migration data, (See at least Fig. 8 and Para. 0082, wherein the region traffic inflow/outflow is determined based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region. The traffic flow migration data of a target region comprises region-level traffic flow (see Fig. 8) and road-level traffic flow data (from aggregated probe trajectories on a road).)
the region-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of the target region, and the road-level traffic flow migration data representing a traffic inflow/outflow situation of a boundary link of the target region; (See Fig. 8 and Para. 0082, wherein the arrows represent a traffic inflow/outflow of the target region. Further see Para. 0035, “For example, a whole city (FIG. 8) can be modeled and monitored, such that in-going traffic demands into the city, outgoing traffic from the city and internal traffic demands within the city are known and tracked in real time.“ Traffic inflow/outflow into the city and from the city includes inflow/outflow of a boundary link of the target region.)
and displaying a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data. (See Fig. 8, which represents a diagram display of traffic demands into and out of a city.)
Fowe further discloses trajectory endpoint of the road network driving trajectory (See at least Para. 0033 “origin-destination matrix using probe trajectory data”) but does not specifically state wherein the spatial positional relationship is determined by casting a ray from an endpoint in a positive direction of a transverse axis, and determining the endpoint as being located inside the target region when a number of intersections between the ray and region boundaries of the target region is an odd number, and as being located outside the target region when the number of intersections is an even number. However, Wang teaches:
wherein the spatial positional relationship is determined by casting a ray from an endpoint in a positive direction of a transverse axis, (See at least Para. 0006, “A ray is constructed from the position within the rectangular Cartesian coordinate system. Intersections between the ray and the plurality of boundary segments are located. The number of intersections is counted, and the position is characterized as within the geofence if the count of intersections is odd and as without the geofence if the count is even” and Para. 0020, “Next, at step 334, a line segment L is calculated from the current (vehicle) position P in a cardinal direction (typically eastward) beyond the maximum extent of the polygon to the east (or in the selected cardinal direction)”. The spatial positional relationship is determined by casting a ray from an endpoint in a positive direction of a transverse axis.)
and determining the endpoint as being located inside the target region when a number of intersections between the ray and region boundaries of the target region is an odd number, and as being located outside the target region when the number of intersections is an even number. (See at least Para. 0021, “If the number of intersections is odd, it indicates that position P lies within the polygon. If even, the sum indicates that position P lies outside of the polygon.”)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Wang to include the limitations as recited above for “determining whether a reported position is within or without a geofence.” (Para. 0006, Wang), which would create a more robust system for accurately determining traffic flow migration data. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Wang. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Fowe does not specifically state displaying, via a display screen, a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data.
However, Du teaches:
displaying, via a display screen (Para. 0054, “display 320”) a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data. (See at least Fig. 9B and Para. 0091, wherein the traffic information (which includes traffic flow migration of a target region) is displayed to the user.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above in order for a user to analyze traffic information of a region (Para. 0072, Du). Furthermore, “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2:
Fowe discloses:
wherein determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region comprises: determining a trajectory origin and a trajectory destination of the road network driving trajectory; (See at least Fig. 8 and Para. 0082, “The map 800 is created from aggregating the data collected from probe trajectories, much like the probe trajectory 703. “ In Para. 0081, the probe trajectory includes a trajectory origin and a trajectory destination.)
and determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region. (Since the map 800 in Fig. 8 is aggregated with trajectory data such as probe trajectory 703, then that includes determining the region-level traffic flow based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region.)
Regarding claim 4,
Fowe does not specifically state wherein determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region comprises: determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory; and determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region.
However, Du teaches:
wherein determining traffic flow migration data of a target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the road network driving trajectory and the target region comprises: determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory; and determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region.
(See at least Fig. 9A, which comprises a first region and a second region. The second region includes determining a candidate link (see I.sub.1 and i.sub.p in Fig. 9A and Para. 0102-0103) contained in the road network driving trajectory, which intersects with the boundary. The same rational applies to the first region, wherein a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory intersects with the first region. This is used to determine road level traffic flow in and out of the region (See Para. 0075 and 0080-0081), which is based on the spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above since “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 7,
Fowe does not specifically state wherein before the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory, the method further comprises: determining an origin region identifier and a destination region identifier corresponding to the road network driving trajectory, the origin region identifier and the destination region identifier being generated in a process of determining the region-level traffic flow migration data; and the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory comprises: determining the candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory in response to the origin region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region, or the destination region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region.
However, Du teaches:
wherein before the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory, the method further comprises: determining an origin region identifier and a destination region identifier corresponding to the road network driving trajectory, the origin region identifier and the destination region identifier being generated in a process of determining the region-level traffic flow migration data; and the determining a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory comprises: determining the candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory in response to the origin region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region, or the destination region identifier being consistent with a region identifier of the target region.
(See at least Figs. 9A-9B, wherein an origin region and destination region identifier corresponding to the road network driving trajectory is determined (which is generated in the process of determining the region-level traffic flow). Furthermore, the candidate link (see I.sub.1 and i.sub.p in Fig. 9A and Para. 0102-0103) that is contained in the road network driving trajectory is determined such that it intersects with the first and second boundary and is therefore determined in response to the destination region identifier being consistent with the region identifier of the target region.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above since “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 11,
Fowe does not specifically state further comprising: determining, in response to a region division operation on a map, the target region based on a region boundary indicated by the region division operation; or determining, in response to a selection operation on a candidate region in the map, the target region based on the selection operation, wherein the candidate region is divided based on a region division rule, and the region division rule comprises at least one of an administrative region division rule and a region size division rule. However, Du teaches:
further comprising: determining, in response to a region division operation on a map, the target region based on a region boundary indicated by the region division operation; or determining, in response to a selection operation on a candidate region in the map, the target region based on the selection operation, wherein the candidate region is divided based on a region division rule, and the region division rule comprises at least one of an administrative region division rule and a region size division rule. (See at least Para. 0071-0072, wherein a target region (which includes the boundary) is determined in response to a region division operation on a map.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above since “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 12,
Fowe discloses:
wherein the displaying a traffic flow migration situation of the target region based on the traffic flow migration data comprises: generating a traffic inflow identifier and a traffic outflow identifier based on the region-level traffic flow migration data; displaying the traffic inflow identifier and the traffic outflow identifier at a display region corresponding to the target region in a map; and/or… (See at least Fig. 8, wherein the inward and outward arrows represent the region-level traffic flow migration data and are displayed corresponding to the target region (i.e. the boundary) on a map.)
Regarding claim 13,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 1 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Fowe further discloses:
A device comprising: a processor, a display in communication with the processor, and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory storing a plurality of instructions that when executed by the processor, configure the processor to: (See at least Para. 0096 and 0099)
Regarding claim 14,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 2 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Regarding claim 15,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 4 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Regarding claim 17,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 12 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Regarding claim 18,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 1 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Regarding claim 19,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 2 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Regarding claim 20,
Fowe and Du disclose the same limitations as recited in claim 4 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Claim 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowe, Wang, and Du further in view of Zhang et al. “Deep Spatio-Temporal Residual Networks for Citywide Crowd Flows Prediction.2017”(henceforth Zhang).
Regarding claim 3,
Fowe, Wang, and Du discloses the limitations as recited in claims 1 and 2 above.
Fowe does not specifically state wherein determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region comprises: updating traffic outflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region; and determining the traffic outflow data of the target region and the traffic inflow data of the target region as the region-level traffic flow migration data.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein determining the region-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory origin and the target region and a spatial positional relationship between the trajectory destination and the target region comprises: updating traffic outflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the target region in response to the trajectory origin being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region; and determining the traffic outflow data of the target region and the traffic inflow data of the target region as the region-level traffic flow migration data.
(See at least Fig. 1(a)-1(b) below, wherein the inflow/outflow of the target region is updated based on a trajectory origin being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region and based on the trajectory origin being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside of the target region. The traffic outflow and inflow data is the region-level (Fig. 1(a)) traffic flow migration data.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include the limitations as recited above in order to more accurately determine the inflow/outflow of vehicles in a region, which would be beneficial for risk assessment and traffic management (See Page 1, column 2, “Introduction” of Zhang). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Zhang. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 5,
Fowe, Wang, and Du discloses the limitations as recited in claims 1-2, and 4 above.
Fowe does not specifically state wherein determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region comprises: determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link; and determining the traffic outflow data of the boundary link and the traffic inflow data of the boundary link as the road-level traffic flow migration data.
However, Du teaches:
wherein determining the road-level traffic flow migration data of the target region based on a spatial positional relationship between the candidate link and a region boundary of the target region comprises: determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link; and determining the traffic outflow data of the boundary link and the traffic inflow data of the boundary link as the road-level traffic flow migration data. (See at least Fig. 9A, which comprises a first region and a second region. The second region includes determining a candidate link (see I.sub.1 and i.sub.p in Fig. 9A and Para. 0102-0103) contained in the road network driving trajectory, which intersects with the boundary link. The same rational applies to the first region, wherein a candidate link contained in the road network driving trajectory intersects with the first region. This is used to determine road level traffic flow in and out of the boundary link.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above since “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Fowe does not specifically state updating traffic outflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region.
However, Zhang teaches:
updating traffic outflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside the target region; updating traffic inflow data of the boundary link in response to the trajectory origin of the road network driving trajectory being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region; (See at least Fig. 1(a)-1(b) below, wherein the inflow/outflow of the target region is updated based on a trajectory origin being outside the target region and the trajectory destination being within the target region, and based on the trajectory origin being within the target region and the trajectory destination being outside of the target region. The traffic outflow and inflow data is the region-level (Fig. 1(a)) traffic flow migration data.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include the limitations as recited above in order to more accurately determine the inflow/outflow of vehicles in a region, which would be beneficial for risk assessment and traffic management (See Page 1, column 2, “Introduction” of Zhang). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Zhang. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 6,
Fowe does not specifically state wherein determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link comprises: determining a first line segment based on a link coordinate origin and a link coordinate destination of the candidate link; determining a second line segment based on a first boundary coordinate point and a second boundary coordinate point of the region boundary; and determining the candidate link as the boundary link in response to the first line segment intersecting the second line segment. However, Du teaches:
wherein determining the candidate link intersecting the region boundary as the boundary link comprises: determining a first line segment based on a link coordinate origin and a link coordinate destination of the candidate link; determining a second line segment based on a first boundary coordinate point and a second boundary coordinate point of the region boundary; and determining the candidate link as the boundary link in response to the first line segment intersecting the second line segment. (See at least Fig. 9A, Para. 0085, Para. 0088, and Para. 0102-0103, wherein the candidate link intersects the boundary link. The first line segment (line segment I.sub.1) has a link coordinate origin and destination, and the second line segment is based on a first boundary coordinate point (i.e. b.sub.4 or a.sub.3) and a second boundary coordinate point (i.e. b.sub.5 or a.sub.4) of the region boundary.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Du to include the limitations as recited above since “it is desirable to provide systems and methods for determining traffic information of a region to perform traffic control efficiently” (Para. 0003, Du). This would create a more robust traffic management system, further reduce drivers’ total time on a road, and enhance a navigation system by accounting for traffic in/out of a region. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Du. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 8-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowe, Wang, and Du further in view of Zheng et al. US20110208429A1 (henceforth Zheng).
Regarding claim 8,
Fowe, Wang, and Du discloses the limitations as recited in claims 1-2 above.
Fowe does not specifically state wherein before obtaining a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the method comprises: obtaining driving sub-trajectory data of a vehicle, the driving sub-trajectory data comprising positioning point data of a positioning point in a vehicle driving process; determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data, the road network driving sub-trajectory being composed of links in the road network; and splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory.
However, Zheng teaches:
wherein before obtaining a road network driving trajectory of a vehicle, the method comprises: obtaining driving sub-trajectory data of a vehicle, the driving sub-trajectory data comprising positioning point data of a positioning point in a vehicle driving process; determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data, the road network driving sub-trajectory being composed of links in the road network; and splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory. (See at least Para. 0043-0046, wherein two road network driving sub-trajectories from obtained GPS points (i.e. positioning point data of a positioning point in a vehicle driving process) are combined (spliced) to obtain the road network driving trajectory. The road network driving sub-trajectories being composed of links in the road network (see at least Fig. 4.))
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to include the limitations as recited above in order to compute a route “based on information collected from route-oriented vehicle logs. In one aspect, the route processes global positioning system (GPS) points from route-oriented vehicles by extracting trajectories from the route-oriented vehicle logs.” (Para. 0006, Zheng). Furthermore, this would create a more robust system for combining road network driving sub-trajectories, such that traffic migration flow data can be more efficiently calculated based on the trajectories of the vehicles. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Zheng. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 9,
Fowe does not specifically state wherein determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data comprises: matching the positioning point to a link in the road network based on the positioning point data and a link data of the link in the road network data; and generating the road network driving sub-trajectory based on the link in the road network. However, Zheng teaches:
wherein determining a road network driving sub-trajectory of the vehicle based on the driving sub-trajectory data and road network data comprises: matching the positioning point to a link in the road network based on the positioning point data and a link data of the link in the road network data; and generating the road network driving sub-trajectory based on the link in the road network. (See at least Para. 0043-0044, “the process 300 identifies geographical locations from the route-oriented vehicle logs 304. The geographical locations represent locations where route-oriented vehicles have travelled as recorded in the logs. The process 300 may further divide the geographical locations into road segments. “ The sub-trajectory is matched to a link in the road network based on the positioning point data (i.e. GPS) and the link data, in order to generate the sub-trajectory.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to include the limitations as recited above in order to compute a route “based on information collected from route-oriented vehicle logs. In one aspect, the route processes global positioning system (GPS) points from route-oriented vehicles by extracting trajectories from the route-oriented vehicle logs.” (Para. 0006, Zheng). Furthermore, this would create a more robust system for determining more accurate sub-trajectories, such that traffic migration flow data can be more efficiently calculated based on the trajectories of the vehicles. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Zheng. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 10,
Fowe does not specifically state wherein the splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory comprises: obtaining an end time of an ith road network driving sub-trajectory, and a start time of an (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory, i being a positive integer; splicing the ith road network driving sub-trajectory and the (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory to create a spliced road network driving trajectory in response to a time interval between the end time and the start time being less than or equal to a threshold; and outputting the spliced road network driving trajectory in response to the time interval between the end time and the start time being greater than a threshold.
However, Zheng teaches:
wherein the splicing at least two road network driving sub-trajectories to obtain the road network driving trajectory comprises: obtaining an end time of an ith road network driving sub-trajectory, and a start time of an (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory, i being a positive integer; splicing the ith road network driving sub-trajectory and the (i+1)th road network driving sub-trajectory to create a spliced road network driving trajectory in response to a time interval between the end time and the start time being less than or equal to a threshold; and outputting the spliced road network driving trajectory in response to the time interval between the end time and the start time being greater than a threshold.
(See at least Para. 0046, wherein the time interval between consecutive GPS points is determined, wherein if the interval between two consecutive points is less than the predetermined threshold, the GPS points are spliced as a single trajectory.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to include the limitations as recited above to compute a route “based on information collected from route-oriented vehicle logs. In one aspect, the route processes global positioning system (GPS) points from route-oriented vehicles by extracting trajectories from the route-oriented vehicle logs.” (Para. 0006, Zheng). Furthermore, this would create a more robust system for combining road network driving sub-trajectories, such that traffic migration flow data can be more efficiently calculated based on the trajectories of the vehicles. Additionally, a person who has ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Fowe and Zheng. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 16,
Fowe, Wang, Du, and Zheng disclose the limitations as recited in claim 8 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/G.J.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 3669